BBB Accredited Business since

Molt's Used Auto Parts. Inc

Phone: (845) 471-2377 Fax: (845) 485-1701 92 Honeywell Ln, Hyde Park, NY 12538

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Molt's Used Auto Parts. Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Molt's Used Auto Parts. Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Molt's Used Auto Parts. Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 04, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1952 in NY Business incorporated 11/19/1987 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Charles Molt Mr. Chris Molt, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Charles Molt
Principal: Mr. Chris Molt, Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/16/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: About June 3 my car had engine problems I was referred to Molts used auto parts after searching around for pricing and warranty for the engine. On or about 6/**/ car was towed to their facility for replacement of the engine for the quoted price of 2500. . In the first several weeks I was told they had an engine I kept calling them periodically for an up dated status because of all the different dated that I was given by Josh as to when my car would be repaired but it was not until 3 later that they called me to pick up the car in September telling me that my car was ready but as they were testing it out they drove it one hundred miles and now my brake have failed and that they could hardly stop the car. But prior to my engine going bad I had driven the car on June second the car was stop just fine. some time after this I receive another call from molts saying that the tire iron is messed up and that needs to be repaired as well. At this time I felt that they were sabotaging my car so I sent my brother out to the shop to see and he said the showed him a tire rod that was in need of repair but I said do it. So the next day they called and said my car is ready to be picked up. I sent my son into the shop to pick up the car He paid 3200.for rotors brakes and for engine to be repaired. When the car reached my home I went out to start it the car was very loud, had a ticking noise and strong odors of gas and fumes coming into the car and the engine light was on I called back to molts and spoke with someone and they had it towed back to molts. I called back and ask to speak with Josh and he began getting irate with me stating he does not have my car he does not know where it is. I preceded to tell him its on it way back to him and why would he release a car to me like that. I said that my car was not in that condition it was not sounding like that in June. I stated that if my car is not fixed properly why am I paying you all of the money up front. I asked them to put the 1200. back on to my credit card. At this time he placed my on hold an I spoke with the owners son Chris who said they were checking out the car and they will call me back. Chris called me back stating that there was a code that my car was showing and that he had his mechanic there and he would call me back. I was later told that my car was smelling of gas and that the brake line and gas lines were bad and needed to be replaced and that my muffler was why the car was sounding loud. My car was released to me again for my husband to drive upon driving it the car began to shake very bad when in idle and at stopping for lights etc. my drivers side seat was full of ink on the leather seat and my arm rest is completely ripped out and this was not in that condition when car was released into the molts auto shop, muffler was not loud, gas and fumes were not coming into and to this day the engine is not running or working properly I am afraid to drive my car due to all the sabotaging to make money off of me I'm do not feel I deserved this they have my money and I cannot drive the car due to all the shaking and loud noise from the muffler I paid for a service and every time I take my car there something else is messed up upon return

Desired Settlement: I desire to have money returned or paid to another auto company who would be trust worthy to fix my vehicle because I am afraid they well do something to my car to were my family is hurt they so far have not dealt with me as be trustworthy mechanic I reached out to the owner through my husband and they still have not fixed my car engine correctly I would like 1200. of money back to get engine repaired correctly of my arm rest paid for and ink removed from front seat.

Business Response: ****** ******** ****** * *** *** ****** *** ***** ****** **** ***** *** ********** ** ***** ******** *** ********* ** ********

To Whom it May Concern,

I am writing in response to the subject complaint. Before going into any details, I would like to state up front that the vehicle in question is currently functioning properly and is being driven daily by the complainant's son. 

The vehicle in question is a 2002 Chrysler Concorde. My office received a call in late June 2015 with a request to tow the car and replace the engine. Initially, the customer only wanted the engine replaced although we explained that we could not know what else might be wrong since the car did not run and would not move. The price for the engine job was estimated to be $2500 and we accepted a $1200 deposit via credit card. 

It took approximately a month for us to locate and purchase an engine. It was delivered to us on August **, 2015 and subsequently installed in the vehicle. During a test drive, our mechanic experienced brake pedal failure, which was determined to be due to worn pads and rotors. The customer was contacted and authorized the brake repair for additional charge of $624.93. With engine and brakes fixed, the vehicle was returned to the customer. I believe it was her son who picked it up and drove it home.

We later received another call from the customer who identified several new concerns. We towed the vehicle to our shop at our own expense, checked out the customer's issues and determined the following:

1) a severe transmission problem; under certain conditions the transmission would, without warning, downshift to second gear and lock in that gear (most likely the stress that caused original engine failure)
2) inner tie rod was worn out
3) heavy fuel odor caused by decayed fuel line and two decayed brake lines 
4) the exhaust was loud and in need of repair

With customer's permission, we resolved the above issues as follows:

1) We found and replaced a faulty transmission TCM/PCM solenoid and switch, with no charge for parts as we used parts already in our own inventory. No charge for labor as a courtesy for customer's inconvenience.
2) We purchased and installed inner tie rod for $75.07.
3) We replaced the fuel and brake lines with no charge for parts as we used parts already in our own inventory. No charge for labor as a courtesy for customer's inconvenience.
4) We do not do exhaust repair, so we recommended customer take it to a muffler repair shop.

The vehicle was returned to the customer in working order. The total for all work performed was $3200. The customer paid the balance of $2000 in cash and took possession of the vehicle. When the customer called later to complain about new issues, we offered to look at it again. During that time, my son and I had reason to go to ******* on ** * in ************ for office supplies. My son noticed the customer's vehicle in the parking lot. It turned out the customer's son works at *******. We were able to meet and talk with him. He told us the car was running fine and that he was driving it daily. He also told us that his mother had taken the vehicle to ***** ******* and the employee there ran a computer check, which indicated that the engine was functioning properly.

When this vehicle came to us, the only problem we were told about was the engine. It turned out to have far many more issues than we had originally agreed to fix. In spite of that, we did everything possible to resolve each issue as it came up and kept the customer informed along the way. We went above and beyond to satisfy this customer, even doing some repairs for no charge where we could. We retained the original engine, brakes, rotors and fuel lines and took photos of the new parts for the customer's reference. At the end, when this customer expressed how unhappy she was overall, we offered that she could return all the new parts and we would give her back her original ones. We are very proud to say we have been in good standing with the Better Business Bureau for many years. That is a direct result of our willingness to satisfy our customers, as we tried diligently to do in this case. 


Chuck M***
President - Molt's Used Auto Parts, Inc.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

My car is still  in working condition my son was told to drive the car and took it to work five minutes away from my house on the day mentioned above Chuck M*** came to the ******* store where my son works and my son told him that the car was running but the motor is shaking when in idle and when making stops. Chuck M*** and his son Chris ask my son to look under the hood and said to my son that it could be a number of things, broken mount, something not be tighten etc. As I reinterate when my car engine went bad I drove the car  the day before, there was no fume, no bad brake, no bad gas line or muffler problems the ink was not in my car seat or and my arm rest was not broken off which he failed to address, I bought my car there for the engine which is still not fully fixed because of the shaking. In regards to work done i don't know if the parts were from my car or not until this day i still have not recieved these so called picture. When i was called to pick up my car i assumed the car engine was fixed properly it had to go back the same day i paid for it also it made me leary because the car did not have many of the problem mention by Molts prior. when I spoke with the Consumer protection they said to file a complaint and not to take my car back there so that is the next step. I am not trying to get something from Molts it was never about the money, it was about the engine that is still shaking in my car . So this is what i'm willing to do because i am afraid to take my car back to them. I will get an estimate of what was not done in regards to the motor shaking have it fixed out of the 1200 dollars send a copy to my credit card company, to consumer protection, to molts and molts will get the remaining money left out of the  1200.00 He talked very badly to my husband on the phone and still does not see that it about what i bought my car there for  the car is drivable  but the motor is shaking  who wants to be shaking everytime you come to a stop? As for the thing that was destroyed well that just shame om them





In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


***** *********


Business Response:

The business has responded to your rejection.  Please see below:

To Whom it May Concern,

This is in response to additional concerns expressed by the complainant in a letter from BBB dated Oct *, 2015, as I understand them.

Primary issue: motor is shaking
Molt response: The motor was not shaking during post-repair test drives or on the day the customer picked it up. When subsequently notified of this issue by the complainant, we have repeatedly requested that the vehicle be brought back for further investigation. Complainant has not complied.

Secondary issue: excessive fumes, bad brakes, bad gas line, muffler problems, ink on car seat, broken arm rest.
Molt response:
> When the vehicle initially arrived at our shop, it was not running and would not move. It was not until we replaced the engine that we could determine other issues, which have been outlined and addressed in our original response.
> The complainant's husband was shown the old parts in-person and consented to having them fixed. He actually took a set of the old brake parts home with him to show the complainant. We retained the other set.
> The complainant's brother was shown the bad tie rod in-person and consented to having it fixed.
> There is no ink on the car seat, as witnessed by myself, my son and the complainant's son on the day we met him at *******.
> There is nothing to confirm whether or not the arm rest was broken before the vehicle came into our possession, or during our possession. As a courtesy, I did offer a free replacement arm rest from our inventory to the complainant's husband, but he did not accept it.

I feel we have done our best to address each and every concern expressed by the complainant and her husband. We are still willing to look at the vehicle to determine if there is a problem with the motor shaking and what the cause would be.

******* ****


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]


 These people are liars and I will not take my car back to them and as to parts that was taken from my car.They run a junk yard I do not know who those car parts belong to. Yes my brother did go there but because he felt the same way I did about them sabotaging my car and since they have no integrity as to what they did and did not do. They also fired the guy Josh who worked om my car. I will not take my car back to them as I stated prior that every time I took it to them something else was destroyed or sabotaged .They can consider themselves paid and I will take my car to be repaired by a person of integrity. This will be my last response in regards to how they treated me as a consumer so I will be moving forward with the complaint to DMV as told by the consumer agency.



In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


***** *********