BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

This Business is not BBB accredited

Audio Savings, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 445-1555 Fax: (516) 385-1165 View Additional Phone Numbers 207 Rockaway Turnpike, Lawrence, NY 11559 http://www.audiosavings.com/index.aspx View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Audio Savings, Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Audio Savings, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 4
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 19

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 03, 2011 Business started: 12/18/2003 in NY Business incorporated: 08/05/2005 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shmuel Freund, President/CEO
Business Category

AUDIO-VISUAL EQUIPMENT-DEALERS AUTO ALARMS & SECURITY SYSTEMS MUSICAL INSTRUMENTS-DEALERS AUTO RADIOS & STEREOS-WHOLESALE & MANUFACTURERS MICROPHONES HOME ELECTRONICS AMPLIFIERS


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    207 Rockaway Turnpike

    Lawrence, NY 11559 (516) 986-3083 (888) 445-1555

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    276 Greenpoint Ave., Bldg 92nd floor

    Brooklyn, NY 11222 (888) 445-1555

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (516) 986-3083(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.audiosavings.net
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The radio remote for the car stereo I purchased was defective. Upon request for an exchange ******* assured me it would be no issue to have it exchanged.... This was in OCTOBER of 2013... With Numerous attempts to contact them they have been giving me the "run around". They still have the defective remote and have not sent me a new one or the original... I would like my remote replaced as per the WARRANTY! Everytime i call and talk to someone they have no clue what is going on and when i request to speak with the ******* (*******) he will "call me back".. I have left at least 3-4 messages and NOT ONCE has he called me back. Audio Savings has my current address, phone number, and email.. I know this because every time i have called i HAVE VERIFIED it myself.. What has taken so long? why can no one help me?

Desired Settlement: I simply want my original remote that Audio Savings currently has on hand to be exchanged for a new remote that will function properly.. Am i asking too much? Seriously?!?

Business Response: Hey ****,

Sorry for the long delay! we have made a few personnel changes over the last few months and unfortunately the person you spoke to no longer works here. I went ahead and contacted the manufacturer to see if they can ship you the remote. If they can not we will then refund you the cost of the remote. 
Thank you for your patience and have a great day!

*** ******
Customer Service *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/26/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Early December of 2013 I purchased a set of speakers from audiosavings through ****. The item shipped dec, *. After I first hooked the speakers up, there was a buzzing in the left speaker. The company sent an email asking if I was satisfied and offered to assist me asap if I were to have a problem. I responded to that email telling them the speakers were broken. They didn't get back to me. On my third email, on jan ****, with no response, I threatened to leave negative feedback on ****. They then promptly responded that day promising to send me a return label to return the defective unit at no cost to me and they would send me a new unit. Finally on feb **, after not receiving the label, I sent another email, again with no response. I contacted ****, trying to leave negative feedback, but the time had expired for my opportunity to do so. I then realized audiosavings had stalled me until I could no longer leave feedback to warn other customers this company does not do as they advertise, leaving me with a broken set of speakers I paid over $100 for. On feb ** I made one last attempt to reach out and give audiosavings a chance to make it right, and again no response. Finally, today I am filing this report.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new set of speakers sent to me like they promised at no cost to me, like they promised. I have the email where they promised this.

Business Response: Customer has been send a prepaid label in order to have the items returned for a full refund as we do not currently have the items in stock. Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and I will consider this matter resolved as soon as they refund the full amount I paid for this. I have valid reason to mistrust that the company, Audio Savings, of Inwood, NY, will follow through with their promise of full refund.  The reason I am skeptical is because after i bought speakers from them on **** and found they were defective, the company promised they would send a return label up until the point that i could no longer leave negative feedback on **** to warn other customers.  As soon as that time period had expired, they would no longer return my emails. I didn't hear a thing until after i involved the BBB* *********** , and the Vermont AG. I have spent hours trying to get this company, Audio Savings, to do what they said they would do. My statements are truthful, and I have the emails to back up my claims.

Sincerely,

******* *******



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered multiple items online in the month of august, one of which did not work upon installation. I have attempted to contact audiosavings.com multiple times through multiple email addresses to resolve the issue. I have not had any correspondence returned to me, and am still left with a defective product.

Desired Settlement: I would like done, free of charge with no shipping costs or duties, my product be replaced. If not available, I will accept an equivalent or better product. I would also like a renewed warranty period, and receipt for proof, to start on the day of receiving the replacement product.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Audio Savings, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

******* **************

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

12/1/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a Crest Audio Amp from them on 2/**/13 for $364.95 off of ****. The item was recieved. On 7/*/13 the amp was returned for exchange due to a problem covered under warranty. A second amp was recieved which had the same problem. It was sent back again, for exchange under warranty on 8/**/13 and was received by Audio Savings on 8/**/13. On 9/*/13 I was informed the items was out of stock and was told they would have a new shipment in 2-3 weeks. I chose to wait. on 10/**/13 I requested a status update - none was recieved. I sent a second request for update on 10/**/13 and again no response received and again on 11/*/13 again to no avail....I have the correspondence from the beginning to present with all of Audio Savings comments in an email string I can provide as proof. Furthermore, on 7/**/13, I was told by "*******" that he would credit back my credit card $25 to cover half of my shipping charges incurred on the first order. No credit has been received. Thank you for your help. Best Regards, *******

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a credit back from them in the amount of $ 389.95.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

At this time, I have not been contacted by Audio Savings, Inc. regarding complaint ID *******.

Sincerely,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

10/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased two monitors from Audio Savings, when they were found to be defective I contacted and send the product back to Audio Savings. They stated to send the product back to an address with a RMA # this was completed and I had to email Audio Savings for an update. They acknowledged receipt and stated that they did not have the product in stock and it would have to be sent from the factory. And that they would be sending me tracking on this. I waited and sent two more request for updates to the RMA email and regular Audio Savings email. There was no response, so I Filed a Dispute with ****. Audio saving stated they would give me a full refund and it was stated would happen by Oct ***. Audio Savings did not refund my money. **** has not been helping due to it being outside of 45 days. I am attributing that to the fact I tried to work with Audio Savings and believed they would send the product as they stated they would. I am wondering if they happened to be stalling me to get outside of the 45 day window so **** would not help me. I just want the company to refund the money to me as they stated they would. I have email proof they were going to first send me new product then send me refund neither happened.

Desired Settlement: Please help me withe a refune the company has the product and they have my money. They promis results but do not deliver.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

 
I was in contact with Audiosavings and they issued a full refund  

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

*** *****



 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 8/**/2013 purchased a NEW Peavey IPR2 7500 amplifier for $659.00 total (no tax and free shipping)Received amp, had to update electrical supply as it requires a 20amp outlet. Then proceeded to test the amp that was rated for 1250W RMS x 2 at 8 ohms. The amp was floundering to a level that was well below my other amps that are rated for 1/3 that power level. After testing for a couple days I contacted Audio Savings via ********************** to request an RMA for a refund. I believe this could also be performed through their website, but login failed the 6 times I tried in 5 days. It has been 4 working days since my initial email. I have called 4 times this week in trying to speak to someone about this matter. Goes to leave a message or "There's a problem with our phone system, try back in a couple hours". I am done playing games and just want my money refunded in a matter as quick as you charged me.

Desired Settlement: Answer your phone. Answer your emails. Stand behind your products. Refund my purchase price.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

4/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While shopping and adding items to the online cart via the company's website(audiosavings.com) after placing my desired items in the cart and browsing between pages the cart would show up as empty. Noticing this I placed my desired items in the cart once again and proceeded to check out. Upon completion I was given a confirmation screen for 1 order placed. In my email inbox I received two separate order confirmations, both orders with the same products listed. The company listed a warning of possible technical difficulties due to a recent website design so it seemed this could be the root of the double order. The support office closed at 5 p.m. the day the order was shipped and a request for cancellation of one of the orders (with order number) was sent before 7 p.m. that night on 3/**/13. The next morning two shipping notifications were emailed with both orders. No attempt was made on behalf of the company to acknowledge my concern whether it be via email or phone. Several voice mails were left using the correct customer support phone line and adequate contact information was left yet there was a failure to respond. Finally a RMA email was sent on 3/**/13 with return instructions. The product was successfully shipped back to the company on 4/*/13. I checked the balance on the card that I made the initial purchase on to see if the account was reimbursed and the funds had yet to be returned. I called multiple times within the week during office hours only to be given the instruction to leave a voice mail. I spoke with someone from the company today, 4/**/13 and said they would now refund my card, but to wait 3-5 business days for the refund to go into effect. Customer service was poor, ignoring most requests and the little contact that was made was unsatisfactory. The double order was the company's fault due to their faulty website therefore it is only expected that customer service would do their job and try to correct the mistake that was made by the company they represent.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of merchandise and shipping costs.

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


as per conversation with******* and ******* your order was already refunded. thanks 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/18/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed a order with them on Thursday the ****{3-**-2013} around 10:30pm online. I clicked summit order and about 12 minutes later the money was taken out of my account. It clearly says all orders placed before 1pm will ship SAME DAY! So my order should have been shipped on Friday the ****{3-**-2013}. I have called them about 3 times and they say it has not shipped yet. I spoke to a manager{*************} on Wednesday the ***{4-*-2013} and he said they just moved locations and were behind on schedule. Said he will have it shipped within 24-48 hrs! I then called today which is Monday the ***[4-*-2013} and spoke to **** *********} again and he said he will put the order in again and it will ship within 24 hrs! I explained to him that I placed this order almost 2 weeks ago and they STILL have not shipped. {they did take my money with 15 minutes though!} I told him I was gonna contact the bbb and file a report and he told me{I understand sir,do what you need to do}

Desired Settlement: I want what I paid for! and since I have waited almost 2 weeks,i feel they should ship it over night

Business Response: Good Afternoon,


we had an extended handling time in our site since we just moved into a new state of the art large warehouse facility. We are growing in order to be able to offer you guys a bigger product selection as well as better service. Due to the large amount of inventory we had to move from the old warehouse to the new warehouse; it is taking some time to get all our inventory onto the shelves of the new warehouse and scanned into our computer systems so we can ship them. We went the extra mile in order to assist this customer and we sent this order overnight with FED-EX tracking number#************
Thanks in advance for your patience and understanding on this. 


****
Customer Service Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an INUKE NU1000 amplifier from AudioSavings. This amplifier was purchased on 12/**/2012 and received by me on 1/**/2012. After I noticed that the product was defective after using it three times, I returned it to Audiosavings. They received it on 01/**/2013. The amplifier was returned in a well padded box sent through the United States Postal Service. Six days later Audiosavings claimed that the product was damaged and that I would not be receiving a refund. This is the text from the email. “We received this item in our warehouse missing its original box and it came with physical damage. We cannot refund you for this item. thanks”. I still have the email, which has all of the previous responses and replies. I paid $199.99 for the product, plus shipping costs to return it. I am requesting a full refund. A product sitting around for six days could be been damaged by anybody at their facility. The lack of timelessness in checking the return is very suspect. I do not store or keep boxes that I receive products in. I am not a business, but just a consumer who expects to receive products that are not defective.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a full refund of $199.99 since the product was defective.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

 

Our customer purchased this amp on 12/**/2012 and we shipped it on 12/**/2012. Customer contacted us claiming that his amplifier was defective and wanted a full refund of his purchase. We provided our customer the following instructions:

Please send the item back with all components, accessories and packaging (Unless instructed or approved otherwise) to: 

Audiosavings RMA# ************

*** ********** ***

**** ** *** **

********* ** *****

Please get a tracking # from the shipping company you use and keep that # for your records until your RMA is processed. All replacements/store credits and refunds are processed within 1-2 business days once we inspect and process your RMA at our warehouse facility. You will get a confirmation email once your RMA is processed. 

We received the item back in our warehouse on 1/**/2013 the item arrived our warehouse broken. The item also came in a regular USPS box and did not come with all components, accessories and packaging as instructions on the RMA. We shipped this item back to our customer as we cannot take this unit back for credit. Tracking number for this is *********************3 via FedEx. We can provide pictures to show the horrible condition in which this customer sent us this item. If the customer claims he didn’t caused this damage he should contact USPS to make a claim for it. Thanks 

v

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

 

[Your Answer Here]

The damage that occured is inconsistant with the condition of the box. Why would the damage occur only in the area that has double steel plates? This damage is consistant with puposeful damage with a hammer.

 

 

 

 

In order for the BBB to appropriately process your response, you MUST answer the question above.


Sincerely,

***** ******




 

Business Response:

Good Morning,

 

we will not be able to refund you for this amp. we did not break this amp. it came in that condition.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/16/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
4/5/2012 Delivery Issues
4/3/2012 Delivery Issues
4/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1