BBB Accredited Business since

Four Star Transmissions, Inc.

Phone: (845) 786-2200 Fax: (845) 786-2503 5 Washburns Ln, Stony Point, NY 10980 http://www.fourstartransmissions.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Four Star Transmissions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Four Star Transmissions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Four Star Transmissions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1987 in NY Business incorporated 09/01/1987 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Vincent Salerno, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Vincent Salerno, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally brought a vehicle over to them to be checked out before purchasing the vehicle. four star transmissions told me everything was great with the truck. Within the first month ive had to spend over 3000.00$ On the vehicle in repairs. But what realy got me was , i brought the truck over to get the ac system charged. He charged me $230.00 To charge my ac. Vinny the boss then told me He had to add oil to the compressor, Vacuum the system to a negative pressure to test for leaks then add the Freon. This all sounded correct seeing as i install central air conditioning in homes i had an idea of what he was talking about. 1 Week goes by and my ac is no longer working. I bring it in to there shop to resolve the issue . After a week of looking at my truck he tells me he cant find the leak it has to be a bad condenser coil or evaporater coil. (i know that's not the issue because it was running completely fine before hand. So i confront vinyy about his method of charging my ac system. If you pull a vacuum and leak tested the system Why is there a leak? And if a compressor is a hermetically sealed unit with oil inside from the manufacturer why would you add more? Even tho you cant add oil to the system because its a sealed unit? I basically called him out on his whole line of Lies he tried feeding me. Then he tells me if i know so much why didn't i just do it myself? I replied if i knew i was being robbed i would of spent the money to buy the equipment and do it myself. Then he starts cursing me out calling me a ***** idiot and an ***** Etc Etc. walking away . As i go to get my truck around the back of his shop i noticed I had a Flat tire. He then starts telling me sarcastically Yeah i popped your tire. After doing some research i found that his shop is well known for going above and beyond to screw people over to make extra money . I am very disrespected and appalled by there behavior . I cant begin to understand how a crook with horrible customer satisfaction skills can keep his business running.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive my $230.00 that was basically stolen from me. I do not want to bring my vehicle there to have the job complete and have them sabotage something else with my vehicle. Very Very unhappy with the business.

Business Response:

The first thing I would like to say is we have been in business since 1987 and this is the first complaint we have had with the BBB, with that being said here are the facts.  *** ****** brought his 2002 S10 pickup to us  4/**/15, he wanted us to look it over for purchase.  We checked it over and told him it was in good shape for a truck with 153000 miles on it.  The only thing we noted was it had a suspension lowering kit in it & the a/c compressor was noisy.  *** ****** & the owner of the truck were there the whole time we checked the truck, the owner stated that it needed an a/c compressor.  At that time *** ****** thanked us and asked us to also do an oil change, He was not charged to check the truck over it was done as a courtesy, his total bill was $35.71 for the oil change.  On 5/**/15 ** ****** brought his truck in for a NY state inspection and a rattle, it passed inspection and the right front caliper bushings were replaced. The bill was $107.03 for the repair.  On 8/**/15 ** ****** called for a estimate to charge his air conditioner I asked him what was wrong and he said he changed the a/c compressor and needed it charged.  I asked if the compressor came with oil in it and he did not know.  I told him it would cost $144 plus dyed oil and freon.  He dropped it off, we connected it to our ******** ******** air conditioning machine. This is a fully automatic machine.  The system is evacuated to remove all moisture, which means it brings the system down to 30 inches of vacuum, after it achieves 30 inches of vacuum it waits 5 minutes to see if it holds a vacuum.  Once it does the dyed oil & refrigerant are installed.  ** ****** stated that if it held vacuum why did the freon leak out.  The vacuum test is only good for major leaks not for slow leaks, when the system is running it builds pressures up to 300lbs, so if it had a small leak that’s when it would leak.  *** ****** also stated that it’s a hermetically sealed system so why did we add oil, its not a sealed system, the air compressor he removed had oil in it so we needed to add oil so the system would not be low on oil.  ** ****** did his own repair and asked to only charge the system, I was never asked to do any diagnosing.  The total bill was $209.71 for the a/c charge.  On 8/**/15 ** ****** dropped off truck and stated the a/c was not cold, We checked the system and it was low on freon, we checked system with ultra violet light and could not find a leak, I called and explained that we needed to remove components to get a better look at condenser & evaporator to find the leak and the charge would be $96 to do that.  He said leave truck alone and he would pick up.  The truck was dropped off Monday of that week and he said he did not need till Friday, that is why it was here all week.  When ** ****** picked his truck I explained what needed to be done again, he was not charged anything to check it out.  He took keys and left, he then came back in and asked what did we do to his tire that it was flat and on the rim, I asked him to bring it around and we would check it.  When we checked the tire it was low on air but not flat.  ** ****** started accusing me of flattening his tire and ripping him off.  He was acting out and asked to leave.  He claims we checked his truck and it needed $3000 in repairs.  I have only done $352.45 of repairs.  He claims he did some research and we are well known for screwing people I would like to see proof of that.  He claims that I am a crook, I would also like to see proof of that too.  He is unreasonable to deal with and if we did something wrong I would do whatever it takes to rectify.  I do not believe we did anything wrong.  I was asked to charge his air conditioning that he fixed why should I have to warranty his repair.

 

******* *******

 

        

 

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Four Star Transmissions, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)