BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BNY Mellon meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for BNY Mellon include:

  • Government action(s) against business

Factors that raised the rating for BNY Mellon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 32 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

32 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 6
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 24
Total Closed Complaints 32

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 08, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1784 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

BANKS INVESTMENT ADVISORY SERVICE FINANCIAL SERVICES

Alternate Business Names
Bank of New York Bank of New York - Westchester branch banking The Bank of New York Mellon

Additional Locations

  • 100 Church Street

    New York, NY 10286

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    BNY Mellon Center500 Grant Street, Suite 1925

    Pittsburgh, PA 15258

  • One Wall Street, 21st Floor

    New York, NY 10286

  • One Wall Street,13th Floor-Legal Department

    New York, NY 10286

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/25/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They administered a trust. When my dad was alive they provided him with lots of advice and other things and charged a market value fee that. By the way it was different than the fee they were paid to manage the trust. Both are itemized in each monthlhy statement. When my father died, BNYMellon refused to continue to provide those same services such as advice. In fact my brother contacted ******* immediately after my fathers's death, requesting advice, and this was when the refusals started. While they refused to perform the same services, they continued to charge all the same fees. You can't charge a fee for a service you are unwilling to provide. My family has taken this issue up with them multiple times and their response has been to suggest to us that we get a lawyer. They did make the claim that the trust contract BNYMellon signed 50 years ago gave them the right to do this but having read it many times it does not any they fail to be able to tell me where this is stated in the contract. I should add that they seem to be dragging their feet which would benefit them since the longer this takes the longer they are able to make money off the $1.6 million. The bottom line is they have no legal right to charge me for a service they are unwilling to provide.

Desired Settlement: I ask BNYMellon to refund the Market Value Fee collected from the date of my father’s death forward. I also ask that any fees associated with selling stock to cover the $10,000 distribution fee should be returned to us since those stocks did not need to be sold because the fee they erroneously charged plus cash on hand in the account would have covered that. The account should also be credited for any interest that would have accrued. In addition I would ask the BBB to look at waiving the $10,000 distribution fee.

Business Response:

 

I understand that you filed a com plaint with the Better Business Bureau claiming that we are refusing to provide you with advice that we provided to your father prior to his passing. though we continue to charge a fee for the advice

We did  not  provide  investment  advice lo your  father but  we did  provide  discretionary  investment management  services during the  life of the trust. as Corporate Trustee.  for which  we were paid a fee.

We do not however  give  investment advice for assets being distributed from terminating trusts.  Since this trust  is being terminated. our responsibility at this time is to ensure the timely  and accurate  final distributions and termination  of this trust as directed  in the trust document.   We recommend  that you seek outside  counsel for how best to address your estate planning.

In Article Seven of the  trust  document the Corporate Trustee shall  receive as compensation  for its services here under an annual  commission computed in accordance with its standard schedule of fees in effect  from time to time  when said services are rendered.

Further under the terms of the trust document. upon the passing of your father * ******* *** *** * * we identified the terms of the trust and ensured proper protocol to distribute this trust to his issue. per stirpes. To that end  we ensured that all interested parties were notified. all internal reviews in place and  took  proper  actions  for this closing trust

Based on further analysis of the account, the final  dividend. anticipated  for the assets held in  this portfolio, is scheduled for December *** 2013 from  Duke Energy  Corporation.   We allow  live business days for any  corrections  from the sending  company. Final distributions will on  December 2013.  This trust will close by year  end.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Dear *** *****:

I am in receipt of your response to the complaint my brother ******* ** ***** filed on behalf of our family, in November of this year with the Better Business Bureau.  While I would have articulated the complaint differently, he and I agree that the management fees your organization has charged the trust since my father's death are inappropriate and should be refunded.

I asked you for this directly several months ago and your response was an angry rebuke in which listed the numerous departments that have worked to bring about a "timely closure" of this trust.  In your letter of November **, 2013 you stated that "we ensured that all interested parties were notified, all internal reviews in place and took proper actions for this closing trust."  What you neglected to mention was that for all of that extra work you charged the trust an additional $10,000.

All trades and management of the assets were frozen as of his death on August **, 2013. Therefore, your organization shifted its efforts to the "closure of the trust" for which you were handsomely paid.

You have all of the control and you have exerted it.  I'm sure that in 1957, when my grandmother set this trust up, the Girard Bank and Corn Exchange had a different fee schedule.  My father told me on many occasions that the first thing he wanted me to do upon his death was to "get the trust out of Mellon."  Nothing got him more upset than paying the fees he was forced to pay your organization, particularly when he performed all of the management of the account.  And he would be even angrier that the closure of the trust has taken four months to complete!

I ask that you do the honorable thing and put in a request for a refund for the "management fees" that we were charged since August **, 2013 during which time no management was performed. I will not ask for the $10,000 disbursement fee to be refunded as there were many departments that all needed to sign off on the distribution.

And before you suggest again that we hire an attorney, my family does not take a litigious approach.  We deal honestly with others and all that I am asking is that you do the same.

'
***** * *****

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response:

This correspondence will acknowledge receipt of your letter dated December ** 2013 to me. Thank you for taking the time to write.  I appreciate your direct comments, as well as giving me the opportunity to address your concerns at this time.


We respectfully decline your request to refund  the monthly bank management compensation from August 2013 up to and including November 2013.  Throughout the terminating process. BNY Mellon continued to maintain our high standard of providing the day-to-day services required of a corporate fiduciary including but not limited to providing management of securities---safekeeping,  records management. and on-going monitoring of historic and current asset information.  This is not simply an investment management  fee. but covers all of the aforementioned  trustee  services.

If I have been unclear in the past regarding my suggestion that you speak with counsel. I apologize.   Please allow me to be succinct. I  recommend  that you seek counsel to assist you with your own personal  financial  and estate planning for your respective  share of this terminating trust.  Further, should you seek the assistance of a fiduciary attorney. I  am most confident that he will  confirm that the bank properly adheres to the guidelines of a corporate co-trustee.

In  Article Seven of the trust document. the  Corporate Trustee shall  receive as compensation  for services here under an annual commission computed in accordance with its  standard schedule of  fees in effect  from ti me to time when said services are rendered . Our bank compensation is very competitive to our peers. Going back  to 1957 and earlier, it was understood  that fiduciary compensation would change with the times.   Therefore, it is the industry standard both then and now, to indicate that annual commission is to be charged in accordance with its standard schedule in effect from time to time when said services are  rendered.

Again, I thank you for your inquiry and comments.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am paying a home loan thru **** ** ******* who states bank of new York mellon is the lender. do to financial and family health issues I have called the numbers and only get recordings with promises they will call back. this problem involves a severely *********** * year old boy whose safety and well being hang in the balance.

Desired Settlement: A contact letter with correct phone numbers ie: local and fax numbers to correspond to a real human not a fraudulent answering system.

Business Response: BNY Mellon is in receipt of the complaint filed by *** ******* ******* *****  BNY Mellon has researched this matter and has responded to *** **** by letter dated 10/**/13 (copy of letter attached).

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BNY Mellon is acting as, I suppose a clearing house between a bank in Europe sending a transfer to my wife and I in the US. I have a USAA account, BNY Mellon exchanges the foreign currency and posts the wire transfer to USAA who then delivers it to my account. I was made aware that BNY Mellon had the funds in their account on Tuesday or Wednesday of last week. I tried calling them on Friday to ask what the delay was but the operator of BNY directed me to an extension that no one answered and the voicemail wasn't connected, and so it hung up on me. The sender of the wire transfer in Poland is working with his bank just as I am trying to work with mine to discover why BNY is delaying the wire transfer. I can only suppose that they routinely delay wire transfer in order to earn an extra small investment by investing it briefly during the delay. I can only suppose that simply because BNY won't contact anyone. I have not and the sender has not authorized BNY's delay of the funds and we have not been notified of any reasons regarding the delays. On a side-note, a colleague in Poland had sent a test transfer using the SWIFT code to BNY Mellon, then gave the Account number to USAA with BNY Mellon and then finally my account number. This is standard practice for a SWIFT transfer. However, a representative from BNY had contacted the bank who contacted my colleague asking for an ABA/Routing number for the transaction. ABA Routing numbers are only to be used with correspondant bank transfers, not SWIFT. This is just another reason why I question the competence of BNY Mellon's representatives.

Desired Settlement: I would like the transfer to be sent in a timely manner, an apology for their delays and a suitable explanation. We have incurred hardship due to BNY's poor performance and I have been advised to seek legal counsel.

Business Response: Dear *** *********:
I am in receipt of your letter sent to the Better Business Bureau on October *, 2013.
Please allow me to apologize for the fact that your wire was not received into your account until October *, 2013. I know that you have been in contact with my colleague ******* ********** at The Bank of New York Mellon (BNYM) and that she has been instrumental in resolving this matter.  I trust that the below summary and timeline of events should make it more clear that the delay was due to insufficient payment instructions and not a result of improper action or inaction by BNYM.

On October *, 2013, BNYM received instructions from Bank Polska Kasa Opieki S.A, Warsaw Poland (PKO) to pay 200,000 Polish Zloty (PLN).  Unfortunately, the wire format that was received incorrectly instructed BNYM to pay Bank of New York Mellon, NY for further credit to your account, quoting account number xxxxxx615. Since you do not hold an account at BNYM and the wiring details did not include your recipient bank information, BNYM contacted PKO for correction of the wire details.   On October *, 2013, PKO provided the amended instructions which included your recipient bank information.  The instructions were to pay in PLN, so BNYM requested further clarification from PKO to determine if the currency should be converted to US Dollars.    PKO approved the conversion to US Dollars on Tuesday, October *, 2013.    On October BNYM converted the wire to US Dollars processed it with at 2-day spot value of October *, 2013, which is standard practice for such conversions.   Accordingly, your account was credited on October *, 2013.

In order to expedite the timing of future wires to your account, please instruct the remitting bank to include your recipient I beneficiary bank information in the wiring instructions and to include; "Please convert to US Dollars" in the information field of the wire.

Once again we apologize for the delay in crediting your account and hope that you find information provided helpful.  Should you require any additional information, please contact me.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My insurance provider uses this bank for its HSA accounts. I currently an account holder. On 7/**/13 I received two root canals on my teeth. At that time I called Mellon to get the account balance for my account. They provided me with a dollar amount. I then asked if these funds would be available on the day the check was received and they assured me it would. In the time it took for the bank to process the check they then charged my account its monthly maintenance fee. This resulted in the check being returned and Mellon then charged me a $25 fee. My dentist also charged me a $25 fee. So now when I call Mellon and asked them what happened they tell me that they quoted the correct amount of funds that were available at the time of that call. I believe that what Mellon did was PREDITORY in nature as they did in fact tell me what the account balance was, but did not disclose that fee would be taken out before the check was issued. I asked them to return the $50 in fees that I have incurred because of their mistake. But they have refused.

Desired Settlement: First and foremost I would like to have the $50.00 in fees that Mellon cost me. Secondly I would like to be paid for the time I have wasted attempting to sort this out with Mellon, as they were the direct cause of this issue.

Business Response: BNY Mellon is in receipt of the complaint filed by *** **** ********* with the New York Better Business Bureau.  BNY Mellon has responded to *** ********* by letter dated 09/**/13.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


The fees that were charged to me by the dentist for the returned check were not part or the resolution, nor was the vast amount of time I spent on the phone with these people, or the gas and wear and tear on my vehicle running around the checks that had to deposited and moved around.  It was a mess.  I had to take off work so that I could get it all done.  I would not had to incur any of these expenses given that they would have acted ethically.  Furthermore, I had asked them to send me all of the money in my account.  According to their automated system there is over $30 still in the account.  What is that all about?  I bet if that money is in there on 10/*/13 they will charge me another maintenance fee.  Just yet another scam by by this dishonest company.

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

Business Response:

After further review of *** *********'s additional concerns that BNY Mellon received on 09/**/13 from the New York Better Business Bureau, BNY Mellon has looked at *** *********'s account and as of October *, 2013, the account balance is at zero and the account is closed.

BNY Mellon considers *** *********'s complaint closed.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/15/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May*, 2013 I received a $ 1,908.78 ADR dividend from Holcim Ltd (HCMLY). BNY Mellon charged me $ 181.13 or 9.49 % as an ADR fee for crediting the dividend. A typical ADR fee is 1.2 %.When I complained to *** ****** ******, their VP, about the exorbitant fee, I was unable to get a correction or a satisfactory explanation.

Desired Settlement: A reduction in the ADR fee to $ 22.91 or 1.2 % resulting in a refund of$ 158.22

Business Response:

 

This letter is in response to *** *********'s complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau regarding fees charged on Holcim Ltd. (''Holcim") American  Depositary Receipts ("ADRs'').

Please note that the terms and conditions of the Holcim ADRs are set out in the form of ADR security that is filed with the SEC. Under those terms, the Depositary is permitted certain fees and charges and agrees to provide a copy of its latest schedule of such fees and charges to any party requesting it.

Attached  is a copy of the Holcim  ADR  schedule of fees and charges. The Holcim ADR dividend was $0.242385 from which  a dividend  fee of $0.023 was deducted, resulting  in a net dividend  payment  of $0.219385. The dividend fees charged are within the permitted fee maximums.


If you have any questions, you may contact me directly at the e-mail address or telephone number referenced below.


Sincerely

 

Business Response: This letter is in response to *** *********'s further complaint filed with the Better Business  Bureau regarding fees charged on Holcim  Ltd. (''Holcim")  American  Depositary  Receipts ("ADRs'')  following our response dated June **, 2013 to his initial compliant on the same matter.

As previously noted, the terms and conditions of the Holcim ADRs are set out in the form of ADR security that is filed with the SEC. Under the terms, the Depositary is permitted to assess up to five cents ($0.05) for cash distributions. *** *********'s assertion regarding customary fees is not correct; in fact the previous two dividend fees assessed to holders of Holcim ADRs were both in excess of 9%. In any event the three dividend fees charged were within the permitted fee maximums.

If  you  have  any  questions,  you  may  contact  me  directly  at  the  e-mail  address  or telephone  number referenced above.
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

 Dear *** ****** ******,
I received a letter from BNMellon today, dated July *, saying that I was wrong in claiming that the customary fee was 1.2 % and not 9.49 %. 1.2 % is what is being charged for other Swiss ADRs like Nestle and Holcim.
 
Also, I still think charging $ 181.13 for making a simple dividend payment is excessive.
 
Sincerely, **** *********

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

7/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get my mortgage modified from 2009, but the bank and the investor refused to give assistance. They said i am not qualified even though I lost one of my jobs four years ago. The last time I tried the process again was last year November or December, my mortgage is almost $2000.00 per month, I paid $350,000 for the home in which right now its worth around $125,000. When I ask the bank for the name of the Mortgage Lender they didn't want to provide me that information. Today I insisted and they give me the wrong information, when I called the number they give to me it's no longer in service. So I google the name they give me which is Bank of New York. I could not find it, so I search for it on the Federal Reserve site and still could not find it. So then I google the address they give to me, for sure that comes up the exact address with Bank of New York Mellon. So I call them, but when I called they were so rude and very impolite. They said I had the wrong information in which shows the address is correct. So I need some help please I am very frustrated please or some advise. Thank you, ******* * *****

Desired Settlement: Assist with modifying the mortage with a reasonable monthly payment, along with a fixed rate.

Business Response: Dear *** *******:

We are in receipt of your correspondence directed to The Bank of New York Mellon, in connection with the above-referenced Property, a copy of which is attached.

The Bank of New York Mellon, (the 'Bank") has completed its investigation concerning the matters specified in your letter (the "Letter") related to the above referenced Property. The Bank, as trustee for ***** ********, Asset-Backed Cetificates, Series ******** (the "Trust"), does not have the authority to make modification decisions concerning the mortgage loan (the "Mortgage Loan") secured by the Property under the Trust's pooling and servicing agreement (the "Agreement").

All servicing practices under the Agreement, including decisions concerning foreclosure, modifications and enforcement of the Mortgage Loan, fall solely under the authority of Bank of America, N.A., who is the master servicer for the Trust (the "Master Servicer"). Therefore, we have forwarded your letter concerning the Property to the Master Servicer.

Bank of America has advised that any questions concerning its servicing decisions related to the Mortgage Loan be addressed by **** ***** at ###-###-#### and that any written communications be addressed to its Office of the CEO and President, *** ***** ***** **** ********** ** **********. Nevertheless, we ask that you also keep us informed of any similar issues related to the Property.

If you need to contact the Bank, please feel free to contact ****** **** at ###-###-####. Any written communications to the Bank should be sent to ****** ****'s attention at *** **** ******* **** ****** *** ***** ** *****.
******* ********
Senior Legel Assistant

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[In response to contacting the Master Servicer, it seems ironic the Master Servicer (Bank of America) is informing me to contact the Investor in order to receive assistance with the property being modified.  They advised me that selling the property short sale would be an option, which I find very offensive that I am seeking assistance to stay in my home and I was suggested to do a short sale. Everyone is passing the ball to the next person in order to prolong this matter in which I’ve been seeking assistance since 2009.  

]

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a health savings account with BNY Mellon through my employer . My employer changed the provider this year, so in January I called to have my account balance distributed so I could roll it over to the new provider. BNY Mellon cut the check, the account went to $0 on Jan ** (or so) and then on Jan ** credited my account with 62 cents interest. The interest should have been computed when I requested a distribution of my account. Now I have 62 cents that I can't spend because I don't have checks for this account and my debit card has expired, and BNY Mellon refuses to issue a check for an amount less than $1. I have called the call center at least 6 times to try to resolve this, but each time my call is routed to the Phillipines, and no one there can transfer me to their supervisor in the US. They have requested a supervisor calls me back and no one calls. One called back once and said they would issue me a new debit card in Feb, but they still have not done so. Now they are charging me 3.25/month for having the account so they have taken my account balance negative (currently negative 5.88) but I can't do anything about that either as I have no way to access the last money and close the account. By having a poor process (not crediting the interest upon distribution), continually failing to return my calls and by lacking the proper supervision of their call center, I have spend an inordinate amount of time trying to run this down. I have failed miserably as no one I can reach in the US seems to care and keeps referring me to the same call center overseas.

Desired Settlement: I would like BNY Mellon to issue a check for the 62 cents they owe me, eliminate the overdraft charges, reverse any reporting they may have done related to my credit report, and close the account.

Business Response: Dear ****** ** *******:
 
The Bank of New York Mellon received an inquiry on April  **, 2013 from The Better Business Bureau regarding a complaint issued by you in connection with your Health Savings Account.
 
A review of your account shows that a monthly maintenance fee of $3.50, formerly paid by your employer, was charged to your account on February ** and March **, 2013 as your account had converted to independent status and was no longer associated with your employer.  This caused your account balance to go negative as your account was in an open status.
 
Regretfully, the options for obtaining your remaining funds offered by our contact center representatives prior to the fess posting were not satisfactory.  As a courtesy, we issued fee reversals for the 2 monthly maintenance fees, closed your account and issued a check for the remaining balance of 62 cents sent under separate cover.
 
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience and your less than positive experience with The Bank of New York Mellon .
 
. Sincerely, 
 
***** ** ******* Senior Associate
The Bank of New York Mellon Treasury Services Operations
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried, on three separate occasions, following the directions of a BNY customer service representative to change the mailing address on a UPS retirement plan account. My mother is the beneficiary of the account and has given me power of attorney over all financial matters. After speaking with customer service representatives, I have completed their form, attached the POA paperwork, and submitted the request for a change of address -- on THREE separate occasions. I can provide documentation for each attempt if needed. I have been UNABLE to change the address. They keep sending confidential information to the WRONG ADDRESS!!! This should be a simple and quick change. I have been trying to change the address for the last 5 months. This is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: I want the address changed on the account. I also want a formal letter of apology for wasting my time. Lastly, I want BNY to hire competent people to handle these simple matters.

Business Response: BNY Mellon is in receipt of the complaint filed with the New York Better Business Bureau by *** **** *****.  BNY Mellon has researched this matter and has responded to *** **** (copy of letter attached) indicating that on March*, 2013, BNY Mellon updated the address information for *** ***** and that this matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved (pending actual receipt of all new correspondence at the updated address and nothing else being sent to the old address).

Sincerely,

**** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/7/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
11/28/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service