BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Koeppel Mazda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Koeppel Mazda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 05, 2010 Business started: 09/01/2004 in NY Business incorporated: 03/09/2004 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Related Businesses
Koeppel Volkswagen, Inc. Koeppel Nissan, Inc. Koeppel Subaru
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
K.L. Auto Enterprises, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 57-01 Northern Boulevard

    Woodside, NY 11377 (718) 721-9100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Koeppel Mazda on 05/**/2014 with the intention of buying a car. I discussed it with salesman **** ******* and he told me that in order to secure the car I wanted, I had to give them a $500 deposit as a sign of good faith. He told me that this deposit was completely refundable at any time. On 05/**/2014, *** ******* called me to inform me that they would not be able to secure the car I was looking for. I told him I would like my deposit to be refunded. He told me that's no problem but it would take two business days to process. I called him back three business days later on 06/**/2014 and asked where my refund was. He said their dealership had been busy and that my refund would be processed soon. Since then, I have called back twice on two separate dates and have been unable to reach *** *******. I also have not received my refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the $500 and a written apology.

Business Response: Thank you for your attention to this matter. I have spoken to *** ******* at our Mazda location and he informs me that he has spoken to the customer and that the issue has been resolved.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern: I recently purchased (12.26.2013) a 2014 Mazda 6 from Koeppel Mazda located at ************ I received phone calls from the dealer explaining that I did not leave my $5,000 down payment. I checked my credit card statements and notified the sales person Jim Mendez that in fact my card was not charged. I did present my credit card and other identification documents that were requested at the dealer and I am sure he made a copy of it. Although on all of my receipts from the finance manager Ken (I believe his name was) reads that I did indeed leave the $5,000 deposit. I am an honest person so I could have said I did leave the down payment, but I have morals. What aggravated me most is that I continued to receive phone calls up to 9:44PM from the finance manager. I have a family and I definitely do not need to receive harassment phone calls on an error that HE MADE. I am sure he is in very big trouble or if he is not he should be reprimanded but this is not how you treat customers who have made a $25,000+ purchase. To top this off, while at the dealer GEICO sent over my insurance papers that Koeppel Mazda lost and we had to call GEICO and lie that we never received them. Needless to say I am VERY disappointed in the customer experience here—it is very poor. I really hope that this is not how Mazda headquarters treats their customers either. I am attaching pictures of the phone calls so you can see the time and also my receipts that read that the $5,000 downpayment has been left although clearly they did not charge my card. Just so you do not think I am making this up.

Desired Settlement: I want a free year of oil change. Or some type of compensation.

Business Response:

***************

Thank you for your patience and honesty in this matter. I spoke to all parties involved and I agree that you should receive some compensation for your troubles. I will have the Sales Manager at the Mazda store contact you and we will work it out for you quickly.

Regards,

****************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** jun 2013 I take my car to mazda service (***** **** ****** ******** ****) Something is shaking , noise in the back.So i left my car there ,after 2-3 hours they call me tell me what is the problem !They said need to replace rear brake pads and rotors. That's the problem ,and noise came from ! I asked , make sure the noise is completely disappeared.They said ABSOLUTELY !!!!!!They charge me $420 (including air filter change) Way to drive home I was still hear the same noise ! Next day I call them up tell the same problem, and feel the company don't fix the problem. Costumer service say no problem , if I have time just bring back. I do take back my car after ** july weekend !! Left my car again , waiting they phone call !! 2 hour later call come in from mazda koeppel : they said We do found the problem the struts need to be replaced, this is give me the noise ! cost me close to $400 (again)I said first time how come u not found the problem , you just change something ,which is not necessary. The noise is still ON ! I'm not pay again , so mazda not touh in to my car (unless I pay)

Desired Settlement: Was a mistake, witch is fine but fix the problem what I expecting ,why I go for !!!

Business Response: *** ***** brought his vehicle in on 6/** with a rattle noise from the rear break area. Upon inspection it was advised that he replace the breaks in the rear of his vehicle due to wear. After picking up the vehicle after the completion of the work he expressed that a noise was still present. Upon further inspection we found that the shocks on his vehicle were aftermarket and not genuine VW parts. We recommended that replacement of the shocks may be necessary. As a goodwill gesture we offered to supply the shocks free of charge and he would just have to pay the labor. The brakes that were changed were worn and a replacement was necessary and the work was authorized. We would not be willing to make a refund on work performed. Our goodwill offer of free shocks with only a labor charge for replacement still stands. A rattle coming from a six year old car with over 85,000 miles is not definitively diagnosed customer concern and any work performed to the vehicle was necessary.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 Nobody asked any refund from Koeppel Mazda . All I asked to fix my car what they supposed to do from the first time . Service called me up ,told me what is the exactly problem , where is the noise came from . I ASKED : If change the break , the noise disappear ???? They say : ABSOLUTELY !!!!When I pick up my car , same noise is still ON  !!!!! I understand the break need soon change(this is what they say, but after this I'm not really sure ) , but this is  not the reason why I took my car . They should tell me : Need to change the shocks (which is  give you the noise ) , and we recommended to change the break. ! They change the break (nothing to do with a noise) and they stay quiet. !!!!Yes they offer me free shocks with  a labor charge .Why I have to pay labor again ?? 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** *****




 

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,

 

Thank you for your continued attention to this matter. Our previous offer still stands that if he would like to pay for the necessary parts we will perform the labor for free. The brakes and rotors where a necessary repair. They were located in the same area of the vehicle that the noise was being produced. Without replacing the brakes the vehicle would also would not have met NY States vehicle safety guidelines. The offer for free labor stands and *** ******** ( Service Director ) can be contacted at any time. I ask that at this time the compliant be closed.

 

Regards,

 

******* ****

Koeppel Auto Group

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Koeppel Mazda sold me a BRAND NEW Mazda CX7 that had hood damage and was repaired prior to me taking delivery and had concealed this information from me. As a matter of fact I was very clear when I told the salesman (*********) three (3) different times during this transaction that I DID NOT want a vehicle with any kind of damage or paint repairs due to purchasing a black truck, besides its new, and not used. I stated this due to how the new cars were cramped in together on the dealer’s lot. I was also clear that if he was not able to provide me with a dented and/or paint repair free auto that I would have taken my business elsewhere.     The salesman (*********) assured me that there was NOT ANY kind of paint and/or repairs to the auto I was purchasing. When I was taking delivery on my auto, there was a small scratch of the drivers side panel the size of a finger nail. He wanted to repair it, however being so small I did not want any painting done to the truck. I still have the “We Owe You” a paint repair receipt from the dealer. It was brought to my attention during a windshield repair due to a pebble hitting the windshield that there was a repair made to the hood and that the plastic (bondo) was just starting to crack. A further look under a florescent light showed a very poor repair done to the hood in a circle pattern about 5 “ in diameter. I called the dealer and spoke to the Sales manager named ****** who asked me to bring the car in for a look. I did so on a Saturday. He stated that it was some kind of bird droppings that had contacted the hood and damaged the paint. That was funny being he told me he is in the auto business for 26 years or so. I told him I was going to file complaints with BBB and NYS DMV, so he asked me to bring it in during the week for a better look by his service department. After the third phone call and being told that each time I called wasn’t a good time for an inspection that would of taken ninety seconds, I called Mazda direct and explained the situation at hand. Shortly after they then contacted me with the Service department manager on the line and set up an appointment to bring the car in for repairs. The service manager **** confirmed the issue with the hood was a previous repair that was poorly done, stated there was no record in his system, but took the car from me and sent it out to a certified Mazda repair body shop. I said to him that he had no record of it probably because the sales department probably had an outside vendor come in and do the repair being it was so poorly done and only showed over time due to the sun shrinking the paint (was explained to me by the body shop my family uses). My auto was suppose to be ready on Thursday 2-**-13, when I received a call that morning from **** in service telling me that the auto was just completed and delivered by their body shop, but he was not happy with the repair, and was making them do it again. I was then called by **** Friday late afternoon and told the auto was finished and the repair was satisfactory. Saturday morning I went to pick up my auto only to discover that the paint repair was not done properly and that in three (3) different spots of the hood on the corners the paint is rubbed off dull, small white spotting, swirl and scratch marks from over polishing possible paint runs and over spray along the weather stripping sealing the hood to the body when closed. Also there was wax residue all over the front of the truck, as well as all over the driver’s side door entry by the sill and step as well as the floor mat that I took photos of while the car was still parked inside the service department. This was part of the poor workmanship of a certified Mazda body shop too. I told **** the service manager that I was unhappy with the repair, he stated to me that there is nothing else he can do, and that I should do whatever it is I have to do.

Desired Settlement: I do NOT wish to deal with this dealership anymore, and want my auto repaired at the body shop my family has been using for years which is more than capable of completing such a simple repair, and want Koeppel and/or Mazda to pay for this repair. This can be handled directly between the dealership and the body shop that will do the repairs.

Business Response: I would consider allowing the customer to do the repair himself and be reimbursed by Koeppel. I would need to see an estimate prior to the work being done. It can be emailed to me at **************************
 

Business Response:

I have requested that Mazda of NA further review this claim and they have agreed to increase their goodwill payment to cover the repairs to be done at an outside body shop. A check will be mailed to *** ****** in the amount of 939.61.

 

******* ****

Koeppel Mazda

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and will resolve this issue pending reinbursment/payment.

Sincerely,

******* ******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: February **, 2013 To Whom It May Concern- In late December 2012, I took out a lease on a 2013 CX -5 from Koeppel Mazda in Queens, NY. This is now my 4th vehicle either purchased or leased from Koeppel (3Mazdas & 1Nissan). I have always been satisfied with the service provided and happy with the vehicles. However, with this last lease I felt uneasy with the price on the car and my monthly payments of $425/ mo, as I felt I was paying more than I should have. I began to review my lease and I emailed Koeppel Mazda for a price quote on the same vehicle (posing as a new customer). I received a quote of $379/ mo. In addition, upon closer inspection of my lease, I came across a price tag inconsistency with the agreed upon value on my lease. The actual MSRP on my CX-5 is listed at $30,815 .The actual total should come to $29,890(including a rebate of $925). However this is not the agreed upon value stated on the lease. The lease shows $32,595.45, a difference of $2,705.45. This discrepancy has increased my monthly lease payment, and my payments should actually be approximately $50 less a month! Upon discovery, I immediately brought this to Koeppel Mazda's attention (on February ****, 2013). I spoke to the Sales Manager, *********, explained my findings and asked for clarification. He told me this price difference was taxes. This could not be correct, as my lease shows that taxes paid upon signing the lease. **. ********* was then unable to explain where the discrepancy was stemming from. He then went on to insisted that the agreed upon value on my lease was what I had actually agreed to pay when negotiations were being made on the vehicle, which goes without saying is incorrect. It does not make sense to agree to pay almost $3000 more than the MSRP. I felt that the manager was not being helpful and rude (he was sucking on his teeth as he was speaking to me), and I asked to speak to his manager, ******. Again, I explained my situation to **. ******. After listening to my issue, he was sympathetic and agreed with my assessment of the price discrepancy. He offered to review my documents. He made copies of the paperwork to review at a later time, and advised me he would investigate further, As of today I am waiting for a response, but I truly feel to have been cheated. I should hope that a reputable business such as Koeppel Mazda would take such situations seriously and do whatever they can to correct this issue. Please let me know how Mazda can help rectify this problem. I thank you in advance for your time and consideration. N.P Vehicles that I purchased or lease : Mazda 3 sedan Mazda 3 hatchback MAZDA CX-5 Nissan Altima

Desired Settlement: To correct the MSRP , To adjust my monthly payments, refund the extra moneys i paid in taxes because of the higher price .

Business Response:

I had ****** *****, the sales manager at Koeppel Mazda contact the customer. It was explained that we did in fact charge over the MSRP ( Manufacturers Suggested Retail Price ). The MSRP is a guide for a selling price and as the selling dealer we have the option to either sell the vehicle above or below that price. The market value of the vehicle at the time due to limited production called for a higher market value. While we would not be willing to make a refund ****** did enquire if there was anything else we could offer in this case. Still awaiting a response.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased a vehicle from this dealership and traded in our car. We negotiated the price of our trade-in with someone named ******. He had the opportunity to inspect the vehicle and also had access to the VIN prior to negotiating the price. We settled on a price, shook hands, and the relevant financial paperwork was generated. Just prior to signing the paperwork, ****** came to us stating that our vehicle had been in an accident when it was owned by someone previous to us and he would offer us $1000 less than the amount we had previously agreed upon. I find this behavior to be unethical; a price was negotiated and agreed upon, he had the opportunity to inspect the car and run the VIN prior to agreeing on a price. He then had the tenacity to insinuate that I had been dishonest with him because I had not volitionally disclosed the accident, which occurred with a previous owner. He did not ask us whether the vehicle had been in an accident (which is not uncommon in New York City). What is particularly concerning to me is that we had committed to purchasing the vehicle, so ******'s last minute "bait and switch" left us with little choice. He had been dishonest with us, disrespectful, and unethical. In addition to our dealings with ******, we arrived at the dealership at 9:45am. We knew which vehicle we wanted to purchase. We took it on a 20-minute test drive. The price negotiations should have been quite straightforward. We left the facility at 5:30pm. What did we do in the interval between 9:45 and 5:30? Most of all we waited. We waited for them to find the car for us to test drive. We waited for them to prep the car we were going to purchase. We waited for them to eat their lunch. We waited for them to change their minds about how much they would offer us on our trade-in vehicle. We waited for them to generate the financial paperwork twice: once reflecting the prices we agreed upon and once reflecting the price ****** had decided to change. We were at the dealership with our 3-month-old baby. We were not offered water. We were not given any estimation of how long the whole process would take. Nobody suggested for us to get lunch (we did not eat the entire day). Every time we asked "how much longer" we were told "10 or 15 more minutes." The bathroom facilities were filthy and did not have soap in their soap dispenser. I was completely and utterly surprised to see that this business receives an "A+" rating from the Better Business Bureau. They employ classic "used car salesman" techniques, such as "bait-and-switch" and "foot-in-the-door." Of greater concern is that ****** is dishonest (going back on his verbal agreement), disrespectful to his customers, and the facility is quite unpleasant.

Desired Settlement: We would like a refund of $1000, reflecting the price of the trade-in we originally negotiated and agreed upon. If that is not possible, we would like credit for $1000 worth of services or credit for maintenance at this dealership. We would also like a formal apology for their behavior.

Business Response:

To Whom it May Concern,  

I am sorry for the delayed response to this matter. I have asked the BBB on numerous occasions to change the email address that alerts are sent to my email address. The address you are still sending to is for an employee no longer with the company.  

 

In response to complaint number ******* I would like to apologize for the customer wait time. In some instances where the negotiation and delivery take place on the same day this may result in a longer wait time but the time expressed seems in excess. In regards to the trade value I will not be willing to make any monetary concession. I understand there was a verbal agreement but our position on the trade changed once we ran the vehicle background prior to entering into a written binding agreement. We found the vehicle to have a previous accident/damage reported to the carfax. Our final offer for the trade was then brought to the customers attention and the choice was his to either accept or decline that offer. To have accepted the trade in offer and ask for additional monies for it after the fact is my basis for declining the customer's request for $1000 in settlement.  

 

                                                                                                               

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

The dealership had ample time to run the Carfax prior to agreeing on a trade-in price, so it is unclear why they would agree on a trade in price before running the carfax in the first place. Surely, this was not the first time they have gone through the trade-in process.  We found the "bait-and-switch" technique employed highly unethical.  We highly discourage others from patronizing this establishment.  Of course we could have walked away, but after waiting for hours (and hours and hours) we were not enthusiastic about beginning the process again.


Perhaps of greater concern than the $1,000 is the disrespectful attitude, insinuation, and the condescension we experienced by ******.  The response to our complaint was hardly an apology.  How about a little accountability?  Was the wait time reasonable?  Was the way we were treated acceptable?


This establishment perpetuates every used-car salesperson stereotype.  What an unpleasant experience.

To those of you able to access this letter, please avoid this establishment. 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/22/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/18/2011 Problems with Product/Service