BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Habberstad Mini

Additional Locations

Phone: (631) 486-6464 Fax: (631) 424-7668 959 E Jericho Tpke, Huntingtn Station, NY 11746 http://www.habberstadmini.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Habberstad Mini include:

  • 6 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Habberstad Mini include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Business Management
Mr. Eric Habberstad, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Habberstad, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Little Cars of LI Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    959 E Jericho Tpke

    Huntingtn Sta, NY 11746

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    959 E Jericho Tpke

    Huntingtn Station, NY 11746

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2005Mini Cooper,to have a DDL (daytime driving light) replaced and my Back up senses were Not working. I was told that the ******* *******,would be checking the entire Car with me.The ******* took me into the shop and raised the hood of the car.He showed me some black dirt under my right shock absorber and that the Top of the serpentine belt was defected. I took the car to another mechanic the next day ,who informed me there was No problem with either item.My Mini has 44000 miles. Next the ******* raised the car up on a lift.He brought me under the car and showed me a great deal of oil on the lower part of the engine.I have a new light gray driveway,with No oil stains! He claimed the rear engine seal and the valve cover gasket were leaking.NOT SO. I asked him what was the small fan under the power starring pump? The fan was frozen.He said he would Write Up all the discrepancies. I told him to just replace the bulb and repair the back up senses. I received a labor bill of $51 to replace two light bulbs and $ 160 to find out that the fan and back up senses are on the same fuse The ******* ******* New this when we found the frozen fan.Why did they charge me $160 for information they already new. Is this business just DISHONEST?.

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment. Will you report your finding to BMW,or shall I?

Business Response: Hello,

I have reviewed the vehicle history and the charges on the last repair order. It is policy to charge 1 hour diagnosis for any electrical concern. If the work was authorized the diagnosis fee would have been waved. In this case I would be willing to refund you half the diagnosis charge as a Goodwill Gesture. If you have not performed the repair of the fan I would also like to offer you 10% off the repair as well.

Thanks

**** *****

Business Response: Hello,

I have reviewed the vehicle history and the charges on the last repair order. It is policy to charge 1 hour diagnosis for any electrical concern. If the work was authorized the diagnosis fee would have been waved. In this case I would be willing to refund you half the diagnosis charge as a Goodwill Gesture. If you have not performed the repair of the fan I would also like to offer you 10% off the repair as well.

Thanks

**** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ***** does not seem to understand my problem, there was no need for a l hour electrial diognostic because both the ******* ******* and myself found the problem of the frozen fan.
The fan and the back-up sensors are both on the same fuse circuit.  *** ***** also does not mention that the ******* ******* advised me that three items - shock absorber, serpentine belt and oil leak needed to be repaired.  When in fact - when I checked with another mechanic the next day, nothing was found to be wrong with those items. I think this dealership should be reported to the Attorney General's Office for fraud.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ***** does not seem to understand my problem, there was no need for a l hour electrial diognostic because both the ******* ******* and myself found the problem of the frozen fan.
The fan and the back-up sensors are both on the same fuse circuit.  *** ***** also does not mention that the ******* ******* advised me that three items - shock absorber, serpentine belt and oil leak needed to be repaired.  When in fact - when I checked with another mechanic the next day, nothing was found to be wrong with those items. I think this dealership should be reported to the Attorney General's Office for fraud.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Habberstad on 7/**/14 to schedule a service appointment on a 2014 Countryman and spoke to ****** ******. I informed her that the car was letting me know it was time for an oil change and that driver's side HVAC vent was not closing properly. The car was only about 3 months old at this time but did have nearly 8k miles on it. I inquired if a loaner car was available and complimentary for this service. ****** responded that it was both available and complimentary. I scheduled service for 7/**/14 at 7am. I arrived at Habberstad at 6:45, grabbed all my work bags and headed inside. The door was open, but no lights were on. I thought this was odd, so I returned to my car to wait a few minutes. The BMW service department was clearly up and running at this point. At approximately 5 minutes to 7, I figured I would check inside again. Now the door was locked. I waited outside. ****** walked over from BMW next door to open up. It was now past 7am, my appointment time. Then we had to wait for the computer to get up and running and since this was the first service at Habberstad on a vehicle that was purchased elsewhere, it took some time to load all the information in. ****** informed me that it was recommended to get "Nitro" put in my tires. When I inquired as to the purpose behind this, she wasn't able to provide a great answer. She said, "it helps keep the tire pressure lights from coming on." I responded that I didn't have an issue with that, to which she replied, "I have it my BMW and it helps." I reiterated that I didn't have a problem with that so I would pass. Then I was offered a wheel alignment, to which at first I agreed. I was provided the invoice and when I saw that a wheel alignment was $250, I requested that this service be taken off. I was then informed that they do not give out loaners just for oil changes since they are so quick, approximately 40 mins she said. I told her that when I called on Monday, the only service I said I needed was an oil change and to have my vent checked. She asked if I had enough time to wait. I did not as it was a workday. She was hesitant to give me a loaner, but finally agreed. Then said they didn't have any Minis available so I would have to go to the Hertz counter inside BMW next door. I said ok, got my work stuff (which is not just a briefcase, but essentially a mobile office so not really convenient to drag from place to place), went over to Hertz where I was given a Ford Focus as a rental. A FORD FOCUS! Please tell me what was going through the minds of Habberstad when they arranged for someone to go from a fully loaded Mini Countryman to a baseline Focus?! I get a call from ****** later that day to say that the car was ready, and to inform me that I had a bubble on my front driver's side tire. I was surprised and asked what would have caused that. ****** responded, "Well honey you do have almost 8,000 miles on the car." Honey? What professional calls someone honey? I said ok, thank you for letting me know, I'll get a replacement at a tire shop. She was getting annoyed and said, "ok, just make sure we have the rental back by 5:30." I asked if there was anyway to bring it back later, because I was working a substantial distance from the dealer and it wouldn't be easy to get there by then, and she said no, they had to have it back or they would charge me. I acknowledged and we disconnected. Not even two minutes later, she calls back to tell me that they ordered a new vent and it would be in tomorrow so keep the rental for the night. What's wrong with this scenario? Either she was trying to be difficult by telling me that the car had to be back at 5:30 and forgot to follow up on the other service item I requested or she was just incompetent and told me that the car was ready when, in fact, it was not. Now, I find it very hard to believe that the tire had a bubble on it before I brought it in. Here's why.... After I picked up the car the next day, I noticed the vibration which was caused by the bubble (it was corrected upon replacement of the tire). I drive the car over 100 miles a day and find it highly ironic that a bubble, which was large enough for me to notice in how the car drives on Monday, was undetected to me on Wednesday night, the last time I drove the car at highway speed. Moreover, the bubble was clearly visible, on the driver's side of the car. I am somewhat fanatic about my car so it was quite surprising indeed to learn that it went undetected. Anyway, I pick up the car the next day, drive home and don't drive it again for the rest of the weekend. As I said earlier, when I drove the car on Monday at highway speeds, the vibration from the bubble was definitely noticeable. I also noticed that the dashboard, which I assume was disassembled to install the new vent, was not put back together correctly; there are parts that don't line up and pieces which are obviously not aligned correctly. So now, I'm pretty upset. I called Mini and the service advisor asked if I wanted to bring my car back in. I stated that I did not as I wasn’t happy with the service in the first place. She offered to transfer me to the ******* ******** **** *****. I thanked her and left a voicemail for ****. **** called me the next day and left a voicemail. I returned his call later that afternoon and left him a voicemail. Then I called him the next day, and the next day. Then I followed up with phone calls every few days, all with no response. So, not only is the quality of work at Habberstad shoddy and perhaps dishonest, but the quality of service provided to myself was inexcusable. I have previously worked in the customer service industry for eight years and can attest that the service at Habberstad was some of the worst I’ve experienced. Shame on me for not reading their other **** reviews; they’re all accurate.

Desired Settlement: I believe the business has the responsibility to arrange for repairs to be completed and to reimburse me for the cost of a new tire.

Business Response: Called and left message for customer 2:16pm 8/**/14 to try and resolve issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:
I am writing regarding the complaint referenced below. This matter has not been resolved. I called the business, left a vm, they called and left me a vm and I called again this morning. I have not heard a response since. Please do not close.

Thank you,
******* *******

 


Business Response: Spoke to the customer.

We will take care of the tire for him as a goodwill gesture from Habberstad MINI.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my 2013 mini cooper was brought in to dealership for free regular scheduled warranty service. the auto has 4900 miles on it. The car was running perfectly prior to service. I was told by the service dept that I should authorize a "injector induction flush service' . I was told that this would " clean the injectors and even though it may not need the service now, I would eventually so why not get it out of the way. I was also told to have nitrogen injected into the tires so they would not lose air. $500 later i feel that I was fast talked and taken advantage of because I am a trusting women who knows little about cars. or people in this case.After research on the internet I have learned that injectors do not need this type of service at 5000 miles and this this dealership has numerous complaints for similar tactics. even if this service was required which it was not, isn't that the purpose of a service warranty for a new car?

Desired Settlement: refund for un needed service

Business Response: Customer has been called to discuss their concerns 12/**/13. Habberstad MINI will reimburse customer for services even though they were approved and signed for. Services are a recommendation not mandatory. Customer will receive a full refund.


**** *****
******* *******
*************************    ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to this dealer to replace brake pads which were under warranty. My invoice shows the brake repairs and shows no charge for them, however the invoice shows additional repairs and a total of $875.34 in charges which I were not made aware of when I signed the Customer Estimate. Specifically, these charges include $239.95 for a wheel alignment, $165.96 for "Induction Service", $199.96 for "Injector Flush Service", $199.96 for "Install A/C Evaporator Cleaner" plus $69.91 for tax. As a result, my credit card was charged the aforementioned amount of $875.34. In an attempt to resolve this matter, I contacted the ******* ***** via telephone later that afternoon, which did not result in this situation being resolved. While ***** was willing to offer me credit on future repairs, he did not resolve this situation in an acceptable manner and claimed he did not have the authority to refund these charges which were wrongfully and deceptively assessed. These business practices are absolutely unacceptable and this dispute should be resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: a full refund of the $875.34 of the charges as I was not made aware of them.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

Customer was contacted on 8/**/13. Even though the customer signed and initialed the estimate and signed the credit card receipt, Habberstad MINI will issue a complete refund of $875.34. Customer was satisfied with the resolution.

Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Please be advised that the ******* of ********** ****, *****, called me on Friday 8/** and after hearing me, he understood and agreed to refund the whole amount I was charged for services I never requested and was unaware that above mentioned services will not be covered by the warranty. He said that I should be expecting a check in about 5 days and gave me his personal phone line to notify him that I did receive the refund check in mail. He was extremely helpful, understanding and professional.

Very Truly Yours,
**** ****** ******** 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/11/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues