This business is not BBB accredited.

Cefola's Clarkstown Auto Lube

Phone: (845) 268-3138 Fax: (845) 268-3164 143 Route 303, Valley Cottage, NY 10989


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Family owned and operated business offering auto servece, oil changes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cefola's Clarkstown Auto Lube
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 1989 Business started: 01/01/1986 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1986 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Cefola, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Cefola, President
Business Category

AUTO LUBE & OIL - MOBILE AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Clarkstown Auto Lube Macchris, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    143 Route 303

    Valley Cottage, NY 10989

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Went to business to receive an oil change on my mother in laws car before returning the lease to dealer due to her death on July ***** of this year.Told ***** that I wanted a regular oil change since I was returning car to dealer.So when it is time to pay cashier, woman tells me it is $62.30.I was told the car only takes synthetic oil which is not true according to the Honda dealer I immediately called after leaving there.I also had a coupon from the dealer for $22.95 for this same service.I should have been told they were using that oil and then had the option to go to the dealer.There regular oil change is $34.99 which I was willing to pay plus I receive a text on my phone for $3.00 off this service,bringing the total down to $31.99 plus tax.I feel like I was taken especially with the attitude I received from the desk/cashier person.She told me I should have gone to Honda then.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund of the difference between there regular service and what I received.

Business Response: The vehicle in question was a 2012 Honda Accord. According to The manufacture, during the warranty period, the vehicle requires a 0w/20 motor oil. Honda uses a 0w/20 GF5 oil made for them by ****** ********. It is sold only at Honda dealers for a list price of $8.90 per quart( $40.05@4.5qts for a 2012 Honda Accord). ( Honda part # 08798-9037 labeled Honda Genuine Ultimate Synthetic) . For an oil to be a 0w/20, it must be a synthetic. Toyota,Mazda,Nissan, etc. all call for this synthetic oil to be used. Honda dealers have been told to call it a Semi-synthetic, so as not to scare the customer. We have used a Service Pro Branded 0w/20 GF5 Synthetic oil in over 6500 Honda vehicles since its introduction 2010. How does Honda do a 0w/20 oil change for $22.95 ? They don't. That is not the final price after they put on shop fees,environmental fees,extra fluid toppoffs,etc.. The vehicle was 2 years old with 7908 miles on it and had a B1 Matinen ce indicator light on the dashboard. a Honda dealer B1 service is an oil and filter change,tire rotation,brake inspection,fluid level check,tie rod check,exhaust system check, etc.... + - $160.(page 491 Honda owners manual). All this considered, I value my impeccable reputation I have made by 27 years without any BBB complaints. I will send the customer a refund on the oil change.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cefola's Clarkstown Auto Lube
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)