BBB Accredited Business since

Scenic View Construction, LLC

Phone: (505) 890-4268 Fax: (505) 922-9652 1495 Coronado Rd, Corrales, NM 87048

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


General Contractors-Outdoor Kitchens, Decorative Concrete, Sod, Patio Builders, Sprinkler Systems, Masonry Landscaping.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Scenic View Construction, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Scenic View Construction, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Scenic View Construction, LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 11, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1994 in NM Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 02/09/2009 in NM
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

New Mexico Construction Industries Division
PO Box 25101, Santa Fe NM 87504-5101
Phone Number: (505) 476-4700
Fax Number: (505) 476-4615
The number is 360742.

New Mexico Construction Industries Division
PO Box 25101, Santa Fe NM 87504-5101
Phone Number: (505) 476-4700
Fax Number: (505) 476-4615
The number is 360742.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Chris Montoya, Owner Ms. Anna Montoya, Office Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chris Montoya, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors Building Contractors Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Scenic View Construction Co. Scenic View Landscaping

Additional Locations

  • 1495 Coronado Rd

    Corrales, NM 87048 (505) 890-4268


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a leak in my sprinkler system. I had a pretty good idea what the problem was already. It took me awhile to get them to listen to me and I also had to get my brother in law on the phone to talk to them. While they were fixing the problem they kept breaking other items in the sprinkler box causing more leaks. They kept leaving to go buy parts and at one point were asking me to use my tools, when I didn't have what they needed they left again to go get the tools, of course charging me for all this as they charged hourly. They also changed a timer box and botched that too as a sprinkler that was working off that box the day before does not work any more. Another thing is they left a mess that I had to clean up. The only reason I put up with all of it was I was going out of town and had to have the leak fixed before I left. The irony is that when I got back I had a letter from the water company letting me know I had a slow leak and when I investigated it was the same leak they had "fixed". At the time of the repair I was very upset at what I was charged. I felt it was way to much and now that they didn't even fix it I am even more upset.

Desired Settlement: I need the leak fixed but I do not want them back to do the work, therefore I would like my money back except for the parts so I can hire someone else to fix it.

Business Response: First off I was very glad that ******* gave me the job, and in response to her complaint I would like to say that when we were fixing the main line leak we did not intentionally try to cause more leaks.  There are many lines running in and out of a valve box and it is almost impossible to avoid hitting buried lines.  Also, there was an existing leak caused by a leak coming from above and leaking down into the filter and it took a while to find parts to repair it, because the existing soaker tubing was too close to the valve box.  

We did borrow some tools from the customer as an attempt to save time and therefore cost.  Most people are not offended by that.  Based on the information the customer gave us and our own assessment of the main line leak we proceeded with the work only after consulting with the customer.  

As far as returning money I felt we did the job as fast as we could and did a good job for her.  Our nineteen years of business and no complaints should speak for itself.  As far as us charging too much I always let the customer know in advance what our hourly fee is and of course materials are extra. As far as the main line leak we capped it where the customer told us to.   The customer was present the entire time we were doing the work.  I don't remember leaving any messes, if the customer had any problems she should of let me know before she paid us, we would have taken care of any complaints.   

Finally, I recommended that ******* change out her sprinkler timer because she was not real happy with the one she had.   Everything went smooth and she got a much better timer, she claimed that there was one zone in the back courtyard that was working before we put the timer in and that after we installed the timer that  zone was no longer working, I did offer to fix it but she told me not to.  

If you should have any other questions please do not hesitate to call.


***** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: Bottom line....Scenic View Construction charged me a lot of money to fix a leak in my sprinkler system.  It still leaks therefore I am unsatisfied.  I want some of my money back so I can hire someone else to fix the leak PERIOD!


******* *******

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, the consumer must give a reason why they are rejecting the response. If the consumer does not provide a reason if he complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]b

Business Response: I am responding to Mrs. ********* rejection of my response to BBB.  If there are still leaks then more time is needed to find the problem.  We capped the main line where the customer wanted it capped.  We charge by the hour for sprinkler repairs and our hourly rate is the same to everybody.  As far as returning money we worked very hard at the site and did everything as fast as we could ; therefore, I earned my money.

Thank you,
***** *******