This business is not BBB accredited.

Rob's Auto Care, Inc.

Phone: (914) 834-7770 Fax: (914) 833-8830 View Additional Phone Numbers 2394 Boston Post Road, Larchmont , NY 10538

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This firm provides auto maintenance, mechanical repairs and NYS Inspections.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rob's Auto Care, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Rob's Auto Care, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 03, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/2000 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Robert Surace, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Surace, President
Business Category



DMV license 7090249

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Rob's Auto Care, Inc. has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of B-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


    2394 Boston Post Road

    Larchmont , NY 10538


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Rob's Auto Care Inc. on Thursday September ** to get a New York State safety inspection. I waited in the office while they were supposed to be preforming the inspection for an hour before they even pulled my car car in to the bay. Once they pulled they pulled they car they didn't actually do anything with it except look under the hood. They did lift the car on the lift but did not remove the tires or inspect the wheels or the back of the car at all. At this point an hour and a half had gone by and the ************ came to me to with a long list of things that they said they had found wrong with the car. First thing she said was that the front brakes were bad and the rotors needed to be turned. I was immediately concerned that their prognosis of my car was false. I had just had my brakes checked and my rotors turned in June. Plus they hadn't even taken any of my wheels off so I thought it was hard for them to have done a proper inspection. At this point I told her that I didn't believe them and I would like them to return my car to me. At this time the owner insisted on showing me the brakes and rotors, I told him I wasn't interested but they still had possession of my car so I reluctantly allowed him to show me the brakes and rotors. Although when we got to the car it was only the brakes that needed to be changed the rotors no longer needed to be turned. Once out there he tried to show me the brakes through the rims but you couldn't see it well enough. He asked the mechanic to take the tire off so we could see the brakes. At this time the the mechanic said he needed the wheel key to take the tire off (which reaffirms that he never took any of my tires off during the inspection). Once the tire was off the story changed to the brakes didn't need to be changed but were close. After this he went further to tell me my rear shocks/struts were leaking and this would cause my car to fail the inspection. I wonder how they saw this if the they never took the tire off let alone got near the rear end of the car during the inspection. At this time I demanded he lower my car and return it to me. He finally did but did some emission testing and gave me a paper stating my car failed inspection based on front end shock/struts. Well today I took my car to the dealership to be inspected and not surprisingly it passed. I am writing this complaint because they may have only swindled me out of the $37 for the inspection but they had told they man before me the same thing was wrong with his car, it sounds like this may be a swindle they use often and I would like to save unsuspecting victims the misery of their con.

Desired Settlement: Stop ripping people off.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Rob's Auto Care, Inc. regarding complaint ID ********.


**** *****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Rob's Auto Care, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart