BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Steiner Sports

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 759-7267 Fax: (914) 632-1102 View Additional Phone Numbers 145 Huguenot St, New Rochelle, NY 10801 http://www.steinersports.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Steiner Sports include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 01, 2001 Business started: 01/01/1987 in NY Business incorporated: 01/01/1987 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Uneis Amoroso, Executive V.P Mr. Brandon Steiner, President Mr. Peter Chapman, Customer Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Uneis Amoroso, Executive V.P
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Chapman, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Brandon Steiner, President
Business Category

AUTOGRAPH DEALERS

Hours of Operation
M: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
T: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
W: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
Th: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
F: 8:30 AM - 8:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
By appointment only.
Alternate Business Names
Steiner Sports Memorabilia Inc Steiner Sports Store

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 E 161st StYankee Stadium

    Bronx, NY 10451

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    145 Huguenot St

    New Rochelle, NY 10801 (914) 307-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    630 Old Country Rd

    Garden City, NY 11530 (516) 734-0580

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    Four Pennsylvania PlazaTower A, Section 119

    New York, NY 10001

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (914) 307-1000(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: All of this took place online at SteinerSports.com: I saw an autographed Derek Jeter Picture advertised for one dollar. The normal price was $999.99. This is not uncommon for Steiner Sports to do. I purchased two chairs from them in the past, that a but were normally about $500.00 each, but were listed as "free" and all I had to pay for was the shipping. One time about a year ago I saw an autographed piece of Mariano Rivera memorabilia listed as "free" and so I purchased it. A couple of minutes later I received a phone call from their customer service department and they told me that it was a mistake and that I was no going to be getting the item unless I wanted to pay full price...I politely declined. On May **, 2014 I saw the Derek Jeter autographed picture for one dollar and I immediately put in my debit card info and made the purchase. I never received a phone call from Steiner saying that it was a mistake and I received an e-mail confirmation for my order, so figured I was good to go. A week went by and I hadn't heard anything from Steiner. I received no e-mail/phone call that stated it was shipped or that I was not going to be receiving it. I sent Steiner Sports three e-mails in a three week period and I got no response from them. Finally my girlfriend got an e-mail from them inquiring about their cutover service (she's made several purchased from them in the past) and so I replied to that e-mail to see if I would get a response that was. I sent the all the information about what happened, including pictures I had taken of my e-mail confirmation and the item and it's advertised price. They were not willing to do anything about the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like the item that was advertised for one dollar. I understand the mistake happening to me once with this company, but it's happened a second time and it took them a month and a half to respond to me...and I only got that response because I had sent it in reply to my girlfriend's e-mail.

Business Response: ** * ******** ****** *** ***** ****** *** ********** *** ******** ** *****


Dear Mid Hudson Dispute Services:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. In this instance, an item was listed as a place holder and had a $1 value which is obviously incorrect. This is a $1000 item. I apologize that no one contacted you directly, but the order was cancelled by the web team. While we do run promotions, this item would never be sold for $1. Due to the confusion here, a gift card for $50 was forwarded to you to use at your convenience over the next year. Should *** ****** need to reach me, I may be contacted on ###-###-####. I will follow up next week to ensure the gift card has been received. 

Thanks in advance,

***** ******* ******** ******* ******* ******* *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/26/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered something on steinersports.com and was supposed to receive something extra because I used a certain coupon code that was sent to me in an email. I never received this extra picture and contacted the company MULTIPLE times both by email and phone. I was told I would receive this picture by customer service and I still have not received it. This started on December **and it is now March **. My last email to the company was not answered.

Desired Settlement: I would still like the 8X10 photo of Mariano Rivera/Derek Jeter/Andy Pettite that I should have gotten and was told multiple times that I would receive.

Business Response:

March **,2014
Case#****
****



Dear Mid Hudson Dispute Service:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. This was an unsigned photo through a promotion on the web. What she ordered was received, but evidently this unsigned photo was not included. The photo was sent today 3/**/14 and the UPS tracking number is ****. Hopefully this resolves the issue. We apologize for the delay. Should ****have any questions, I may be reached at*****

Thanks in advance,

**************

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *****, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**************



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a Sport Memorabila Collector for quite some time now. I had purchased a 2011 “Game Worn” Clay Buchholz Jersey on eBay on July **, 2013. Four months later I relisted it on eBay for sale and once it sold the buyer voiced concern to me of the authenticity of the jersey. His concern was that the Steiner Sports Letter of Authenticity and Hologram #****** which accompanies the jersey states that the jersey was “Game Worn” while the MLB Authentication Hologram #******** states that the jersey is TEAM ISSUED. Steiner's letter should not claim it as being GAME WORN/USED when the MLB COA identifies it as GAME ISSUED. I'm a collector of game used sports memorabilia and there is a HUGE difference between "team issued" and "game worn/used". This is a major problem and the product which Steiner Sports obtained from Major League Baseall has been falsely advertised. Although I did not buy the jersey directly from Steiner Sports, the Certificate of Authenticity clearly states the product is unconditionally guaranteed. I have contacted Major League Baseball and they confirmed it is not an issue on their end and it was in fact NEVER worn in an offical Major League Baseball game which would greatly depreciate the monetary value of the jersey. Steiner Sports has failed to resolve this issue. This is fraud as Steiner Sports chose to "upgrade" the jersey to falsely increase the value of the jersey.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the full original retail value in which Steiner Sports sold this jersey.

Business Response:

12/**/13

******* case #.


We always strive to meet the needs of our customers. This an unusual situation as *** ********, did not purchase the jersey from us. We would have sent it as game used based upon the information received. He should have checked with the person he purchased it from if he had an issue. I have forwarded to another person at Steiner Sports, but he will not be able to respond until after the New Year. I am not sure what he can do. My contact number is below. He can contact me again in the New year.


Thanks in advance,

***** *******

************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Regardless of how I obtained the jersey the Certificate of Authenticity which accompanies the jersey came from Steiner Sports and was falsely advertised. *** ******* claims that Steiner Sports would have sent the jersey based on the information they received from MLB. After contacting MLB, I was told their authenticators did not make a mistake and the jersey was given to Steiner Sports as TEAM ISSUED. The Certificate from Steiner Sports UNCONDITIONALLY GUARANTEES the authenticity of the jersey. Since I and MLB have found the jersey to NOT be game worn Steiner Sports is obligated to fix the problem.   

 

Sincerely,


***** ********




 

Business Response:

 

******** **** ******** ***** ****** ******** ** ******** ****** ****** * ** *****


Dear Better Business Bureau:


I had previously responded regarding this issue. Someone from Steiner Sports will be contacting *********** to discuss the situation. I am sorry he continues to have an issue. My direct number again is ************. I have forwarded his contact information and they will be contacting him early next week.

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Customer Service Manager



 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Online bid, I have watched the bid for HOURS and the time is reset repeatedly even though there are no other bids. I should have won/purchased this material an hour ago and it still show the bidding has been extended for no particular reason.

Desired Settlement: I want what I have won. No one else has bid on this item and I want what I have won.

Business Response:

Case #- *******


We always strive to meet the needs of our customers. The auction remains on until the last bids are made. It could be on any auction. I see you won  Play Like a Champion poster. The sales order was ******. This shipped a while ago.  Hope that was the item you were asking about. My direct number is ************. I have copied the auction team as well.


Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Order # ****** for $239.52 I was charged $239.52 on 11/*/13 Then on 11/**/13 I was charged 55.86 First called called ***** then I called spoke with ***** ******* he said he does not see the other charge and Sometimes they take more money when a debit card is used. He said to give it a few Days on Friday November ** as of today 11/** I still have 2 charges on my account .

Desired Settlement: Refund extra charge of 55.86

Business Response: Mid Hudson Disputes:

 We are Steiner Sports always try to meet the needs of the customer. This shipped in 2 orders. Looks like she was charged for the entire order with the first shipment. The invoice was $185.08, but the charge was $239.52 to her card. She was then charged again in error $54.44 when the second item shipped. A credit has been applied in the account. of $54.44. She will be refunded on Friday 11/**/13 and will see the refund once the bank updates. If ***** has further question please call me directly. I apologize for the initial issue and anticipate this will resolve it.

Thanks in advance,

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a set of baseballs one signed by clayton kershaw and one was a game used ball. Well the game used ball was suppose to be from clayton kershaws si yung 2011 year but it was not. The certificate of authenticity says it is a ball from 9-**- 2007. The ball wasnt even used by kershaw, billingsley pitched that night. Now this is a big issue because I payed for this thinking my boyfriend who is a huge kershaw fan was getting a ball he used during his si yung year.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive a game used ball form kershaws si yung year and not have to return the other ball because it was their mistake.

Business Response:

ID# *******

10***/2013

Better Business Bureau

 

Dear Better Business Bureau:

 

We always strive to meet the needs of the customer. In this instance, we do not have any game used Dodger baseballs. We sent a 2007 game used ball. I* have contacted ******** ****** and have asked her to contact me. We can either take the item back and refund her or send a gift card for the issue. My direct number is ###-###-####, should you need to reach me. The sales order is ******.

 

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September **, 2013, I purchased a photograph from SteinerSports.com, with the information that it will be shipped in 3-5 business days. On September **, I emailed the corresponding address, for any order issues, explaining that I have not received my item, nor notified if it was even shipped. Later that day, ***** *******, emailed me back explaining the item has not shipped, that he will get it from another warehouse, and I should expect it early the next week. More than a week after that, on September **th, I emailed ***** again, asking for an update and explanation on my purchase. I also asked if there can be any compensation for this prolonged delay. It is now, October **th, over a month after the original purchase, and I have yet to hear back from ***** ******* or Steiner Sports, with ANY detail concerning my photograph. I can send the corresponding emails if needed.

Desired Settlement: I would like the delivery of my purchased product, along with some type of credit or gift card.

Business Response:

10/**/13

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customer. In this instance, there was a delivery delay as the photographer has not come in to sign the photos. I spoke to ******* directly and explained the situation. We have sent a picture yesterday framed which I discounted for him with the issue. The sales orders are *************. The tracking through Fed. Ex. is *************** from the **th. Again sorry for the initial issue which is now resolved. If you need to contact me, my direct number is ###-###-####.

 

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Service Manager

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/23/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a 2 bill russell autographed pictures that can sealed in box from steiner and wrapped in plastic sleeves so I know it was them. One was crumpled and had to of been done on purpose and they actually sent it out like that and the other was coverd if what looked like actual feces.. cones the whole back and the from is also splattered. Its shcking they actually sent it out. They obviously did it on purpose because Ive never experienced anything like this in my life. Im leaving it in garage until I can get it tested because I dont want in my house. I called Steiner and they literally just laughed and said ohh its not ***** Im sure its something like mold... They actually told me that I shouldnt get upset because they send out defective stuff all the time and it happens. This is the first complaint I have filed in my entire life thats how bad and blatant it is. Ive always been disappointed about there quality because alot of there autographs are incomplete or smudged but I figured thats how they are quality wise and didnt complain but this is crazy!!

Desired Settlement: something big beceause this is so disgusting. I plan on getting item tested this week. I want both items replaced asap with something framed so I know theres no actual ***** on it or crumpled artwork

Business Response:

 

3/5/13

 

RE;case # *******

******* ****** *****

** *** *** *********** ** *****

Dear Mid-Hudson BBB:

 

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers. We certainly apologize for the issue here and have spoken with the cutomer. We have sent a call tag to get the items picked up so we can see what the issue is. We obviously feel badly that there was an issue with these items and will researcch that.  We will see what photos, we can exchange it for as we do not have any of the same **** ******* photos. This is not how we ship items and again aplogize for the issue. The original sales order is ****** and the return authorization is ******. If I need to be reached, please contact me on ###-###-####. We will contact *** ***** once we receive the item back to resolve.

Thanks in advance,

***** *******

Service Manager

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purcahased a set of padded seats from the original yankee stadium for $522.58. When item was received they where damaged due to improper packing for shiping. The seat pading was torn. I called company and sent pictures. They said they would get back to me. I had to call again and again. They agreed to exchange seats and send a confirmation email explaining what will occur. This was over a week ago seats still in my home and no emails. Nobody wants to return my calls. i offered to keep deats at a discount again no reponse.

Desired Settlement: i would like the set of seats that i was charged for but if they are now unavailable anymore i will keeo these for a discount. I would take a discount/refund of $325 and keep the damaged seats $325(discount refunded)

Business Response:

We at Steiner Sports always strive to meet the needs of our customers and more. We are sorry she had an issue with her Yankee padded seats. The original order is ******. We sent a pick up request on Jan. ** through UPS. I have also issued a 2nd pick up requst for tomorrow  Feb. ** as well with UPS. The return number is ******. We are due to have additional seats here in 2 weeks and will send a replacements as soon as we have them. We just need to receive the seats ***** has. I have emailed her and left her a message at both numbers on the email. I am sure we can resolve it for her. I may be reached directly at ###-###-#### and apologize for the issue here.

 Thanks

***** ******

Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service