BBB Accredited Business since

FirstLight Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (575) 526-4401 Fax: (575) 525-2379 View Additional Phone Numbers 9983 Kenworthy St, El Paso, TX 79924

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Credit Union Services, Personal and Business Loans

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that FirstLight Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on FirstLight Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 30, 1987 Business started: 01/01/1970 in NM Business started locally: 01/01/1970
Type of Entity

Cooperative Association

Business Management
Mr. Pat Aguilera, Executive Assistant Coby Cherry, Branch Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Pat Aguilera, Executive Assistant
Principal: Coby Cherry, Branch Manager
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
First Light Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations


    9983 Kenworthy St

    El Paso, TX 79924


    PO Box 24901

    El Paso, TX 79914


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/29/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 10th I cancelled my autopays with ******* and said I would pay through my own bank. On December 15th my bank sent my payment of $460. On December 23rd they auto debited $459 without my permission or knowledge. I spoke with a woman named **** who said there is nothing that they can/will do, they have to search paperwork and call back. I asked for her supervisor since she was nonchalant and seemed to not believe me, instead of the transfer she hung up. I called back and spoke to **** who refused to transfer me to a supervisor. I finally got a woman named **** to transfer me to her supervisor ****** who assured me it would be fixed with a bank transfer the next day.

Desired Settlement: I deserve an apology, and these employees severely need training.

Business Response:

January 13, 2015

Ms. ******* *******

**** ****** ***

** ***** ** *****

RE: BBB ID# ********

Dear Ms. *******,

This letter is in response to your complaint to the Better Business Bureau regarding your Account.

Thank you for giving us the opportunity to improve our service. Upon research, it does appear that the request was made to cancel your autopay; however, the account maintenance did not transpire in a timely manner.

Our apologies to you for the miscommunication and handling of your request.

If you have any further questions regarding this matter, please feel free to contact our Call Center Manager, ******** ********, at ***** ********. Thank you for allowing us to continue to serve you.


**** *****

VP Retail Operations

cc: **** *. ******

Better Business Bureau

5/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My ex boyfriend got a hold of my old account i have with First Light FCU and he stole all of my money. The bank refunded my money and i made a new account with First Light thinking it wasnt going to happen again but it did about two months later, FIrst Light FCU transferred $360 from my account to his without my permission. I went to talk to the Branch Manager and he said he cannot do anything about it and that he cannot tell me anymore information

Desired Settlement: I want to get my money back. That money was for my car payment and rent which i cannot pay because of this. I am getting my car repossessed and possibly getting evicted.

Business Response:

May 16, 2014

RE: ID # ********

To whom it may concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to respond to the complaint by Ms. ****** *******. On March 25, 2014 an unauthorized transfer was made from another member’s account to Ms. *******’s account for $360.00. Upon notification of this unauthorized transfer and receipt of the dispute and police report, FirstLight Federal Credit Union recovered the $360 from Ms. *******’s account and credited the amount to the rightful owner of the funds.


**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on FirstLight Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)