This business is not BBB accredited.

Hassel Auto Group

Additional Locations

Phone: (516) 223-6160 Fax: (516) 223-6229 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Cleveland Avenue, Freeport, NY 11520 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.hassel.com ! There is an alert on Hassel Auto Group !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

BMW AUTOMOBILES
MINI COOPER AUTOMOBILES
BMW & MINI PARTS  &SERVICE


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 13
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hassel Auto Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1971 Business started: 01/01/1968 in NY Business incorporated 01/01/1968 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jon Guidi Sr., Service Manager
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Products & Services

Hassel Auto Group sells the following brand(s): BMW, MINI COOPER

Hassel Auto Group offers the following product(s): AUTOMOBILES, PARTS, SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Hassel BMW / Mini NY-SB, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Cleveland Avenue

    Freeport, NY 11520

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    291 Sunrise Highway

    Freeport, NY 11520

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought my 2014 BMW X5 in October 2013 and I have been having issues with it since February 2014. The first issue was the left turn signal was not working and I had to bring the car back twice before the issue was fixed. At the end of July my sunroof stopped working. I took the day off to have the issue addressed and was told by the ******* ******* that I cannot wait for the vehicle and I had to reschedule my appointment for another time. I took another day off from work to bring my car in for repairs. I was advised five (5) days later when I told them I was coming to pick my car up that there was a recall on the program that allows the roof to work. I was not given any written notice by mail advising me of any such recall. I also brought the vehicle in for them to address my right front passenger seatbelt that was twisted. I had to follow up with Hassel during the five days they had my vehicle for status on the repairs. The Customer Service in this establishment and their corporate office is unacceptable. Nobody does what they say that they are going to do. When I picked the vehicle up there were additional issues with the vehicle that was not there. My windows would not close automatically, the air comes on automatically, the tire pressure light was on and the seatbelt covering was not put on properly. I had to bring the car back the same day I picked it up to have them address the tire pressure light. When I got home I realized that the other above mentioned issues were present. Hassel BMW Service Center advised me that would, as a courtesy, come to my work and pick up my vehicle and leave me with a loaner and they never followed through. When I called the ******* ******* his answer to me was that he was off and he does not know what is going on and he would find out and follow up with me but never did. I again had to take off additional time from work to bring my vehicle in so the above mentioned issues could be addressed. Now today, the same issue my sun roof that was supposedly repaired less than a month ago is no longer working and I am going to have to yet again bring my vehicle back to Hassel so that the can hopefully do their job right this time around. During all the back and forth I reached out to the sales advisor for help and her response to me was unacceptable. She advised me that the vehicle is a machine and things like this happen. Where do they say things like this to customers? I'll answer my own question and say Apparently Hassel BMW. This is the worst Service and Sale Establishment in the business and I would not recommend anyone to purchase from them and or have any repairs done

Desired Settlement: I would like to be compensated for the all the times I have been without my vehicle and the times I had to take off from work to have all these problems addressed. I would appreciate all the payments to be forwarded to lease payments

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is a copy of the letter that I sent to Hassel Mini Cooper Dealership Please accept this letter as a formal complaint regarding my recent Mini Cooper lease. I originally bought Mini Cooper from Hassel MiniCooper Dealership in 2011. In February 2014 I came back to Hassel Mini Cooper dealership to return my leased car and to lease another one. I returned my original Mini Cooper and I was told that it is in good shape. A few weeks later I received a letter requesting several payments. First payment was $129 for over-milage. The second payment was $200 for tire wear. The third payment for $500 was listed as for internal and external damage. I paid $129 and $200. I was not aware that I would be charged these $500 for unknown to me damage. I called the dealership and spoke to ****** ******* and he told me that he will clear the charges and it should not be an issue. Two weeks later I received another request to pay $500. When I called the dealership again I spoke to ***** *******. He told me to speak to Mini Cooper financial department. In the financial department I was told that I missed and canceled two appointments for inspection and that inspection was performed without me. $500 charge is the result of the findings during the inspection. I never personally made ANY inspection appointments and I was certainly not notified of the inspection and the findings. Despite several calls to the dealership and the financial office, to this day I have not received detailed description of the findings of the inspection. I am receiving calls from collection agency requesting that I pay the full amount. I am not planning to pay the fine for findings that were not presented or explained to me. In addition, the Mini Cooper website (************************************************************************************************************************) describes that only dents that are greater than 2 inches are subject to charge. I did not have ANY dents especially more than 2 inches. In fact, I did not have any external or internal chips, dents or scratches that fit the description for charges. If you have photographic evidence to support your claim of external and internal damage, I will be happy to review it. In the absence of any photographic or video evidence, I consider your claim invalid. Please help me solve this issue by providing proof of damage or by resolving the fine. The staff at Mini Cooper dealership has not been helpful at all in resolving this issue. I was a returning customer but I can assure you that I will never come back here for another car and I will tell all of my friends and colleagues to avoid doing any business with this dealership. Thank you for looking into this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charges to be cleared since no damage has been demonstrated in the timely matter and there was no damage when I returned the car to the dealership

Business Response: Hassel is no longer in business as of 9/**/2014.

8/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ION 2/**/2014 I bought my car BMWX3 into Hassel BMW dealer ship for service. The engine light came on and wouldl not go out. I've been to this dealership 3 time for the same problem. Engine light on. Today is 08/**/2014 and the light is still on. I was told that I needed to replace a valve cover gasket. I was told it was replace, why is there still oil running down the side of the engine head. I was at Hassel BMW 3 time for the same reason.

Desired Settlement: To have my car repair the way it should be, without spending any more money.

Business Response:

All parts are warrantied for 2 years and unlimited mileage including labor.  If you feel a repair we already completed is still a problem, please schedule an appointment and we will be glad to look at it.

4/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re; to 2008 BMW 535I To whom it may concern, Vehicle was release to Hassel BMW for repairs on Monday March **** 2014. Both me and service ******* came to an agreement to repair problems in order to have vehicle running, but to disregard unnecessary repairs that can be done at a later time. Then later contacted Hassel BMW with attempt to cancel agreement the following day Tuesday March **** 2014 around 6:30pm-7:00p and spoke to a rep which told me that there was some recall on the vehicle that was already completed. I notified him to cancel any remaining repairs and to have the rep assigned to my account contact me first thing in the morning. Didn’t hear back from the ******* until later on that day only to be informed that the repairs was completed against my request. Totally disgusted with the way the transaction was handle and made several attempt to speak to the *******. When I finally got in touch with the ******* who refused to give me his name, he totally destroyed my emotional state by communicating to me in foul language and treated to hold my vehicle unless a payment was made for the services they chose to complete against my will. Due to sudden emotional distress, agreed to pay the bill; only to drive a few blocks away from the service center and have the car break down again. I immediately walked back to Hassel BMW; shockingly was asked to pay an additional $3k to fix the problems that they failed to fix just minutes before. I really feel taking advantage of, made too many trips and phone calls to Hassel BMW and keep getting the runaround. I decided to write a complaint first and not proceed with legal orders to see if there’s any way we can have this issue addressed and accommodated due to my love for Hassel. I do not want this one negative experience to influence me to never visit or recommend the organization to anyone else. Thank You

Desired Settlement: Repair problems and future compliments

Business Response: Originally the vehicle was towed into our shop, we have no history on the vehicle and it did not run.  The vehicle repairs were approved by the client, but there were further repairs recommended.  One included dissaembling the oil pan to remove debris that entered the engine during the original complaint.  We advised the client that not removing the debris could destroy his engine.  The client declined any additional work and advised he wanted to trade the vehicle in.  He called back stating his check engine light came on, we advised him to return the vehicle to us so we can diagnose but reminded him of the additional work we recommended should be done.  The failure of him not approving the additional work could have caused additional failures.  All of this has been documented and signed by the complaintee. I have attached the invoice of repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 

 My Vehicle was release to Hassel BMW for repairs on Monday March **** 2014. Both me and service ******* came to an agreement to repair problems in order to have vehicle running, but to disregard unnecessary repairs that can be done at a later time. I Then later contacted Hassel BMW with attempt to cancel agreement the following day Tuesday March **** 2014 around 6:30pm-7:00p and spoke to a rep which told me that there was some recall on the vehicle that was already completed. I notified him to cancel any remaining repairs and to have the rep assigned to my account contact me first thing in the morning. Didn’t hear back from the ******* until later on that day only to be informed that the repairs was completed against my request. Totally disgusted with the way the transaction was handle and made several attempt to speak to the *******. When I finally got in touch with the ******* who refused to give me his name, he totally destroyed my emotional state by communicating to me in foul language and treated to hold my vehicle unless a payment was made for the services they chose to complete against my will. Due to sudden emotional distress, agreed to pay the bill; only to drive a few blocks away from the service center and have the car break down again. I immediately walked back to Hassel BMW; shockingly was asked to pay an additional $3k to fix the problems that they failed to fix just minutes before. I really feel taking advantage of, made too many trips and phone calls to Hassel BMW and keep getting the runaround. I decided to write a complaint first and not proceed with legal orders to see if there’s any way we can have this issue addressed and accommodated due to my love for car. I do not want this one negative experience to influence me to never visit or recommend the organization to anyone else.My vehicle was returned to me with more mechanical issues then before. My vehicle is currently at another location awaiting repairs to be done.It was a nightmare writing this email give me a flashback of the ******* yelling talking foul to me and saying he is going to call the cops on me and say that the loaner vehicle he gave me was stolen all because I am an ******* ******** male.   If BMW  is trustworthy as it claims then please fix my car with no additional costs, as BMW mini of Hassel did not fix the problem in the first case, despite charging me so much money and time.Thank You

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
*******************




 

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My vehicle, (2007 328xi 4dr Sedan), 63000 miles, was brought in on 2/**/14, due to water damage that occurred from a snow plow that pushed water into drivers area (I opened driver's/window to clear snow, then driver's door. Water was throw on to Dashboard, Seats, Carpet area. Within 5 minutes,,,Vehicles "electronics malfunctioned and shut down completely. I grabbed a towel to dry off myself and area that took the water/salt ...and luckily the vehicle "started"after pressing the START button on dash and I drove to BMW in ********* **. Please NOTE: Nothing else electronically functioned. I met with ******* *******. A few days later... and he says the Insurance Company won't pay the 150.00hr. Diagnostic Rate needed to start the repair claim. I was told I'd have to pay the difference..$.449.71 at the end of this claim. I said just fix the car I'll pay the difference. They said they will "dry" the area out. Then after Diagnostics is complete, order the necessary parts On 3/4 Ins Co. views the car @ BMW and agrees to the parts needed. It had water Damage, so they order some major parts.(Cluster, Starter, Ignition Key -VIN coded starter switch. 3-4 days pass and they install the instrumentation Cluster , "Starter switch, I get a call from Service, telling me Cluster is NO GOOD! I am not happy. So now I return to discuss the issues on 3/**. The 2nd "Cluster was installed, BUT another part is needed. a Junction Box, and that has to be ordered and Ins Co. has to authorize. When will it end parts wise? This has become a nightmare after 5 weeks. Please help. They say they're sorry. I then wonder if this car will be safe? What warranty will I get on these parts? Can they guarantee the work and I refuse to pay the Diagnostic charge, when they bill me. Thank you... **

Desired Settlement: Make sure the parts will function 100% and complete the repairs so the car can be as good as new. Do not charge me on any costs for the 5 weeks of poor analysis and inconvenience, after being a good Customer and inconvenienced. Written apology and reasons why this took so long? Thank you.

Business Response: The rate at which your insurance company will pay is out of our control.  We have our listed door rate for labor and this does not change.  When you have water damage to electronics you cannot alwats determine what may fail in the future.  Unfortunately this is the nature of the beast.  All BMW parts are warrantied against defect for 2 years and unlimited mileage from the install date.  You insurance company will also guarantee the repairs and stand behind any future issues that may arise from the original cause of water entry.  The diagnostic charges will be covered by your insurance provider.  Again, we cannot control the labor rate that your insurance company is willing to pay for the repairs.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The main issue is the the car is still not repaired, Parts have been ordered, then re-ordered, then just yesterday another part (junction box) was diagnosed as defective. I would think the mechanic saw the Diagnostics and paired that part to the Cluster?

Five weeks?  Unacceptable. I have called BMW North America.



 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** *********




 

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a certified preowned vehicle in January 2013. Since buying the car, there are be extensive issues requiring repair to the automobile as all has been covered through their warranty policy. The car has been in the shop multiple times for recurring and new issues. I originally contact the North America Regional office in June but no follow-up was made. I contacted them again in November and opened a claim but the problem has not been resolved. I have provided their office with all available service reports as long with a CarFax report showing all incidents of service. This evening, the car cut off on me while in motion and it is no longer safe to drive the vehicle. This happened previously in the summer almost causing an accident. Today, there was limited traffic and I was able to coast to the side of the highway. I am convinced that this car had prior damage and/or mechnical issues that were not disclosed to me upon purchase. I believe it was damaged in Hurricane Sandy and has water damage.

Desired Settlement: I want to return the vehicle for the orginal purchase price.

Business Response: There are no prior damages to the vehicle nor was it involved in damages from Hurricane Sandy.  BMW North America is inspecting the vehicle today, 01/**/2014, and will provide their diagnosis (if any) of the vehicle.  The complaint has not been verified.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

The systemic issues with the car were not evaluated or assessed by the "field technical expert" that was sent from the regional office to the local car dealership/service department. I was advised today that the most recent problem was fixed and a gasket was replaced on the oil pan.  It was required to have the car towed to the local dealership on Friday, 1/*/2014 for a new problem with the oil level in the engine. 


In speaking with the ******* ******* assigned to my car, he advised that he was not aware of the system issues that were communicated in my original letter to the BMW North America Regional Office for customer relations.  Those issues were as follows:

- continued and repeated problem causing the emmissions warning indicator to come on
- whistling noise associated with the air ventillation system
chugging motion and issue with the exhaust system 
 
Please let me know the next step to address these issues.  I have responded by email to the local ******* ******* and copied the representative from the BMW North America Regional Office this evening to advise of the above overlooked issues.

Sincerely,

***** ****** *******




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ******** and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

Systemic issues with car were never addressed.  Letter dated Nov. **, 2013 (copy attached along with history of service reports), to BMW NorthAmerica Regional office communicated primary issues with the vehicle as follows:

(1) whistling noise has not be resolved 

(2) chugging motion and issue with the exhaust system accompanied by the emissions light. 

Neither was investigated and local dealerships response indicated that issues were never brought to the attention of the local dealership or BMW NA Regional Representative. 

Sincerely,

***** ****** *******




 

Business Response: Please forward your complaint to BMW of North America.  This does not concern Hassel BMW.

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I own a 2014 BMW 535i and a 2002 BMW Z3. Neither vehicle purchased at Hassel. I made an appointment to use the night drop off at Hassel BMW for my Z3. I requested the service department diagnose a new oil leak I discovered to evaluate repair. I also requested they install a replacement convertible rear window which I had already purchased (OEM) and placed in the vehicle prior to dropping it off. When I arrived at the service department I discovered they had no night drop off, even though I was told they did. I was able to leave my key with a worker who happened to be there late cleaning up. The next morning at 6AM I get a call from the service department, they cant open up my car door. I had to drive to the dealership just to discover the lock had frozen overnight. No sorry, no thank you. About 2PM I received a call from a ******* ****** **** *****, who informed me that my oil filter housing gasket was leaking. He quoted me a price of $799.00 plus tax. He then went on to explain that the Vanos line was leaking, another $298. Next he informed me that they could install the window for $450.00. He also explained that they could repair, not replace the loose interior door handle on the drivers side for a fee of $451.00. (they discovered this on their own). Im not a BMW service tech but Im not an idiot either. The oil filter housing gasket, dealer cost is $12.00 the book labor rate time is 3 hours. (it actually takes 1 to 1 hours to replace the gasket). The vanos line crush washers, which are replaced as part of the oil filter housing gasket job are 6 cents apiece (2 needed) the labor time is included in the oil filter housing job. Ive already replaced the rear window once myself but as I dont have a garage and the temp must be 75 degrees or warmer I thought Id try the dealer. It took me 45 minutes as a first timer to replace the window. **** ***** explained they wanted to charge me for 4 hours labor. I politely declined service and went to get my vehicle back. I spoke to the ******* ******* ******* ******* about the night drop off mix up and he blew me off. (I wasnt the only one there complaining about that) it then took **** ***** over an hour to return my vehicle. When I inspected the packaging for the replacement window I had left in the car I noticed the zipper replacement kit was missing and the window was no longer in the plastic sleeve it came in. When I pointed this out to **** ***** and the ******* ******* ******* they claimed to have no knowledge of where the zipper kit could have disappeared to. I know it was included in the package because I checked before placing it in the vehicle. So because I didnt let them rip me off for the repairs they stole my zipper kit making the replacement window worthless. Needless to say I am taking them to small claims court to recover the cost of a new replacement window. Do your selfs a favor and stay away from the individuals in this Stealer ship. Hassle just wants to rip you off. They are appropriately named. If you want a hassle go to Hassel.

Desired Settlement: I'd like a replacement rear window or at least a zipper kit, which hassle said is not avaiable.

Business Response:

******,

I aplogize for the inconvenience, I am not sure why the zipper would be missing.  The tech notated the tool to install the new window was missing from the kit you supplied.  In any event I will be happy to order a replacement rear window kit for you and install at no charge to make up for the "hassle", this is not how we want to be perceived to our clients.  I will speak to **** and ***** today and see what happened for this to get to this point.  We will notify you once the new part arrives and set up an appointment to install.

Best Regards,

*** *****

******* ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter should be  resolved after the replacement rear window is installed in my vehicle.

Sincerely,

****** ****



 

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I been having a steering wheel malfunction since 10/**/2013. I was scared to drive my vehicle. The steering wheel stiffen and turning the steering wheel was limited. I got my vehicle towed to *** ********* *** to the Hassel BMW Clinic on 10/**/2013. I got my vehicle back on 10/**/2013 and was told that it was a computer glitch. The same problem occurred on 11/*/2013 when I was leaving work in Brooklyn. And I called out from work on 11/*/2013 because I was once again afraid to drive that car again because I didn't feel comfortable or safe. I called my ******* ******* on 11/*/2013. He have been very helpful throughout this time. I once again got the vehicle towed on 11/*/2013. I was told days later that it was a steering wheel malfunction and that a part have to be ordered from Germany and that the part while take about 2 weeks because it have to go through customs. Than I had to leave work early spend money to take the LIRR to pick up a loaner and I walked from the ******** ******* at night to the service center. Than I was told weeks later that the part was a back order. Than I was told the part have to come from the manufacturer than be sent to Germany. My car still at the service center and it's going on two months. I am very unsatisfied and disappointed in BMW. I

Desired Settlement: I will like to give Bmw back the vehicle and get my full amount of money back ASAP!

Business Response: The vehicle is down waiting on a part from BMW NA.  We cannot answer or facilitate the clients request, this would be a complaint directed at BMW NA whom is the manufacturer.  We have recevied notification the client has made a complaint to BMW customer relations and they are working on a solution for the client at this time.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Customer relations representative *** ***** told me that I will have to wait until I get my vehicle back and MAYBE BMW will compensate me for having my vehicle for so long. In which I feel is impossible because my vehicle is paid for. I am not satisfied with BMW or receiving the vehicle back because I don't and won't feel safe in that vehicle. I don't want the vehicle back at all and I want my money back.  The vehicle supposedly been waiting for a part since 11/*/2013 and it's 12/**/2013 and still NO part,  NO vehicle and NO definite answer. This ordeal is stressful. This problem should have been resolved in October when the problem first started. Your Answer Here]

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We visited the dealership on *** **** ******* ******* on 11/**/2013. We came there to lease a car because they said over the phone, they had a vehicle with the options that we were looking for. As it turned out they did not have such car, and instead, we were offered to order a car to be built and delivered in January/February of 2014. That’s what we did. And paid $500 (credit card) deposit. We were told that we have plenty of time to make up our mind on new car because they did not expect to put our order through until a mid of December (as they said, everything was already sold out for this year's end), and promised to call us back when we need to finalize everything on new car, and will refund our deposit if we change our mind. Few days later, on 11/**/2013 we received a call from another dealership that they had a car with the options we wanted. We went there and took the deal right away. Next day, 11/**/2013, right before the Thanksgiving – we called our salesperson and explained everything. She said "No problem", took the Credit Card number and said we will get a refund in a few days. Today is already December **, 2013. We still did not get a refund yet . We called this place numerous times to find out about a refund, but the only person who we were able to talk was a receptionist. We left several voicemails but never get a call back And we could not reach our salesperson because she is out sick for the last few days. Never expected something like that from the company with the name BMW .

Desired Settlement: I'd like to get our $500 credit card refund

Business Response:

The credit card refund was processed on 12/**/2013.  We apologize for the delay and inconvenience.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

12/5/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my 2009 mini cooper was ander warranties on feb ** 2013 with a window malfunction,the service manager stated that could not duplicate customers complaint, i went back today 12/ **/2013 with the same problem and they sayng now i need a window regulator for a fee of $ 600 dollar because the warranties is off.

Desired Settlement: that is not fair!!!!

Business Response:

*** ******,

I am sorry you are having a problem after the warranty period.  I have contacted our MINI USA representative and we have agreed to goodwill this repair for you.  This decision was based on your loyalty to Hassel MINI and previous complaints while still under factory warranty. 

Your service advisor, ****, will be in contact with you to set up an appointment for repairs on your MINI.

Happy Holidays!

Best Regards,

*** *****

******* ********* ****** ****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******** ******



 

9/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: HASSEL BMW’s refusal to complete work on my Car, after full payment for same. ISSUE: HASSEL BMW obviously just billed me $4,000.00-(payment made) for an incomplete repair on my 01 X5 Car and will not accept any responsibility after I agreed to split or pay $600.00 out of the supposedly new $900.00 bill due to a Second Trial run of repairs for the same problem. After a careful research of BMW dealerships, I decided to try HASSEL BMW as the Internet is replete with various negative advertizing about BMW dealerships. I did not find anything on HASSEL BMW dealership that will prepare me for the kind of experience I had with them. Around the beginning of July 7/*/13 a warning light "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" came up on my 01 BMW X5-dash board. I am a ******** *********** ********** with a recently very busy schedule to save my job. I decided to go to a BMW dealership for the benefit of their prompt services, 10% discount for first time customers, Computer analysis and to decrease my worry threshold. The Word in the street is that dealers understand Warning Lights in their cars like the back of the palm. Accordingly, I scheduled an appointment with HASSEL BMW. 7/**/13 With the help of a ******* *******-**** ********* ###-###-####, I dropped off my car. I was told there will be a Computer analysis and I will be called later that day with possible repair findings. I told **** that I need to know the cost before starting work on the Car. 7/**/13 Around 5pm, I was called and told that the Computer Analysis is completed and fixing the Car will cost me around $2800.00. I told **** I was surprised by the high cost of a simple problem, but was determined to get my car back in the best possible condition. **** mentioned that it may be plus or minus that amount by the time of final invoice due to taxes. I made it clear that I did not have an unlimited budget for the Car and would rather be looking forward to a discount. **** said they will call me as soon as the work is completed because of other cars ahead of me. I agreed. 7/**/13 at around 5pm, I was called that my car was finished and ready to be picked up. I told **** I will pick it up the next day. 7/**/13 10 AM. When I arrived at the dealership, I sat to discuss the job with **** and was told my bill was $4085.18. I requested to know why the price keeping changing and what extra-ordinary work was done to change from $2800 to 4k? The explanation was a joke. **** stated “I see bills like these all the time and not surprised.” I told ****, it could not be true that people pay this amount for a “CHECK ENGINE LIGHT” I was totally livid and unhappy but smart enough to know that I was being gouged and can do nothing about it. I told **** I was not satisfied with this kind of charges but I seem to be at their mercy. Determined to avoid problems, keep my sanity and rest of mind. I paid for the service. A strange thing happed as I waited to get my Car out of the dealership. I waited for an unusually long time to get my supposedly finished Car, my conservative estimate would have been 2 hours. The Car was later found and the explanation was that it was kept at the wrong place. But my guess is, the Car was not completed and placed among finished Cars to be released. The Car was not ready to be released. I respectfully raised my suspicion, just glad to be done and out of there and not knowing the problems that lies ahead, I kept my cool. **** had left after the long wait to retrieve the Car. Another ******* ******* Itkin, did his best to assist me and does not really know about my dealing with ****. I finally got my Car late in the afternoon. After about a few blocks from the dealership I saw the same light "SERVICE ENGINE SOON' came on. I prayed that it will go off before I get home which is 20 minutes away. I got home but the light did not go off, I left the Car running so the light could go off but to no avail. About an hour later, I picked up my phone and tried x3 to contact my service adviser **** ********* but as usual, he never answers his phone but he responds to messages. I left a detail Message that the "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" light did not go off. He said bring the Car back. 7/**/13 I returned the car to HASSEL BMW. Around this waiting period, I made occasional calls to **** and he called me too. I requested to know why the slow pace of work on my Car? But no answer was given. May be other Cars ahead. 8/*/13 I was called by **** that the Car will cost me $900.00 to finish. I expressed my very sad impression that should proper work had been done on the Car the first instance, it sounds like the real amount for my initial problem. I offered to pay $600.00 out of the $900.00 **** said he will speak to a ******* and call me back. I was optimistic and waited for HASSEL BMW call to finally get my Car back. 8/*/13 I was called by **** a *******, that I have to be responsible for the total cost of the Car because it was a secondary repairs. I asked **** if he knows the history and details of the problem? I told **** that my Car was running perfectly when I brought it in for the "SERVICE ENGINE SOON" light. **** seems to be very busy and not in the mood to understand any problem. **** insisted on full payment or Car out. Again I vehemently impressed it upon **** that HASSEL BMW dealership's mistake has cost me $4900.00 and by the time I pay additional $600.00 I would have paid $4600.00 out of that amount. If I had known from the outset that the repairs will be rolling charges to the tune of 5k, I would have leased a new Car instead. I had a limit to how much love and money I was willing to commit to the old Car. For all I can remember, I was speaking to someone who had already made up their mind with no return. I told ****, If things were properly done the first time, it was probably always the problem and would have cost me $900.00 all along. I added that a one time $4000.00 for a simple Warning Light, was my single most expensive investment in the life of a Car that has been in my family for around 10yrs and well maintained. In addition I told **** the expense on the car has become 4x over my budget. He said no negotiation. I ask again, If he feels some responsibility over the Mis-diagnosis that has led me on a slippery slope of financial waste and that my fear is that the problem may well continue. He said it's a secondary diagnosis, and that is all he can say. I said it's not secondary to me because the Car was never done the first time. **** literarily said go to hell, I was surprised as I had no previous problems with anyone of them. 8/*/13 I went to the dealership to get my Car. **** would not even acknowledge my presence there and all the 1 hour, I spend waiting he was on the phone. I felt violated by this people. The Car was released to me with no paperwork or indication of any attempted work done. However though, there is a broken control on the left side of the Steering column and one missing tires lug nut-not a problem to me. I am 5 days, at the time of this writing without a Car. I am currently afraid to use the Car because of fear of malicious intent and sabotage. I take a cab and train to work and very occasionally uses my busy wife's car but mainly Taxi Cabs because of where I leave. As a law abiding Citizen of the USA, I am out of options. I sincerely beg the help of your office to have HASSEL BMW refund my $4000.00 or complete the work that I had paid for. HASSEL BMW should be responsible for any secondary expenses that it cost to fix the problems that cause my Warning Light and give the Car back with WARRANTY. This is the respectable, honorable and creditable thing that a respectable establishment like theirs should do.

Desired Settlement: Finish the job or Refund my $4085.40

Business Response:

We already spoke to the client.  The check engine light that came on after repairs is not relative to anything we repaired prior and is an emissions system that is faulty.  We offered to install the required parts for free and discount the price, he declined.  We are not offering any further assistance.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

It is totally absurd to read HASSEL BMW response. If they know that the problem was emission, why was I not told and billed accordingly. Why was it not fixed. Why did you charge me $4000.00 without solving the problem? and then there is a new charge for the  same problem? How many steps resolution are we expecting here?

HasselBMW said the new rolling cost will set me back around $900.00 additional. I offered $600.00 which brings my responsibility to over $4600.00. They refused.

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

****** ******




 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchase a 2013 X3 BMW and the car has been giving problems the Bluetooth and I took the car for repair and i was told that they had to contact BMW North America to request a repair software and that in a week i would be call to provide me with the answer. I never receive a phone call back and i been calling them 17 times and left messages because the operator always gives me on excuse that there busy with other customers, on the phone, on a meeting, etc and 5 months later I am to get a phone call back. I also have left many messages to **** **** Hassel BMW manager and his the worse of them all. I been also calling and spoke to ****** the assistance manager and everytime I speak to him he tells me his busy and will call me back but he doesn't. I like to know at this point what i done to deserve this, I've haven't been rude to anyone here yet. why is that they can scam the warranty because they got paid for the service that wasn't complete.

Desired Settlement: Not sure what on outcome can be because they scam my warrantee because they got paid for something they didn't repair.. I will call them as well and advise them that they got scam by the dealer. at this point I want the problem repair since they got paid for and a written apology and for someone to have the commend courtesy to call me. I was also trying to add the Sirius/XM to the vehicle but at this point I'm afraid to do any further business with this dealer. they should really add it at no charge for all the hell they have put me true, but with Hassel hell will freeze over before they do something to there own loyal customers. People please stay always from Hassel BMW. don't take my word for it Google Hassel BMW and you will see this is commend for them to treat there customers like animals. with XM its nothing they install because its a Profit Code they add (like a Password) to enable that feature since all 2010 and up they come pre install with it. I really want on explanation as to why 5 months later and days, & days of phone calls why are they not answering there own voice mails. I just wish I had more information on Hassel BMW to report **** **** business practice, in some hope maybe the company doesn't know how this trash of a manager is running the dealership. He is a cover not to call customers with valid issues.

Business Response: This complaint is the normal operation of the vehicle.  Hassel BMW did not sell the vehicle nor make any promises of a function that would/could become available to the consumer.  The client was in for service and had the satellite radio programmed into the vehicle.  See attached invoice from 7/**/13.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Doesn't Hassel represent BMW? Just because it was purchase at a different dealer doesn't mean they should ignore there customers. It took 5 months for them to actually answer a phone and I did have the satellite radio install after I file the complaint with the BBB, still doesn't explain the fact on how Hassel does there business. The other issue with the USB/Bluetooth still wasn't fix, and no where I said they promise anything, the fact is that the vehicle comes with a USB & Bluetooth and its intended to work but it doesn't and they actually charge the service visit to the guarantee and label as something different because when I when In for service last they wrote on the comments something not related to the issue. The issue is that when any device is connected via Bluetooth and you witch to USB the system looses its Bluetooth memory and can't no longer go back. They tested the issue with there own phones and it also cause the problem. I even ask ****** (the service advisor) why they wrote on the comments something different and his response was it was the mechanic and its normal. But they never wrote the actual issue and they just wipe there hands. I said it before and I'll say it again there scamming my guarantee and there cowers for not standing up to there mistakes. Worse company ever, who ever is running Hassel has no business there. There employee know it and that's why they do anything they want. After all this problem and waitting and the issue still not fix they just try to defend themselfs with lies and not even say we made a mistake and will wave the charge on labor on the install but no they will still lie about and act like its my fault. If they think I will seat with hands cross they have another thing coming, and I won't rest until I make publicly know how bad they are and how they scam there customers. If they think this is over? Not by a long shot!

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** ********




 

7/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased the car in September 2012, I purchased for $699 a warranty that covers any discoloration of the seats which states the warranty will repair or replace any damage due to wear because they supposedly treat the car for the $699 so that these kind of issues can not happen. I have bought my car to Hassel to repair / replace the drivers seat leather 2 times in the last 5 months. The first time they had the car for 10 days before they tried a cheap repair by painting the leather to remove the worn out look. This repair wore away very quickly. I did not approve the repair so I was asked to bring the car back in. They had the car 2 weeks during which I called multiple times trying to get answers. The answer I got was they were waiting on the warranty company to approve the replacement. I got fed up waiting so I picked up the car and they promised they had enough information for the warranty company. I have contacted the warranty company multiple times since then and every time they told me the same thing, which was they had no information from the dealer. I called the dealer after each warranty call and they promised to email the pictures and estimate to the warranty company. The last time I asked the dealer to cc me on the email. No email ever came. Its obvious that Hassel isn't interesting in honoring the 3rd party warranties they are selling. It was a complete scam to buy this warranty and I feel I should send a letter to the district attorney to investigate this fraud.

Desired Settlement: At this point the warranty I paid for doesn't exist as the dealer isn't supporting it, much less honoring it. I would like a refund of my $699. If not I will discuss my options with the district attorney.

Business Response: I am researching the complaint and will contact the client directly.  The client never contacted service management to try and resolve this issue before making a BBB complaint.  I am confident we can resolve the issue with his seat.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

The business has talked to me but nothing is resolved within the 6 days to respond so I'm rejecting this response to keep the complaint open.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******* ******




 

Business Response:

I spoke with ** ****** yesterday and am working with my Service department to see if we still have pictures of the worn leather. If not ** ******* will need to come back in for me to take current pictures of the wron seat leather and re submit to the insurance company

Sincerely

***** *******

###-###-####

6/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I originally bought my first BMW in 2006. a 330ci. it was my dream car. at that time i was definetely taken advantage of because of my age ( i was 22 and didnt know any better). Now 8 years later I am looking to buy a newer car and went back thinking that I would get some kind of customer loyalty benefits. NOT AT ALL!!! They were rude and tried to pressure me into something that I could not afford, depsite telling them over and over again that I had had financial difficulty. I went in to extend my warranty and they advised that I shouldnt do that and should buy a car instead. They convinced me that this was the best option. I will preface this by saying that my credit leaves a lot to be desired for, however they approved me at a rate of 13.24%!!! I thought this was high and went to Rallye BMW a few towns over. They were able to get an exception to get a tier bump and lower the rate, but did not have the car that I wanted. When I went back to Hassel and advised them of this they said that that was impossible and couldnt have happened. BASICALLY CALLING ME A LIAR!!! They also initially were going to give me 7k for my trade in then when I advised them that the KBB was 14k they all of a sudden jumped 4 grand to 11k....there is definetely some kind of age/gender discrimination going on there. the sad part is, that they have the car that I want. Hassel gives BMW a bad name.

Desired Settlement: I want to receive fair trade in value for my car and be treated like a person not a young woman. I would like to purchase a car with the same interest rate being offered at another BMW dealer through BMW Financial. I want to stop being discriminated against.

Business Response:

******** is declined from BMW Financial Services and is not approved for a loan at this time. The vehicle she was interested in has also been sold. The reason for the value of her trade is because it has 2 accidents showing on the carfax which lowers the value.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

BMW Financial has approved me through another dealership Rallye BMW in Westbury NY, further validating that Hassel BMW discriminated against me. Below is an email excerpt from their finance manager confirming that I was approved by BMW Financial. They have requested a letter from my BK Trustee confirming that they will allow the new debt which I am in the midst of obtaining from my attorney and they are working to find me the car I want. I was approved with the same credit information, my accurate income information (which Hassel had told me that they were increasing the amount of income in their system so they Blatantly commited fraud-this can be added to the list of their transgressions against me) and with a payment that would be affordable. The statement by Hassel below that BMW Financial declined me is not accurate. Below is the proof that I was approved by BMW Financial.

Regarding the amount offered for my car, the issue was not that the final amount of $11,000 offered was not sufficient as I was aware of the 2 accidents on my car and provided full disclosure on it; the issue is that the initial amount offered to me was $7,000 and then when I questioned them and advised that the Kelley Blue book on the car was $14k in fair condition that they came back within minutes and offered $11k. This is proof that they were trying to scam me because I am a woman and therefore they thought that they could pull the wool over my eyes.

As for the car that I had wanted being sold, it is still currently listed on their website as of today's dateand the last that I had checked, it was still in their showroom on Sunrise Highway ( I live in the same town and pass the dealer everyday to and from work) . I have attached a copy of the listing and here is the URL proving it is still on their website. ******************************************************************************************************************************************

Again this shows that they blatantly are discriminating against me. There were also a couple other cars that they had that matched what I wanted that they have in their inventory and are still listed on their site. Again, this would not be an issue if Rallye had a coupe in their inventory, but as of when I last checked they did not. Hassel should be held accountable for what they have done. They should provide restitution for this experience. I am not sure if it was because I am * ***** or because I am ********, I do not know, but it is obviously something as another BMW Dealer obtained approval through BMW Financial and with a lower rate of 11.24%.

I do not consider this matter resolved and await a positive resolution.

***** ********** *** *** **** **** ** *** ********* ******** ******** *** ****** ************ *** ********* ***** *** *** ******  * *** **** **** ** ******* *** ******** *** **** *** ******* ** *** ****** **** *** ** ***** **** ***** **** *** *** ** ****** ** ******* **** ** *** ****** ** **** ** *** *** *** ********* ** **** ****** **** ** *** ******* ******* ***** ****** ***** ***************************** ***** ******* *** *** **** ***** ** *** ********* ******** ******** *** **** *** ***  ****** *** ********* **** **** ******** ** ** ** ****** ******* ** *** ***** ******** * *** ******* ** **** *** * ****** **** *** ********** ******** *** ****  

 

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

******** ********




 

3/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new 2010 Mini Cooper at Hassle BMW on Dec.2009and it was recommended by the financial manager to purchase an additional 2 year maintenance agreement to the manufacturers' 4 year bumper to bumper warranty.This 2 year agreement was suppose to start on the fifth and sixthyear of the car ownership as I was informed by the financial manager.Due to Hurricane Sandy, my neighborhood was flooded. My car, the 2010 Mini Cooper and my home got flooded.I presented to Hassel BMW a letter from my car insurance companythat the 2010 Mini Cooper has been flooded and has been a total lost.I have requested a full refund for the extended warranty purchased since the car did not survive enough years for the extended warranty to be used. However, to my suprise they have prorated the refund money and refused to provide a full refund. This warranty was sold to me by Hassel BMW, at time of the purchase but was never used. I need your help in getting justice from a company that refuses to give me a complete refund on this purchase.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for the purchase price $2395 plus tax.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

This shortage was due to a clerical error from an inexperienced employee. We apologized for the problem and paid Ms. ******* with a check. The stub was signed by Ms. ******* and is attached.

 

If you need any other information regarding this matter please contact me.

 

*** ******* ******* *******

Hassel BMW

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

***** ******* 


 

3/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a new module from Hassel Mini and my mechanic was unable to program it. I spoke to a technician named **** and he said that the part had warranty on it and to bring the car in for servicing. I spent over $300 dollars on towing expenses. I let the adviser Mr. ****** know that one of the cars windows does not close properly and that the car has to be cover or placed inside. A few weeks later, I was called and told my car was ready to be picked up. Once again I rented towing equipment and I went to pick up the car. When I got there inside the car was flooded with water. It had been raining very hard and because their negligence the car was flooded with water up to the height of the seats. I complained and told them I wasn't going to take the car back in that condition. They promised to "take care" of the issue. They offered to clean/detailed the car. I was told I was going to be called back when the work was done. Weeks passed by and i was not contacted by anyone from the the dealership. So I drove there and spoke in person with the adviser to find out what was going. The only thing I was told after explaining the situation again, was that I left the car there for too long and I owed massive storage fees.

Desired Settlement: Payment $6,000

Business Response:

In reference to repair order number ****** for a 2009 Mini Cooper with VIN# *****************: 

This vehicle was towed to our dealership from **** **** ****** ****. residing at ** **** *** ***** ****** ** *****.  We are unaware of the BBB complainant, ********* ****** ******** and see no legitimacy to this claim.  The vehicle was towed to our dealership on 12/04/2012 to diagnose communication issues for an outside installed body module.  Our technician diagnosed the vehicle as flood damaged and recommended starting with replacement of the complete vehicle body harness due to severe flood damage.  The shop declined all work and the vehicle was towed from our dealership on 12/22/2012.  All of these facts are documented on the repair order invoice provided to the client; the vehicle is also flagged as a total loss/salvage title on the Carfax.  These documents are attached.  At this time we find no valid claim is supported against our business nor did we cause any damage to this vehicle.

3/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the email i sent to BMW Hassel on February 18th 2013 regarding the service they provided me on my car: Hello Mr. *****, I received the survey below after bringing in my car to get serviced at your service center. The problem I brought it in for was that it would not start. As explained to your service adviser **** ********* that assisted me while I was there, I was driving the car and it started to vibrate and then the "Check Engine" light came on. I was only about 2-3 minutes from home, so I immediately drove it home, this happened on a Friday night. I decided to leave the car there for two days. I went to start it to bring it in to you guys to get it checked on Monday morning, however came to find out it would not start. I therefore, had to get it towed to BMW Hassel. I brought my car in on December 10th, 2012. After a full day of diagnosing, your team still had no answer or resolution for me on what was wrong with the car. **** called me around 2pm that day stating they could not find the root cause of the problem and would have to dig a little deeper to find out why the car would not start. I gave the "okay" to continue their diagnosis process to find the root of the problem. All day Tuesday December 11th I had not heard from any of your staff. I left two messages for **** but never got a call back. Finally on Wednesday December 12th I got a call from **** saying that they still do not know what was causing the problem; they could not even get the car started. He stated to me that they would have to do an entire "engine tear down" to find the problem, but this is something that would come with a hefty price, somewhere between $4000-5000.On top of them not being able to find the problem I was not even offered a loaner vehicle in the meantime while they figured out what the problem was. I was left without a car to get around with for 3 days. I had my father call in and he was told that the car repairs are more than the car is worth and that they could have someone at BMW appraise the vehicle and in turn I could use that money to get into new or Certified Pre-Owned BMW. They did the appraisal and came back and said they were not willing to trade the car in and BMW Hassel would not give us any money for the residual value. I was then told by the service adviser that I should look up some junk yards and find out how much money they would give me for the vehicle. I was upset and distraught at the fact our car is only 6 years old and it was being junked at this point. Any time my car has had major issues I have always brought it to BMW Hassel as I feel that you are the manufacture of the car and would know best on how to go about fixing the car. I was on the verge of calling junk yards to find out how much I could get if I started to part away my car. However, I decided I had to take it in for a second opinion. I took it to *** **** ****** ******, within 3 hours of them looking at it they got the car started and diagnosed. They diagnosed the car as needing to change the spark plugs and engine coils. I picked up my car from *** **** ****** on December 17th. It has been exactly 2 months since I got my car back and it has been working perfectly. I have had no problems with it. In total I paid $472.52 at BMW to get my car back in the same condition that I brought it to you. On top of that I had to get it towed and paid for that, as well, to be dropped to the second mechanic. At *** **** ****** ****** they charged me $564.11 to not only fix my car and get back up and running but I also got a Mobile 1 oil change with my air filters replaced. I am truly upset and disappointed with BMW Hassel service. As the manufacturer of my car I bring it there so you can fix my car. I feel I was steered in the wrong direction. I am writing this email with the intention of getting a refund of my diagnostic fee of $472.52 back as this did nothing to for me. I have been a loyal customer to BMW Hassel but you have done nothing but waste my time and money. I do not believe that you have the best interest in your customers. I am requiring that you respond to my concern within 3 business days or this issue will be escalated immediately to the Better Business Bureau (BBB). If you should have any questions please feel free to call me at ###-###-####. Thank you, ****** *******

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund of my $472.52 for the diagnosis fee, as they mislead me, leading me to believe my car was junk when in reality it was not.

Business Response:

I have reviewed the cust complaint And feel that we have not done anything in the wrong. Based on the facts the vehicle had low compression in cylinder # 1 Indicating internal engine failure. I looked at the customers repair
History at the dealership and will offer cust a full refund on a goodwill Basis. cust will receive a check for the amount they spent to diagnose The vehicle .

Please let me know when you close out the complaint .

****** ****** ******* *******

Hassel BMW MINI

Direct line ###-###-#### /Cell ###-###-####

Fax ###-###-####

Main ###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely, 

****** ******* 


 

11/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service