BBB Accredited Business since

S & S Repair Center, Inc.

Phone: (516) 921-1300 30 Underhill Boulevard, Syosset, NY 11791 http://www.1ssrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that S & S Repair Center, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for S & S Repair Center, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on S & S Repair Center, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 07, 2011 Business started: 10/14/2008 in NY Business incorporated 10/14/2008 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Schwarz, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TOWING-AUTOMOTIVE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE TRUCK REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO AIR CONDITIONING AUTO DIAGNOSTIC SERVICE AUTO ELECTRIC SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 30 Underhill Boulevard

    Syosset, NY 11791 (516) 921-1300

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle broke down on route 25A in Syosset at night. I had S&S tow my car to their Syosset repair shop to get the issue diagnosed and fixed. S&S charged me approximately $50 for a diagnostic on my car, informed me that the battery needed to be replaced and charged me approximately $150 to change the battery. In total after tax I was charged $210.68 After I had the repairs done, my vehicle broke down again within 40 miles of use. I had the car towed to the Nissan dealer service center and was informed that there had been no problem with the battery nor alternator, rather the camshaft position sensor was broken and needed to be replaced. S&S not only misdiagnosed my service issue with the vehicle, they replaced the wrong parts on the vehicle at an inflated price. They did not address any of the pertinent issues with the vehicle and it subsequently broke down on the highway within a week. In essence, I took my car in for a diagnostic to S&S to see why it wasn't working, was given a false diagnostic report, was made to purchase parts and labor with completely false pretenses, and the car broke down within 1 week on the highway for the same reason it broke down in the first place.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund for the diagnostic services that S&S auto performed, as it was completely faulty, and a full refund for the labor and parts the auto shop repaired, which had nothing to do with the vehicle's problem.

Business Response: I m very sorry to hear about the problems you are having with your 2003 Nissan please provide me on the dealers letter head or invoice  indicating  that my diagnoses had nothing to do with the vehicles problem as stated in your desired settlement section  and that your old battery was good and was not the problem when we repaired your vehicle   I than  will be happy to refund you $210.68 thank you * * *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on S & S Repair Center, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)