This business is not BBB accredited.

Lash Volkswagen of White Plains

Phone: (914) 931-9700 Fax: (914) 931-5753 376 Tarrytown Rd, White Plains, NY 10607

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This is a Volkswagen dealership and auto repair shop dealing in new and used volkswagens.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Lash Volkswagen of White Plains
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2010 Business started: 04/03/2008 in NY Business incorporated 09/16/2011 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity


Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tom Backer, General Manager
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Lash Auto Group, LLC

Additional Locations


    376 Tarrytown Rd

    White Plains, NY 10607 (914) 931-9700


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/8/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from this dealership in February of 2013 from Lash Volkswagen and ask bought an extended warranty at the same time. I sold the car in January 2016 and therefore had to cancel the remaining portion of this extended warranty for a refund of the value based on mileage or time. The finance Manager Rick C***** has been my contact since the beginning of February about this matter. He sent me an email saying that all the necessary documents have been sent in for cancellation in the first week of February. I have since attempted to contact him and/or anyone at the dealership to help me find out any status updates on this and have received no response. I am entitled to this refund and demand respect as their customer.

Desired Settlement: Status update on this cancellation and ultimately my refund

Business Response:

I have spoken personally to *** *******. I informed him that the process does take 6-9 weeks to receive a refund.  Due to poor communication on our part, he was not aware of this. I did tell him that we are cutting a check today in the amount of $997.64. It will be in tmorrow's mail from here. He is totally satisfied with this, as well as my sincere apologies.


Thank you,

Tom B*****

General Mgr

Lash Auto Group



We recentlyTell us why here...

10/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my car in for servicing since their was a rattling sound in the passenger side panel between the doors. They had me wait for 3.5 hours only to take apart the wrong section of the car, the passenger front door. On the receipt it states that I said the noise was coming from the passenger door, which I didn't) As I was leaving not only did the rattling start up immediately, but I noticed a long penmark close to the sunroof. I was told that I would have to bring the car back the following day and receive a loaner for the rattling. In the meantime, an employee tried to clean the penmark. The following day I had a huge stain which was worse than the penmark. I contacted the service center to tell them and ask when I would have the loaner available. I was told that afternoon, and that I'd receive a phone call. I never did. I called back two more times the following week and still didn't receive a call back. I finally spoke to the manager who told me that there may be a loaner available a week from then and that I would receive a call. It's almost two weeks later, and I'm still yet to receive a call. They also were unable to view that I had an extended warranty, and the manager mentioned that I was not being charged and I should be for the servicing. They have no regard for their customers. Since they are the cause of the stain, I want my car detailed as promised. I don't even want them to do any mechanical work any longer!!

Desired Settlement: Since they are the cause of the stain, I want my car detailed as promised. I don't even want them to do any mechanical work any longer!!

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

Please know that we are very happy to give ** ****** a complete detail at a time that is convenient to her. Please have her contact me directly to schedule.


Tom B*****

General Manager

Lash Volkswagen


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

It has been almost two months since the incident and the service department is yet to return my call directly!  I also sold the VW and am very happy without it!!!     





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


******* ******


1/28/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Applied for financing for car through dealership. When I went to pick up the car, noticed an additional $1000 fee was added to my invoice. When I questioned the finance person I was inform it was a "bank fee" for the financing. I called the bank that provided the financing (**********) and was told the bank did NOT charge any fees. I was also never informed of any additonal fees until I went to pick car up. I went back to the dealership and rquested a refund - got a refund when I insisted it was not legal.

Desired Settlement: Company should be investigated to to make sure this does NOT happen to others.

Business Response:

The business has responded.  Please see below:

The customer is accurate in his complaint. While there is a bank fee in certain instances, we are not legally allowed to charge that to the customer. I have taken steps to ensure that this mistake never happens again. I have also called the customer to apologize and tell him the same.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Lash Volkswagen of White Plains
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)