BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Metropolitan New York, Long Island, and the Mid-Hudson Region

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maxi Aids, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maxi Aids, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maxi Aids, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 01, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1986 Business incorporated: 05/13/1986 in NY
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Elliot Zaretsky, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Elliot Zaretsky, President
Business Category

ADVERTISING-DIRECT MAIL

Alternate Business Names
Domorehealthcare.com Hear More, Inc. Hear-More Hearmore.com Learnmoreshop.com Maxi-Aids For Independent Living
Industry Tips
Direct Mail and Telemarketing for Charities

Additional Locations

  • 42 Executive Boulevard

    Farmingdale, NY 11735

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (631) 752-0521(Phone)
  • (631) 752-0738(Phone)
  • (631) 752-1148(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased three cordless telephones from the company after asking many questions of the sales representative about the capabilities of the phones. The representative responded with answers that were not actually representative of the capabilities of the product. They were purchased for a multiply handicapped adult who is unable to use the phones at all because they did not do what was promised by the sales rep. I spoke with 2 different customer serv. reps who read the rules for returns to me. I asked for a ********** who was supposed to call me back within 20 minutes but no one called at all. I wanted to have the company provide return shipping costs since the product was misrepresented by their own rep. The items are unusable as it stands. Have had good luck in the past, but was ignored when I needed their assistance. I was ignored by the customer service department which does not reflect well on the company for future products.

Desired Settlement: All I want is a return authorization for the products and a paid shipping label for the return.

Business Response:

Dear *****,

**** ***** place an order for 3 Big Button Cordless Telephone.  Please see Web Description attached.  Our Customer Service Representative went over the specs of the Big Button Cordless Telephone prior to ordering.  Also, **** ***** viewed our website before order the Big Button Cordless Telephone. 

On August *, 2014, *** ***** called to return the 3 Big Button Cordless Telephone due to the Talking Button being too small for his Visually Impaired Daughter.  We apologize the Big Button Cordless Telephone didn't meet his needs.  We issued a prepaid Post Office return label.  Upon receiving the Big Button Telephone we will issue a full credit of $117.75.

Sincerely,

****** ****** ****** *******

7/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Clearsound A1600BT and A1600EBT cordless phone bundle from Maxiaids on 6/*/2014. When the package arrived on Friday 6/**/2014 after 5pm West Coast time, I opened and realized the cordless hand receiver was missing from the A1600BT box however an unordered piece had been included (it was an additional small round secondary base cradle for the A1600EBT cordless phone). I called the mistake in right away and expected the missing item would be shipped right away. Instead Maxiaids has responded with unspecific voice messages saying basically we are returning your call please call again; when we speak they ask the same questions of what did I receive and they will look into my statement; then they ask me to e-mail a photo of what I received; then around July *, 2014 they ask me to repackage the entire order and return it to them for their review. Today is 7/**/2014 they ask why I would try to use the base phone without the receiver. I responded that the base phone works without the receiver yet I purchased the receiver and expected Maxiaids would have immediately mailed me the receiver with the rechargeable batteries as I had originally ordered.

Desired Settlement: Full Refund. Ideally Maxiaids Closed. Poor customer service, no regard to elderly and special needs people they sell products for, Poor professionalism, Poor management. This sad experience has caused me much emotional grief at a very difficult time in my life. Shame on Maxiaids.

Business Response:

ID # ********

On June ***, *** **** placed an order for the Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone & a Expandable Handset.  *** **** received the Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone on June ****.   On June ****, *** **** contacted us stating that the Handset to the Amplified Cordless Phone was missing.  We explained to *** **** that we need to issue a UPS Call Tag to pick up the Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone to investigate.  *** **** told us that the Amplified Cordless Phone was no longer in her possession.  The Cordless Phone was given to her father.   On June ***** we contacted *** **** and she told us that the Amplified Cordless Phone was still with her father.  On July ***, *** **** had the Amplified Cordless Phone, so we issued a UPS Call Tag to pick up the Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone. 

Apparently On July ***,  *** **** notified UPS of the missing Handset.  On July ****, we received a Damaged UPS Claim for the missing handset which we were unaware of.  Please see attached.  We contacted the manufacturer and they will accept back  *** **** Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone and send *** **** a replacement Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone.  One of our CSR's ******* ******* contacted *** ****  to inform her that the manufacturer will send  her a replacement Clearsound Amplified Cordless Phone.  *** **** told ******* to email her. We are still waiting for *** **** to reply if she wants a replacement Cordless Phone or a Refund.

Sincerely, ****** ******



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

I will neither purchase from nor recommend Maxiaids at any time in the future.

Sincerely,

***** ****



 

4/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A magnifing glass costing $695.00 was ordered for my Mother (who is 95 years old) by my Sister on 12/*/2013 and received sometime after that. My sister living 50 miles away did not get a chance to help her with the glass until the first week in January. After spending much time with her she found out she could not see good enough to take advantage of the magnifier. In the first week of February I called for a return authorization but was told the time had expired for a return, but to file for a return in writing explaing the circumstances, which I did on February **, 2014. On February **, 2014 I received a email stating "we have received your Return Merchandise Authorization (RMA) request and will be contacting you shortly to further assist you with your return". ON February **, 2014 I faxed a copy of the RMA asking for a reply. As of this date I have not heard anything from Maxiaids.... I am filing this claim on behalf of my Mother with my email address: ******************

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the magnifing glass which is brand new, never used, for the full purchase price.

Business Response: Dear *******,

******* **** placed an order with us for a Candy Grip Portable Magnifier which was shipped on 12/*/13.  60 Days later we received a Call from *** **** stating that his mother can not use the Candy Grip Portable Magnifier.  We explained to *** **** that our return policy is 30 days and we can not accept back the Candy Grip Portable Magnifier.  I've attached our Return Policy which is inserted in every package that is shipped from our warehouse.  I've checked with our Return Dept and they have not received a written Return Authorization Request or a copy of a Fax Written Return Authorization Request.  

As per our 30 Day Return Policy, we can not accept back the Candy Grip Portable Magnifier.   If you should have any further questions, please contact me at ###-###-#### Ex. ***
Sincerely,

****** ******
****** ********

Consumer Response: I do not agree with the response at all. First off Maxiaids website states they have a 60 day return policy. And most important of all, I would think a company that is working with the handicapped, would have the compassion and understanding to solve a simple issue such as ours. **** ***** is 95 years old with very limited vision but very intelligent and would still like to be able to read. The magnifier would simply not work for her. And as far as the document sent showing a 30 day return policy, that is the old bait and switch scam, tell you one thing and change to another....

Business Response: Dear *** *****,

Our 60 Day Returns policy is for items placed on our Maxi-Aids.com Website.   Our Catalog return policy is 30 Days.   Since our website Return Policy wasn't clear we will honor your request and allow you to return the Candy Portable Magnifier for Full Credit of $695.00.   Please return the Candy Portable Magnifier in resalable condition and in its original packaging to the address below.

********* ** ********* **** ************ ***  *****  

Please put your RA# ******* outside the shipping box.

If you should have any further questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,


****** ******
Maxi-Aids
###-###-#### *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.

Sincerely,

******* *****



 

1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order from maxiaids on 11-**-2013, order number ******. Since this order did not suit my needs and was incomplete, I returned it to maxiaids. Tye total for the order was $1453.70, in which I only received a partial refund. The package containing the trekker breeze handheld gps, item ******, was never received in my possession. The item wasn't delivered and according to ups records it was returned to the factory in Canada. Maxiaids knows this to be true because I was contacted by someone in their customer service department the next day confirming this fact. Unfortunately since this item never shipped with my original order, I was never issued a tracking number for this item. I still require a refund of the charges for $699 since this item is not in my possession and I will not pay for something that I did not receive from the merchant. Maxiaids claims that they do not owe me a refund because they never received the item back, however I cannot send an item back that I do not have in my possession in the first place. I have turned this case over to my credit card company as a fraudulent charge, however maxiaids is refusing to cooperate with me or my credit card company. This is now a clear case if fraud. Thank you******* *****

Desired Settlement: I require a full refund of $699.00

Business Response: Hi ******,

 
*** ******* ***** place an order for the Trekker Breeze Talking GPS on Nov **** 2013 and the Trekker Breeze was Drop shipped from the Manufacturer on Nov **** 2013.  On Dec *** *** ****** refused the package.   Therefore, the Trekker Breeze was returned back to the Manufacturer.  Please see attached UPS Tracking information.  The manufacturer Humanware didn't process his returned for the Trekker Breeze until Dec **** 2013 and the Credit memo was emailed to us on Friday Jan ***.  Please see attached credit Memo from Humanware.
 
Since *** ***** put a dispute with his credit card company for the amount of $699.00 his PayPal account is now on hold.. So, we cannot refund *** ***** PayPal account until the Paypal account is active.  Please have *** ***** Contact PayPal so that we can refund his PayPal account for $699.00.
 
If you should have any questions, please contact me at ###-###-#### Ex. ***.
 
Sincerely,
 
 
****** ******
****** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

I also contacted the manufacturer and confirmed that the trekker handheld gps was returned to them. However, there is no lock or "hold" that has been placed on my paypal account. I have been in contact with paypal thoughout this situation, PayPal has confirmed that the item was reutneed and has ruled this caase in my favor and will be waiting for maxiaids to refund the additional money to my paypal account. There is no hold on my account. 


Sincerely,

******* *****




 

Business Response: Hi *******,

 
Yesterday afternoon we notified Paypal that we couldn't refund *** ***** account due to *** ***** PayPal account was on hold for Investigation.  Last night we received notification from Paypal that *** ***** PayPal account was credited  for $699.00.
 
If you should have any further questions, please let me know.
 
Sincerely,
 
****** ******  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me and the matter has been resolved.


I have confirmation that Paypal has ruled in my favor and has credited my account in the amount of $699.00. I consider this case closed. Thank you for your time. 

 
Sincerely,

******* *****



 

9/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a talking thermometer, but I was sent a digital thermometer. I am blind I can not use the digital thermometer. I called to have the wrong item exchanged for the original item I ordered but I was refused due to sanitary issues. This is a company error.

Desired Settlement: I've had to reorder another talking thermometer due to my needs. Please refund my money from my original order. $15.86

Business Response:

RE: **** ****: Order # *******

Dear *******,

We apologize for the misunderstaning in regards to the Large Print Clinical Thermometer.  We will credit  *** **** account  for the incorrect Clinical Thermometer in the amount of $15.85.

If you should have any questions, please let me know.

Sincerely,

****** ******.

 

9/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Excessively restrictive return policy, excessive and unexplained S/H charges, critical item measurements not provided. Ordered a Drive Folding Bath & Shower Seat. No outside leg measurements were provided so I assumed it was a standard size to fit all bath tubs. The ad stated there was a $15 extra shipping/ handling fee. This led me to assume that it would arrive fully assembled in an oversized box. It arrived and won't fit into my tub. The shipping box was not oversized. I called Maxi Aids with the hope of exchanging or returning this unused and unusable item and was told that it was un-returnable for "sanitary reasons". This policy is also stated on their website and is reasonable for USED items but seems entirely unreasonable for UNUSED items. If the outer leg measurement had been provided, as I discovered other web retailers do, I would not have purchased this item. That the Maxi Aids service reps would tell me that customers could be lying and trying to return a used item is an indication of poor customer relations. When I asked their customer service what the extra S/H charge was for it was suggested that it could be an extra charge that the manufacturer charges Maxi Aids. I called the manufacturer, Drive, and was told they had no idea why Maxi Aid would charge such excessive extra S/H charges. Since Maxi Aid customer service refused to allow a return I ordered a smaller Drive bath seat from another retailer, Wayfair.com. Wayfair also has no such overly restrictive return policy and no excess S/H charges for the same item: *************************************************************************

Desired Settlement: Would like to return item at my expense for a full refund for item and excessive shipping charge, minus base shipping cost, which should total a $59.95 credit to my VISA card.

Business Response:

*** ******** placed a web order on August *** for Item # ****** Folding Bath Bench.  On our webstite we state that Item #****** Folding Bath Bench is a non-returnable item due to Heath Restriction.  Please see attached web page.  On August ****, *** ********* called our Customer Services Dept to Return the Folding Bath Bench.  We informed *** ******** that the Folding Bath Bench is a non-returnable item and *** ********* said that she was aware that the Folding Bath Bench was a non-returnable item but still wanted to return the item since it didn't fit her tub.  Our website has a Inqiury tab on each product page  if a customer wants to know more information on the item.   *** ******** could have sent a Inquiry email asking for the dimension of The Folding Bath Bench.

In regards to the extra Shipping Charge, UPS charges are determined by weight & size of the package.  Since the size of the box is considered overside by UPS there is extra shipping charges.

We will accept back the Folding Bath Bench with a 20% restocking fee  as long as the item is in resaleable condition  The shipping & handling charges is not refunded. Please have *** ********* put her RA# ******* outside the shipping box.

If you should have further questions, please let me know at ###-###-#### *** ***.

Sincerely,

****** ******
****** ********

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint
ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Their refusal to take full responsibility for an unreasonable return policy on unused items is outrageous. That they acknowledge that the item can be resold makes their proposed 20% restocking fee punitive and unacceptable.  

Their new claim that excess shipping and handling charges are due to oversized packaging is questionable: If this is true then why is Wayfair.com able to ship UPS/FedEx Ground for only $4.99?  Here is a screenshot showing Wayfair's reasonable shipping charge (and better pricing): WAYFAIR SCREENSHOT Here is Wayfair's reasonable return policy: WAYFAIR.COM

I have already offered to accept a full refund MINUS the base shipping charge ($7.90) AND to return the unused (and unusable) product at MY OWN EXPENSE and TROUBLE. 

My faith and trust in this company is totally destroyed. Even if they accept my terms of return and refund I don't feel confident that they will actually process my refund upon return of the item.  At this point I want to add that they will immediately start processing the refund of $59.95 upon my email proof of return shipment by providing them with the tracking number.  

I will only consider ordering from them again IF they correct their online return policy and can show some indication that value good customer service.

Sincerely,

*** ********





 

Business Response:

Dear *** ********,

We are not ignoring your requst, we just can't honoring your request.  At this point we are willing to take back a non- returnable item due to Health Restriction. We will have to return the Bench bench back to Drive since Drive charges a 20% restocking Fee and all returns. 

As you state in your complaint that we charge excess shipping charges.  We do not over charge our customers for shipping.  We charge a shipping & handling charge.  We do charge additional shipping on oversize packaging.  The bath bench you ordered is considered an oversize package by UPS.  If you have any question about dimension weight, please contact UPS at 1-800 pick-ups. 

Upon receiving your item we would be glad to refund you less the S&H Charge & the 20% restocking fee. 

Sincerely,

****** ******

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID# *******, and have determined that my complaint has NOT been resolved because:

Clearly, we have reached an impasse:  Maxi-Aids NOW claims that the 20% restock fee is the manufacturer's charge.  On 8/** they acknowledged that the chair could be resold and that the restock fee was their charge: "We will accept back the Folding Bath Bench with a 20% restocking fee  as long as the item is in resaleable condition"

My point from the beginning is that this item has NOT been used because it is too large to fit into my bathtub.  They seem to be making up the rules as they go along and are holding fast to their outrageous assumption that their customers are liars when it comes to providing a reason for a return request.  I would rather donate the bath chair to charity than allow this company to profit a penny from the sale.

This has been the most frustrating and insulting series of Customer Service communications I have ever experienced.


Sincerely,

*** ********




 

5/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Approximately 6 weeks ago I ordered a radio controlled watch for my very elderly Mother who is ******* *****. The information on the MaxiAid site states that in 2-3 days the order is processed and would be on its way. I have contacted the company numerous times stating my dissatisfaction with the untimeliness of delivery. 3 weeks ago I was told it would be on its way the next week. That didn't happen. Then was told it would be on its was this week. Well here it is Thursday and so far no watch. Today the information given me is that is was the manufacturer's fault not MaxiAids. So today I sent another e-mail regarding this and asked for the manufacturer's address/phone number and was told this information is not given out. Frustration at these replies are indeed beginning to wear on me. Never having had such problems with ordering an item from companies, I'm baffled by MaxiAids lack of compliance. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Should this company fail to deliver the order I will have to cancel it.

Business Response:

*** ****** ** ********* ***** * *******

Dear*******,

*** ******** placed a Web Order  on 3/**/13 for a Backorder Atomic Talking Watch Item * ******.  On our website it said that the item is available in 3 to 4 weeks.  Unfortunately, there was a delay with manufacturer but the item did arrive to us on 4/**/13.  ** ******** Atomic talking watch was shipped to her on 4/**/13 via Post Office.  I've attached a copy of the Tracking Information.

We apologize for any inconvenience.

Thank you,

****** ******
###-###-#### Ex, *** 

 

1/11/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Delivery Issues
4/24/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues