BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Blanchard and Company, Inc. is the United States largest and most respected retail investment firm that specializes in rare coins and precious metals.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Blanchard & Company, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Blanchard & Company, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Blanchard & Company, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1975 in LA Business started locally: 01/01/1975 Business incorporated 08/18/1992 in LA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Beahm, Marketing Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Beahm, Marketing Director
Business Category

Investment Advisory Service

Method(s) of Payment
Bank Wire (preferred)
Business or Personal Check
Cashier / Certified Check
Credit Card (only on numismatics and some bullion products)
Refund and Exchange Policy
Blanchard and Company, Inc. offers a 10-day customer satisfaction policy after receipt of numismatic coins.

Additional Locations

  • 909 Poydras Street
    Suite 1900

    New Orleans, LA 70112

  • P.O. Box 61740

    New Orleans, LA 70161 (504) 837-3010

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Some time ago, I attempted to purchase gold coins from Blanchard and Company, Inc. I gave the salesman a shipping address, and he wrote it down, but then shipped the coins to a different address, resulting in a several week delay of my even finding out that the coins had been returned to the Blanchard company in New Orleans. At that point, I discussed the matter with the salesman, who immediately repeated the correct shipping addres to me, but said that he had had the coins shipped to a different address because of company policy. Much later, on one of many phone calls, he told me that an email clearly stated that the coins were going to be shipped to this alternate address. The email that he referred to was an email from him *to the banker that handled the wire transfer of funds*, and a copy was sent to me. That email stated NOTHING about his decision to ship the coins to the wrong address, and even if it had, the email was ostensibly only about the wire transfer to Blanchard's bank, not about the shipping address. Again much later (now we are 2 weeks later) he did email to me a "ship-to" form, which he at that late date told me had to be printed (I don't have a printer) and notarized (involving going to a bank again, I would suppose) and then mailed back to him at the New Orleans office before the coins could be delivered. Unfortunately, the coins no longer exist. Let me explain. I ordered 40 coins of a certain value, and now 40 coins no longer hold that value, or anything close to it. If I somehow could manage to get 40 coins delivered to me accurately now, they would be worth very little compared to the money taken from me through the wire transfer. I have asked that the coins be returned to stock, and that my money be refunded (wire transferred back into my account at Chase Bank). They refuse.

Desired Settlement: I require that the money which was wire-transferred to Blanchard simply be wire-transferred back into my account, and the coins returned to stock.

Business Response:

On October 29, 2013, Mr. **** ****** entered into an agreement with Blanchard and Company, Inc. to purchase 40 1oz 2013 Gold American Eagles at a price of $1,396.30 each.  Prior to the sale, Mr. ****** had wired the funds needed in order to purchase the Gold American Eagles and a strike price was agreed upon between Mr. ****** and his Blanchard account executive once the wire was received. 

It was explained to Mr. ******, that for his protection, Blanchard only ships the assets we sell to the address that is on the wire from the client’s Bank – where the wire is initiated by the client.  That address is included in the wire information sent to Blanchard by Mr. ******’s bank. 

The gold was then shipped to the address that Mr. ******’s bank sent to Blanchard’s bank in the wire information.  The package was refused at that address and the gold was sent back to Blanchard.  Blanchard has attempted to get a new address from Mr. ****** in order to send the gold to him.  This has become a tremendous challenge for both Mr. ******’s account executive and our Executive Vice President of Sales. 

Since Mr. ******’s purchase, the price of gold has gone down a bit.  Because of this, Mr. ****** is attempting to claim delivery issues so he can request a refund.   Blanchard’s risk disclosure (which is sent by hard copy to every client when an order is placed, as well as, clearly stated on our website) states: Bullion coins, those that trade at a premium of less than 15% over the value of their underlying precious metals content, are not subject to return or exchange. Sales of all such coins shall be final.

Based on all of this, Blanchard has offered to ship Mr. ******’s gold coins (I would like to make it crystal clear that Mr. ****** owns these coins and we are now storing the gold for him in our vault) to either the address that his bank provided to us or have him sign a letter stating that Blanchard will be held harmless when sending the gold to an alternative address of Mr. ******’s choice.

We are awaiting his response and have been for some time.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Blanchard & Company, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart