This business is not BBB accredited.

Tach Motor Works LLC

Phone: (516) 608-9930 Fax: (516) 608-9930 3537 Lawson Boulevard, Oceanside, NY 11572 http://www.tachmotorworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Tach Motor Works LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Tach Motor Works LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Tach Motor Works LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 13, 2011 Business started: 01/01/2005 in NY Business incorporated 01/28/2010 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nancy Sarai, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3537 Lawson Boulevard

    Oceanside, NY 11572 (516) 608-9930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to the shop to have my car motor rebuilt in aug 2013, I pay over $3500 since day one I got the car back I been having issue , then motor power up doesn't run, after 15 minute's running car break down on me included with leaking oil , burning smell's , burning smoke's from the car, also not running smooth when I have the car looked at by other dealer , 2 dealer stated it was the timing issue when they built the motor , then I called the shop ,explain to him about my issue he told me to have my car send back to him to double check , car was towed back to him he checked then he stated it was the wire issue so ask me for extra money to replace the wire, after replace the wire I inspected , it still the original wire from my , but car still making smoke's , and oil leak, spoke with the shop again , this time he stated it was something else that costing the leak and the smoke is due to the oil leak into the exhaust , then I went to have my other shop checked out , found out there is a leak in the *engine * when the shop * Tach motor works* totally forgot to put a gasket back to the engine, called the shop told him about it , he keep saying that if I want to bring the car back he would charge me for inspection and if they found out something else wrong with it they would charge me extra's , then I told him ok I would have my gasket replace , he told me he will order it , week passed still got no respond from them , called the store they either said his not there or his currently busy will call me back same with email no reply or anything then 2 week's pass , still the same , then I decide to have other shop to get my job done when I spend $350 to have the gasket done when I ask them for the reimburse the money he finally told me he got the gasket so I can bring it in, when I told him I can't sit here wait for him everyday, then he told me his not going to responsible for that because I have someone else get it done beside them , and after that whenever I have other issue with the car I try to email him , he don't reply to his call or email , when now my car have more issue with the engine ,I try to email him he said he don't want to discuss over the email if I want to discuss I would have to either go to him or call him when I really don't trust the work they done and word he said , I feel like they did not do that they suppose to be do so I want to have my car to be looked at by more professional peoples , there's more to this I got everything in email as document or proof

Desired Settlement: would like them to pay for the car to be checked out and by a professional tech , fix and other stuff to the engine as they suppose to do , they need to be responsible for it

Business Response:

Regarding complaint# *******, the customer came to our shop for some work on an engine. He brought the engine to our facility on May **, 2013 (see attached invoice), already out of the vehicle. We then purchased all the parts for the rebuild of the engine per the customer’s request. After we re-built the engine, he then took the engine from our facility on May **, 2013. He then had the engine installed in his vehicle by another shop and not by our facility.

On June **, 2013, he complained the vehicle was not running correctly. We then towed the vehicle back to our facility at our expense ($200) in order to examine the issue.  Upon inspection, we found out the electrical engine harness was old and brittle and could have been damaged by the other repair shop upon removal or install of the engine into *** *****’s vehicle.  We then advised *** ***** of this and explained he needs a new engine harness which he agreed to purchase (invoice attached). 

The new engine harness was installed in his vehicle and corrected the issue.  *** ***** picked up his vehicle from our shop on July *, 2013. As a courtesy, due to his schedule, we opened the facility after hours in order for him to pick up his vehicle.    

He later complained of oil leaks and other issues and we advised him that we did not install the engine into the vehicle; we informed him to bring the vehicle to our shop so we can diagnose the issue. Our technician found he had a power steering leak which was sweating down the side of the engine coming from the pump.  Our job was to rebuild an engine which we completed.  Having problems with accessories such as power steering, sensors or solenoids is not part of the rebuild process nor was it listed on our invoice or even given to us with the engine.  *** ***** does not understand this and feels everything should be covered which is not true. He should address any issues with the shop that installed the engine into the vehicle.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

you stated ( Our technician found he had a power steering leak which was sweating down the side of the engine coming from the pump.)
I have two technician looked at the motor and it have nothing to do with the steering leak, I have picture to proof it was a missing head gasket , and missing few gasket suppose to be
also I been spoken with few shop and rebuilt technician , they all said they clean up engine for every rebuilt so is easy to find out leak after rebuilt and you guys didn't . since you guys
attach file are the area is the leak , you stated you found the leak from the power steering , but clearly tell you that your wrong at this point.
you tell me you will order the gasket it took you over 2 week's to order a gasket ?
also the invoice did mention what your going to be done with my car but issue after issue make me wonder if you guys did the job or not ,
as i mention right now in winter time , i see lot of smoke's coming out from my car i already have shop's looked at my car and they said is burning oil ,
also my car RPM ships from 1000rpm to 2 or 3000 RPM  here and there , also running rough idle. i even replaced the TPS ,i'm not trying to blame you guys for everything
but i'm tired of trying to reach out to you and i either never get respond or no help that's the reason i run to other shop to have my job done.

(Machine shop for head 300.00 300.00T
Disassemble block and rebuild and reassemble)


isn't you guys should clean up the built ? but how come cleaning the engine is not part of it ?

also you ask me to pay you 350$ extra for the wire , but how come my wire is zip tie it ?
I did not say everything needed to be done by you guys , but those are the basic stuff that it suppose to be done by the shop for rebuilt as most of the shop does, I called few shop in the tri-state area and that's what they told me not I claim.I don't come here to scam peoples off I just want to get what I'm paying for ,
yes the motor was installed by my technician not by you guys , but even if I  have someone install it but the job suppose to done correctly.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

Business Response: You claim :" I have picture to proof it was a missing head gasket , and missing few gasket". If you were missing a head gasket your engine would not even run. You also were not missing any gaskets as we purchased a brand new engine gasket set from the dealership and used every single one as it is reflected on your invoice .

You also came to the shop pleading with me you are on a budget. I informed you we recommend getting the block cleaned at our machine shop; you declined and only gave us the approval to send the heads out to the machine shop which we did and had it done as it is stated on your invoice #****; we did the important parts of the rebuild which was to replace vital internal components, Our machine shop cleaned the heads, decked and milled the heads. The block was honed in house and assembled to save you money as you were trying to be within budget.

Your so called  "Technician" could not diagnose what problems you were having with the engine after they installed it and I spent over an hour explaining to you over the phone on what to have them check. After they failed at checking and trying to diagnose your vehicle I paid for the car to get towed to my facility which cost me $200 and found out your original engine harness was old and brittle which was causing your issue. Your issue was so severe you could have damaged the engine in the process. We caught this and informed you the car needed a new harness. We installed the harness and the car ran fine with no check engine lights or issues once it left our facility. So in turn you paid $350 for an engine harness, We paid out of our own pocket $200 for towing + 2 hours of diagnosing your electrical problem which was not our fault in the first place which adds up to another $200 that you were not charged.

Regarding attachment GT1.JPG - This is a picture of an oil filter that is sweating oil. We never installed the oil filter on the engine as we gave the engine back with no filter as it shows on your invoice #**** you were not billed out for one. The shop/person who installed the engine could have left the filter slightly loose causing it to leak or sweat.

Regarding attachment GT7.JPG - This picture shows powersteering fluid on the bottom of the valve cover; This can happen when the powersteering pump which sits above and on top of the timing cover can leak down and blow downwards on to the exhaust manifold causing smoke and spread underneath the vehicle coating the undercarriage which you were informed. If you look closely on this picture you can see the valve cover gasket is new as it is very black in color and not faded as well as grey silicone next to the gasket which is part of the assembly process to ensure there are no leaks from that area.

Regarding attachment GT13.JPG - This picture shows the dip stick and oil pan; clearly it has grease on it and is not fresh oil. As explained earlier *** ***** was on a budget and did not pay for added services which we recommended to get done and is outlined on what was performed on Invoice #****.

We will still like to continue doing business with *** ***** and feel that this whole situation is a big misunderstanding. If he would like to have us diagnose his car further we will do so and inform him on the needed repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

( You claim :" *I have picture to proof it was a missing head gasket , and missing few gasket". If you were missing a head gasket your engine would not even run. )

that is so wrong , if your missing head gasket your car still run's . I might not be a tech but if your missing gasket your car still run's regardless.

You also came to the shop pleading with me you are on a budget. I informed you we recommend getting the block cleaned at our machine shop; you declined and only gave us the approval to send the heads out to the machine shop which we did and had it done as it is stated on your invoice #****; we did the important parts of the rebuild which was to replace vital internal components, Our machine shop cleaned the heads

yes I pleading on the budget because if I don't I know you would asking for more and more everytime ,

as you mention your machine shop cleaned the heads ? what do you mean please clearifly , because if you said is cleaned the head, no the hear was not clean I get the motor and they were as dirty as it took out from the car.

yes as you said the wire were the issue , but how come i'm getting a old wire ? and how come you zip tie the wire to the main harness ??? my tech didn't bother with it because he said it can be the timing ISSUE that cost my car to shut down and such , that's why he rather to let you guys check instead of him.

GT1.jpg , yes is sweating oil , but as you mention to me you guys suppose to change every gasket in the car correct ?

oil filter area, they have 1 gasket and that's the ( o ring gasket ) isn't that suppose to be replaced by you guys ???

GT7.JPG , same question you stated is the power steering pump sits above the top of the timing cover can leak down, but power steering was never been touch until today , my tech replaced the gasket and leak stop's so how that explain to me that the power steering pump leak ? ( valve cover area have half moon and other gasket too ) that he replaced every gasket and stop the leak ands smoke's

gt13.jpg this area have a small leak because they have a small gasket inside the dip stick the whole thing is about the leak and gasket issue not about paying extra money or not.

 

 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** *****




 

12/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable