BBB Accredited Business since

Mid Island Collision

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 766-0101 Fax: (516) 766-5126 20 Lakeview Avenue, Rockville Center, NY 11570


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid Island Collision meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid Island Collision include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mid Island Collision
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Business Management
Mr. Robert Lupo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Lupo, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Midisland Collision

Additional Locations

  • 20 Lakeview Avenue

    Rockville Center, NY 11570

  • 20 Lakeview Avenue

    Rockville Centre, NY 11570

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about 9/*/2015 ***** **** Insurance went to the premises to review damage to my car. Pictures were taken at that time and both Mid-Island and ***** **** could not agree on an amount. I received a call from ***** **** advising that there was no agreement in the amount of damage. I called MidIsland to pick up my car. The morning of my pick up MidIsland removed the trunk of the car, bumper and other parts which had nothing to sdo with the accident. ***** **** provided me with pictures of what the car looked like at time of inspection and they car was in disrepair at the time I picked it up. They held the car "hostage" until I gave them in cash "only" $1400.00, I will be taking them to small claims court and they should be held liable for the additional damage they did to my car. At no time did they contact me to discuss if I was going to continue to have them repair the car and took it upon themselves to destroy my 2015 car !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: they should have never charged me for them to put my car back together a total of 819.00 plus tax

Business Response: Mid Island was given signed permission to estimate, dismantle, and repair this car.  The car was dismantled, blueprinted, and parts were ordered.
***** **** estimated the repairs, and notified the consumer there was no agreed price. We explained to the owner, it was standard for State Farm, and we would repair the car for the amount stated. She chose to use another shop. we re-assembled car, at her request. we charged for work requested, and work performed.

***** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The repair shop was NOT given written authorization by me to dismantle or cut into my 2015 car without all parties agreeing the work would b completed. ***** **** and Mid Island did NOT agree to an amount to repair the car.  When ***** **** contacted me to tell me there was no agreement is when Mid Island decided to cut a whole in my car in an attempt to have the work completed with them even though I advised them I would be picking up the car to have it fixed at another shop. ***** **** provided me with pictures of the car at their time of inspection and it was NOT in the same condition when I picked it up on the next business day.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
*** ******




 

Business Response: I sent you signed authorizations from walker......

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

THAT IS NOT MY SIGNATURE, I DID NOT AUTHORIZE ANYTHING MORE THAN TO HAVE ***** **** MEET WITH MID ISLAND COLLISION TO INSPECT CAR AND WRITE AN ESTIMATE. THAT AUTHORIZATION WAS DONE VERBALLY.

THE CAR WAS INSPECTED BY ***** **** INSURANCE FOR THE ADJUSTMENT/INSPECTION FOR POSSIBLE REPAIRS AND IT WAS NOT DISASSEMBLED AT THE TIME OF INSPECTION. ***** **** THEMSELVES FORWARDED TO ME THEIR OWN PICTURES WHICH DID NOT SHOW ANY HOLES IN THE SIDE OF THE CAR OR DISASSEMBLED CAR.

IT WAS ONLY DISASSEMBLED WHEN I CALLED TO SAY I WAS PICKING IT UP BECAUSE AN AGREEMENT COULD NOT BE REACHED BETWEEN ALL PARTIES. I CAN PROVIDE PROOF MY HANDWRITING UPON REQUEST FOR SAME. I CAN ALSO PROVIDE PROOF OF PICTURES TAKEN BY STATE FARMS INSPECTOR. PLEASE LET ME KNOW

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

*** ******




 

9/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July **, 2015, my unoccupied vehicle was hit while parked in the outdoor parking lot at *** ****** ****** ** ********** *** ****. I sustained damage on the left rear bumper of my vehicle, as did the driver who hit my vehicle while backing out of a space, and subsequently hitting my vehicle. The driver who hit my auto remained at the site; we exchanged information and I called 911 for police assistance. The officer arrived at the scene and made an assessment of the incident. I subsequently reported the incident to my insurance company (********) and I picked up, filled out and submitted the necessary paperwork to Albany and to ******** as required. An ******** inspector assessed the damages on Friday, July **, 2015, and cut a check, made payable to me in the amount of $535.95 (less my $500 deductible). At the recommendation of our dealer at **** ** ********, I took my vehicle to *** ****** ********* ** ********* ******* ** for repairs on August *, 2015. To date, Mid Island Collision has had my automobile for 47 DAYS, and I have not received it as yet! I am very annoyed and dismayed by the fact that each time my husband or I have called to find out the status of repairs, Nicole Tirino-Wilke, (with whom we filed paperwork at Mid Island when we initially brought in our vehicle) was never available to speak with us. However, we would be told to leave a message and she would return our call (which she never did). We decided to go on site to find out what the deal was. An apology and some nebulous explanation for not returning calls was given. However, at that time, we were told that additional damage was found underneath the bumper when it had been removed; and they were waiting for an ******** adjustor to come to their site to assess the damages. Through this whole process the ******** adjustor, Mr. Steve R**** was in contact with me, and explained what was going on. As a result of the assessments, ******** cut two additional checks ( in the respective amounts of $5,476.15 issued 8/**/15 and $5, 133.86 issued on 9/*/15) made payable to me and to Mid Island Collision. At or about September **** or ****, my husband received a text from someone (?) at Mid Island which stated that the auto would be ready either Thursday or Friday (Sept. **** or ****) of the following week; and we would receive a call to pick it up. Needless to say, we received NO call from Mid Island on either day (which now meant that our vehicle had been in their possession for 42 Days!). On Saturday, Sept. **** (DAY 43) I made an early morning call to Mid Island, and Nicole answered the phone. I expressed my annoyance at not having my vehicle and told her that I thought that 43 days was an excessive period of time for it to be in their possession (especially since ******** indicated that the repair should take approximately 20 days). Nicole stated that she "thought" my vehicle was at **** ********; I was further informed that the dealer had to make a final assessment when the work was completed to make certain that it was up to Audi's standards/requirements. She mentioned the contact person,- Christina at the **** ******* **********, who happens to have been the person who recommended Mid Island to us; and we have had the pleasure of working with her since 2005. NIcole said that she would call me back with the information. However, in the meantime, I called Christina myself and told her how very unhappy I was about the situation and why. Christina placed me on hold while she contacted Nicole; and when she returned to the line, she told me that Nicloe would be calling me right away,- which she did for the first time ever since we began our interactions with Mid Island Collision. I was told that the vehicle would probably be taken to the dealer on Monday, September **** (Day45). To date (Wednesday, Septembe* ****, I have not received a call. I am now waiting with three (3) bank checks in hand (issued by ********: totaling $11,645.96, including the $500 deductible) to make payment on the vehicle when I pick it up. This dollar amount was approved by ******** for the repairs; and as I understand it, Mid Island Collision is not in agreement with this amount. Given this scenario, I believe I have been taken on a wild goose chase by Mid Island: (calls not returned and vague responses about the status of repairs, etc.); and in addition, I believe my auto is being held "hostage" by Mid Island while they try to get more money from the insurance company. I would hate for any potential customer to have to experience what I've had to endure. I would neither recommend them, nor would I consider ever using their services again! This whole saga has been most unpleasant for me. To a degree, I have had to place my family plans on hold while waiting and waiting for this matter to be resolved. I do hope that you can intercede in this matter and help bring it to a positive and satisfactory conclusion. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: to receive my repaired vehicle

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sustained minor damages to my vehicle after going over a at 25mph. Most of the damaged sustained was to plastic lining under the car, the belly pan, and few scrapes to the bottom of the front bumper. To my utter disbelief, Middle Island Collision charged $13,756 (minus $955 for the damage tire and rim that was fix at another location) to fix. This is beyond unreasonable for these frivolous damages. Mid Island charged for and changed parts that wasn't necessary nor was authorized. As of today Middle Collision has not completed the job on my car after having the vehicle for over 30days in January and charging $13,755 to fix a slight dent under the car door.

Desired Settlement: I want Middle Island collision to fix my car as they promised. I would also like for them to compensate me for the inconvenience they caused me. I would also like an invoice for all the parts that they allegedly bought for my car and an explanation of why they did unnecessary and incomplete work on my vehicle without my authorization.

Business Response: line 1.
** ******** Audi sustained structural damages to to the uniside rocker and center pillar. Minor damages occur at 5mph. significant, if not catastrophic damages occur at 25mph. he was likely traveling at10. He is mistaken.

line 2.
His utter disbelief. ***** (his carrier) wrote an estimate for damages he did to his car. The other shop was unable to repair the damages he did...he did...not Mid Island.

line 3.
Unreasonable, frivolous ??? this requires no response...except ridiculous, and uncalled for.

line 4.
unauthorized, un called for..........wrong......he authorized repairs.....all parts were necessary.

line 5.
job not complete.....slight dent.......
we have a lower shield here for him that was missed......slight dent .....answered line 1.

side note .....
he left out that he's upset that they didn't install a gas cap. and console lock he requested, and we have here also...
He also feels we are responsible for a flat tire he got while driving her for the follow up visit...we addressed his concerns for the shield the day he came in. we ordered his additional parts he requested as a favor. he has complained about **** ********, and Mid Island Collision to **** *********, and I quess he's complaining to anyone that will listen. About a plastic under shield deflector.

Desired settlement request. 1. we will install shield. 2. compensate ?? i guess the extra parts and work won't be enough, so we will not compensate him. 3. invoice available, can explain it; if he doesn't understand necessary, and his own signed authorization to repair.

**** *****, and **** ***** at **** ********, can be called for corroboration.

Brian 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because: Mid Island Assessment is false. The idea that I am upset because of a flat tire is absurd. The question is why was my car not completed the first time around and why are other collision experts and *****'s head Adjusters telling me that MID ISLAND COLLISION DIDN"T DO WHAT THEY BILLED FOR. Those are facts!

On April *, 2015 3 members from ***** corporate office included the ******* for the adjuster for my claim along examined my vehicle at ****** *********. After assessing my vehicle at ****** *********, the Reps from ***** along with the experts at ****** ********* determined that Mid Island Collision didn't do many of the work the allegedly said that did. I was advised by both ***** Representative and ****** ********* to exhaust every means to see to ensure that Mid Island Collision doesn't get away with this again. Paint Job on the left door that Mid Island Collision billed for was not done. Mid Island Collision was so unscrupulous that they had the audacity to put on damage and broken parts on my Vehicle and used Zip-ties to hold them up. ***** is willing to testify in court of the work that Mid Island Collision got paid for and didn't do.

It should be noted that Mid Island Collision had my Vehicle for over 30days and gave me a vehicle that wasn't complete. Mid Island Collision new of the incomplete job on February *, 2015 one day after I received my vehicle. They made no urgent effort to rectify the situation. I had waste my precious time going back and forth to there location to for them to finish there incomplete job.

It should also be noted that my complaint to head ******* at **** ******** was legitimate at that head Management decided to correct my the issue.

Audi Pic 9 Shows the main damage to the Vehicle that cost $13000 to fix
Audi Pic 1 Show damages caused that was NOT FIXED!
Audi Pic 2 Show shows ZIP-TIES that was used on my Vehicle (it should be noted that this picture was taken after Mid Island Collision went to **** ******** and replaced the old part that the used the Zip-ties affix to my Vehicle). They stilled used Zip-ties after the threw on the new part.
Audi Pic 3 Shows the still damaged Rocket Panel that Mid Island Collision claimed they replace. The experts at ****** ********* and ***** have serious reservation about that.

I was directed by **** ** ******* to go to another Authorize Audi Repair Shop to have the also assess the incomplete work and fallacious work done on my vehicle. When this is complete, I will have further evidence to show that Mid Island Collision got paid for work the never did. 





   In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.
Sincerely,

***** ********


 

1/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was taken to Mid Island Collision on October **, 2013 for a rear end collision. My insurance provider (Geico) made several calls to schedule an adjuster to view the car damages from the week of 10-** to 11/**) Mid Island Collision refused to see the adjuster until November **, which is over 2 weeks from the date that I brought the car to this shop. After the adjuster made estimates, the projected repair time Mid Island Collision gave my insurance company was 13 days and $15k of parts, paint and labor. On December *, 2013 @ 9:20am, I received a call from ****** asking for my wheel locks for my car; this marks 39 days from initially taking my car to the shop to when they actually started to work on it. I made arrangements to have the wheel locks delivered with a few hours of the shops request. On December ****, I was told that my car was within a few days of completion by the shops "*******" *****; this was obviously a lie. I was told after calling for a pickup day for my car that another exhaust piece was being ordered for my car. ***** told me that this part would be received within two days, installed and sent to an Audi dealer for inspection. I was supposed to have my car by December **. I called on Wednesday, December ** regarding status of my car; the ************ told me that my car was at the dealer, and within 30 minutes, ***** told me that my car never left Mid Island Collision. On Thursday, December **, I called and spoke to ***** again about the status of my car and voiced my concerns about the shop lying about the location of my car and part order status. Like every other time I spoke to him, he spoke around the questions and gave me another false completion date. ***** told me that he would find the part and have my car in the dealer before the weekend to I can pick up my car the latest December ***** 2013. He and his ************ had told me that the part was in their possession and being sent to the Audi Dealer by Saturday, December ****. Friday, December **, I called Mid Island Collision in hopes of following up with ***** about the status of a car that was supposed to be completed a month prior. I was not able to get in touch ***** (again). On Saturday, December ****, I had to drive over to the Mid Island Collision to get any update. Upon arrival, there was one ************ at the desk. I asked about my car status, and she told me to go to the Audi Dealer (on ****** ***) and I could see the car. I then drove from Mid Island Collision to the Audi Dealer Service shop on ****** *** and spoke with one the reps available. The rep allowed me to see the car, which was being worked on by a technician. The rep told me that all that needed to be completed was the alignment of headlights, wheels, and clearing of fault codes. I did notice that there was no exhaust on my car (and I took pictures) After the dealer, my next call was December ***** 2013. This was the day I was told that my car would be ready for pickup, I called Mid Island Collision, and spoke to a ************ (again ***** was unavailable). She told me that the car is still at the dealer, and she told me that since my car is "special" it takes more time than usual. Since this was the same ************ that I spoke to in person on Saturday, I asked why my car isn't competed, she plainly said she does know and "what do you want me to do?". I spoke to another ************, who assured me that the car is still being worked on by the dealer, and should be completed shortly. Knowing that I was being lied to again, I drove back to the dealer on ****** *** and spoke to a "****" about the status of my car. He told me that no parts have even been ordered for my car yet (apparently, Mid Island needs to confirm something). This is extremely frustrating considering I was already told the part in and being installed on the car. I called Mid Island Collision and voiced what I had just heard, the ************ told me that my car would be available by Friday of this week (December ****). She said that she would follow up with ****, and give me a call when she takes to ****. She never called back (which was expected). As of current (December ***** 2013) I can have called Mid Island Collision around the vicinity of 40-50 times, most in efforts to speak with ***** (because apparently, ************ do not know the status of any vehicle at the shop). Of those 40-50, I was only able to get in touch with ***** ("The *******") on about 9 or so times. Every conversation I have with ***** lasted less that an minute and was filled with excuses, false promises and down right lies. I recall calling ***** last week; after waiting for about 10 minutes to actually get him on the phones, he said to me "Hi, let me call you back in 1 minute, I need to walk back at my desk and grab your paperwork". Like a fool, I sat and waited for his call back on my lunch break for 1 hour. After calling back, he didn't even apologize, he just said he's busy with a line at his desk, and the car should be ready in a few days. He didn't even ask my which car... The ************ are no better, but at least they had the courtesy to say "I don't know where your car is or the status". This shop has taken an unreasonable amount of time to complete a repair, and have lied and avoided me for months. All money has already been paid to this shop back in November by my insurance company, so I have no leverage; I am at this shops mercy, I do not want this shop to hold my car ransom, or worse, try to extort more money from my insurance company or myself by holding my car and telling me that more parts need to be ordered/fixed.

Desired Settlement: I need to have my car back in my possession before the end of 2013, and fully repaired to spec as promised. I also want all of my possessions that were present in the car to still be there (the wheel locks, navigation sim card, etc) To date, my car has been in Mid Island Collision's possession for more than 60 days and counting although 13 days was the estimate. Mid Island has received their payment, but have not delivered my car after 2+ months; all they have delivered is poor customer service, lies and a great deal of frustration (which is obviously un-appreciated). Right now, I am at the mercy of Mid Island Collision; they have my $60k car and the $15k check for the repairs. The "do nothing" ******* ***** and receptions honestly have no incentive to get my car back in a timely manner; and I'm sure they can care less about having me as a repeat customer. I really need help from the BBB in this impossible situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mid Island Collision
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)