This business is not BBB accredited.

Avalon Childcare Centers

Additional Locations

Phone: (718) 768-3800 Fax: (718) 768-5900 View Additional Phone Numbers 552 5th Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11215

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm provides day care and after-school program services for children and infants, age 2 months to 6 years.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Avalon Childcare Centers include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Avalon Childcare Centers
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 14, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1997 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1997 in NY
Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Thomas Mulvi, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Thomas Mulvi, Chairman
Business Category



NY Dept of Health Bureau of Daycare license #T5481, T5482, T5483, NY Dept of Children's Services school-age program license #00190487.

Additional Locations


    204 15th Street

    Brooklyn, NY 11215


    552 5th Avenue

    Brooklyn, NY 11215


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My child went to the infant program at the Avalon Childcare Center in ******** until I saw videos that surfaced on **** ** ******** (***************************************************************************************). The videos show two different care workers abusing children. One of the care workers , ***** ***, used to work on the infant side before she was transferred to the toddler program where she ended up pulling the hair/ear of the child, which resulted in the closure of the toddler program at Avalon by the Health Department. When ***** *** worked on the infant side, I reported her to the administration in early April for kicking a walker while a child was in it (because she wanted to move the child away from another). Instead of firing her, they moved her over to the toddler program. I want to shed light on this because Avalon administration didn't address my complaint thoroughly and then she continued to abuse children. I was not notified of the closure of the toddler program by Avalon. I had to find out this closure on the news. Also, after I pulled my child out of day care on May **, I was not refunded the final week of the month (May *****) as I requested on 6/**/15.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded my $340 (one week childcare), since I had to pull my child out of day care after they closed the toddler program at Avalon. I'd also like to see this business further investigated for unsavory practices on who they hire and how they conduct business.

Business Response:

I spoke to *** ************ personally after receiving this notice. The first such notice we have received in over 18 years in childcare. She was upset that we did not notifier her of a teacher in another programs firing, and that all we wanted was her money. Because she was in another program, in another building and there was no complaint about her child just about an assistant teacher that was transferred, Avalon administration did not think her request for a refund was appropriate. The request and the letter form BBB came to me at the same time.
After speaking with *** ************, thanking her for her patronage and apologizing for whatever her complaint was, I informed her that I had received the letter from the BBB and her request, and I would respond to the BBB, and although we felt right in our initial decision, that we would satisfy the situation immediately. Today, 6/**/2015 a check is being sent in the full amount of the appropriate refund. We of course apologize for any problems she may have had, and wish her and her child well.

*** ****** ** *****
Avalon Childcare Centers



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I still want to go on record and say I find Avalon to have unsavory business practices. They never notified me or other parents when they fired a staff member, ***** ***, who used to work with our kids.  When ***** *** worked on the infant side, I reported her to the administration in early April for kicking a walker while a child was in it. Instead of firing her, they moved her over to the toddler program. I know a lot of parents who left Avalon when I did because of what happened when videos of this inappropriate behavior surfaced on **** ** ******** *****************************************************************************************. I think Avalon has had a long track record of negligence, and I am surprised that I am the first one to file a BBB complaint.


******** *************