BBB Accredited Business since

Tommy's Auto Repair, Inc.

Fax: (718) 382-8205 View Additional Phone Numbers 2023-29 McDonald Avenue, Brooklyn, NY 11223 http://www.brooklynautorepairservice.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides full service automotive repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Tommy's Auto Repair, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Tommy's Auto Repair, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tommy's Auto Repair, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2006 Business started: 06/01/1979 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2007 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Paul C. Rivello Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul C. Rivello Jr., President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE CAR WASH & POLISH BODY WAXING SERVICES AUTO BODY REPAIR & PAINTING


Additional Locations

  • 2023-29 McDonald Avenue

    Brooklyn, NY 11223

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Tommy's Auto repair: I have been one of their customer for the past 4 years and have been doing all my repairs, maintenance and body work of my current and previous vehicles. This time I brought them my car on Friday 9/** as he told me to leave my car by him so he can show the adjuster the damages. As a result of the low payout of my insurance, I decided that I will be going out of pocket for the repairs of my car but wait until I have the money to pay for it. He suddenly got upset and thought that I would probably won’t do any of my repairs because I wanted to bring my car to someone else for my car inspection. So he decided to through me a high fee for the time spent with the adjuster to lock me up with him for the repairs and told me that “if you want to take your car it is $500 and that he was going to discounted me from my bill when I’ll do the repairs to him”. I never been warned before of the fee, never agreed! And I would have never agreed if I knew he would of charge me $500. He basically forced me to pay for it especially that he knew that on 9/** it was a Jewish holidays. So I decided to pay with my credit card and he refused it and asked me for CASH! Pretending he usually only takes cash especially that I always pay him credit card. So I told him, “it is credit card or nothing” until he finally accepted my card after a little while. I had no choice to pay in order to get my car back as he did not want to give back to me and If I would of call the Police it would have been worthless. I always judged Tommy’s auto repair for his good work and efficacy and not for who the owner is. I never looked out for anyone else than him even though he is not the cheapest. But he picked and tried to take advantage of the wrong customer the ONE who knows his RIGHT. He definitely violated many laws of the UCC as my attorney made me aware and I will definitely complain to the consumers affairs, dept. of labor, IRS, NYS, so basically to every agency until they start begging me to take back all the truth I would say until my $500 + tax ($544) is refunded to me plus I will have my attorney anticipated a small claim court. This is a real Shame and I would never go back to them as they are ALL disrespectful and treat you like ***** !

Desired Settlement: $500 + $44 tax: $544

Business Response:

To ***** *****, Better Business Bureau, our customers and future customers: My name is Paul R******, owner of Tommy's Auto Repair Inc. and am responding to this complaint because we have never had a complaint with the BBB, DMV, Consumer Affairs or any other agency. We have maintained an A+ accredited rating with BBB since the start up of the corporation in 2008. Yet, we have been in the same location since 1990, prior to 2008 business name was Tommy's Service Center Inc. Prior to 1990, we were a few blocks away in the same zip code from 1979 to 1990, the same zip code I was born and raised in.  The reason I mentioned the history and where I was born and raised and how long we are in existence is because I run my business to the best way I can. I understand customers don't have to come to me and that they have many choices. I thrive on customer satisfaction and to make sure my customers are happy and extremely satisfied when they leave. The best form of advertisement is referrals and word of mouth and it is very important in a VERY tight religious community. We at Tommys Auto Repair Inc., believe in backing our work 100%. Sometimes issues arise and we correct it.  If a customer has an issue or problem we always find a way to work it out, It goes back to understanding that a customer has many choices and we want that customer to come back and recommend their family and friends. We want that customer to say to themselves "IM SATISFIED". Tommy's Auto Repair Inc. understands that everyone is different and customers need to be tended to their needs and wants of what they want on their vehicle. Some customers are very easy to satify and some are very difficult, we do the best that we can to meet their needs, that's customers in any business. How someone knows they are doing very well with satisfying customers in their retail service business is by looking at their credit card charge back ratio. Tommys Auto does a tremendous credit card business and yet we have zero charge backs each month.  Because we thrive on completed a service with 100% customer satisfaction. As for *****'s issue : ***** came to the shop 9/**/15 for body estimate. We had given him a price for $2500 for the right front passenger section of vehicle and the left rear drivers side section of vehicle. He said he didn't have the money to do the job so I recommended to go through insurance. ***** took the vehicle. No charge for estimate. He returned the next day on Thursday, 9/**/15 and discussed it further. At his time I have no idea what created the damage to the vehicle, but you can clearly see it wasn't from being parked and the damage was in 2 different areas. 2 different occurrences. He then decided to tell me that he wanted to go through his insurance and was going to tell his insurance company that someone vandalized the vehicle as it was parked over the long Jewish holiday weekend. I told him that's not good because you can clearly see the vehicle was in motion and in 2 completely different areas and you have a $1000 deductible per incident. He said he was calling the insurance company to tell them that and left the vehicle. It was clear to me that he was trying to get away with not telling the truth to the insurance company. I told him when the adjuster comes in I will show him the car. The adjuster came on 9/**/15 Monday and inspected the vehicle. As per insurance adjusters request he asked to dismantle some areas of the vehicle so he can get a better inspection as to what the damage was on the front right. We removed the bumper and fender 2 hours time. spent an hour with the adjuster and the adjuster did not inspect the right rear of vehicle because he knew it wasn't from vandalism and only wrote estimate for the right front. Insurance estimate came to $3720.22 less $1000 deductible, net to ***** ***** $2720.22.  Vehicle remained disassembled til next day because we could not contact ***** due to Jewish Holiday, to discuss the out come of insurance estimate. Insurance adjuster couldn't contact ***** as well to discuss why he didn't write the right rear damage.  Upon coming to the shop on Tuesday September ****, ***** was not happy with the out come and did not want to have the vehicle fixed. He wanted everything covered and then some. Decided to tell me he was going elsewhere to have the vehicle fixed. He wanted his car. I told him I have to reassemble it. ***** was more upset when he realized he had a bill for $500 plus tax. The bill was for simply 5 hours time for dismantling and time with adjuster and for 6 days storage and settling the claim. Bargain.!!! I even tried satisfying ***** by telling him bring the car back and the $500 will be deducted from the job. Here is an example of a difficult person, whom tried to commit insurance fraud and can never make happy. Instead he goes his computer and puts complaints in because it didn't go his way. Someone trying to hurt a very successful family business thats in the same community for close to 40 years, someone who is probably only in the country for 4-6 years, and looking to scam and take advantage of people and their small business'.  Thank You  Paul R******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Tommy's Auto Repair, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)