This business is not BBB accredited.

Honda Manhasset

Phone: (888) 750-7129 View Additional Phone Numbers 1260 Northern Blvd., Manhasset, NY 11030 http://www.hondamanhasset.com ! There is an alert on Honda Manhasset !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Honda Manhasset
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 2012 Business started: 09/20/2010 in NY Business incorporated 09/20/2010 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Minella III, Controller
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS

Alternate Business Names
MMS-HM, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1260 Northern Blvd.

    Manhasset, NY 11030 (888) 750-7129

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/**/14 my husband and I looked at and considered buying a 2006 Honda Accord from this dealership. We needed a few days to consider the purchase and wanted a chance to drive the vehicle (we couldn't test drive that day because we had our child with us). We gave them a $300 deposit. I have a contract that clearly states that the deposit was "pending mechanic approval", which *** **** told us was just a formality because "he had to write something". He also stated "this is just to hold the car so no one else sells it in the next few days". I returned to the dealership to drive the car on 12/**/14. When i drove it, I heard a rattle. I left the dealership and called my mechanic who advised me not to purchase the car. I called *** **** an hour after leaving to tell him I didn't want the car and that I'd like my $300 refunded. I called on 12/**/14 to inquire about the refund. First I was told that it would take 5 business days. Then I was told that "I had made a commitment to buy the vehicle". I clearly did no such thing. Additionally, *** **** filed loan applications in my name for four times the amount I intended to finance had I purchased the vehicle. There is a note on the contract which specifically states that if we were to purchase the vehicle we were putting down $8000 and financing approximately $4000. He submitted the loan application (which he knew was not correct) for $16,000 on 12/**- the day I decided NOT to buy the car. I specifically asked him (on 12/** after we left) not to file the application as I realized I had not filled it out correctly. I told him I'd fill out a new one when I came on the **** to drive the car. I didn't fill out a new one because I didn't want the car, but he submitted the application anyway, thus damaging my credit. I have called Manhasset Honda repeatedly and left messages to try to resolve this issue and get my refund. I have also filed a complaint with Honda of America.

Desired Settlement: $300 refund and a letter to the credit reporting agency stating that the loan application was filed in error.

Consumer Response:

After weeks of ignored phone calls to Honda of Manhasset, (now called Advantage Honda) my deposit was finally refunded. I'm confident that the only reason they finally responded is because I opened a formal complaint with Honda of America. This was a time consuming headache. I will NEVER do business with this company again.

Better Business Bureau:

At this time, my complaint, ID ******** regarding Honda Manhasset has been resolved.

(By clicking "OK", your complaint will be closed as Resolved.)


Sincerely,

****** ********

1/22/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/6/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/*/2014 I enetered into a purchase agreement for a 2015 Honda CRV Touring and left a $500 deposit via ******** *******. Dealer was unable to obtain vehicle and agreed to cancel sale but despite several attempts via email and assurances that it would be processed, funds were never credited back to the card used to leave the deposit.

Desired Settlement: Refund in the form of a credit card credit of $500.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** *********



 

12/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My problem concerns the failure of Honda Manhasset to process a refund, as promised in writing and verbally agreed to by the dealership's ******** *******, ***** *******. When I picked up and paid for my 2014 Honda Accord EX-L, I was told that the nose mask ordered and paid for had not come in and would have to be installed at a later date. Moreover, my salesman ***** ******, and *** ******* each informed me that in their experience "only one other person had ordered this option," and further cautioned me that it might prove more detrimental than beneficial to my car's paint finish (the nose mask would cover up part of the hood and bumper, possibly causing discoloration and fading from exposure to the sun). After hearing this, I expressed misgivings about installing the nose mask and was told, in no uncertain terms, that I could cancel this option if I so desired. After researching the issue on my own, I called first thing the next day to nix this option and made my intentions known to *** ******, whereupon I received confirmation by email and phone that he had forwarded my decision and desire for a refund to ***** *******. It took repeated attempts, however, to connect with *** *******, who eventually assured me that I would be receiving a check from Honda Manhasset in the amount of $210. The ******** ******* gave me his word that he "would be following up with this so that I can get my refund ASAP." Three weeks later, I'm still waiting for that $210 check to arrive from Honda Manhasset, and still waiting for *** ******* to "follow up" by email or phone to inform me of the status of my refund. I am in receipt of my back-and-forth email communications with *** ******* and *** ****** documenting the entire matter and culminating in an apology and promise from the ******** ******* to act in good faith to "make this an overall good experience." Additionally, I have supporting documents (bills of sales) issued when the deal was closed that support my claim and corroborate my entitlement to a refund of $210. The remedy of this situation is rather simple and straightforward, yet the matter drags on and remains unresolved.

Desired Settlement: That Honda Manhasset refund MY money forthwith.

Business Response: This matter will be resolved immediately, The customer will recieve a full refund. 

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my Honda pilot there that had a light on in the dashboard looked like a ench at which I assumed was the repair light. I told them the service light is on and that they should look into it. Little did I know that that was the Tire pressure light. They neglected to symply tell me that it was the tire pressure light instead they waisted 4 hours of my work time along with a $60 charge which was 100% unnecessarily.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the full amount along with compensation of my work time for those 4 hours of $100 a total of $160

Business Response:

Our dealership charges a diagnoistic fee of $110 for any lights or symbols that may be displayed on the dash board. As a first time customer courtesy we charged half that amount $55. The customers car was hooked up to a Honda diagnoistic computer and checked for any code that may have triggered a check engine light which is what the customer told us he came in for. We do not charge customers to tell them that the wrench on the dash is saying the car needs a oil change. This customer came in at 11:22am on 06/**/14 and left his car with us. He did not wait hours for it. We have documented on his receipt from that day that we tried to call him at 12:15pm , 1:30pm, and 3:25pm and left messages on all 3 attempts. We also load tested his battery at no charge to make sure that it wasnt low voltage that was causing the check engine light to go off and on. Customer approved charge  before any work was perfomed and it was found that there were no codes in the systme for a check engine light
  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

This is faulce information, I told them the engine light was on they should have told me right away that it was not a engine light. Instead they charged me. And regarding the calls I gave them my cell number to call and they neglected to call my cell they instead called my house. I was sitting in the dealership waiting at that time! 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Honda Manhasset charged over $120 for walking in the door, and then wanted to charge over $650 to fix same power window switch that was just fixed there in November. Price gouging and not standing behind their work exemplify Honda Manhasset.

Desired Settlement: Please stand behind your work and fix the problem.

Business Response: COMPLAINT ID #********

Customer was charged a diagnostic fee of $110.88 which was explained to him and signed by him berfore any diag was done. customer declined replacement of switch which was replaced in November of 2011. Warranty policy is 12 months or 12,000 miles which ever comes first. customer was told we would rwemoved the diag charge if work was approved. Customer declined repairs so the diagnostic fee was collected.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

My credit card was charged over $120 to "diagnose" that my driver's power window switch doesn't work.  Honda Manhasset wanted to charge over $650 to fix the problem that was just fixed there in November.  Even Honda has recalled my 2006 Honda CR-V for this very problem (Recall *********).     

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ******




 

Business Response:

Complaint ID #********

As stated prior customer was charged a diag fee of $110.88 plus tax for a total of $120.44 which customer approved before diag was done and lso explained at thst time that we would credit diag fee bck off replacement of switch if he decided to do work. Customer declined replacement of switch and was charge the diag fee. Switch was replaced outside warranty perameters of 12 months or 12,000 miles which ever comes first. Dealer will still honor crediting back diag fee if customer chooses to replace switch at a later date.

3/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to purchase a new car at Honda Manhasset. We agreed on the price, color, remote start, and etc. The sale rep. showed me a document of what I should expect and what we spoke about in writing. I was asked to leave a deposit of $500 and sign a sales contract. I told him I wasn't ready to leave a deposit. I am not ready to make a deposit because i don't know what the APR rate is. He pointed out to "regulation Z" and assured me that if i don't like the rate i can get my deposit refunded to me. I don't like the rate. They never contacted me and informed me of the rate. Instead, Honda went ahead and processed the car order and the demand i buy their car. I requested numerous times for a refund but to no avail.I never touched the new car, test drive it, saw it, or took it out of the Honda dealership. I made a deposit. They promised that i could get a refund. I refuse to buy the car and they won't refund my deposit. Please help. Thanks.

Desired Settlement: $500 refund to my credit card.

Business Response:

*** *** visited Honda Manhasset Feb **** 2014. He negotiated a purchase on a 2014 Honda CRV including a remote starter to be added to the vehicle at his request as part of the transaction. The vehicle does not come with a remote starter from the factory. At the time of the agreement, *** *** filled out a credit application to be submitted to American Honda Finance Corp. *** ***'s application was approved by the lender at the published special interest rate of 0.9%. ** *** scheduled to pick up his new vehicle Feb **** at 2pm. The remote starter was added to the vehicle in good faith at the customers request. *** *** subsequently refused to pick up the vehicle.  

** *******

      

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I went to honda manhasset to inquire about purchasing a vehicle. I was informed to sign a non binding contract that can be canceled if I do not like my interest rate and my deposited will be refunded.  I politely request my deposited be refunded immediately.  I did not refuse to pick up the vehicle. I don't want the vehicle. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ***



 

4/1/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was manipulated and coached by sales rep Mr. ***** ******, who misguided, misled and took advantage of me being a senior citizen, and forced me to sign a new lease by making falsified promises that were proven misleading and manipulative to ensure his commission with Honda. Despite my many attempts to speak to Mr. ******, he avoided me and refused to communicate with family mr,bets who came to my assistance.

Desired Settlement: Being a devoted Honda customer for the last 30 years, I'd expect Mr. ****** to accept responsibility for having misled and emotionally manipulated me to enter into a new lease agreement. Mr. ****** promised me that since I am such a loyal Honda customer, they would not charge me any disposition fees, since I will be leasing a new vehicle with the same company. I was clearly instructed to drop off my previous vehicle at Honda dealership in Manhasset, and I'd pick up my new vehicle the same day. He assured me over and over again in the presence of my daughter who accompanied me to the company, that I'd not be responsible for my previous vehicle once I take possession of the new one. When I dropped off previous vehicle, it was inspected in my presence and according to Mr. ****** " vehicle was in excellent shape and condition" I was shocked and devastated when only a month after I entered into a new lease agreement with Honda, I received a bill from Fusion Auto Finance demanding payment totaling $ 1,716.28 for my 2009 Honda Civic. Description of alleged fees include the following: Disposition fee $400, Valet Key Missing $ 75, Windshield Replaced $480, Rear Bumper Damage $ 312.50 , Front Bumper Damage $ 312.50. I can assure you that this is fiction, unreliable and totally misleading, I'd have never expected Honda MANHASSET to treat me the way they did, showing no remorse for their misrepresentations and manipulations. My self as well as family members have been leasing and buying vehicles from that same dealership since mid 80's. They should be appreciative that I, a senior citizen despite the economic hardships, has never been late with monthly payments for the entire lease term.

Business Response:

Good afternoon,

No misrepresentations were made and the details of the transaction were clearly disclosed in writing at the time of sale. Littigation is pending in the matter and we look forward to presenting the facts.

Thank you. ***** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:


 

[Your Answer Here]


To Better Business Bureau:


 I don't agree with what Mr. ***** ******* is indicating.  I don"t recall him being present during the time we went to the dealership or the day my mother  signed the new lease. How can he be so sure about what Mr. ******* told my mother or did not tell her,  to persuade her to sign the new lease ?  I was there throughout the process since my mother needed me to translate for her.  

 

Since 1988,  I personally purchased and/ or leased four vehicles from Honda,  my mother has leased three.  Honda executives, should be appreciative to their loyal customers, as we have been  For nearly 3 decades, who are giving Hondasteady business throughout the years.  Especially senior citizens such as my 78 yo mother, who makes sure despite her financial difficulties,  the lease payment to Honda will go out the 1 st of the month.

 

My mother being a loyal Honda  customer, should have never been charged a $ 400 disposition fee. This is standard for all companies.  It applied to me as well, when I leased my vehicle from BMW.  They treated me with respect, dignity and appreciation, this is the reason I will continue giving BMW my business. 

 

 

** ********  

 

***** ************

 

 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *********** 



 

3/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After completing purchase of new vehicle dealer was unable to deliver car in a timely manner, I requested a refund of full payment and have to date not received refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund ASAP

Business Response:

******* ****** ,

                           This customer was asured he would get his money back as soon as 10 business days expired from the date of depositing his check. At time of sale this customer was instructed that we would like a cashier check for the car on delivery, at his persistance we accepted a personal check with the agreement that we would not be able to deliver the car till the check cleared and that our policy was waiting 10 business days. The customer deside he wanted to pick the car up on a date before the 10th business day.  At cancellation of the deal we notified our office to refund the money when the 10 business day arrives.  I followed up with our office, the 10th day is 03/22/13. There will be a refund check issued on that date and sent by regular mail to the customer. I would hope that you could see that this complaint is not valid and that we at no time ever told the customer he would not get his money returned to him.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:******* ******* was in no way involved with this transaction and probably does not know who I am.  His response indicates his biased revision of what actually transpired is solely for the purpose of damage control. I was not told about this ten day company policy until the evening of March 22 in a phone call with *** ********, ***** ***., who finally assured me that I would be able to pickup a refund check for the full puchase price of the car the following day, which I did.  This check was given to Honda Manhasset on March 6 & cleared on March 11.  There was no indication of a problem until after I completed the purchase of the car and written a check for the full purchase price intending to pick up the car ASAP. The totally dysfunctional communication I experienced at this dealership lead to me cancelling the car purchase.  I was fortunately able  to locate the identical car at a nearby Honda dealership and completed the transaction and was driving the car away in approx. 4 hours. The check I received will not clear until March 27 which means I have lost the interest on  approx. $29000 due to incompetence on the part of this dealership.  I fell that once I cancelled the transaction that they were delaying my refund and did not act in good faith until I placed complaints with the BBB and Honda,USA.  I am writing this hoping that other car buyers don't experience the STRESS that I experienced in completing this transaction.

 

[Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ***** 




 

1/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues