BBB Accredited Business since

Milligan Scapes

Phone: (505) 604-5104 12101 Princess Jeanne Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87112 http://www.milliganscapes.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

 Full Landscape contractor.  Professional landscape designs, installation of all landscapes, sprinkler installations and repairs, water falls, flagstone advanced/basic lawn care services. spray services, snow removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Milligan Scapes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Milligan Scapes include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Milligan Scapes
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 03, 2004 Business started: 03/01/2003 in NM Business started locally: 03/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Construction Industries Division - New Mexico
PO Box 25101, Santa Fe NM 87504-5101
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/construction
Phone Number: (505) 476-4700
Fax Number: (505) 476-4615
rldcid@state.nm.us
The number is 352636.

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary R Milligan, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary R Milligan, Owner
Business Category

Landscape Contractors

Products & Services

Milligan Scapes sells the following brand(s): Rainbird, Hunter, Rainbird, hunter, weather matic savio pond products. keystone

Milligan Scapes offers the following product(s): full landscape design and build, lawn care sprinklers spraying

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Credit Card
Alternate Business Names
Landscaping & Lawn care

Additional Locations

  • 12101 Princess Jeanne Ave NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87112

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At beginning of the summer, I hired ********s to xeriscape my frontyard, clean backyard, and install new sprinkler heads in backyard to conserve water and become friendlier to our environment. I researched the company, spoke with references provided by company, & hired them for project. The work appeared satisfactory & I paid for services. Upon receipt of my first water bill, my bill was double in dollars any usual summer bill & I had 30k gallons used. This far exceeds any usage I have ever had. I had water authority verify the reading. I contacted **** ********, owner, to let him know there is an issue. I have contacted him over phone, via email & text. I sent him copies of bills back to 12 months ago. It is clear there is leak or another problem and excessive water usage. In phone call with Mr ******** he stated it was not anything that they had done and I was getting hit with conservancy charges and he didnt feel it was a big deal. I advised Mr ******** about excessive run times they had set on the sprinkler system and that I had adjusted down. (It had been set to run 2 times/day at 60 minutes/ run time). My bill continued to be in excess after I made changes. I hired a plumber to test for leaks at the rate of $250. There are none. I happened to be up one evening at midnight. I heard the sprinklers running. The landscaper had scheduled a separate run that I could not initially see. It ran for 45 minutes /run time/day in the middle of the night. There is a program to run either an A or B schedule. They had set totally separate schedule that I was unaware of. When I had brought my concerns to Mr. ******** in July, he didnt mention this either. I didnt feel that there was concern about the additional usage, the excess bills I have paid (I had 3 water bills for almost $200 each when I average about $80 total each month in summer prior to xeriscaping) & I hired plumber at $250 to look for leaks). The response to my concerns and communication once I had paid was poor & unacceptable.

Desired Settlement: I would expect reimbursement for my additional expenses after I had raised the issues directly to the owner. I have bills to support my out of pocket as well as communications to Mr. ******** to communicate the issues.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Good morning.
This email is to notify that contract has settled with me.  The claim can be closed.
Thank you for your assistance.

Complaint ********



Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: Owner **** ******** gave the verbal response


******** Scapes owner has met with the consumer to settle the consumers concerns. The consumer told the business owner that she would contact BBB to state that she considers the complaint resolved.

10/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues