BBB Accredited Business since

A-M-S Transmissions, Inc.

Phone: (718) 530-0294 Fax: (718) 325-6069 View Additional Phone Numbers 1027 E Gun Hill Rd, Bronx, NY 10469 http://www.aamcobronx.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm provides auto repair services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A-M-S Transmissions, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A-M-S Transmissions, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A-M-S Transmissions, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 17, 2003 Business started: 04/01/1992 in NY Business incorporated: 04/01/1992 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Anthony Sollitto, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Anthony Sollitto, President
Business Category

AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE TRANSMISSIONS-AUTOMOBILE

Alternate Business Names
Aamco Transmissions, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 1027 E Gun Hill Rd

    Bronx, NY 10469 (718) 324-7800 (718) 530-0294

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (718) 324-7800(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: March of 2011, Aamco charged me over $4,000 to replace my transmission, it must've been repaired, instead, because May of 2012, Aamco had to repair it, again, due to malfunction. They charged me $600.00, claiming it was to extend my warranty, since the warranty expired on March 2012. January 2013, my vehicle breaks down, we called ******* of Aamco, since the repairs were done there, to ensure it wasn't the transmission. He called us back two weeks later to indicate that the timing belt had popped and we needed a new engine, due to the vehicle having an interference engine. I informed him that I would advise my husband and get back to him. A week later I spoke to him and indicated that I wanted to have my timing belt replaced and go from there, but I did not want to spend on an engine. ******* informed me that they did not want to do the job twice by lifting the engine and replacing the timing belt, then having to relift the engine again, because to replace the engine. I stated to ******* that if he wanted; I would take my car else where if they would not replace the timing belt. ******* told me to leave the car and he would get the job done. Every week we would call ******* and the car had not been touch. On February Feb. ***, I went to see *******, because we were not getting any answers from him. When I get there my car is parked on the street and the engine cover was dismantled and was placed in my car. I walked in the office and again, he was trying to persuade me into replacing the engine, I explained that IS NOT WHAT I WANTED. He said he would get someone to work on the car the following day and would call us. Every week I would call him and he had no answers and promised to call me back. February **, 2013, I was furious to know that my car had been sitting there for 1 month and a half and ******* had been giving us the run around, so I called him and demanded answers. He promised my car would be ready the following day and would call me. On February **, 2013, he called me to tell me my car was ready and that the engine was running perfectly well and I could pick up the car on February **, 2013. On February **, 2013, I picked up the car drove it home and parked it. February **, 2013 all the lights in the car are going haywire, so we left the car parked. On Monday, February **, 2013, my husband called ******* to inform him of the issue and he said they would take a look at it, but that we would have to leave our car. My husband explained that the only day off he has is on Friday. He told my husband to come Friday, then. My husband gets to ******* at 10:00 am and ******* told him to leave the car and they would take it look at it Saturday. My husband indicated that he refused to leave the car, due to pass expierence. ******* told him that we can take our vehicle else where, if we weren't going to leave it. ******* had his mechanic take a glimpse at the issue and indicated that we had a short and that they are not responsible for that because they only simply replaced the timing belt.

Desired Settlement: I would like all my money back due to all the pain and suffering that I had to endure, due to all these ordeals. They have a scam over there. If he denies my refund of all monies paid to him, I will take him to court.

Business Response: June **** 2013
To whom it may concern:
On January **** 2013, ******* ****** towed in her Honda Odyssey to our repair facility.  We checked the vehicle out and found that the timing belt was broken.  We informed *** ****** that we would have to change the timing belt and then start the vehicle in order to see if the motor suffered from internal damage that sometimes occurs from a timing belt failure. 
It wasn’t until 2 weeks later *** ****** authorized us to fix the vehicle and we told her that there is a possibility that the engine would have an issue.  Luckily, the vehicle did not suffer any damage and she was able to drive the vehicle off. 
We did fix *** ****** transmission originally in March of 2011.  The car did experience a transmission problem out of warranty in August of 2012.  She was out of warranty and what we did to accommodate the customer was upgrade her warranty to a 3 year 36,000 mile warranty so that she wouldn’t have to pay for another rebuilt transmission. 
The timing belt repair had nothing to do with the transmission and we tried to work with her in both situations.  I’m personally sorry for having a poor experience but we did not do anything to warrant a complaint.  They have a warranty on both repairs and can go to any other AAMCO facility to honor that warranty if they decide not to come back. 
 
Regards,
 
******* ********

10/2/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues