This business is not BBB accredited.

Habberstad Mini

Additional Locations

Phone: (631) 486-6464 Fax: (631) 424-7668 959 E Jericho Tpke, Huntingtn Station, NY 11746 http://www.habberstadmini.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Habberstad Mini include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Habberstad Mini include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Habberstad Mini
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 01, 2003 Business started: 01/01/2002
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Business Management
Mr. Eric Habberstad, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Habberstad, President
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO PARTS & SUPPLIES-NEW AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE

Alternate Business Names
Little Cars of LI Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    959 E Jericho Tpke

    Huntingtn Sta, NY 11746

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    959 E Jericho Tpke

    Huntingtn Station, NY 11746

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ******* ******* sent the car for detailing as a courtesy and when the car was brought back there was a tear in the material of the door. This resulted in $600.00 worth of damage. Now Habberstad Mini is claiming they are not responsible because they did not touch the inside of the car and the detail place they sent it to is also claiming they are not responsible. There was no tear prior to sending it for detailing. Now I have $600. 00 worth of damage to the inside of the door, because the whole panel has to be replaced. Several phone calls have been made and I was told they would get back to me, but have not. When I do get someone, I am told they are working on it and someone else will call to set up repair which has not happened.

Desired Settlement: Repair of door by either Habberstad Mini or detailing place at no expense to me.

Business Response:

Issue has been resolved.

The door panel will be covered 100%

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** ********** ****



 

11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called for an appointment since the engine warning light was yellow. When I showed up for service on 9/*/14, I was told I would be called with an estimate for repairs. Later when I was notified by phone, I was told I needed repairs at the cost of $5500!? Mind you, the warning light wasn't even red. I was taken aback & the service advisor ****** sensed this. I told her the warning light wasn't even red nor was I having any other problems with the car. I felt hostage in that situation; that I have no choice but to repair it. She said she would hold the old parts to show me that they needed repair & that I would feel better seeing them. I agreed to the repairs under duress. Days passed before the car was ready. A friend of mine heard about my situation and said I should trade my vehicle in for a new or leased Mini considering that I couldn't afford the repair. This friend also mentioned that the dealership's cost to repair the vehicle would be cheaper than my cost. When I received a call that my car was ready, I called back to speak with the advisor. She was not in so I mentioned my situation to the secretary that answered the phone. I wanted to know about trading in my vehicle and what my options were. She set up an appointment with the gentleman that originally sold the Mini that I own now. When I met with him the next day, I was told by him this was a difficult situation for him and he needed to speak with the sales manager **** *****. I spoke with **** and he said he would offer me $5900 minus 2 car accidents that my car was involved in previously which reduced the offer price to $3500. He said the car had too many miles on it at 87,055. Essentially, he said "I can't make this hurt any less than it is." I also asked why was the car repaired at a cost of $6,254.48 instead of the $5,500. That is a significant difference that was never even brought to my attention until the day I met with **** ***** to pick up my vehicle. To me that is not acceptable. I told him, why was it that a friend of mine could give me options about my situation and not my service advisor. She knew the repairs were too costly for me as I explained that to her. She could have entertained the option to have non-essential repairs to the car instead of all that were performed. She could have also said since you have a 2007 Mini this repair job is significantly more than the worth of your car. I don't recommend fixing it but rather have us ,the dealer, fix it at our cost and you trade your car in for a new or leased Mini. She could have said to get a second opinion at preferably a cheaper rate. These would be some plausible options that were not even brought up by my advisor. Instead she suggested I see my old parts so that I feel better knowing that my car needed the repairs. In fact, when I picked up my car, I was never shown the old parts! Let me add a side note that I think is important as well. **** ***** had met with me about 2 years prior to this event when I serviced my car for repairs. He mentioned that my car would be worth about $6000 trade in. At the time, that was an insulting price being that Kelly Blue Book going rate was much higher and that I had been servicing my car at the dealership every time since I bought it, even after my warranties had expired. I have always been loyal to Mini and my dealer. It is interesting that 2 years later he is offering me roughly the same rate of $6000 when the car is 2 years older with more miles. **** told me he would speak with the service department heads and by ****** he would call me with hopefully some better resolution to this matter and find out why the repair bill was much higher as well. To this day, he has not called me. When a sales manager gives you their word, they should keep it. When a sales manager tells you there is nothing they can do it is extremely disappointing. I later followed up with **** with 3 phone calls that were never returned. i called ****** on this matter and she said they were working on it and hopefully they would get back to me on this within the week. As you can see, this bill was paid on 9/*/14. I have not received any phone calls or notice from Mini since my follow up phone calls. It is a pitiful situation and I must tell you, I have been shopping for a new car and it isn't a Mini. I used to love the brand but I feel so disappointed and angry about the turn of the events. Let me also add, when i picked up my car and paid the bill I was told the engine needed to be topped off with oil every other time I fill up with gas!? Is this normal for a car that has been repaired with over $6000? Is this a defect in the engine? I sent an email complaining about this situation and I was called on 9/**/14 by the service advisor ******. After a long phone call, she told me that Mini corporate office was going to send a check to the dealership & in turn they would send a goodwill check of $1,500 to me. She said it would take about 3-4 weeks. On 10/*/14, the salesman who I bought my car from, called and left a message mentioning that I was offered a trade-in value of $4,000 for my car with a $1,500 credit towards a new car. I immediately called him back to inform him that I was told I was to to receive a $1,500 check period; not contingent on buying a new car and receiving a credit! On 10/**/14, I followed up with Mini to find out what is taking so long to receive the $1,500 check promised to me. I spoke with ****** and she directed my call to her manager, **** *****. I left a voicemail with him and never received a return call from him. When I called ****** back to resolve this matter she said I should try to call the Mini corporate office to get my money since Habberstad Mini is ready to pay me but they need to receive money from corporate first?! So not only have I been getting the runaround for over 2 months but now they have the gall to tell me to try and get my money from their corporate office instead of them getting it as promised to give to me. When you stand behind a brand, you should exude quality and service. Moreover, there should be value in the customer first and foremost as no matter how excellent a brand is, its worth can only be demonstrated by the very customers who buy it. Treating your customers with respect and value is not only integral to a successful brand but shows the very integrity that customers deserve.

Desired Settlement: I want the $1,500 check promised to me ASAP. If this company had any decency, they would follow through on their word given that they had plenty of times to do so in this chain of events and chose not to.

Business Response: I looked into the customers concern. Company policy is to send a Goodwill check when the manufacturer send us the funds. This usually takes 4 to 6 week. We then cut the check and mail it to the customer. Due to the customer being upset I am willing to cut the check for $1,500 and send it to the customer prior to payment from MINI. I tried to reach out to the customer on 11/**/14 at ****** and left a voice mail.
If this is acceptable let me know and I will issue the payment.

Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved provided that the check is sent and received by me in a timely fashion as I have waited long enough for it. Please send check to **** **** address. Thank you.

Sincerely,

**** *******



 

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took my 2005Mini Cooper,to have a DDL (daytime driving light) replaced and my Back up senses were Not working. I was told that the ******* *******,would be checking the entire Car with me.The ******* took me into the shop and raised the hood of the car.He showed me some black dirt under my right shock absorber and that the Top of the serpentine belt was defected. I took the car to another mechanic the next day ,who informed me there was No problem with either item.My Mini has 44000 miles. Next the ******* raised the car up on a lift.He brought me under the car and showed me a great deal of oil on the lower part of the engine.I have a new light gray driveway,with No oil stains! He claimed the rear engine seal and the valve cover gasket were leaking.NOT SO. I asked him what was the small fan under the power starring pump? The fan was frozen.He said he would Write Up all the discrepancies. I told him to just replace the bulb and repair the back up senses. I received a labor bill of $51 to replace two light bulbs and $ 160 to find out that the fan and back up senses are on the same fuse The ******* ******* New this when we found the frozen fan.Why did they charge me $160 for information they already new. Is this business just DISHONEST?.

Desired Settlement: Billing adjustment. Will you report your finding to BMW,or shall I?

Business Response: Hello,

I have reviewed the vehicle history and the charges on the last repair order. It is policy to charge 1 hour diagnosis for any electrical concern. If the work was authorized the diagnosis fee would have been waved. In this case I would be willing to refund you half the diagnosis charge as a Goodwill Gesture. If you have not performed the repair of the fan I would also like to offer you 10% off the repair as well.

Thanks

**** *****

Business Response: Hello,

I have reviewed the vehicle history and the charges on the last repair order. It is policy to charge 1 hour diagnosis for any electrical concern. If the work was authorized the diagnosis fee would have been waved. In this case I would be willing to refund you half the diagnosis charge as a Goodwill Gesture. If you have not performed the repair of the fan I would also like to offer you 10% off the repair as well.

Thanks

**** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ***** does not seem to understand my problem, there was no need for a l hour electrial diognostic because both the ******* ******* and myself found the problem of the frozen fan.
The fan and the back-up sensors are both on the same fuse circuit.  *** ***** also does not mention that the ******* ******* advised me that three items - shock absorber, serpentine belt and oil leak needed to be repaired.  When in fact - when I checked with another mechanic the next day, nothing was found to be wrong with those items. I think this dealership should be reported to the Attorney General's Office for fraud.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

*** ***** does not seem to understand my problem, there was no need for a l hour electrial diognostic because both the ******* ******* and myself found the problem of the frozen fan.
The fan and the back-up sensors are both on the same fuse circuit.  *** ***** also does not mention that the ******* ******* advised me that three items - shock absorber, serpentine belt and oil leak needed to be repaired.  When in fact - when I checked with another mechanic the next day, nothing was found to be wrong with those items. I think this dealership should be reported to the Attorney General's Office for fraud.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ********




 

9/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Habberstad on 7/**/14 to schedule a service appointment on a 2014 Countryman and spoke to ****** ******. I informed her that the car was letting me know it was time for an oil change and that driver's side HVAC vent was not closing properly. The car was only about 3 months old at this time but did have nearly 8k miles on it. I inquired if a loaner car was available and complimentary for this service. ****** responded that it was both available and complimentary. I scheduled service for 7/**/14 at 7am. I arrived at Habberstad at 6:45, grabbed all my work bags and headed inside. The door was open, but no lights were on. I thought this was odd, so I returned to my car to wait a few minutes. The BMW service department was clearly up and running at this point. At approximately 5 minutes to 7, I figured I would check inside again. Now the door was locked. I waited outside. ****** walked over from BMW next door to open up. It was now past 7am, my appointment time. Then we had to wait for the computer to get up and running and since this was the first service at Habberstad on a vehicle that was purchased elsewhere, it took some time to load all the information in. ****** informed me that it was recommended to get "Nitro" put in my tires. When I inquired as to the purpose behind this, she wasn't able to provide a great answer. She said, "it helps keep the tire pressure lights from coming on." I responded that I didn't have an issue with that, to which she replied, "I have it my BMW and it helps." I reiterated that I didn't have a problem with that so I would pass. Then I was offered a wheel alignment, to which at first I agreed. I was provided the invoice and when I saw that a wheel alignment was $250, I requested that this service be taken off. I was then informed that they do not give out loaners just for oil changes since they are so quick, approximately 40 mins she said. I told her that when I called on Monday, the only service I said I needed was an oil change and to have my vent checked. She asked if I had enough time to wait. I did not as it was a workday. She was hesitant to give me a loaner, but finally agreed. Then said they didn't have any Minis available so I would have to go to the Hertz counter inside BMW next door. I said ok, got my work stuff (which is not just a briefcase, but essentially a mobile office so not really convenient to drag from place to place), went over to Hertz where I was given a Ford Focus as a rental. A FORD FOCUS! Please tell me what was going through the minds of Habberstad when they arranged for someone to go from a fully loaded Mini Countryman to a baseline Focus?! I get a call from ****** later that day to say that the car was ready, and to inform me that I had a bubble on my front driver's side tire. I was surprised and asked what would have caused that. ****** responded, "Well honey you do have almost 8,000 miles on the car." Honey? What professional calls someone honey? I said ok, thank you for letting me know, I'll get a replacement at a tire shop. She was getting annoyed and said, "ok, just make sure we have the rental back by 5:30." I asked if there was anyway to bring it back later, because I was working a substantial distance from the dealer and it wouldn't be easy to get there by then, and she said no, they had to have it back or they would charge me. I acknowledged and we disconnected. Not even two minutes later, she calls back to tell me that they ordered a new vent and it would be in tomorrow so keep the rental for the night. What's wrong with this scenario? Either she was trying to be difficult by telling me that the car had to be back at 5:30 and forgot to follow up on the other service item I requested or she was just incompetent and told me that the car was ready when, in fact, it was not. Now, I find it very hard to believe that the tire had a bubble on it before I brought it in. Here's why.... After I picked up the car the next day, I noticed the vibration which was caused by the bubble (it was corrected upon replacement of the tire). I drive the car over 100 miles a day and find it highly ironic that a bubble, which was large enough for me to notice in how the car drives on Monday, was undetected to me on Wednesday night, the last time I drove the car at highway speed. Moreover, the bubble was clearly visible, on the driver's side of the car. I am somewhat fanatic about my car so it was quite surprising indeed to learn that it went undetected. Anyway, I pick up the car the next day, drive home and don't drive it again for the rest of the weekend. As I said earlier, when I drove the car on Monday at highway speeds, the vibration from the bubble was definitely noticeable. I also noticed that the dashboard, which I assume was disassembled to install the new vent, was not put back together correctly; there are parts that don't line up and pieces which are obviously not aligned correctly. So now, I'm pretty upset. I called Mini and the service advisor asked if I wanted to bring my car back in. I stated that I did not as I wasn’t happy with the service in the first place. She offered to transfer me to the ******* ******** **** *****. I thanked her and left a voicemail for ****. **** called me the next day and left a voicemail. I returned his call later that afternoon and left him a voicemail. Then I called him the next day, and the next day. Then I followed up with phone calls every few days, all with no response. So, not only is the quality of work at Habberstad shoddy and perhaps dishonest, but the quality of service provided to myself was inexcusable. I have previously worked in the customer service industry for eight years and can attest that the service at Habberstad was some of the worst I’ve experienced. Shame on me for not reading their other **** reviews; they’re all accurate.

Desired Settlement: I believe the business has the responsibility to arrange for repairs to be completed and to reimburse me for the cost of a new tire.

Business Response: Called and left message for customer 2:16pm 8/**/14 to try and resolve issue.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# ********, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:
I am writing regarding the complaint referenced below. This matter has not been resolved. I called the business, left a vm, they called and left me a vm and I called again this morning. I have not heard a response since. Please do not close.

Thank you,
******* *******

 


Business Response: Spoke to the customer.

We will take care of the tire for him as a goodwill gesture from Habberstad MINI.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

12/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: my 2013 mini cooper was brought in to dealership for free regular scheduled warranty service. the auto has 4900 miles on it. The car was running perfectly prior to service. I was told by the service dept that I should authorize a "injector induction flush service' . I was told that this would " clean the injectors and even though it may not need the service now, I would eventually so why not get it out of the way. I was also told to have nitrogen injected into the tires so they would not lose air. $500 later i feel that I was fast talked and taken advantage of because I am a trusting women who knows little about cars. or people in this case.After research on the internet I have learned that injectors do not need this type of service at 5000 miles and this this dealership has numerous complaints for similar tactics. even if this service was required which it was not, isn't that the purpose of a service warranty for a new car?

Desired Settlement: refund for un needed service

Business Response: Customer has been called to discuss their concerns 12/**/13. Habberstad MINI will reimburse customer for services even though they were approved and signed for. Services are a recommendation not mandatory. Customer will receive a full refund.


**** *****
******* *******
*************************    ***** ********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

****** ********



 

8/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to this dealer to replace brake pads which were under warranty. My invoice shows the brake repairs and shows no charge for them, however the invoice shows additional repairs and a total of $875.34 in charges which I were not made aware of when I signed the Customer Estimate. Specifically, these charges include $239.95 for a wheel alignment, $165.96 for "Induction Service", $199.96 for "Injector Flush Service", $199.96 for "Install A/C Evaporator Cleaner" plus $69.91 for tax. As a result, my credit card was charged the aforementioned amount of $875.34. In an attempt to resolve this matter, I contacted the ******* ***** via telephone later that afternoon, which did not result in this situation being resolved. While ***** was willing to offer me credit on future repairs, he did not resolve this situation in an acceptable manner and claimed he did not have the authority to refund these charges which were wrongfully and deceptively assessed. These business practices are absolutely unacceptable and this dispute should be resolved as soon as possible.

Desired Settlement: a full refund of the $875.34 of the charges as I was not made aware of them.

Business Response:

Hello,

 

Customer was contacted on 8/**/13. Even though the customer signed and initialed the estimate and signed the credit card receipt, Habberstad MINI will issue a complete refund of $875.34. Customer was satisfied with the resolution.

Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Please be advised that the ******* of ********** ****, *****, called me on Friday 8/** and after hearing me, he understood and agreed to refund the whole amount I was charged for services I never requested and was unaware that above mentioned services will not be covered by the warranty. He said that I should be expecting a check in about 5 days and gave me his personal phone line to notify him that I did receive the refund check in mail. He was extremely helpful, understanding and professional.

Very Truly Yours,
**** ****** ******** 
 

5/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable