This business is not BBB accredited.

Steiner Sports

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 759-7267 Fax: (914) 632-1102 View Additional Phone Numbers 145 Huguenot St, New Rochelle, NY 10801 http://www.steinersports.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steiner Sports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 18

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Steiner Sports
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1987 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Uneis Amoroso, Executive V.P Mr. Brandon Steiner, President Mr. Peter Chapman, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Uneis Amoroso, Executive V.P
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Chapman, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Brandon Steiner, President
Business Category

AUTOGRAPH DEALERS

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
By appointment only.
Alternate Business Names
Steiner Sports Memorabilia Inc Steiner Sports Store

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Steiner Sports has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 E 161st St
    Yankee Stadium

    Bronx, NY 10451

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    145 Huguenot St

    New Rochelle, NY 10801 (914) 307-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    630 Old Country Rd

    Garden City, NY 11530 (516) 734-0580

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Four Pennsylvania Plaza
    Tower A, Section 119

    New York, NY 10001

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/28/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have both emailed (original email sent 12/**/15 @ 6:04 pm) and called (and left a voicemail during normal business hours with) Steiner Sports Auction in an attempt to resolve the issue of not receiving items paid for in their Winter Classic Auction ending on 12/**/2015. Only after threatening to go to the Better Business Bureau in a final email attempt did anyone finally contact me. This was done 1/**/2015, a month later, and only addressed one of three issues. They said they had located an item I had not received and would be sending it out that day. Two weeks later I have yet to receive anything nor have the other issues been addressed.

Desired Settlement: I want to be done with this company. I wish to either receive the product(s) I paid for immediately or my money refunded for said product(s).

Business Response:

 

Feb. 18, 2016

 

Case #1112733

 

Mr. Josh B. Ryan

 

Dear: Better Business Bureau:

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. *** **** participated in a  fun promotion that we ran in which we received a tremendous response. As part of the promotion each person who received a gift card could use 1 gift card per order and 1 gift card in total. In this instance, *** **** created 4 orders ******************** and ******. He also used 2 gift cards per order.  As a result this violated the terms of the promotion thus the orders were cancelled. I am sorry there was an issue on the phone as well. We would be happy to return whatever was sent to us or something similar if it was for example a players card. I may be reached directly on ###-###-####.

 

Thanks in advance,

Peter C******

Service Manager

###-###-####

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:  I am not *** ****.  I have not participated in any promotions with Steiner Sports, nor have I ever received and/or used any gift cards.  They have the wrong person and/or wrong complaint.  This has absolutely nothing to do with me or my complaint.  In short no I do not accept this response.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response:

 

Feb. 26, 2016

Case #********

 

Dear BBB:

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers.  We have spoken to *** ***** to resolve his auction issues.  We sent a call tag under return number ******** to pick up 2 items so we can refund him. We also  will credit him for the auction fees. The refund total is $365.80. As soon as we receive the 2 items, we will get him refunded. The items are due back here on Monday 2/**, so he will see the refund next week. If any questions, please contact me at ###-###-####.

Thanks in advance,

 

Peter C******

Service Manager

Steiner Sports

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I accept the response and have sent back the items in question.  Until I receive the money, however, I wish for the complaint to remain open.

Thank you 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

3/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently redeemed 8 separate $100 gift cards over 4 different transactions on their website. They then proceeded to call me and tell me that they were cancelling every one of my orders, my gift cards were no longer good so i just lost $800 worth of gift cards that i bought separately in various places for various amounts or were given to me as gifts. Their executive vp also hung up on me in the middle of our conversation and did not even try to resolve the conflict. I dont know what to do at this point as I am not out $800 worth of gift cards and have no recourse because under their terms and conditions it states that they reserve the right to cancel any transaction and my gift cards are no longer usable or even able to be sold elsewhere because they no longer have any money on them as i had already processed my orders with them. I'm not sure where to go here.

Desired Settlement: I'd either like my order delivered as I also charged $300 on my credit card that has yet to be refunded although I assume it will be. On top of my $300 in credit card charges id like my $800 that I no longer have active in gift cards back.

Business Response:

**** ********* **** ** ****

Dear Better Business Bureau:

We at Steiner Sports try to always meet the needs of our customers. In this case we ran a fun gift card promotion that stipulated 1 card per order as well as 1 card per person and household. In this instance multiple card were entered on 4 different orders. Sales orders. ******************** and ****** which had a different first name were cancelled. *** **** has spoken to multiple people here and I am sorry he had an issue with 1 conversation. This promotion again stipulated 1 card per order which was not followed. He was also not charged as there were only authorizations on these orders which have been voided.  *** **** should check his account and contact his bank in that regard. We would be happy to return any cards or similar items he had sent in and he can contact us to do so.  I may be contacted on ###-###-#### with any questions.

 

Sincerely,

Peter C******

Service Manager

Steiner Sports

************

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 This response from the company is incorrect. For one, I do not have an issue with just one conversation I had.  I have an issue with 3 conversations I had with your company, all specifically in the spirit of finding out all of the fine print that the company did not mention in any way, shape or form.  There would be no other reason to call twice before even placing any orders in the first place.  Your promotion's only original rule posted on the website was that the trade-in was limited to 1 per person, per household, which in itself is confusing because the way the company defines this statement is different from the literal interpretation of the sentence.  There was absolutely nothing stating in the initial promotion that orders were limited to one card per transaction.  Once the gift cards were returned, the back of the gift card then said limit one per transaction, which was something your customer service representative Mr. Z****** conveniently left out of the first conversation.  This is why the second call was placed to the business.  Upon this conversation, Mr. Z****** again let me know that even though the gift cards said limit 1 per transaction, 2 of them could be used on any (one) transaction.  The rules to this promotion seem to change by the minute with this company, once the company realizes that it will likely lose money or reduce profit because of their own oversights when offering the promotion.  This is the first time I have had any correspondence or offer to even return the items associated with the (eight) gift cards.  If the company has records of what items were sent in with the exact gift cards I would like to see the list so that I can confirm my item I sent in and can confirm the items sent in by the other 7 people who sent in trades for this promotion.  We would not want random items that are not the exact items that were sent in for the promotion.  The desired outcomes for this case is that my previous orders are honored and sent, or eight new gift cards are sent to replace the eight that have been voided.  However, if new gift cards are sent, I would need to be guaranteed that the gift cards would be accepted once redeemed on the website since that obviously is not a foregone conclusion.  This exact sentence is listed in the company's terms and conditions: 

"We reserve the right, at our sole discretion, to refuse or cancel any order for any reason. "  

There seems to be a lot of gray area in this statement.  However, it does not state that the company may void legitimate gift cards and leave the customer with any amount of worthless plastic.  These gift cards were part of a trade in.  Eight people sent in items for this promotion.  We feel items have been stolen from us and we have been bait and switched to a much higher degree than what is acceptable.  We would like a legitimate solution and dont think that is asking too much.

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ****




 

2/26/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Steiner had a Autograph for gift card exchange program. On Jan *** I had sent in a upper deck autograph of browns QB Tim Couch. For Sending them this I was to get a $100 gift card. I have NOT recieved anything from them. They did not send me my gift card!

Desired Settlement: AT least a $100 gift card!

Business Response:

Feb. **, 2016

 

Case #********

 

*** **** ** ******

 

Dear: Better Business Bureau:

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. *** ****** participated in a Cleveland Browns promotion. We received a great response and in fact are still distributing gift cards. His gift card for $100 has already been sent to him. We appreciate him participating and should he need his gift card number he can contact me directly at ###-###-####. I would be happy to help him. If he has not used the gift card as yet, please do so and enjoy the shopping. Please remember it is 1 gift card per order.

Thanks in advance,

Peter C******

Service Manager

Steiner Sports

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid $390 to have game day ball Mariano Rivera had given to my son autographed and personalized. The ball was supposedly signed by him on 12/**/2015. The ball we received came with no certificate that is was signed by the pitcher and the date we paid extra to have personalized on the ball was incorrect and someone wrote over it to make a correction to what the date should have been. We were not notified of issue until we had paid the full amount. So not only did they ruin our game day ball, but they still charged us the extra $90 to have personalized.

Desired Settlement: Refund. When called said they wouldn't do anything about the problem.

Business Response:

Case number:********

***** *******

Dear BBB:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. In this instance, they dealt with a person who is not affiliated with Steiner Sports. The item originally was mailed to the individuals home address. I have contacted the *******'s and have emailed this information directly to them. They need to contact the person they were dealing with, but not Steiner Sports.

Any questions, I may be reached on ###-###-####

Thanks in advance,

Peter C******

Service Manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

1/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought something at a Steiner Action and was immediately sent an invoice. I paid the invoice in full a day later. Three weeks later, they have not yet sent me the item that I won. I have sent numerous e-mails and have called several times. No one ever responds to me. They took my money immediately, yet i cannot get the item that i won in the online Auction. Steiner is very unresponsive and when I call them, i get the run-around. The person I supposedly need to speak with is never around and no one ever calls me back. According to the website, items are shipped 2-5 days after purchase.; its been almost 3 weeks and it still has not shipped.

Desired Settlement: I would like to obtain the item that I paid for. I would also like a formal complaint registered against Steiner Sports. Also would like something written on their auction guidelines that items are not shipped in 2-5 days.

Business Response:

We always try to meet the needs of our customers. In this case we did not have that specific item and the head of our auction group spoke with *** ******* earlier today. We were able to work out a solution and this issue has been resolved. Should you need any further information I may be reached on ###-###-####.

 

Thanks in advance,

Peter C******

Service Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

there was  misunderstanding with respect to the resolution. I would still like to receive the item that I bid on and won, even though you don't currently have it in stock.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
**** *******




 

9/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Steiner Auction site: Re: legends of the game LOT 2179 I won the above lot but the bat I received was different from the one I bid on. The bat in lot has 9 inscription and Derek Jeter name and playing years embossed. The bat online also has a clearer and crisper Derek Jeter signature. The bat sent to me has only seven inscription and no Derek Jeter emboss with a signature not as crisp. I'm concerned and feel like I got the bait and switch. Contacted Steiner Rep Michael K******* who told me the bat I won was no longer available and only offered me a gift card. Told him that was unacceptable. Never heard from him again until I sent e-mail to Corey K**** who spoke with Michael again. This time he contacted me by e-mail on July ** and said: "* **** ***** **** ***** *** ***** **** ** ********* ***** *** **** **** ********** **** *** ******* ***** * ********** **** *** *** ***** *** ********* ** *** *** ******* ***** ** *** ******* * **** **** **** *** *** *** ********* **** *** ***** *** *** * ********** **** *** *** * **** **** ********* *** ***** **** ** **** *** * **** **** ****** *** ** ** *******. *** ** *** ******* **** ** **** ** ********* ** **** **** ****** ** ****** ** **** **** *** *** *** * **** **** **** *** *** * **** ******* * **** **** *** **** ******** ***** *** **** ***** *** ** *** ** *** **** **** *** ********* ****** **** **** ** ******* ** ******** ***** *** ******* ** ****** ***** *** * *** ****** *** **** ******** *** ***** ** ****** **** ** ************* * ********* ***** *** **** **** *** *** **** *** ** *** ****** *** **** ****** ** ****". On August **** I sent this response to Michael and Cory: "This is what I mean ... What I have been so upset about with Steiner lately. Statement or promises that become untrue - apology after apology without simple honesty and dedication to its customer base. Maybe my buying with Steiner is consider low with your company that someone like me can be discarded - maybe that is a business decision. I don't know how or why this lack of customer service has gotten to this point but as long time customer it makes me sad. And yes, I did not receive your apology bat that was being sent out days from your last email of July **th." To date I have heard zero/nothing. They got my money for an item but sent me something else.

Desired Settlement: Delivery of accurate items purchased/won on auction site or execute the customer service promises made. And, revamp their deceitful auction site for accuracy and honesty of items they are selling.

Business Response: Case #********

Sept. **,2015


**** ** *****


Dear Better Business Bureau:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of the customer. We are sorry that he had an initial issue with the bat he received. Sales order-********.  Mike K******* has spoken to *** ***** regarding the Game used bats that he was sending. We were waiting for the bats to come in which they recently did. Apologize for the delay. The order for the bats is ****** and will be delivered next week. *** ***** appreciated the call and acknowledged this was a satisfactory solution as previously promised. We again apologize for the initial issue and anticipate this is now resolved. We certainly appreciate *** ******* auction order and hope to work with him in the future. Should you have any questions, please contact me directly at ###-###-####.

Thanks in advance,

Peter C******
Service Manager




?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *****

7/31/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was lead to believe I was purchasing a autographed game used goalie stick, framed, from Hendrik Lundqvist, but when I received the item it wasn't autographed.. I contacted JJ M****** *t Steiner who sold me the stick. He told me that in our email, I asked for a game used stick only, but in our email I asked for the $1499.99 framed game used stick on the website that is pictured with the autograph, and that is listed under "autographed memorabilla". I told JJ M****** I wanted to return the stick for a full refund. He wrote me back and said "1) Your offer was on a game used, not a signed game used. 2) Please note our return policy, game used items cannot be returned... Not only was the stick not signed, but they tape the stick to the frame which caused damage to the stick while trying to remove it from the tape. They advertised the piece as if your getting what is shown on the website, which is totally false.. It's listed under "Autographed memorabilla", nowhere does it say the stick isn't signed or this isn't the actual stick you are receiving.

Desired Settlement: Refund the purchase, and correct the ad's on their site to reflect the truth.

Business Response: ID#********

*** **** ** ***** **** *********** **** ********* *** *****

Dear BBB:

We certainly apologize there was confusion with this order. (******) We always strive to meet the needs of our customers and will fix the situation here. It is my understanding that *** ***** spoke to Brooks C**** , JJ's boss who is now handling the situation. We will get the stick signed and get it picked up to do so once the athlete is back in New York. This should be toward the end of August.  We certainly appreciate your business and again apologize there was an issue here. Should you need to contact me directly, I may be reached on ***********.

Thanks in advance,


Peter C******

Service Manager

?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

Mr. Brooks C**** did in fact reach out to me on this problem. He sent me a return label, and told me that I would receive a full refund. Once again I'm sorry it had to come to this, but I had to protect myself from being mislead.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** *****


 

6/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was a advertisement for "Thursday Only" 2/26/15 for 2 autographed ***** for $99. Of the choices i picked, MAGIC JOHNSON(retail $249.99) and DALE MURPHY(retail $99.99) autographed ***** Yesterday at 5:35 pm I was called by a sales rep named ***** and was informed that the MAGIC JOHNSON ball was no longer available though it was represented on their website as being part of the promotion she explained that they over sold the ball and therefore had no more in stock. ***** asked if i would be willing to choose another ball from the list and I said I would take a look at the list when I arrived home from work and made sure the sale would be extended to be for the next day and ***** confirmed that it would. I then went through the list did not find any replacements that I would want from the list but I did find ***** with less value then the MAGIC JOHNSON ball and offered that one of those ball be used as a substitution but ***** refused.

Desired Settlement: I would like on the the following ***** to be used as a replacement for the unavailable MAGIC JOHNSON ball as previously promised. Please Keep in mind MAGIC was valued at $249.99 and the current replacements have a lesser value. A- JOHNNY BENCH valued at $209.99 B- RICKY HENDERSON valued at $199.99 C- DICK ALLEN valued at $189.99 D- DON MATTINGLY valued at $169.99

Business Response: ******* ** ******** ***** ****** **** ***** *** *********** ** *****


Dear Mid Hudson Better Business Bureau:



We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. This was a specific promotion with a limited number of items. In order to resolve the issue for *** ******, I have put in an order for the Dick Allen baseball with an inscription of 7xAS (7X All Star. ) It was priced at the same as his original Magic ball of $71.42. The sales order is ******. I may be reached on ###-###-#### with any questions.

Thanks in advance,
***** ******* ******* *******







?

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 Nothing has been settled we are still under negotiations 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

WE HAVE YET TO HEAR FROM *** ******* OR STEINER SPORTS

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

Business Response:

Case ******** ***** ******

 

We always strive to meet the needs of our customers. I spoke to *** ****** a while ago and refunded him the difference on the ball he purchased in the 2 for $99.99 sale. We did not have the other ball which he was never charged for..  He was satisfied with the resolution. If there is any issue I may be contacted at ###-###-####

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Yankees seat bottom from Steiner Sports. The MLB hologram is not valid. They said contact MLB. I did two months ago. I gave been emailing ****** ** at MLB. There is also Steiner sports hologram on the seat bottom. I don't know if this seat bottom came from a high school or college. I have contacted Steiner sports. I spoke to ***** *** *** **** direct #. I called 2/** & 2***. Called today 3/*. ***** said he would call me back today. Never did. Now the problem with MLB. ****** * wrote in a email that the person who validated the hologram is no longer with MLB. He wrote he had to contact MLB legal team. So he could contact the former employee. So two months is to long! Here is the hologram letters and numbers ** ******. Why did Steiner sports sell it if the hologram was not valid? Shame on MLB it seems it a fake!!

Desired Settlement: Find out why was this sold! Steiner sports should be upset with MLB! Make this hologram valid! I can't believe MLB and Steiner Sports the best two business can't fix this. Two months of my time wasted.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

12/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/**/14 at **** **** ***, I went online to purchase an item from the Steiner Sports website that they were advertising for $29.99. It was an **** ******** Autographed *** Baseball (*** Authenticated). My order confirmation was #********. The sale started at **** **** which was why I tried to purchase it right away. After ten minutes, I went back to try and purchase another to give as a gift, but when I tried to add the item to my shopping basket, the website said it was sold out. No big deal because at least I was able to purchase one. I watched Steiner's other sales throughout the weekend in which they were selling the same item at a higher cost, but still at a very good deal. I still decided not to purchase a second item. On 12/*/14, I received a call from Steiner Sports telling me to call them back about this item. I called twice and left a voicemail. After no one returned my call, I emailed *********************** and **************************** asking what the issue was with the item and why it was taking so long to ship, since it had almost been a week since I placed the order. The email I received was from ***** ******* and said this: "We do not have these ***** There was a limited number and they were sold out quickly. You have not been charged as we do so when items ship. Thanks *****" I emailed ***** back to let him know that I bought this right away when the sale started and received the confirmation. I also told him that I had noticed this item on sale during the weekend for a greater price and that their website showed that they still had the item in stock on 12/*/14 for $209.99. I took screenshots of the item on their website and how I was able to add it to my shopping basket at $209.99. ***** mailed me back and said it was a part of a special group. So first he said they did not have these, then he changed his story saying it was part of a special group after I told him that I noticed they were still selling the same item. Maybe they made a mistake selling the item at this low of a price and told the same thing to everyone that ordered it. If needed, I can provide the screenshots and original emails from the order and conversation about the item.

Desired Settlement: I would like Steiner Sports to send me the **** ******** Autographed *** Baseball (*** Authenticated) from order #******** at the price of $29.99 as previously confirmed.

Business Response: Case #********

Dear: BBB

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. In this case there were a limited number of baseballs that were available at this low price. Naturally they sold out very quickly creating this issue. We certainly apologize for the issue here and we have emailed *** ****** a $50 gift card for the inconvenience. I may be reached on the number below with any questions.

Thanks in advance,


***** *******
******* *******
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.  Steiner Sports lowered the price of this item on their website and I was still able to purchase it for the same sale price by using the $50 gift card.

Sincerely,

****** ******



 

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All of this took place online at SteinerSports.com: I saw an autographed Derek Jeter Picture advertised for one dollar. The normal price was $999.99. This is not uncommon for Steiner Sports to do. I purchased two chairs from them in the past, that a but were normally about $500.00 each, but were listed as "free" and all I had to pay for was the shipping. One time about a year ago I saw an autographed piece of Mariano Rivera memorabilia listed as "free" and so I purchased it. A couple of minutes later I received a phone call from their customer service department and they told me that it was a mistake and that I was no going to be getting the item unless I wanted to pay full price...I politely declined. On May **, 2014 I saw the Derek Jeter autographed picture for one dollar and I immediately put in my debit card info and made the purchase. I never received a phone call from Steiner saying that it was a mistake and I received an e-mail confirmation for my order, so figured I was good to go. A week went by and I hadn't heard anything from Steiner. I received no e-mail/phone call that stated it was shipped or that I was not going to be receiving it. I sent Steiner Sports three e-mails in a three week period and I got no response from them. Finally my girlfriend got an e-mail from them inquiring about their cutover service (she's made several purchased from them in the past) and so I replied to that e-mail to see if I would get a response that was. I sent the all the information about what happened, including pictures I had taken of my e-mail confirmation and the item and it's advertised price. They were not willing to do anything about the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item that was advertised for one dollar. I understand the mistake happening to me once with this company, but it's happened a second time and it took them a month and a half to respond to me...and I only got that response because I had sent it in reply to my girlfriend's e-mail.

Business Response: ** * ******** ****** *** ***** ****** *** ********** *** ******** ** *****


Dear Mid Hudson Dispute Services:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. In this instance, an item was listed as a place holder and had a $1 value which is obviously incorrect. This is a $1000 item. I apologize that no one contacted you directly, but the order was cancelled by the web team. While we do run promotions, this item would never be sold for $1. Due to the confusion here, a gift card for $50 was forwarded to you to use at your convenience over the next year. Should *** ****** need to reach me, I may be contacted on ###-###-####. I will follow up next week to ensure the gift card has been received. 

Thanks in advance,

***** ******* ******** ******* ******* ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered something on steinersports.com and was supposed to receive something extra because I used a certain coupon code that was sent to me in an email. I never received this extra picture and contacted the company MULTIPLE times both by email and phone. I was told I would receive this picture by customer service and I still have not received it. This started on December **and it is now March **. My last email to the company was not answered.

Desired Settlement: I would still like the 8X10 photo of Mariano Rivera/Derek Jeter/Andy Pettite that I should have gotten and was told multiple times that I would receive.

Business Response:

March **,2014
Case#****
****



Dear Mid Hudson Dispute Service:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. This was an unsigned photo through a promotion on the web. What she ordered was received, but evidently this unsigned photo was not included. The photo was sent today 3/**/14 and the UPS tracking number is ****. Hopefully this resolves the issue. We apologize for the delay. Should ****have any questions, I may be reached at*****

Thanks in advance,

**************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *****, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**************



 

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a Sport Memorabila Collector for quite some time now. I had purchased a 2011 “Game Worn” Clay Buchholz Jersey on eBay on July **, 2013. Four months later I relisted it on eBay for sale and once it sold the buyer voiced concern to me of the authenticity of the jersey. His concern was that the Steiner Sports Letter of Authenticity and Hologram #****** which accompanies the jersey states that the jersey was “Game Worn” while the MLB Authentication Hologram #******** states that the jersey is TEAM ISSUED. Steiner's letter should not claim it as being GAME WORN/USED when the MLB COA identifies it as GAME ISSUED. I'm a collector of game used sports memorabilia and there is a HUGE difference between "team issued" and "game worn/used". This is a major problem and the product which Steiner Sports obtained from Major League Baseall has been falsely advertised. Although I did not buy the jersey directly from Steiner Sports, the Certificate of Authenticity clearly states the product is unconditionally guaranteed. I have contacted Major League Baseball and they confirmed it is not an issue on their end and it was in fact NEVER worn in an offical Major League Baseball game which would greatly depreciate the monetary value of the jersey. Steiner Sports has failed to resolve this issue. This is fraud as Steiner Sports chose to "upgrade" the jersey to falsely increase the value of the jersey.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the full original retail value in which Steiner Sports sold this jersey.

Business Response:

12/**/13

******* case #.


We always strive to meet the needs of our customers. This an unusual situation as *** ********, did not purchase the jersey from us. We would have sent it as game used based upon the information received. He should have checked with the person he purchased it from if he had an issue. I have forwarded to another person at Steiner Sports, but he will not be able to respond until after the New Year. I am not sure what he can do. My contact number is below. He can contact me again in the New year.


Thanks in advance,

***** *******

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Regardless of how I obtained the jersey the Certificate of Authenticity which accompanies the jersey came from Steiner Sports and was falsely advertised. *** ******* claims that Steiner Sports would have sent the jersey based on the information they received from MLB. After contacting MLB, I was told their authenticators did not make a mistake and the jersey was given to Steiner Sports as TEAM ISSUED. The Certificate from Steiner Sports UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEES the authenticity of the jersey. Since I and MLB have found the jersey to NOT be game worn Steiner Sports is obligated to fix the problem.   

 

Sincerely,


***** ********




 

Business Response:

 

******** **** ******** ***** ****** ******** ** ******** ****** ****** * ** *****


Dear Better Business Bureau:


I had previously responded regarding this issue. Someone from Steiner Sports will be contacting *********** to discuss the situation. I am sorry he continues to have an issue. My direct number again is ************. I have forwarded his contact information and they will be contacting him early next week.

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Customer Service Manager



 

 

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Online bid, I have watched the bid for HOURS and the time is reset repeatedly even though there are no other bids. I should have won/purchased this material an hour ago and it still show the bidding has been extended for no particular reason.

Desired Settlement: I want what I have won. No one else has bid on this item and I want what I have won.

Business Response:

Case #- *******


We always strive to meet the needs of our customers. The auction remains on until the last bids are made. It could be on any auction. I see you won  Play Like a Champion poster. The sales order was ******. This shipped a while ago.  Hope that was the item you were asking about. My direct number is ************. I have copied the auction team as well.


Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Customer Service Manager

11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order # ****** for $239.52 I was charged $239.52 on 11/*/13 Then on 11/**/13 I was charged 55.86 First called called ***** then I called spoke with ***** ******* he said he does not see the other charge and Sometimes they take more money when a debit card is used. He said to give it a few Days on Friday November ** as of today 11/** I still have 2 charges on my account .

Desired Settlement: Refund extra charge of 55.86

Business Response: Mid Hudson Disputes:

 We are Steiner Sports always try to meet the needs of the customer. This shipped in 2 orders. Looks like she was charged for the entire order with the first shipment. The invoice was $185.08, but the charge was $239.52 to her card. She was then charged again in error $54.44 when the second item shipped. A credit has been applied in the account. of $54.44. She will be refunded on Friday 11/**/13 and will see the refund once the bank updates. If ***** has further question please call me directly. I apologize for the initial issue and anticipate this will resolve it.

Thanks in advance,

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a set of baseballs one signed by clayton kershaw and one was a game used ball. Well the game used ball was suppose to be from clayton kershaws si yung 2011 year but it was not. The certificate of authenticity says it is a ball from 9-**- 2007. The ball wasnt even used by kershaw, billingsley pitched that night. Now this is a big issue because I payed for this thinking my boyfriend who is a huge kershaw fan was getting a ball he used during his si yung year.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a game used ball form kershaws si yung year and not have to return the other ball because it was their mistake.

Business Response:

ID# *******

10***/2013

Better Business Bureau

 

Dear Better Business Bureau:

 

We always strive to meet the needs of the customer. In this instance, we do not have any game used Dodger baseballs. We sent a 2007 game used ball. I* have contacted ******** ****** and have asked her to contact me. We can either take the item back and refund her or send a gift card for the issue. My direct number is ###-###-####, should you need to reach me. The sales order is ******.

 

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

10/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September **, 2013, I purchased a photograph from SteinerSports.com, with the information that it will be shipped in 3-5 business days. On September **, I emailed the corresponding address, for any order issues, explaining that I have not received my item, nor notified if it was even shipped. Later that day, ***** *******, emailed me back explaining the item has not shipped, that he will get it from another warehouse, and I should expect it early the next week. More than a week after that, on September **th, I emailed ***** again, asking for an update and explanation on my purchase. I also asked if there can be any compensation for this prolonged delay. It is now, October **th, over a month after the original purchase, and I have yet to hear back from ***** ******* or Steiner Sports, with ANY detail concerning my photograph. I can send the corresponding emails if needed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the delivery of my purchased product, along with some type of credit or gift card.

Business Response:

10/**/13

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customer. In this instance, there was a delivery delay as the photographer has not come in to sign the photos. I spoke to ******* directly and explained the situation. We have sent a picture yesterday framed which I discounted for him with the issue. The sales orders are *************. The tracking through Fed. Ex. is *************** from the **th. Again sorry for the initial issue which is now resolved. If you need to contact me, my direct number is ###-###-####.

 

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Service Manager

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Steiner Sports
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart