BBB Accredited Business since

Delta Transmissions (Patchogue)

Additional Locations

Phone: (631) 289-4200 207 East Main Street, Patchogue, NY 11772


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Delta Transmissions (Patchogue) meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for Delta Transmissions (Patchogue) include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Delta Transmissions (Patchogue) include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Delta Transmissions (Patchogue)
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business incorporated 01/01/1983 in
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Nicoletti, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Nicoletti, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

  • 207 E. Main Street

    Patchogue, NY 11772

  • 207 East Main Street

    Patchogue, NY 11772

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought truck in May from **** **** ***** in *****. I had issues with truck from the first week. When the truck broke down third time and it was transmission they sent me to delta transmissions. They promised they would rebuild tranny and would not have any issues. They only gave me a 6 month or 6000 mile warranty. Now not even 6 months later the transmission is in need of replacement again. I lost a day of work sitting on side of road waiting to be towed.l lost the cost of towing. I am now paying a REAL company another 1700$ to fix the transmission again. I just was forced to pay delta 1700$ not even 6 months ago (the company i was told i had to use by mint auto). Upon towing it to the tranny shop they did their investigation to tell me that I was ripped off, the tranny was not rebuilt, pieces were missing and screws were missing. They spray painted it to look like parts were new when they were not. They are in some kind of scam with mint auto to sell cars thats are lemons then rip them off on repairs. A tranny that was rebuilt less than 6 months ago should not be totally broken already. I have the receipts from delta. When i did call them to discuss this the man **** had no desire to hear me and kept rushing me off the phone telling me to move this along. They will not help me in any way and keep hanging up on me. I would never even take my truck their to them ever again even if they were to fix it for free. They are scam artists and ripped me off. I have the paperwork from them dated aug *** 2014. I also have the new mechanic shop ready and willing to show what they have found. We have many pics and documentation. Oh and also the new tranny shop covers it for 24,000 miles! This is how is should be since they are confident in their work.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded my money and even the money for the tow truck that cost me 192$. I will not be backing down and will get a lawyer if needed. I want my 1700$ back. I will be filing complaints all over the place and also against the auto dealership that makes customers go here. It is not ok to rip off people then treat them like trash when they call for help.

Business Response:  Dear Ms. Lehrer:

     Delta Transmission has been in business at *** **** **** ******* ********** **  ***** for 35 years and holds an outstanding AAA rating with the Better     
 Business Bureau.  
      My response to *** ******* *******'s complaint is as follows:
          -- I don't know what type of vehicle he is speaking of...
          -- I have no documetation of *** *******'s repair through his name or **** **** *****.     
     I guarantee all my work with a written warranty and never deny any customer of the satisfaction of looking at any problems that may occur through our   
 repair.  Delta always puts customer satisfaction as top priority.  
     *** ******* never contacted Delta Transmission that he broke down or had any type of problem with his transmission.  If he did, I would have towed his vehicle
 in, free of charge, and diagnosed the problem and repaired it if it pertained to the work we performed on the vehicle.  
     If it proves that the work was done at Delta and a problem arose from that work, we stand by all that we do.  (There is no **** employee at Delta.)
     
     Respectfully,  

     ****, ***** ************                                     

Consumer Response: I have attached yet another copy of the invoice from Delta transmissions.
Everything the ***** has stated is nothing but lies. You can clearly see the signature right on the invoice from ****. I guess they use fake names on the invoices then. They never helped us when we called. My husband was told they have better things to do and to hurry up. No assistance was offered. Yes, the truck was sent to them from **** **** ***** or by another name of ***** auto sales like the invoice says. We were ripped off and have another mechanic to vouch for this. The tranny was never rebuilt and was fixed to get us out he door. If they do not want to assist in any way then I will take this to court. I have the receipt, the other mechanic shop to be a witness and give me whatever paperwork is needed and even **** **** ***** to verify that yes they did indeed tow my truck their for the repairs.
I want a refund of my money. The warranty was not even up and they have refused to assist in any way. I will take this as far as I can and I hav already filed complaints to every department possible including dmv and also the atorney general who sent it to the fraud department as well. I am not going to be ripped off 1700$ and let them get away with it.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

My last name is *******. This response is not acceptable. I already attempted to take my vehicle into your business and was declined several times. I already took my vehicle to another shop for repairs after having to pay for a tow truck and again to have the vehicle fixed. I have the receipt from your company and the receipt from the new company. My repair at the new shop was made within the warranty period you gave me. You refused to honor it and your employees treated me like crap. I am done playing games with you. Dmv fraud department is now on this case. I will take you to court if I do not get my money back. My lawyer is waiting to go at any time. I will give you one more chance to refund me. I also have the mechanic shop that correctly fixed my vehicle ready to stand in court for me. They have the proof that you bandaid fixed my truck and never rebuilt anything. I also found several other customers online that have also had issues with this and we are all considering a lawsuit. I have all the necessary proof and one way or another I will get a refund. I will not let you rip me off.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* *******




 

Business Response:  
In the 35 years of business, I have never not responded to a  customer's complaint or problem whether it be under warranty or over.  *** ******* never gave me the opportunity to inspect the vehicle or address the complaints that he had.  He stated he spoke to a '****' who is not even employed by Delta.  As I did speak to an irated customer around the time of *** *******'s stated complaint, but he hung up on me after telling me he took his vehicle elsewhere and had it dismantled. 
The paperwork was written under ***** **** *** ***** ******; not in *** *******'s name.  My offer still stands, as I stated previously, that I would take care of any problems that arise from the repairs that is performed by Delta .
 
****
Delta Transmission

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had new transmission put in on 8/*/2012 and transmission has never worked right and still leaks. 0n 9/*/12 it went back and I was to,d "nothing is wrong" even though the transmission was slipping. It had to be towed to delership and i had driver indicate truck was going back. Transmission still slips, especially in reverse and leaks allover my driveway. It only has 7k miles on it since it was repaired. All I want is for it to be properly fixed! I feel that I need to bring ths somewhere else to be properly fxed.

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response:

******* ******,

This is in reply to complaint #*******:

I spoke with the customer, ****** *****, last week and I told the customer that I would repair any problems that resulted from the work that we performed on his transmission. 

*** ***** agreed to bring the car in to my shop so we could check the car, at his convenience.

*** ***** has not brought the car in as of yet. 

 

**** *********

Delta Transmission

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I would like a refund for the work. Delta replaced the transmission, but ALL seals to and from the transmission still leak after going back several times. The vehicle must be brought to another shop for repair - I do not want o bring it back to this shop. The approximate cost of the repairs are $900. 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *****




 

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Delta Transmissions on 8/*/2013 to have them look at my car (2008 Mazda) as there were transmission issues( I previously took my car to Mazda 12 dealership and they told me the issue). The following day I get a call from **** ** (*****) and he stated he was going to rebuild my transmission, he said "the drum, selanoids, torques were all going to replaced and gave me a price of $1,995.00 and he said the car will be ready on Monday (8-**-2013.) He didn't give me a call on Monday or any days after that. I waited until Thursday to call him and he said "the car isnt ready, maybe tomorrow, parts didn't come in yet." I then asked him about paying with a credit card and he said "we agreed on a cash price, I was trying to save you money." he the said credit card price is going to be "$2,395.00". I asked him what's the difference between cash and credit and I also stated, "I thought the price is $1,995.00 no matter what and Why would it be so much of a difference to pay with a credit card?" He then said " I was trying to save you money if you'd pay cash." I then called on Friday (8/**/2103) and he claims the new selanoids aren't working well with the car and he needed to order new ones. So I get a phone call on Monday(8-**-2013) that the car is ready. I pick up the car on Tuesday (8-**-2013.) Now its Saturday, August **** and my service engine light is on and Automatic transmission light is on. The car is exactly the same as when i brought it in! Seems to me nothing was fixed or there are no new parts. I haven't had the car for a week and it's already having the same major issues i brought it in for. Delta Transmissions had my car for 12 days and i paid $2,395.00 for it and its not fixed! I'm extremely upset at how this place conducts business and i find this place to be sneaky and unethical. On they're website they say "they can beat any price." I paid $2,395.00 for a rebuilt transmission when Mazda can give me a new one for $2,400! Also why is there a $400.00 difference for cash or credit pricing? This is 2013!

Desired Settlement: Repair my transmission! Rebuild It! I want to see all of the old parts for verification! I also would love for Delta to explain why the cash price and credit card price is a $400.00 difference?! this is 2013 and I've nver heard of such a thing! A rebuilt transmission costs $2,395.00?! A brand new one costs $2,400! Why Is my service engine light and automatic transmission light on? Fix and rebuild my transmission as you promised! Fix and rebuild my transmission as I paid for it! If you can't fix it correctly, I want a refund!

Business Response:
*** ******* ******:

We have been in business for over 33 years and our record of customer satisfaction is impeccable. It is our customers that remain our primary focus and we do all we can to deliver a timely and properly repaired or rebuilt product. We stand behind all our work with a standard one year warrantee. Unfortunately, our expectation of job completion does not always coincide with our suppliers or parts that are not compatible. Therefore, additional time is often necessary and cannot be helped.

We have since repaired and resolved the issues with a rebuilt transmission with a customer who came to us on August **, 2013. In addition, we have reviewed the customers invoice and have agreed that there was a discrepancy and we have offered a refund of the disputed amount to the customer.
Once again, customer satisfaction is our primary goal and has been for over 33 years.


**** *********
Delta Transmissions

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ******



 

8/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/19/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service