BBB Accredited Business since

Acura of Westchester

Phone: (914) 834-2222 Fax: (914) 834-7056 View Additional Phone Numbers 2155 Palmer Ave, Larchmont, NY 10538 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.acuraofwestchester.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This firm sells new and used cars.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Acura of Westchester meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Acura of Westchester include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Acura of Westchester
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1986 Business started: 03/01/1986 in NY Business incorporated 03/01/1986 in NY
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NYS Dept. of Motor Vehicles - All NYS
6 Empire State Plaza, , Albany NY 12228
http://dmv.ny.gov
Phone Number: (212) 645-5550

Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Tony Dellapietro, Sales Manager
Customer Contact: Elizabeth White
Business Category

AUTO DEALERS-NEW CARS AUTO DEALERS-USED CARS AUTO REPAIR & SERVICE


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I live in Pennsylvania and found a vehicle online that was of interest and was located at the Acura of Westchester dealer. My first contact was with ***** *******, who provided information on the vehicle. Upon requesting to travel up to look at the vehicle, ***** suggested putting a REFUNDABLE deposit on the vehicle to hold it and ensure it was availalbe upon my arriving. I followed through and was assured that the deposit was entirely refunded (assurance was also made via a supposdely recorded line). Upon arriving at the dealer, ***** was unavailable so I was asked to work with his partner, **** ******. **** was with a customer so I decided to look at the vehicle in the meantime. Upon examining the vehicle, I noticed several things wrong that were not to my liking. As such, I decided to pass on the purchase and request my deposit be refunded. At first, I was told **** had to process the refund. After waiting 15-20min, I spoke with the sales manager, ****. He requested I go out to the vehicle and point out the flaws that I was unhappy with. I did so and assured him that there was nothing they could do to sell me the vehicle. He agreed to refund me the deposit, but was unwilling to provide a receipt upon my request. This did not leave me with a trusting feeling. Nevertheless, I was assured I would be refunded my deposit so I left the dealership to return home. A week has since passed and multiple communication attempts have been made to *****; all with no result. My deposit has not been refunded and I am extremely dissatisfied with the three employees I dealt with at Acura of Westchester. I would classify them as unhelpful and very pushy. It took multiple attempts to express my displeasure with the vehicle in question and state that I was NOT interested in purchasing any other vehicle they had for sale. The overall experience was terrible and I would NOT recommend anyone purchase vehicles from Acura of Westchester. DO NOT put deposits down on vehicles because the deposit will NOT be refunded; regardless of the assurance you receive.

Desired Settlement: I would like my $500 deposit refunded to the respective credit card.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

***** *********



 

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are current Acura lease holders and we are writing to express our utter amazement and shock at how a lease transfer was handled when we leased our MDX last spring. We went to Acura of Westchester on Memorial Day weekend of 2013 looking to trade in our leased Toyota Prius. After a test drive and (what we thought were) fair negations, we settled on an MDX. Our salesman ******* ****, told us Acura would assume the lease with Toyota and Acura would make the last two lease payments. BOTH ******** and the manager appraised the Prius and characterized the Prius as having "normal wear and tear." Neither one said a single word about extra penalties we could potentially incur if/when it was given back to Toyota. ******** said he was going to re-sell it at Acura. In fact, before we signed the paperwork my husband explicitly asked, "So, we're done with this car and we don't need to do anything else?" and ******** responded, "Yes." Never did he say: "Yes, except that IF we turn it it back into Toyota, you may accrue charges." We took possession of the MDX and drove off happy. Several weeks later we received a bill from Toyota for $962 for what they deemed as damage. My husband called ******** to inquire because quite honestly, we took him at his word that he was going to re-sell the Prius and were surprised it was sent back to Toyota. My husband had an extensive conversation with ******** and voiced our concerns that we were explcitly told we were no longer responsible for the Prius. ******** said he needed to talk to his manager. He called back and said they would not pay the bill from Toyota. Several days later--on July 30th, we wrote--and sent the letters certified mail--to both Toyota and Acura of Westchester to dispute the charges. We NEVER got a response from either Toyota or ACURA and naively assumed that Acura did the right thing and paid the $962. Today when we received a notice from a credit agency. Quite honestly, at this point, the $962 is not even what outrages us, it's the absolute lack of transparency. It's purely principle at this point. What goes beyond the pale, is that NOBDOY from Acura ever informed us of their "final" decision. After that first conversation with Jonathan, and after we wrote the letter, we placed at least one phone call to ******** asking for a definitive answer. Asking for that information, NOT getting follow-up, and then subsequently getting turned into a credit agency is unacceptable. What we cannot comprehend is that nobody from the dealership thought it wise to inform us of their final decision and let our credit rating suffer. If you're going to have the audacity to refuse payment for damages when you are in possession of "our" lease, then have the courage to inform your customer. Beyond the dishonesty of the situation, the failed logic in this is truly unbelievable. Let's say the Prius (with dealer plates because our plates were transferred to the new Acura) was being driven to Toyota and was in an accident. Are we to believe we would be responsible for this damage? When pressed about this specific point tonight, the dealership responded to me with, "Well, of course you wouldn't be." Then how can we be responsible for damage that was assessed after we turned in the car? NOBODY can explain that to us; it makes no sense. After this entire process, I would not trust anybody in that dealership. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or clarifications.

Desired Settlement: Acura should pay Toyota the $962 as they were in possession of the car (and paid the last two lease payments) when it was turned in.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

**** ******



 

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an used Acura MDX from Acura of Westchester in May 2011 which had the remaining warranty up to Jun 2013. I was advised that I could extend the warranty at any time before the expiry of my warranty i.e. before Jun 2013. I tried to purchase the extended warranty in Jun 2012 but was advised by *** ***** of the dealer's finance department that I should wait for another year otherwise I would loose one year of warranty on my car because I had the warranty available till Jun 2013. I followed the advise and went back in May 2013 and purchased the extended warranty on 5/**/2013 and paid the premium of $ 1,834.53. Six month later, I'm now being advised that my warranty is not valid because it is not accepted by the Acura. Dealer said that they will follow-up with Acura or other warranty providers to get me the extended warranty but no response. I was told that they would refund my money in the event they are not able to resolve the matter. Unfortunately I've not received any refund or any other response from the dealer.

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealer to honor their contract and provide me the full benefits of extended warranty. After all they still have the premium money of my contract.

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased 2010 Ceiclertified Acura MDX in April 2013 and found that passenger side front tire was little damaged. When i took vehicle back to dealer, Service manager agreed to change the tire but advised me to wait until they call me to comeback to the dealership. Also the same information was written by service manager in my dealership service profile. But I never got a call from dealer and whenever I call, I am getting answer that it will be taken care. From the last three months I tried to call, the call is transferred to voice mail (service personal voice for ****** ******) and i never got call back. At this point I don't know whether dealer is going to fix the tires or not

Desired Settlement: would like to get the new/equivalent tire as promised by dealer.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,

The client and I have been playing phone tag. I would like for him to come in and we will replace his tire at no cost.

Thank you.

***

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a certified pre-own Acura MDX there in June 2012. Yesterday when I took it to a Honda dealer for rear differential service, the Honda dealer told me the drain hole for the rear differential fluid was stripped, and they charged me $102 for the repair. According to the carfax report, the Acura of Westchester did the rear differential service at Jan ****, 2011. This is the only rear differential service this car had before I bought it. I contacted the Acura customer service in US, and was told that my warranty cannot cover this repair, because it was caused by an Acura dealer. And it also avoids my warranty for any leakage of the rear differential fluid from the drain part.

Desired Settlement: I require the Acura of Westchester to reimburse my cost of this repair, and also order the rear differential part and send to my closest Acura dealer for the replacement.

Business Response: We have been in contact with *** ** and have agreed to refund the $102.00 and we are also trying to resolve the rear differential issue. 
Please feel free to contact me with any questions.
Thank you.
 
********* *****

Business Response: With regards to *** **'s vehicle, the time sent repair has been performed  according to our standards and no further action is needed.

Also, we cannot guarantee nor be held liable for complications, if any which arise from other service facilities performing a rear differential service.

Sincerely, ********* *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

[Your Answer Here]

 I don't want Acura of Westerchester to be held liable for any complication in future, so I ask Acura of Westerchester to replace the rear differential now under the condition of no complication happening so far. This request is only due to the damage to the rear differential occurred before I purchased this car. 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

**** **




 

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was quoted for the price of $20,7**.17. It was written up and signed by me and the dealership on 8/**/13. Car was left at dealership to be worked on at agreed price. When I picked up my vechile on 8/**/13 The price was changed without notify me. I asked the salesman directly if there was anychanges to the price. He informed me that there was not. I picked up my car right before the dealership closed. Since I asked the salesman if there was a price change and he said no, i rushed through signing the paperwork. Upon further review of the paperwork when returned home, I noticed the dealership had charged me a new price of $22,209.17. I called to get clarification, and was given the runner around. Finally they told me that I was charged for a car inspection. I know of no car inspection that cost $2,000 plus. I have 2 sons, a wife, and a mother to support. Living in NY, I have no free money to spare. I beg of the BBB to help me retrieve the food money for my family. I have the copies of all paperwork that was signed.

Desired Settlement: I need the money refunded. My families well being is priority.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,

This letter is in response to complaint ID******. My name of **** ******, I am the finance manager at Acura of Westchester. Mr. ****** came to us with a problem and asked us for help. he was leading the current vehicle which is in question. He had gone over the mileage and would have had to pay a steep penalty with the bank. The only solution for him was to purchase the vehicle. We obtained the buy out price from the leasing company and added out fees that Mr. ****** was well aware of the charges need to complete the transaction. Upon running his credit application we found that his credit would not be sufficient for the banks we applied to. The only other option was to use American Honda Finance Corp. the stipulation with this bank is that the vehicle must be Acura Certified. the cost of that is $1995.00. I myself called Mr. ****** and explained the situation we had. He was given the monthly payment and terms before he came to sign the contract. When Mr. ******* arrived to pick up his vehicle I sat with him and went over the paper work, again reviewing the terms and conditions of the contract. I feel that we have done all that we could help Mr. ***** in his situation. I will attach with response a copy of the original contract and also a copy of the bank decisions. I do not know what else we can do to help Mr. *****.





6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August * I contacted Acura of westchester to have service done on my vehicle, my check engine light had come on. They schduled me ina nd provided a loaner vehicle. On August * my vehicle was ready to be picked up they contacted me at 8pm, I returned with the loaner it was dark, i picked up my vehicle and left. In the morning upon getting into my vehicle i noticed that my driver seat was covered in mechanic grease, my arm rest and my passenger side also covered. It looked like coffee or something was spilled on my radio as well. I was concerned so i sttarted to check the rest of the vehicle, my front bumper was scuffed, a very long scrape on the right side of the vehicle from the bottom back passnger door to the front and a scuff on the left passnger back door. I contacted the dealership highly upset. The vehicle was not even washed or vacumed (a basic service). Spoke with the service advisor ********* ******** and told me he would not be able to check out my car for another 5 days. i found that unaaceptable and emailed his manager the photos of all the damage. The mamaner would not speak to me. Slavatore asked me to come in the next day to have the vehicle fixed. The vehicle was returned to me clean but with a couple more cosmetic issues it had not had prior. The driver side back seat seemed to have been cut and they scuffed?scratched up my headliughts. I decided to keep quist being that it was obvious retaliations for my previous complaint. October **** i brought the vehicle in for a knocking/ clicking nose coming from the front right side under the hood. They said nothing was wrong with the vehicle. The noise continued and i decided to go under the hood to find a cracked moter mount. I took the vehicle in for service on April **, it was returned to me that evening in worse condition then when i arrove. My vehcile was deisgusting not washed or vacumed inside, my front bumper is scuffed up as well and now the vehicle will not go over 60 mph without trembling. I contacted the service advisor next morning ***** ******** and he stated that he would not be able to check the vehicle for me anytime soon. I have now contacted another dealer gor service. My warranty covered most of the cost for all services provided. I would like a refund of my deductible for all my hardship and unresolved damage caused to my vehicle. I would also like replacement headlights sent to me i will locate someone other than the untrusted dealer to install.

Desired Settlement: Refund of deductibles. 08/**/2012- $100 10/**/2012- $100 04/**/2013- $100 Total of $300.00 and new headlights for Acura TL 2008

Business Response:
Quality, Integrity, Professionalism and Customer Satisfaction is the foundation upon which Acura of Westchester  is built upon. Retaliatory behavior or actions is far below the daily practice and behavior of our employees. We take those accusations very seriously since it strikes at the very core value of our business. We have investigated said claims and find them to have no merit.
 
It is with deep regret to have an unsatisfied client since our Customer Service Dept. takes great pride in their craft and obtains a high rating of customer service throughout the year, ** ****** *******  did bring her vehicle for service on said dates of complaint, her car was serviced and all of her concerns were addressed mechanically or otherwise.
 
Upon the return of the vehicle, with what was described as vandalism on the complaint, Acura of Westchester repaired, modified, exchanged and addressed it all at no additional cost, while admitting no fault we took into consideration the age of the vehicle & attributed, what she described as damage, as normal wear and tear. The request for headlights is beyond the scope of damage Acura of Westchester would or has inflicted on said vehicle and these allegations are farfetched at best. Finally, we strongly feel that in light of all of the repairs we provided as an extension of our customer service, that we are simply being taken advantage of ** ****** ****** is merely required to pay a deductible for service provided and that is a requirement under her extended warranty policy.                                                                  
 

Acura of Westchester regrets the complaint but we feel that we have extended our professional services to it's capacity in regards to this customer and her vehicle and do consider this complaint without merit.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

My complaint has not been resolved. The response from Acura of Westchester is merely a defensive reply to the damage stated on my complaint. If Acura of Westchester wishes to not replace the damage caused my complaint will not be resolved. I have moved my service to another Acura Dealership, whom found substantial damage to my vehicle that Acura of Westchester continuously overlooked. I have photos and repair bills as evidence. Acura of Westchester is not taking responsibilty for their actions and disservice. I want my comlaint to remain for all other consumers to be aware of the disservice they can be receiving. The reply did not address any of the damage caused by them. The party that replied was none the less averting my complaint of said dealer. My question since I am being accused of "taking advantage" of the dealer.... How can a consumer "take advantage"  or "abuse" a service they are paying for? I was not at Acura of Westchester to provide THEM a service, they have seemed to befuddled their role

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,
***** ************* 

Business Response: Good Morning,
 
Acura of Westchester reviewed consumers concerns and we regret the complaint, but we have already addressed clients additional concerns while admitting no fault. Acura of Westchester has declined consumers request for a $300.00 dollar refund which is a required deductible for repairs and for headlights.