This business is not BBB accredited.

Rob's Auto Care, Inc.

Phone: (914) 834-7770 Fax: (914) 833-8830 View Additional Phone Numbers 2394 Boston Post Road, Larchmont , NY 10538 http://robsautocare.us/indexD.html


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides auto maintenance, mechanical repairs and NYS Inspections.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Rob's Auto Care, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Rob's Auto Care, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rob's Auto Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Robert Surace, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Surace, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Licensing

DMV license 7090249


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2394 Boston Post Road

    Larchmont , NY 10538

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Rob's Auto Care Inc. on Thursday September ** to get a New York State safety inspection. I waited in the office while they were supposed to be preforming the inspection for an hour before they even pulled my car car in to the bay. Once they pulled they pulled they car they didn't actually do anything with it except look under the hood. They did lift the car on the lift but did not remove the tires or inspect the wheels or the back of the car at all. At this point an hour and a half had gone by and the ************ came to me to with a long list of things that they said they had found wrong with the car. First thing she said was that the front brakes were bad and the rotors needed to be turned. I was immediately concerned that their prognosis of my car was false. I had just had my brakes checked and my rotors turned in June. Plus they hadn't even taken any of my wheels off so I thought it was hard for them to have done a proper inspection. At this point I told her that I didn't believe them and I would like them to return my car to me. At this time the owner insisted on showing me the brakes and rotors, I told him I wasn't interested but they still had possession of my car so I reluctantly allowed him to show me the brakes and rotors. Although when we got to the car it was only the brakes that needed to be changed the rotors no longer needed to be turned. Once out there he tried to show me the brakes through the rims but you couldn't see it well enough. He asked the mechanic to take the tire off so we could see the brakes. At this time the the mechanic said he needed the wheel key to take the tire off (which reaffirms that he never took any of my tires off during the inspection). Once the tire was off the story changed to the brakes didn't need to be changed but were close. After this he went further to tell me my rear shocks/struts were leaking and this would cause my car to fail the inspection. I wonder how they saw this if the they never took the tire off let alone got near the rear end of the car during the inspection. At this time I demanded he lower my car and return it to me. He finally did but did some emission testing and gave me a paper stating my car failed inspection based on front end shock/struts. Well today I took my car to the dealership to be inspected and not surprisingly it passed. I am writing this complaint because they may have only swindled me out of the $37 for the inspection but they had told they man before me the same thing was wrong with his car, it sounds like this may be a swindle they use often and I would like to save unsuspecting victims the misery of their con.

Desired Settlement: Stop ripping people off.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Rob's Auto Care, Inc. regarding complaint ID ********.

Sincerely,

**** *****

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 12/**/12 I brought my car to ***** **** **** ** ********** ** because the car was making an unusual noise. I was told I needed both right and left front suspension struts. The entire bill was $1183.84. A month or two later I once again heard the same noise. I brought the car back to *****. The left front strut was faulty and was once again replaced. It took *** three days to do this and I was inconvenienced without my car for that amount of time. Once again in July of 2012 I heard the same noise. For the THIRD time I brought my car in. Once again the left strut was faulty and had to be replaced. This time I was without my car for four days. In March of 2013 I heard the same noise but it was on the right side. By then I was tired of ***** Auto Care's incompetence. I brought my car to a different mechanic. On the way to his shop the wheel bent and the car went off the road. Thank GOD no one was hurt. I then had to have the car towed to the new mechanic. This time the right strut was faulty. My new mechanic asked for a copy of ***** bill. When he saw that I was charged 3 hours for labor he laughed and said "struts take 1-1 1/2 hours. You really got ripped off." When I told *** what had happened he asked me to return the struts to him so he could get a credit from the company. He then said he would give me a refund if he didn't hear anything from the company in a week. I went to see him a week later. He said he hadn't heard from the company yet and he would let me know when he did. When I reminded him of the original promise he made me that he would give me a refund if he had not yet been reimbursed after a week his exact answer was “It ain’t gonna happen! I never said that!" I told him he was lying.! *** then left the office, said I’ll be right back, and left me standing there for 20 minutes. I went outside and told him I had to leave. Once again *** said he would be right there. Again I waited 20 minutes until I got angry. I told him that I would take him to court to be compensated for all of the problems I have had had since he replaced my struts. I then let him know I would write to The BBB and also let his customers know via internet the type of shady business he runs. He said, "Go ahead!" A few days later I received a call from ***** secretary ***. She said since *** and I left off on bad terms she would take over and help to get me a refund. Two and one half weeks went by. I called ***** repair shop numerous times. I spoke to *** and she said she was working on it and would call me tomorrow. I told her if I didn’t hear from her, I would call her. I called that next day and was told by one of ***** workers that *** was not there. ( They have caller ID so I asked a friend to pass by and see if she was indeed there, and of course she was.) I called again and I was told by *** that she would return my call immediately. Once again I did not receive a return phone call. I called ***** repair shop again the next day and asked to speak to ***. Once again I was told she was not there. I wrote a letter to *** requesting he either send me a refund or I was taking him to court. After I mailed the letter that same day I received a call from *** stating that *** would give me a refund of six hundred something dollars( I don't remember the exact amount). I said no. I want a total refund. After a week I decided to accept the partial payment and sue for the rest. I called ***** Auto Care once again and told *** I would accept the money. *** was not there so *** said she would call me back. Later that day I received a return phone call and was told since I sent *** the letter, I should take him to court. I have received no compensation although he received a credit from the company that made the struts.

Desired Settlement: 1200 dollars in cash.

Business Response: In  response to the above referenced  complaint  by **** ******  regarding  repairs to her  1999 Chrysler LHS, ***'s Auto Care, Inc. installed both side front strut assemblies and sway bar links on  12/**/2011.  The labor was for 1.5 hours per side as allocated  in the All Data labor guide. The strut assembly included the strut, mount,  and coil spring. This labor did  not include the necessary wheel alignment which  we performed  but did  not charge her for as she was a close family friend  of one of our employees at the time.
On July *, 2012 *** ****** returned for other repairs to her vehicle as well as for us to check a noise she was hearing in the front end.  At this time we changed the left front strut assembly under warranty at no charge to her along with other requested services.  Again on 9/**/2012, *** ****** brought her car in for service. She voiced her concern over a noise in the front end that she felt was coming from the struts, so as a courtesy we again changed the left front strut assembly under warranty at no charge to her.
In March 2013 *** ****** informed us that she had been towed to a repair shop in Yorktown Heights, NY. We spoke with ***** at CF Auto (phone number ###-###-####) who told us the right side strut had broken.  We offered to repair the vehicle under warranty at our shop but ** ****** had stated that she now lives up in that area and wanted her car repaired up there.
We then offered to replace the right side strut assembly under warranty and have it brought up to CF Auto in Yorktown Heights for CF Auto to install for her. As a further courtesy we also offered replace the left side strut assembly so that both sides would be brand new. ** ****** apparently declined our offers of assistance and opted instead to have CF Auto replace both side struts and pay for them at that establishment.
*** ****** then returned the old parts and demanded a refund from us.
We offered to return the parts to our supplier with a request to refund labor time as well so he could give *** ****** a refund towards the amount she paid to CF Auto.
When ** ****** returned approximately a week later, we had not yet received a response from our supplier as to the amount they would be crediting us. She became annoyed because there were other people here before her who needed to be helped before we could spend a reasonable amount of time speaking with her. She demanded we give her a refund on the spot and that she was going to go on the internet to tell everyone "what a shady business" we run here.  And that she was going to take us to court and complain to the Better Business Bureau.
She was told that we would not give her a cash refund on the spot and to go ahead with her complaint to the BBB, as we had tried to help as much as we could each step of the way. *** ****** became angry and left.
My employee, ***, called her to try to smooth things over and come to an agreement on a refund amount. ** ****** became upset again when she did not get a call back as quickly as she wanted.  She also accused *** of avoiding her calls, saying she had one of her friends drive by to see if *** was sitting at her desk. *** called her back with an offer of refund in the amount $670.66, the amount charged by CF Auto for the labor, struts, wheel alignment and tax.  *** ****** told *** she would not accept that amount.
After about a week, *** ****** called back to say she would accept our offer of refund but demanded it be in cash.  At this point, after receiving the letter threatening our company with court action, complaints to the BBB, and threats to "notify as many of your customers as I  can of your wrong doings", we told *** ****** we were no longer comfortable giving her a refund but would prefer that a judge settle the matter for us in front of a court.
Copies of  repair orders and a printout of the labor time from All Data  labor guide can be furnished on request of the BBB. If there are further questions, please feel free to contact *** at the above referenced office number. Thank you in advance for your time and consideration.

Sincerely,





****** ******, President

Business Response: In response to the above referenced complaint by **** ****** regarding repairs to her 1999 Chrysler LHS, we are still prepared to offer her a refund of $670 .66, which represents the amount *** ****** paid to C F Auto for replacing the front strut assemblies on 3/**/13. We are willing to reimburse her by company check, providing she signs a release at the time of reimbursement stating we have reimbursed her in full and she will take no further legal action against us in this matter. This offer expires July **, 2013.

Sincerely,

****** ******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ** *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

**** ****** 


  I must receive the check within  the next 7 business days to end this matter.