BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Credit Union - Financial Services and Employer Group Membership Services


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that First Financial Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for First Financial Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on First Financial Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 1988 Business started: 11/01/1937 in NM Business started locally: 11/01/1937 Business incorporated 03/10/1997 in NM
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

New Mexico Financial Institutions Division
2550 Cerrillos Rd 3rd Floor, Santa Fe NM 87505
http://www.rld.state.nm.us/financialinstitutions/
Phone Number: (505) 476-4885
Fax Number: (505) 476-4670
rldfid@state.nm.us
The number is 1852318.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ronald Moorehead, President/CEO Ms. Karen Broten, EVP/Chief Operations Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Karen Broten, EVP/Chief Operations Officer
Principal: Mr. Ronald Moorehead, President/CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions

Additional Information

BBB is alerting consumers that this legitimate company, First Financial Credit Union, has had their website spoofed by unknown persons. The fake website looks almost identical to that of First Financial and uses the same name. The fake website is offering personal loans. One consumer reported to BBB that she was told the company needed to do a "test deposit" into her account and the consumer should immediately send a payment for that amount to show good faith. In another complaint, the consumer was told she needed to pay several hundred dollars as "insurance" for the loan. In neither case did the consumer receive the loan and in the first case, the checks initially written to the consumer bounced. Both consumers are out several hundred dollars. BBB reminds consumers that a legitimate loan offer will never require the consumer to make an upfront payment.

First Financial Credit Union has no connection and is not affiliated with the website and the loans offered by First Financial Credit.  Consumers who have sent money to the fake website for loans can click First Financial Credit to view the BBB Business Review and file a complaint.


Additional Locations

  • 10400 Academy Rd NE Ste 150

    Albuquerque, NM 87111

  • 1202 New Mexico 53

    Zuni, NM 87327

  • 1383 Us Highway 491

    Gallup, NM 87301

  • 14 Miles S Hwy 53

    Pine Hill, NM 87357

  • 1625 Rio Bravo Blvd SW Ste 18

    Albuquerque, NM 87105

  • 2201 Rio Rancho Dr SE

    Rio Rancho, NM 87124

  • 2290 E Superior St

    Silver City, NM 88061

  • 2700 San Mateo Blvd NE

    Albuquerque, NM 87110

  • 2929 Coors Blvd NW Ste 104

    Albuquerque, NM 87120

  • 3024 E Main St

    Farmington, NM 87402 (505) 327-4478

  • 313 Boardman Dr

    Gallup, NM 87301

  • 601 Tijeras Ave NW

    Albuquerque, NM 87102 (800) 342-8298 (505) 766-5600

  • 700 W 2nd St

    Portales, NM 88130

  • 801 E Cedar St

    Deming, NM 88030

  • 831 Juan Tabo Blvd NE Ste A

    Albuquerque, NM 87123

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern: My husband and I in September of 2012 went to Chino Federal Credit Union in Silver City, NM to get an auto loan. We got approved for a 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. The amount financed was $7,916.60 with a 13.540% fixed interest rate $2,421.17. We also added life and disability insurance to our loan for $601.64 with a total of $10,939.41. Chino Federal in 2015 merged with First Financial Credit Union out of Albuquerque, NM. In February of 2016 I noticed that my balance was very wrong and on my account statement said I owed $4498 left when I should have owed around $2000 left. They also keep adding the insurance every month to my loan even after its included in the contract. I first went to the branch in Deming, NM where the loan officer didn’t know why my loan balance was wrong and forwarded me to the corporate office. I got in touch with them for several weeks with promises of a call back on why my account balance was incorrect other then I had over $2000 in “late fees.” I finally had enough and called and demanded to speak to someone. I got in touch with Ashley and told her my issues. She assured that she would fix them. She sent me an amortization of my loan if it had been paid on time. (Which was not even correct) She also sent some other paper that I don’t understand but it states in 24 months I had only made 12 payments which I have proof of more. I had been late was in December of 2012 when my loan officer told me I could skip my payment for that month but I couldn’t after I had already did it. She had been fired right after I got my loan for fraud. The bank let me be late for over a year before anyone ever said I was late. They set me up for failure from the first few months. In February 2013 my vehicle was repossessed for lack of payment which was my fault. My husband went the same day and paid it in full caught all payments up and the repossession fees. First Financial says I have not paid those fees to date and other late fees. I know I have because I went in with my tax return and made a payment of $720. Ashley said my loan is currently 14 months behind and a new maturity date of 01/15/2018 after I never consented to having my loan extended. After Ashley sent the bunk documents my husband called Ray at the Silver City branch. He is the finance manager there when it was Chino Federal as well. He informed my husband that the system “FEDCOM” in which documents of all payments were made for anyone was deleted when the merge happened because it happened on bad terms. My husband requested copies of all deposit slips on March 3, 2016. We have since to hear anything back. The only supporting documentation I have is my credit report of the payments I have made between Oct 13 till Apr 14 which I paid $5289 and from Jun 15-Dec 15 since they didn’t report in May. Also they didn’t report for some months. I believe they know what they are doing is wrong because I am not late and if I was 14 months behind they would have repossessed instead of extending a contract. I know they are breaching the contract by adding more months and money to it. I am currently in the process of getting a full credit report from the credit bureaus because I have always paid in cash and don’t have receipts. I would just like to get this taken care of. I also went to a local Facebook page and asked if anyone else was having problems and many people are. This is an on going issue that nobody can seem to get sorted. I have every right to believe that are and have been committing fraud. Update: I have since been in touch with Sarah H***** at the bank and she has stated that I did apparently sign another contract and has agreed to extending my loan which is a lie my husband and I never signed or consented to another contract. She also said my account is not behind 14 months and I am current. Sarah also said that when I got my truck reposed that I paid all fees in full. She also stated to me that banks don’t have to report to your credit every month, which is also a lie. Sarah also said that her copy of the contract would look different from mine. Why? It should be my signed contract. She also said that my account had lots of “fees” that she could NOT explain to me. She stated they charge interest daily and my contract is for yearly at a certain rate. She could not show me in my contract where it said anything about that. She also said that my disability insurance changes price every month when in my contract it states $601 for the life of my loan and not by balance and also its included in my monthly payments and they keep adding it to the balance every month. This bank is nothing but a bunch of liars and we caught her in everyone of them.

Desired Settlement: Corrected credit report for months missing and balance. Corrected balance. Explanation of charges. I would like to have my balance corrected so I can continue to pay loan off in Sept as per contract states.

Business Response:

I am writing in response to the complaint filed by ***** ***** regarding the loan for her 2004 Chevy Trailblazer. 

On March 24, 2015, First Financial Credit Union (FFCU) sent a package (via Federal Express) to Ms. ***** and Mr. ******* containing a letter of explanation of the loan documents executed by the borrowers on September 17, 2012, copies of the executed Loan and Security Agreements and Disclosure Statement, a copy of the Loan Application, a spreadsheet showing the payment history including all fees and charges added during the loan (to date), and copies of the available statements dating back to September 2012 when the loan was originated.  The spreadsheet accounts for accrued interest, collected interest, principal payments, payments of late fees and charges added to the loan (i.e. credit insurance, other charges-with explanation provided to the borrower).

An adjustment was made to the loan in the amount of $27.57 to refund fees charged in error.  According to our records, this is the only error on the loan transaction history.  As of the end of the day on March 25, 2016, we have validated the principal balance of the loan when comparing the spreadsheet to FFCU’s system of record.

FFCU has also validated the information reported to all three credit reporting agencies since June 2015 when the data was converted from Chino Federal Credit Union’s system to FFCU’s system.  FFCU has reported the loan information according to our records.

Ms. ***** is encouraged to provide any receipts or accounting she has of the loan in order to compare it to the credit union’s records.  We would be happy to work with her regarding this.

As I stated to Ms. ***** in our telephone conversation on March 18, 2016 at 4:25 pm, the goal is to come to a resolution that is amendable for both Ms. ***** and FFCU.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The loan is incorrect. The loan insurance has been added to the loan when it is included in my payments. I sent this letter to Sarah H***** on 3/28/16 in regaurds to this. This may have been an error from CFCU but needs to be fixed. 


03/27/2016

Dear Sarah H*****, 

I have came to a conclusion on why my auto loan is incorrect. The loan insurance is included into the monthly payments and they have been adding them on monthly and charging me interest for the whole duration of the loan. 
Total of payments $10939.41
Amount Financed $7916.60
Finance Charges $2421.17
Total Payments Monthly $227.91

If the loan insurance was not included in the payments the interest would be $2381 and total of payments would be $10,297 for payments of $215 a month. 

I am not sure if the contract is messed up but it is included in my monthly payments. 
I am going to go ahead and assume the CFCU messed up from the start and I was not entirely wrong about money being added to my loan. 
In the spread sheet you sent the total add on for loan insurance are more then what my contract states. ($601.64) 
I would like to know if you have had a chance to speak to Ray at the Silver City branch about the repossession fees? The fees and loan was caught up in February of 2013. The truck would have not been released with out full payment. August 20th 2013 there were fees of $110 added to my loan. Could these please be taken off with interest as well and applied to principal. 
Could some of the late fees be relieved with interest as well? There are several back to back in the same months? 

In addition the whole loan needs to be recalculated promptly. I apologize if I was rude and angry. This is very frustrating for me and I would like to have it taken care of as soon as possible. My husband and I have worked very hard to get this paid off in time. Thank you in advance for adjusting my account for August 15, 2016 and relieving the March late fee. I appreciate all your doing to help me. 

Could you please call me when you get this to let me know how we can work together to come to a solution out of court?  




Regards,

***** *****

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, the consumer must give a reason why they are rejecting the response. If the consumer does not provide a reason the complaint will be closed Answered]

Business Response:

First Financial Credit Union (FFCU) conducted a thorough, detailed review of the documents in the loan file.  On April 8, 2016, FFCU responded to Ms. ***** and Mr. ******* by mailing a letter via certified return receipt requested through the US Postal Service.  In the spirit of coming to a resolution that is amendable to the borrowers and FFCU, we have offered to refund Loan Insurance premium, fees, and interest in the total amount of $439.36 and apply the amount as a principal reduction to the loan. 

Regarding future Loan Insurance premiums, the borrower has the opportunity to continue coverage at the current monthly costs, or cancel the coverage to avoid future premium charges.  

First Financial Credit Union is dedicated to serving its members and working on resolutions that are amendable to both the member and the credit union.

Consumer Response: mplaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I find it very insulting that only $439 has been supposably credited back to my account. I say supposably because I called Monday April 11th and they did in fact NOT credit anything to my account and could not tell me if they received my payment for March. They have added $795.18 in added loan protection insurance since the beginning of the loan. Did not take off the repossession fees for Aug 2013 which had already been paid or vehicle would have not been released or help with late fees that they have added (More then 1 a month! ) If you want to find a solution this is not how to do business by insulting the customers. A thorough review? Sarah could not even figure out the problem in the first place. I had to sit down and figure it out myself. 

My ideal amenable solution consists of crediting the $795.18 with 13.540% interest back to the principal. Crediting back the repossession fee that I had already paid $110 plus 13.540% interest to the principal and crediting back some of the repeat late fees with interest also. I am also seeking $2000 for credit damages for incorrect reporting to the credit bureaus for both Joseph and myself.  For someone who makes $60k+ per year should not have the problems we had to go through to get another vehicle loan. In March 2016 they removed the whole account off our credit reports and then added it back on which dropped our scores. I still have in fact not received my payout amount as well. A payout amount is NOT the current balance. I requested this February 4th and FDIC law states lenders have 30 days to provide this. I have not received any receipts from the transactions since I paid in cash. Bank statements are not proof of the cash transactions.  If I do not receive the compensation and correcting of the account within 10 days I will be filing for breach of contract and compensation for incorrect credit reporting OR send me the title to my Trailblazer and report the loan as paid in full.  I can not continue to have this burden any longer. 

Regards,

***** *****

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, the consumer must give a reason why they are rejecting the response. If the consumer does not provide a reason the complaint will be closed Answered]

Business Response:

April 13, 2016

RE:  ID# ********

I am writing in response to the complaint filed by ***** ***** regarding the loan for her 2004 Chevy Trailblazer.

On April 8th we sent a certified letter to Ms. ***** offering a resolution to her complaint regarding added fees to her loan.  Per the letter, Ms. ***** was to contact FFCU so we could discuss and document the terms of the agreement.  As of today we have not heard from Ms. ***** other than through this complaint filed with BBB. 

Ms. ***** is asserting that nothing has been credited to her account.  The reason being is that she has not agreed to our offer in writing or verbally and thus we have not moved forward with crediting her account.

The $795.18 that Ms. ***** is requesting be returned to her as a principal reduction was the result of her loan being past due from 12/18/12 until a payment was made on 2/25/13 (3 payments plus repossession fees) to release the car back to her after it had been repossessed. This fee is valid.

In regards to Ms. ***** and Mr. *******’s credit report; we have and are reporting correctly, based on her payment history.

Ms. ***** is requesting copies of receipts.  Record retention requirements do not mandate that the credit union keep copies of receipts.  Ms. ***** has received all of her monthly/quarterly statements that validate all transactions on her account regardless of the method used.

In conclusion our offer to Ms. ***** still stands and is a total principal reduction to her loan for $439.36 which includes $211.83 for her insurance premium, $17.53 in interest, $110 repossession fee and $100 in late fees.  In addition, she is still having debt protection insurance added to her account and if she would like to discontinue this, we need her to come in and sign a sub-action form and we will remove it from the loan.

This refund is offered not because First Financial processed, calculated or charged anything on her account incorrectly but because we in good faith, want to try and eliminate some of the financial burden she has experienced due to poor payment history.  It is our final offer.  We have already not only provided documentation but spoke to Ms. ***** about all the activity on her account that she is questioning.  All activity is correctly processed and reported, based on payment dates and according to her contract.

If Ms. ***** would like us to credit the principal balance on her account for the $439.36 and/or discontinue the debt protection insurance on her account, we need her to email Michelle H**** at *********************** or call her at ###-###-####.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. 



I will be in contact with Michelle on Monday. 

Regards,

***** *****

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called to make a monthly payment for Dec 2015. I was advised, for the first time, that I was missing a loan payment for my vehicle since August 2015. Teller "Natalie" requested proof of payment from my financial institution through fax. A fax was sent for proof of payment for August 2015. Next, a call was made to me requesting proof of payment for July 2015 as well. Another fax was sent. I did not recieve paperwork or accoiunt updates as requested. I assumed the matter was resolved. I was also not called back. As I called to make Jan 2016 payment before the deadline. I was advised that the payment would not be credited for Jan but for Dec 2015 because the payment for August was still not resolved. First Financial Credit Union is not managing the loan account and resolving my complaints properly. I have a copy of the fax sent to the institution and confirmation of the fax as well. The teller advised that they had not obtained any faxes from me. Failure to notify me and correct the loan record has accured fees and interest that are incorrect. My credit score has also been affected.

Desired Settlement: I would request the Institution to correct the mistake and look at the proof of paymet. I would request the institution to credit the fees and interest that was not appropriate for their mistake on the loan. I would lrequest the institution fix the credit report for the loan with all three credit reporting agencies. I would also like the records requested in the fax and e-mail sent to the institution and access to my online account. A timely notice through phone or email any time something happens that negatively affects my account.

Business Response:

First Financial Credit Union has contacted the member and walked him through all payments made on the account.  Providing the day payment was made, the day the payment was due and if the payment satisfied the loan.   No late fees were charged and no negative reporting was sent to the credit reporting agencies.   We apologize for any misunderstanding and have since, made sure the member understands how all payments were applied and what is still due.  All payments made, have been applied accurately by First Financial Credit Union and it is our understanding that this complaint has been resolved with the member.   We have provided the member with a payment history schedule which is also attached.    If there are any further questions or concerns, please feel free to reach out to me directly at ###-###-####


 

 

 

 

 

 


                         
 


      

                          

                          

                             

 

 

                         

                         

 

                          

                          

   

                           

                          

 

 

                         

                          

                          

                          

 

                          

                         

                                 

                            

 

                          

                         

   

 


1/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about the beginning of the year I switched automotive insurance and provided a copy of the change to the teller when I made my monthly payment. The teller either forgot or did not fax the information at the time of payment. The monthly rates for the original contract changed to include a variety of fees and a new charge for insurance that is at 300% higher rate than most normal insurance businesses. I called and talked to the branch manager, **** ********-who immediately was rude an offered no assistance and basically stated that they never had a record of receiving the copy of either insurance companies. She stated if I didn't bring another copy they really were not going to do anything about it. After this incident, when I visit the branch to make the minimum monthly payments for interest on my car loan and principle only (to avoid the excessive fees and charges) the tellers will most often than not credit my payment to principle and interest only. This last time, I spent a good portion of 40 minutes for the teller to accept my payment and properly credit the interest and principle only. She did not process the payment correctly and charged fees to my payment- when I asked to receive a refund of the cash transaction the bank manager, **** ******** refused to honor First Financial customer commitment and would not refund my cash payment. I had to call APD for theft, but the officer did not handle the incident properly. I will also file a complaint with APD. At the end of the day I spent a good portion of three hours to not have my payment processed correctly, my cash refunded and the instrument to pay my loan was mishandled with no receipt. As a Veteran of two foreign wars I have never been treated so rudely and inappropriately. First Financial Credit Union has not honored any of their customer care mottos. I would like the BBB to mediate this complaint in hopes that I don't have to borrow money to go to court. I want the wave of fees and the interest charges on them dismissed.

Desired Settlement: The Institution needs to remove the charges because sufficient proof was already provided. If they lost the paperwork or failed to maintain a proper record then the added fees and late fees and charges for the added fees are not fair practice. The fees for the institution insurance are extremely and unfairly, high. I am willing to honor the contract and pay the minimum principle and interest amount but not the fees. **** ******** should apologize for making me wait and not fixing my complain.

Business Response: Better Business Bureau 
RE: Compliant I D ******** 
**** *. ****** 

January 9, 2015 

To Whom It May Concern: 

I am writing i n response to the complaint f i I ed by Mr. **** *. ******  regarding his auto loan. First Financial Credit Union i s dedicated to serving its member owners and I apologize that Mr. ****** felt that his issue was not resolved to his satisfaction. 

The documents signed by Mr. ****** at the time of the auto purchase included an "Insurance Coverage Acknowledgement" which states, "I understand that this insurance must be in an amount equal to the lesser of the unpaid amount due under the Finance Contract or the value of the vehicle and must be maintained for the entire term of the Finance Contract." First Financial Credit Union's documentation shows that Mr. ****** had a lapse of insurance from February 3, 2014 to April 17, 2014, which is in violation of the contract agreed to by Mr. ****** at the time of financing.  The failure to carry (at minimum) liability insurance is also in violation of the requirements of motorists in the State of New Mexico. First Financial Credit Union covers its collateral during any lapse in insurance by the borrower and is within its rights to add the premium of this coverage to the borrower's loan. It is our practice to make every effort to verify coverage before placing our coverage on the collateral. We made several attempts to contact M r. ****** regarding this lapse. Letters were sent to his mailing address, phone calIs were placed by our financial assistance department, and phone calls were attempted by our servicer. We also attempted to go directly to Mr. ******'s insurance companies — the information we received confirmed cancellation date of February 3, 2014 with ***********, and new insurance coverage dated April 17, 2014 with **** Insurance. Mr. ****** claimed to have insurance coverage during the time of the lapse but was unable to substantiate this coverage. Since Mr. ****** was unable to provide proof that there was coverage during the lapse time, we provided collateral coverage with a premium of $724.00, which Mr. ****** is responsible for. The premium was added to the principal amount of the loan and his payments were adjusted accordingly. I believe this premium is the "fee and charges" that Mr. ****** is referring to in his complaint. His complaint also refers to "a new charge for insurance that is at 300% higher rate than most normal insurance businesses." The premium for this collateral coverage is expensive; therefore, we would prefer that members carry typical coverage that complies with the insurance requirements of the State of New Mexico, and provides borrowers with the necessary coverage in the event that a claim needs to be filed.  

Since we would prefer the borrower carry coverage for the entire term of the contract, as they agree to when the financing takes place, we make every effort to verify whether coverage is in place before adding collateral protection insurance. However, in the event the borrower chooses not to carry sufficient coverage, we must protect our collateral. Therefore, the $724.00 premium is due and payable to First Financial Credit Union and wi I I remain as part of the principal balance on Mr. ******'s loan. He is fully responsible unless he can provide proof that there was no lapse in coverage for the dates in question. 

I apologize that Mr. ****** feels he did not receive the best member service while interacting  with our employees. We strive to provide excellent service and I will address his concerns internally. 

Should you have any questions, I can be reached at 505-462-1304. 

Sincerely, 
Sarah J. Horten 
Senior Vice President of Lending 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

As a veteran with PTSD,  and any customer at any business for that matter, should not have to experience any stress or drama when submitting car loan payments with good intentions. If a request by a customer to apply funds to a specific account (loan, principle, interest) is made; the business should be responsible enough to credit the account as requested not take the cash and deduct exuberant fees as they want. If the customer's request is not honored and requests a refund for the immediate transaction then the business in good faith should honor the request: not make the customer feel like they are a menace and headache. As **** ******** did during this incident, to then have Albuquerque Police Department called for basically stealing cash that was meant for the principle and interest in the loan.  

If the borrower makes timely payments, and provides sufficient proof of insurance but the branch fails to verify or process the paperwork the burden of default should not be the borrowers fault. 
I just received a letter for repossession for the only mode of transportation I have.  I am a disabled vet and wonder how will I get around if they take my only mean of transportation. Now that First Financial has added all those fees and charges my payment ballooned from $439 to almost $530! This business is not being sensitive to the fact that as a Veteran and customer we deserve better treatment.
The only way to satisfy this situation is to remove the fees and charges and keep my payment as was agreed on during the agreement of the loan.  I will not endorse this company and will continue to bring this incident to light to other veterans in the area. The fees and charges are comparable to predatory lending companies and should be addressed responsibly.  Also, when these fees and charges are not payed the First Financial third party interest were calling me on a daily basis. Not only that -every time I visit the branch I am waiting for too long to have the payment credited properly.  All other customers are in and out around me while I wait.....and the reps are never consistent. Some really do listen and credit the principle and interest only. Others credit the fees and then the rest of the account.  This is a complete mess and now I am going to be left with nothing. 
Regards,

**** ******
[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, the consumer must give a reason why they are rejecting the response. If the consumer does not provide a reason if he complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Business Response:

Dear Mr. ******,

I apologize that your experience with us has not been a pleasant one.  I have tried to contact you today, at the number listed on your account, to discuss our plan of action regarding your complaint.   As of this afternoon, we  refunded the CPI / Insurance that was added to your account due to a lapse in coverage from Feb 3 - Apr 17th.  We refunded the late fees you were charged since it was added.   We made your account current and lowered your payments back down to $439.00.   This is not normal protocol as FFCU is out of pocket for the insurance we had to purchase on your behalf, however, I do want you to know that we do care.  We care about all of our members and we care about the wounded warriors who have served our country.  Thank you.  We would love to hear from you just to make sure you are aware that we took care of everything for you.  Have a wonderful day. 

***** ******

Chief Operations Officer

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on First Financial Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart