BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

Mid Island Collision

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 766-0101 Fax: (516) 766-5126 20 Lakeview Avenue, Rockville Center, NY 11570

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mid Island Collision meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mid Island Collision include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1963 Business started: 01/01/1955
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Business Management
Mr. Robert Lupo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Lupo, Owner
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Midisland Collision

Additional Locations

  • 20 Lakeview Avenue

    Rockville Center, NY 11570

  • 20 Lakeview Avenue

    Rockville Centre, NY 11570

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/4/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was taken to Mid Island Collision on October **, 2013 for a rear end collision. My insurance provider (Geico) made several calls to schedule an adjuster to view the car damages from the week of 10-** to 11/**) Mid Island Collision refused to see the adjuster until November **, which is over 2 weeks from the date that I brought the car to this shop. After the adjuster made estimates, the projected repair time Mid Island Collision gave my insurance company was 13 days and $15k of parts, paint and labor. On December *, 2013 @ 9:20am, I received a call from ****** asking for my wheel locks for my car; this marks 39 days from initially taking my car to the shop to when they actually started to work on it. I made arrangements to have the wheel locks delivered with a few hours of the shops request. On December ****, I was told that my car was within a few days of completion by the shops "*******" *****; this was obviously a lie. I was told after calling for a pickup day for my car that another exhaust piece was being ordered for my car. ***** told me that this part would be received within two days, installed and sent to an Audi dealer for inspection. I was supposed to have my car by December **. I called on Wednesday, December ** regarding status of my car; the ************ told me that my car was at the dealer, and within 30 minutes, ***** told me that my car never left Mid Island Collision. On Thursday, December **, I called and spoke to ***** again about the status of my car and voiced my concerns about the shop lying about the location of my car and part order status. Like every other time I spoke to him, he spoke around the questions and gave me another false completion date. ***** told me that he would find the part and have my car in the dealer before the weekend to I can pick up my car the latest December ***** 2013. He and his ************ had told me that the part was in their possession and being sent to the Audi Dealer by Saturday, December ****. Friday, December **, I called Mid Island Collision in hopes of following up with ***** about the status of a car that was supposed to be completed a month prior. I was not able to get in touch ***** (again). On Saturday, December ****, I had to drive over to the Mid Island Collision to get any update. Upon arrival, there was one ************ at the desk. I asked about my car status, and she told me to go to the Audi Dealer (on ****** ***) and I could see the car. I then drove from Mid Island Collision to the Audi Dealer Service shop on ****** *** and spoke with one the reps available. The rep allowed me to see the car, which was being worked on by a technician. The rep told me that all that needed to be completed was the alignment of headlights, wheels, and clearing of fault codes. I did notice that there was no exhaust on my car (and I took pictures) After the dealer, my next call was December ***** 2013. This was the day I was told that my car would be ready for pickup, I called Mid Island Collision, and spoke to a ************ (again ***** was unavailable). She told me that the car is still at the dealer, and she told me that since my car is "special" it takes more time than usual. Since this was the same ************ that I spoke to in person on Saturday, I asked why my car isn't competed, she plainly said she does know and "what do you want me to do?". I spoke to another ************, who assured me that the car is still being worked on by the dealer, and should be completed shortly. Knowing that I was being lied to again, I drove back to the dealer on ****** *** and spoke to a "****" about the status of my car. He told me that no parts have even been ordered for my car yet (apparently, Mid Island needs to confirm something). This is extremely frustrating considering I was already told the part in and being installed on the car. I called Mid Island Collision and voiced what I had just heard, the ************ told me that my car would be available by Friday of this week (December ****). She said that she would follow up with ****, and give me a call when she takes to ****. She never called back (which was expected). As of current (December ***** 2013) I can have called Mid Island Collision around the vicinity of 40-50 times, most in efforts to speak with ***** (because apparently, ************ do not know the status of any vehicle at the shop). Of those 40-50, I was only able to get in touch with ***** ("The *******") on about 9 or so times. Every conversation I have with ***** lasted less that an minute and was filled with excuses, false promises and down right lies. I recall calling ***** last week; after waiting for about 10 minutes to actually get him on the phones, he said to me "Hi, let me call you back in 1 minute, I need to walk back at my desk and grab your paperwork". Like a fool, I sat and waited for his call back on my lunch break for 1 hour. After calling back, he didn't even apologize, he just said he's busy with a line at his desk, and the car should be ready in a few days. He didn't even ask my which car... The ************ are no better, but at least they had the courtesy to say "I don't know where your car is or the status". This shop has taken an unreasonable amount of time to complete a repair, and have lied and avoided me for months. All money has already been paid to this shop back in November by my insurance company, so I have no leverage; I am at this shops mercy, I do not want this shop to hold my car ransom, or worse, try to extort more money from my insurance company or myself by holding my car and telling me that more parts need to be ordered/fixed.

Desired Settlement: I need to have my car back in my possession before the end of 2013, and fully repaired to spec as promised. I also want all of my possessions that were present in the car to still be there (the wheel locks, navigation sim card, etc) To date, my car has been in Mid Island Collision's possession for more than 60 days and counting although 13 days was the estimate. Mid Island has received their payment, but have not delivered my car after 2+ months; all they have delivered is poor customer service, lies and a great deal of frustration (which is obviously un-appreciated). Right now, I am at the mercy of Mid Island Collision; they have my $60k car and the $15k check for the repairs. The "do nothing" ******* ***** and receptions honestly have no incentive to get my car back in a timely manner; and I'm sure they can care less about having me as a repeat customer. I really need help from the BBB in this impossible situation.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* ********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My car was hit in the rear and along the whole passenger side back to front on 4/**/13. It still could be driven. On 4/**/13 I brought the car a 2012 Hyundai Accent GLS to Mid Island Collision in Rockville Centre NY, I live maybe 10 minutes from the shop. I see their ads on cable tv and I checked online the BBB Rating you gave Mid Island Collision, you gave them an A+ rating. I brought it there to find out what their procedure was in repairing the car and how long it would take to do the repairs. I first gave the receptionist Jennifer my insurance information and then she told me to speak to ***** and *** about the work on the car, I think they are the Managers? I was told they use only original manufactures parts called OEM parts. That is what I wanted them to use. Then I asked them how long would it take to compete? ***** said 3-4 weeks then *** said no more like 4-5 weeks. I did not want to have to wait any longer then that. They told me that when they completed the repairs they then send the car to an authorized dealer for a final inspection that the job was done correctly.and my car would be sent to South Shore Hyundai in Valley Stream NY. I asked them do they have a loner car I could use? I was told they have their own rental cars on the premiss and that I would not have to pay because the insurance company of the person that hit me would pay for the rental. They told me that they would be in contact with me with updates on how the car was coming along. That was on 4/**/13. Everything sounded good and the BBB gave them an A+rating so I left the car there and drove home in their rental car. About 3-4 days later Mid Island sends me an email with my insurance company's estimate from the adjuster on the items to be replaced or repaired and the amount they would pay. I called and spoke to *** and told him this estimate has a lot of things missing on it. *** tells me not to worry this is only an estimate from the adjuster and that they still have to go over everything that needs to be done with him. That was on April 26th 2013 AND the LAST I heard from Mid Island. On 5/**/13 four weeks later I called and asked to speak to *****, the receptionist told me that ***** would call me back. He never called me back. The next day I called again and said I wanted to speak to ***** he never called me back yesterday, ***** got on the phone and I asked him what is going on with my car? He tells me they are waiting for parts to come in and he will keep in touch. He never did keep in touch. On 6/*/13 six weeks from when I brought my car to Mid Island I called again trying to find out something about my car and is it being fixed. Again I asked for ***** and was told the same thing, he would call me back. He never did. I called the next day and ***** said the car was in the shop. I said to him this is already 6 weeks you have the car he said to me that he did not realize it's been that long. He said it should not be much longer. Again that was the last I heard from Mid Island. At the end of the 7th. week 6/**/13 I called and spoke to Joe, I told him I want to know why my car is not ready and that you told me it would take 4-5 weeks to complete and that now it is at the end of the 7th. week and still no car and NEVER an update on repairs as you and ***** promised me. *** told me there was a lot of work to do on the car and he would personally take care of it. On 6/**/13 the 8th.week I get 1 photo of the front of my car that NEVER was touched in the accident sitting in some garage. No text, 1 photo that's it. I sent them back the same day a blistering email asking them where are the photos of the back and side of the car being repaired? I said that I do not believe it when ***** told me on the 6th. week that the car was in the shop. They would not let a car sit in the repair shop for 2 weeks with nothing being done to it AND IF repairs were being made where those pictures? I also told them that one person lies and the other swears to it! On 6/**/13 I get 1 photo of the back being repaired. On 6/**/13 I sent them an email saying I would be away from 7/***/13 and be back on the 5th. If they needed to get in touch with me call my cell phone. No one ever called. I also sent them another email saying if by any miracle would my car be ready by 7/*/13 when I go away? I got no reply. In my last conversation *** on 6/**/13 I told him how disappointed my wife and I were with Mid Island Collision and that we noticed 2 complaints listed on BBB, 1 in April and 1 in June. I said to *** I hope I wont be the next to file a complaint in June. Maybe that is why *** told me he would personally take care of it? A lot of good he did. I was upstate NY at The Villa Roma with my family, grand kids and all for the July 4th. celebration. On 7/*/13 in the evening I checked my emails and I see an email posted at 5:21pm from South Shore Hyundai saying that my car is ready to be picked up AND if I had a loaner or rental to return it ASAP so that I would not have to pay extra charges. I called that evening to find out more but no one was there. The morning of 7/*/13, I called Mid Island, no answer, they were closed for the holiday. I called South Shore Hyundai again and was told the service department was closed for the holiday. I told the person I was speaking to about the email saying my car was ready, she checked and told me yes it is I have the keys come pick it up. My wife and I cut our vacation short by 1 day, we left the family there lost 1 day of vacation time AND money and headed back to pick up the car. All the way back we wondered why Mid Island didn't let us know to pick it up at South Shore Hyundai and that the car will be ready BUT remembering what *** & ***** told me when I first brought the car in, when we finish everything we will send it to an authorized dealer for the FINAL inspection and Ok,so we went to South Shore Hyundai. We got there about 1:30pm I spoke to the person I talked to on the phone she said to follow her, I did, she handed me a bill for $225. I told her I will not pay that, the insurance people have to pay for this and that the only thing I asked ***** for was to have a new NYS inspection sticker put on the window and I will gladly pay for that. Naturally she would not give me the keys to the car. I asked her where is the car, we would like to at least see it. She told us where the car was parked and we went to see our new finally repaired car. Mind you we are now in the 10th. WEEK! When we saw the car my wife and I FLIPPED OUT!!! The car was NO WHERE CLOSE to being finished, the trunk needed paint, both doors on the passenger side needed paint, the front passenger fender needed paint, the passenger side view mirror was loose, the trunk emblem was missing, the rear mud guard was missing, the front mud guard had marks on it, there was a long scratch on top of the roof on the passenger side that was NEVER THERE BEFORE, the rear bumper where it was painted had a paint run about 3 inches long that has to be sanded out and repainted and on and on etc. etc! Why was this car sent to the dealer for the FINAL inspection? This car is NOT finished! This morning I called the service manager at the Hyundai dealer and asked why did he send me the email saying the car is ready to pick it up. He said I got the email because my name is on the top of the sheet and I should disregard it, and that they also sent the email to Mid Island to come get the car. CAN YOU BELIEVE THIS? He did not want to know anything! Now I'm really ripping, I called Mid Island and told the person who answered that I wanted to speak to no one else but the owner ****** ********* [you have the owner listed as ****** ****?] I did not want to speak to *** or ***** anymore I only get lies from those two. I was told they were having problems with the phones and that the owner would call me back in 15 minutes. He never called me. No surprise there. I waited a couple of hours and no phone call, while waiting I found the owners email address and emailed him everything going on since day one. I also asked him to call me in the emails to him. He never did. I called again and asked for the owner the same person answered and told me they were still having trouble with the phones BUT gave me a different number to call. I called the new number and asked for the owner, I was asked who was calling I told her, and that I also emailed him earlier she said he does not have an email she thought I meant *****. I said to her ***** has a email address, *** has a email address and I assume that ************************** is the owners email address, she changed her tune quick with that. She took my phone number and said he would call me back he's in a meeting. He never did. More hours went by with no call back. I said to myself let me call my insurance to tell them what is going on. My company is Met Life Auto & Home. I told them what was happening, they looked up the records and told me that there has NOT been any contact from Mid Island since the original adjusters estimate of $6800 or so AND that the work hours totaled 70 hours meaning that the job should have been completed in 2 WEEKS! Also that may be all the OTHER insurance company will pay for in car rentals 2weeks. I said to Met that BBB gave them an A+ they advised me to get in touch with the BBB as soon as I get off the phone with them. I called one more time asking to talk to ****** *********, I was told that he left for the day. With that I am now contacting you the BBB that rated this company an A+ AND BECAUSE OF YOUR RECOMMENDATION I brought my car to this collision shop. I am asking for your help to get my car back and in PERFECT condition the way it should be. This company lies to their customers, stalls the customer and has NO RESPECT TO CALL BACK A CUSTOMER WHO HAS QUESTIONS THAT NEED ANSWERS! The problem I see at Mid Island is, they have to much business and the customer that SCREAMS THE LOUDEST GET THE WORK DONE FIRST! they jump from car to car and never finish one at at time. PLEASE HELP! Thank you, ****** ****

Desired Settlement: I want my car repaired correctly and quickly. Enough is enough! In a few days it we will be in the 11th. week! SHAME ON MID ISLAND COLLISION! No more lies and no more stalling and maybe a little RESPECT to their customers. That is ALL that I ask ****** ****

Consumer Response: ****** ******** ******:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


The above sentence does not apply because I have seen no written reply from Mid Island Collision, however I did pick up the car today  7/9/13  this was the 11th. week to the day they had my car. Not 4-5 weeks as they had promised me
The appearance of the car looks very nice and I am happy with the work that was finally completed. The time it took is unacceptable but at least I have my own car back. If the car does not fall apart and the paint stays intact I will be satisfied.

Thank you, ****** ****

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I got into an accident on 2/*/13 and immediately took my 2010 BMW 335 to MidIsland Collision after my dealer recommended this body shop as certified. On 2/**/13 the adjuster from my insurance company ******* inspected the vehicle as repairable with damages totaling just over $17000. I then waited weeks, making calls to the shop periodically and receiving the same excuse that there is a large order of parts and that it takes time. Finally after over a month I had enough, I made a call on 3/**/13, and the adjuster from my insurance company happened to be at the shop giving the car “a second look.” At that time the car was deemed totaled and not repairable, so it took over six weeks for the body shop to call the adjuster for a second assessment. After the adjuster had gone back to the body shop to collect the salvaged vehicle, the body shop did not release vehicle until they took over $4500 in storage and inspection fees. This is completely outrageous, because it took them over 6 weeks to deem the car totaled, and even if it was in storage for that long it was the shops fault and the fees were highly excessive. On top of all that every time I contacted the body shop the secretary would tell me this person will call me back but I never would receive a call back, it came to a point where I had to demand to speak to someone the last time that I contacted the shop. The main concern of my complaint was the excess amount of charges that the body shop charged to my insurance company, which at the end I was responsible for more than half of those charges. Moreover it seems that this shop is full of crooks that knew the car would be deemed totaled, and kept it in the shop for so long to make money for no work that was done.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for at least half the amount that was charged for storage and other unnecessary fees, because my insurance company is holding me responsible for these charges.

Business Response:

Tuesday, May **, 2013 4:27 PM
These charges were negotiated by, agreed to by, and paid for by the insurance carrier…was the owner forced to pay these charges ????
 
The insurance carrier wrote the estimate, told us car was repairable.  We ordered parts, recd parts, tore down car further, instructed carrier to total car…
 
Damages were extensive….
 
Best Regards,
 
*****
 
logo
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


It was the body shops fault for not deeming the vehicle as totaled when it first entered the shop. It seemed that they knew that the car was totaled and wanted to make money by keeping the car in the shop for almost two months, and charging outrageous fees that were ultimately passed on to me. My insurance put me at fault for this and I was responsible for more than half those storage and other fees. I even remember when I came to pick my final belongings from the car, the guy there told me that they will still be making money of the car for storage and other excess fees.

Sincerely,

*** ******** 




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 3, 2013 I got into an accident in Brooklyn on my way to work. I rear ended someone and my entire front end needed to be repaired. I promptly took my vehicle to Mid Island Collision the same day. I thought since I was a repeat customer I would be treated as such. After an initial estimate of about 21 days and numerous false emails telling me my car was ready, when it really wasnt, I finally received my vehicle back on February 22, 2013; 50 days later from original drop off. While driving back to work from picking up my car i noticed my speedometer was not moving and later that night i noticed my headlight was not working, previously I havent had issues with either. I bought my car back to Mid Island the very next morning February 23,2013, and told them about the issues and I was told they would be repaired in a few days. I recieved my vehicle back on March 7, 2013 and was told everything on my vehicle had been fixed after leaving I immediately noticed my speedometer was not fixed and came right back to the shop. The**** ***** ***** told me the technician said that my speedometer was broken before my accident and that I must have known that and refused to fix my speedometer. I have never had any problems with the speedometer in my vehicle and was totally shocked by this.

Desired Settlement: I would like my vehicle's speedometer fixed correctly at Mid Island Collision expense by them or another shop at my choosing, preferably another shop.

Business Response: Mr. ***** had his Nissan Maxima in for repairs. ******** was the insurance carrier. Upon completion of repairs, Mr. ***** complained of a faulty speedometer. We sent car immediately to ******** ****** to address his complaints. We immediately called ******** to bring it to their attention. We spoke with ***** At ********, and ***** ***** at ********. It was determined that the speedometer head had failed, and needed replacement. Both ********, and Nissan determined it failed due to age (maintenance), not the accident. The repairs at Nissan were declined. Please call if you need further documentation from ******** and Nissan. Thank you for your attention and follow up with me.

Best Regards,

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

 This does not explain why the speedometer was working before the accident but after the accident and repairs the speedometer was not working. I don't understand how they can determine the accident played no part in the failure of the speedometer. This was a front end accident and I am certain that played a part in it or there was some faulty repair work done. Mid Island's response also does not explain the extended amount time they kept the car or explain why they let me leave the repair shop both times without explaining to me my speedometer did not work after I was told repeatedly it was fixed. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ***** 



 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.