This business is not BBB accredited.

Pearson Education

Additional Locations

Phone: (201) 236-7000 Fax: (201) 818-8749 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 Old Tappan Rd, Old Tappan, NJ 07675 View Additional Email Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pearson plc. (“Pearson”) is a publicly traded U.K. corporation. Pearson is an international media company with businesses in education, business information and consumer publishing. Markets outside the U.S. include Canada, the UK, Australia, Italy, Spain, South Africa, Hong Kong and the Middle East. The business is a provider of English Language Teaching materials for children and adults, published under the well-known Longman imprint.

From their roots as book publisher, they've grown to provide a range of related services: testing and learning software for students of all ages; data for financial institutions; public information systems for government departments


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Pearson Education include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 44 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

44 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 35
Total Closed Complaints 44

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Pearson Education
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 18, 2003 Business incorporated 02/11/1929 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Legal Department
Contact Information
Principal: Legal Department
Business Category

Scholastic Prep Courses, Books & Materials Computers Hardware, Software & Services Web Design

Alternate Business Names
Addison Wesley Allyn & Bacon Benjamin Cummins Dale Seymore Globe Fearon Longman Modern Curriculum Pearson Custom Publishing Pearson Early Learning Pearson ESL Pearson Technology Group Prentice Hall Scott Foresman Silver Burdett Ginn SkyLignt Professional Development

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Old Tappan Rd

    Old Tappan, NJ 07675

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    258 Prospect Plains Rd

    Cranbury, NJ 08512

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a biology lab course at Erie Community College bookstore. I have to register through Pearson for online course. I was trying to register but it doesn't let me submit account information. It states: "One or more problems were detected that must be corrected. Follow the instructions below to correct the problem(s), and resubmit the page. Sorry, an unexpected internal error has occurred. Please check the information you provided for any mistakes or omissions." All information I provided is correct. I called customer service, was on hold for over 40 minutes. Nobody picked up the phone. Called at least 5 times. Tried to use live chat. It kept dropping my call, and stated no agents are available. I can't register, and can't get through to get any help. I feel like this is a complete scam. I would appreciate if you could resolve this issue. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: Unfortunately, registration is required for my class. I would like to register without paying any fees and without buying any new codes. My class has started already. If I won't be able to register within 5 days, I would like my money back.

Business Response:

It appears the issue may be resolved, Svitlana was able to register for MasteringAandP for Marieb, Human Anatomy & Physiology, 8e

 

I have found a contact from Svitlana Petrie, It came in May 24. It is possible that Svitlana encountered a long hold time and was not able to chat. Our chat went down which of course raised the call volume.

 

Customer Service has emailed Svitlana and asked for the access code and course ID to troubleshoot the issue. They have yet to hear back 

5/26/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company advertises they accept ****** as payment but when it comes time to pay, ****** is not listed as an option. They need to stop advertising that they offer ****** as a form of payment method until they actually have ****** in place. False advertising. After speaking with rep over the phone, all they could say was that we do not offer ****** at this time and we do not know when we will have that setup...ok, then stop advertising that you have this as an option!!!

Desired Settlement: Stop advertising you use ****** on your site and printed material through the schools until you have ****** in place (or simply get ****** in place now and you will no longer have a problem...)

Business Response:

This is a ****** issue.  ****** has been removed temporarily.  There is an issue that they are trying to fix where they are double billing.  

 

We are working with ****** to fix this issue as soon as possible. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

4/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/22/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Item was shipped and returned per specifications and within return policy guidelines. Item was received and processed by the company. Refund was never issued and company refused to return any inquiries indicating when refund would be issued.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund as is due.

Business Response:

refund was processed on 01/19/2016 for $793.94

1/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I registered for my class online with **************** a branch of Pearson Education on 10/23/15, everything went through fine and then on 10/24 I tried to login and it was not letting me saying "your registration was unsuccessful". Keep in mind that this one of my classes in order to receive my Bachelor's degree, therefore, having access to this class in pertinent to my future. I tried contacting their technical support via not only, online chat, but also the phone. Neither of which was able to provide any sort of resolution other than "registering again by creating a new email" "or re-purchasing the code" thus, both require me to spend an addition $41.80 of which I had already paid. The matter was handled very unprofessionally and the online chat representative was overall very sarcastic, rude, and below satisfactory in providing any sort of customer service, let alone resolutions. I have screenshots of our conversation.PS I made my payment with a ** gift card, therefore, I don't have a bank statement to reflect it.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like access to my class be it having a promotion credited or just simply granting me access to the account I paid for and even technical support saw that I was in the class.

Business Response: Our customer service manager spoke with this customer and it appears she has access to what she needs.  We advised that she will be provided a refund if she was charged twice.  We will also be investigating how customer service agents handled her concerns

10/16/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company can't resolve issue to even make a purchase through their own website. My grades, my gpa, college transcript and financial aid is in jeopardy. I have called technical support multiple times and received multiple escalations to "tier 2" technicians. None of whom have managed to give me a way of purchasing my required etext. There is literally no prompt to for access! This comes after a weekend of trying to gain access to the portal itself, which took days to resolve through both a professor at my college and customer service. Because my course relies on the portal and etext Pearson is supposed to provide to students - my grade for my course is in jeopardy. This means my gpa, my college transcript and my career might be affected by a company not being able to figure out it's own technical website issues. Since my financial aid is dependent on my receiving a grade in this course but I couldn't access the portal and now can't even access the etext I will be held liable for repaying those funds. At this point, because this company can't get it together enough to even let me make a purchase my career opportunities and entire life after this could be affected. Then there is the issue of repaying the government for the financial aid i received to attend this school this semester. At any point my professor has the right to say "well, tough luck and try to take this course again next semester." So even in the best situation I am looking at repeating a course, being behind an entire semester and having to pay back maybe my entire financial aid package for the semester. This is ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: Depending on whether I can catch up and the leniency of my professor I might be able to stay in the course. However, this is unlikely and I reserve the right go to court for every cent of the financial aid package that is requested back by the Federal and New York State government. I will also ask for damages for this affecting my life in irreparable ways such as the negative impacts on my college transcript. Nevermind, being reimbursed for submitting the proper court paperwork and retaining representation. At any point they could have given me some sort of temporary access while trying to fix the issue on their side but this has never been offered. Also, if I even I get a call back for submitting this to the better business bureau they can't give me back the week I lost in study time.

Business Response: The student never replied to an email from customer service and after 3 reminders via email that we were waiting for a response, it auto closes since we did not get a response from the customer.  

 

10/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have attempted to get a refund for a textbook that we do not have access to on our account. This was paid for July 15, 2015. Attached receipt. We have been trying to get a refund and was told we would have a refund within 7 business days. It has now been 12 days and nothing has been done. The customer service is nothing but a run around and waste of time, tech support is also no help at all, they don't even have a customer service number. I am also attaching a screen image that we took that shows we do not have access to the book we paid for. MyMathLab.

Desired Settlement: Total refund asap $95.70.

Business Response: Pearson apologizes for any inconvenience this has caused. I will see to it that the refund is processed today.

9/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a brand new textbook (********** ** ******) from the bookstore (***** ******) at my community college (********** ****** ******** **** now ***** ********. The textbook is the required book for my class Introduction to Computers provided at ***. The professor requires us to use the access code to gain access to the companion website for assignments, homework, and the like. The access code was giving most student an error message, so the professor provided us guidance to call Pearson's technical support to get a new access code. When I called the number, the representative automatically said that she was not going to provide me an access code; that I needed to go back to the bookstore and they would provide me with a new access code. The professor said no, that the school is not responsible for issuing codes, and the publisher (Pearson) needed to give me the access code. All other students in the class have gain access to the website following the same guidelines provided by the professor. The Pearson representative said that it is their policy not to give access code to students, but all my classmates have been giving a new access code thru the same technical support number provided by the professor. I paid $200 for a brand new textbook with the access code, but now I cannot ask for a refund because the textbook had the access code scratched off (I had to scratch it so I could read the access code). The bookstore says that we need to wait for Pearson's response which have been days now. I am going to start week 3 in my class, and I still do not have access to the required website. I am stressed out and feel like no one is trying to help me. Pearson representative was evasive, did not provided me with an incident number for me to follow up, and she hung up the phone on me three times. I had explained to her that other students were doing the same thing and that they were provided with new access codes, but she kept saying that it is not their policy. Help

Desired Settlement: I want a brand new access code to the class that I am falling behind on. I just cannot understand that a company as big and money-hungry like Pearson, would not resolve this issue. It is a brand new textbook, brand new access code, and I paid for the book! I need the access code for my class. Thank you!

Business Response: The adjunct professor was confused. We have already spoken with her. This
School does not require or use *******, and thus, students have no need to have
an access code to *******. The adjunct gained access to ******* but it is not
used at the school by the students. The adjunct thought that the access code in
the front of the Text, which gives students access to certain parts of the
companion  website, was for *******. It isn’t. The adjunct told the
students to use the companion website for ******* and of course they did not
work. 
the student did register with her CW access code that came
with the book so she should be okay now.

9/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have the book, Prelude to Programming, ***********. It comes with access to a companion website. At that site it has Powerpoints by chapter. If you click on chapter 4, it gives you chapter 11. If you try, through the site, to contact them, it is a hopeless morass of selecting programs none of which match what I have and colleges that do not match my college so I am completely unable to contact them about the issue.

Desired Settlement: First, their contact form should be simple. It should accept the account id and order id for access. I assume those are unique and would do away with the multiple. useless screens needed to contact them about an issue. Second, they need to go through the Powerpoints for Prelude to Programming (***********) and make sure they match the correct chapters. If they can't do that, I want my purchase price back in full.

Business Response: Our editorial team will be reviewing this issue and fix any issues.  Thank you for raising this issue

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Will they also be making it easier to contact them without utilizing the BBB?

Regards,

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased an access code for ********* *******. I purchased it online from the Pearson site, and it didn't work. I contacted their support (which is outsourced to a different country), and this lady kept asking me my name over and over and putting me on hold. Over an hour later, her solution was to tell the professor he needs to "add you to the class list", and my professor had no idea what she was talking about, and homework was due. They never got it working, so I bought a second code with another email account (So I paid $66 twice) to complete my assignments. I called the next day to request a refund, got hung up on. Called again, wasn't able to speak with a supervisor. She confirmed she wasn't in America. As of now, I've paid $132 for a $66 access code, and I've spent more than an hour talking to people from another country. Pearson outsources its support to some other country, and you can't contact someone in America who speaks good English and can do anything at that company. And it's a shame colleges force us to use them.

Desired Settlement: I'd like to be refunded my money in full for the terrible service, not to mention the fact that they billed me twice and wouldn't fix that but just hung up on me from whatever country their number goes to.

Business Response: A refund has been processed for his original transaction as he requested.  We advised him the refund, $66, will post back to his credit
card within 3-5 business days.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I want the lady who hung up on me and refused to help reprimanded or fired.  You think it's okay to outsource your support to another country and provide no way for customers to contact you just because you've cornered the online education market in the US?

Students are forced to use Pearson Education, but that doesn't mean we can't file a complaint for unacceptable treatment by the people in another country you outsourced your work to.  Pearson is still responsible for its work, even if it's being done in a remote country by someone who hardly knows English.

I want it investigated who handled my account, and I want them retrained on customer service.

Regards,

******* ******

8/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a student at ****** State University in ****** *** ** Voc rehab paid for school plus books including MyMathlab for one of my classes. The student access code does not work. Even after getting a new one it still does not work. I have been on tech support all day and night and have been disconnected 3 times with no results. They have not given me a reason why I cannot connect. I must be able to access my homework ASAP I cannot drop this class due to technical reasons.

Desired Settlement: I will seek legal counsel if this matter is not resolve in 24 hrs. I get paid by VA/Army to attend school and must be a full time student. I cannot afford to drop this class because their website does not work. Also I do not need additional stress going to school. I am contacting the school, professors and my VA counselor about this matter tomorrow. I WILL SUE if Pearson cannot fix this, and I have to drop the course.

Business Response: Customer Service was able to get him registered into the course with his existing Pearson account.  They will be emailing him to let him know
and sent his login credentials just in case.  We will forward that to our Quality Assurance team to work with the agents.

7/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm taking a college course which requires use of Pearson's "MASTERING BIOLOGY". I bought an access code independently as it would work out somewhat cheaper; a little bit is a lot for a college student. So I set it up, serial number validation is good no problems. Now Pearson asks for my Course ID and upon entering it rejects my enrollment because my book has a different author. I did look online before purchasing, so I was being sure I was buying "MASTERING BIOLOGY" and not "INTRODUCTION TO MASTERING BIOLOGY", as someone had done in the past. Teacher also said it was OK to use a different version of the book just that he couldn't tell us which chapters corresponded. Ok next I go to the live online chat to try and get this mess sorted, I've paid money for the course already and figure technical support can make the appropriate adjustment. Not only did the agent deny me this as "per policy", I was also told my serial was now "used" and I would need to purchase it again! Being a summer course and very short and fast paced, I had no other option but to go through the steps of purchasing another access code for the same product. Now when I login I can see both of the courses, I have been scammed because that course will never be used, and they know that. I paid twice the amount I should have, I repeatedly informed the agent that I did not need access to the textbook (eText); all I needed was access to my teacher's homework problems. When buying the code, Pearson's website gives the option to "Buy with eText" or "Buy without eText", a $32 price difference. So if they do sell the course without the textbook, why was I refused this service? I was, in essence, giving up my rights to use the digital eText for the version which I had paid for, so that I could do my homework problems. Pearson clearly labels the textbooks with "MASTERING BIOLOGY", exactly as shown in my course syllabus, nothing about specific versions. The information is misleading and wrong. Bad way to treat your students, bad business :(

Desired Settlement: Well, one way or another I have paid for two access codes and Pearson know this. All I'm asking for is please to be fair. If anything, I would greatly appreciate it if Pearson refunded the amount charged on my credit card ending in 3601. My account ID is ********.Of course as part of the refund Pearson may remove the class that is not relevant to my course but shows up when I log in. It's 100% unused. I only need access to one class. My book is the Johnson edition, which I do have a copy of.

Business Response: This student purchased a MasteringBiology access code for Campbell, Essential Biology, 5/e and the course she is taking is using Johnson,Human Biology, 7/e which is why she was told that she needed to purchase another access code by one of our agents.  If she had purchased an access code for Johnson, Human Biology, 6/e and the edition was the only difference, then yes we would update her account with the correct book but not when the author, title and edition are different.
 

She then did an online purchase for the correct book but since she initially registered with the Campbell access code that is what appears when she logs into MasteringBiology so she contacted us again, we verified she purchased the new access for the Johnson book and then updated her access so the correct book in the course will appear when she logs in. 
You cannot register for more than one course using different books in the same SMS account.

 
If she goes to www.masteringbiology.com to log in, only the correct course is listed, however if she is logging into portal it will always show any active products she has registered for with an access code or online purchase.

Consumer Response:  

I am rejecting this response because:
All is fine and dandy but you fail to mention and acknowledge that i have (unjustly so) paid double the amount for one product. Like you said I can't use the first code because it had a "different authour"--even though I wasnt even buying the eText/text from you. I paid twice the amount to do homework problems? The technicality over why the code was rejected is understood, but this doesn't solve the issue of me having to pay double. One way or another, pearson received or rather TOOK money from me for 2 products and Im never going to get to use one of the products. Also, the support tech never mentioned anything about 5th/6th edition serial swaps, this is just like damage control now I feel like. While it may have been another edition, nowhere was it marked or implied (as several others in my class found out), that the code would not be accepted--even the instructor was shocked. In the future if you are going to emplore this revenue generating activity on the backs of students, please let students know in clear text on the front cover. Not just " MASTERING BIOLOGY" --a huge mislabeling and misleading idea.



Regards,

Jas Gill

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the book Elementary Statistics Using Excel, 5th Edition, a Pearson Higher Education product for my community college course Elementary Statistics on 5/31/15. The book comes with an access code that provides access to an online grading system required by my course called MyStatLab and provides access to download the Microsoft Excel addons XLSTAT and the Analysis Toolpak. Page 42 of the book directs the user to visit the website www.pearsonhighered.com/xlstat and to use the access code that came with the book. The code that came with my book was invalid and when contacted, Pearson Education was unwilling to provide an access code unless I paid for it separately from the book. So I bought a new access code for $95.70 and was never given an access code. I am still unable to access XLSTAT because the site to download XLSTAT from requires the access code. I contacted Pearson customer service to obtain my access code and was told they would not provide one for me, despite the fact that I paid for one. This company has repeatedly asked for additional purchases in order to obtain what came with the book. This is the second complaint I have had to file. If the issue remains unresolved, I will exercise my right to involve local media and an attorney.

Desired Settlement: I purchased a book with an access code that was invalid. Pearson was unwilling to replace it so I paid more money for an access code. The receipt did not have my access code on it and when contacted, customer service refused to provide and it told me I had to pay more money. I wish to have what I paid for. I have kept chat logs, screenshots, and all correspondence with this awful company and they are available upon request, and to any interested party. The next parties that receive this information will be the local media, an attorney, and this marks the last chance Pearson has to resolve the matter before I report this issue as theft.

Business Response: Although this customer purchased a product that did not include the materials he wanted, we reached out to him to provide him access at no charge.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered textbooks online through Pearson Learning NJ and charged $60.87 via VISA on 1/13/15. After receiving them in the mail, it was determined that textbooks were not what I wanted. I called company to return them and received a return authorization on 1/23/15. I returned the textbooks via UPS on 1/23/15 and this was confirmed (via UPS tracking) delivered on 1/29/15 to the company warehouse. I called 2/24/15 to follow up as we have not received credit yet on our VISA. Told it would take 4-6 weeks to process. Husband called after 6 weeks to check and still have not credited the amount to our VISA. Case was opened with the company. Husband called to follow up a few weeks later and still have not resolved this issue. Seems like our refund "fell through the cracks" It is now 5/22/15 and still have not received credit on VISA. We have opened another case to resolve this issue. The company has all this information recorded / documented in their system.

Desired Settlement: Please promptly refund $60.87 to our VISA card. if this is not possible for whatever reason, please issue a check in that amount to our home address.

Business Response: The credit card refund was processed on 05/21.

It will probably reflect on the account this week 

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have used this product for two classes that I was taking through EdCC. The first one was Environmental Sciences and upon downloading Pearson I got malware, and additionally having tried multiple locations I could not get it to function properly which negatively affected my final grades. Then last quarter I ended up having to drop out of an English class because again it didn't function correctly which has now affected my financial aid eligibility.The Environmental Science class fee was $28.00, and the English class was $35.00.I would like a full refund. I have attempted several times to contact them at the only phone number I could find, the same one I provided you.Sincerely,

Desired Settlement: The Environmental Science class fee was $28.00, and the English class was $35.00.I would like a full refund. I have attempted several times to contact them at the only phone number I could find, the same one I provided you.

Business Response: Pearson issued refunds today to this customer

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

Bank has verified $38.01 on 4/21 and $7.60 on 4/22 but have no record of either $7.60 refund on 4/21. Giving them the benefit of the doubt, is it possible they refunded these to the wrong account?

Also the larger charge was not $38.01. It was processed for $38.33 on 1/7/15. Transaction number ****************


Business Response: I confirmed with customer service that two refunds in the amount of $7.60 on April 21.  See attached screenshot. 

Regarding the second issue:

the order that was submitted online, the online product was $35.00 and tax was estimated at $3.33 total $38.33.  Her credit card was authorized for this amount.

The final invoice for the order once it was fed to UOPS and was processed and the tax charge was adjusted to $3.01.  When we charged her card for payment for the order we only collected $38.01.





?

5/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 5, 2015 I registered for the **** Assessments for Educators Test 003 Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12). When I purchased the assessment it gave me an option to purchase a practice exam for $29.95 which I did. When I went to look at the assessment, it was a duplicate practice assessment for the OAE Mathematics exam instead of a practice exam for the assessment I am preparing for (I have already purchased the mathematics practice exam AND passed the assessment). I contacted Pearson immediately asking for the tests to be switched or for a refund, and they responded on May 7th that all purchases are final. I wrote back on May 7th to explain in more detail that this was an error on the Pearson website and that I had no intention or motive to purchase a practice exam for a test I'd already completed (and made clear that I don't want a refund, only to have access to the practice exam that I purchased). Pearson responded on May 11th intimating that I intended to purchase a practice exam for the Mathematics exam that I've already passed: "We are unable to honor your request. All purchases are final and cannot be exchanged or refunded. Practice tests can be submitted for scoring once, and candidates may wish to purchase additional access to a test; therefore the option to purchase a practice test more than once is available." I'm embarrassed to have to ask for resolution from the Better Business Bureau but it seems that Pearson will not take responsibility for their error and are putting my test preparation in jeopardy. I would really like to have preparation materials, but I won't buy them again for fear of being charged another $29.95 with no recourse if they deliver the wrong test.

Desired Settlement: I would simply like access to the practice exam for the **** Assessments for Educators Test 003 Assessment of Professional Knowledge: Adolescence to Young Adult (7-12) that I intended to purchase through the Pearson website. I know Pearson values educators and I simply want to properly prepare for the exam that I am taking at the end of this month. I have no use for the Mathematics practice exam and I hope that somebody at Pearson will read my third attempt to communicate and acknowledge that this is a Pearson error and rectify it. I have no use for the duplicate practice exam that they delivered to me in error, and I really would like to prepare properly for this test as I intended (albeit now two weeks later).

Business Response:  Pearson VUE is a computer-based test delivery provider for
information technology certification and professional licensure exams.  Person VUE operates over 5,000 Authorized
Test Centers. 

We value your input and have investigated the information
you provided. Pearson VUE and Evaluation Systems recognizes that candidate
comments contribute to our pursuit of increasing overall quality. We have
reviewed the registration system and have confirmed that there were no errors
with the system at the time of purchase. 
In a gesture of good faith, we have reached out to the candidate and have
extended a voucher to purchase the desired practice exam.

Pearson VUE therefore considers this matter resolved and
respectfully requests that you close this complaint with notation of timely
response and proper handling of the underlying incident.  

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that the resolution is satisfactory to me. I disagree with the characterization of the error as my fault as this is an implausible explanation of events, but by providing the correct product Pearson met my ideal resolution.


2/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pearson Education provides textbooks for college students, with that, if your textbook does not work, expect a decent wait for the product to function properly. I am now going on day 3. And about 4 hours at least, between my book not working and now this duplicate account they refuse to delete. Pearson will not delete or purge accounts, the representatives state that they cannot do this. They can only disable my account but promise that my information is "safe". This is on a duplicate account, that was created so that I could access my coursework. I have now spent over 4 hours working on this issue, now knowing that Pearson will hold accounts hostage indefinitely. For what reason? If a customer demands to have personal information removed, that should be done easily. Not with Pearson, the prices are high, support is iffy, and you are doomed to live in their servers for eternity to come, no matter how you ask to be removed from their system.

Desired Settlement: Delete my account recently created duplicate account (do not disable it... permanently remove all of my information), as it was in attempt to access my coursework, for a book I paid good money for, that I cannot access the material needed and paid for with Pearson. Provide better technical support for your products, ensuring they work when the student needs them for class. I feel like this was a waste of money, and like I want to avoid Pearson at all costs in regards to anything done online .

Business Response:

We found two incidents for this student ******* ******* (email *****************************).  Both registration attempts failed.  We disabled one account and are working with the engineers to try and get the other account fixed.  We do not have the capability of deleting accounts as this is a safeguard for accidentally deleting course work.  If we remove an account, all course work gets deleted as well.  However, since this is a failed registration attempt and the only subscription in the account is the Portal subscription, we updated the escalated incident and asked the engineers if there is any way they can completely remove the account from our systems.  I don't know if they are able to do this but we will keep checking for updates.

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because: this is all information i already know. How is any of this information helpful? I believe for all the time spent, over 4 hours... No contact from pearson in over 24 hours and still no access... I should at least be reimbused for my time, as it should not bethis difficult and it is thursday... The issue was reported monday and i still cant access my course for my homework due on sunday. My instructor has also contacted you. I should get what your reps get, multiplied by the 4 hours i spent online at least... And get a working product. If i cannot completemy online assignment, you should get me up and running and refund me all together, as it is the companies fault the product doesnt work, and im a deans list student that is being extemely inconvenienced. Please do not use my name in anything that would be used online... I didnt use my name on the complaint for a reason. Pearson would not exist if it werent for the need, be a reputable company and do the right thing. Right now this is a dissapointment, and my thoughts are that pearson is catty in response to its customer complaints, and not efficent, and frankly a nightmare.



Business Response: Unfortunately an account can't be completely removed from the database. We can only change the account information so that its inaccessible which looks like it has already been changed.
If she hasnt been contacted already, someone will be in touch with this student to discuss her issues

2/21/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Website and text support tells me to contact them via email to start the refund process, it has been well over 3 days and no response from them. I have tired to email and call more than five times each and no help.

Desired Settlement: I wish for the money to be returned to the bank account it was charged to.

Business Response:

 We just found an earlier incident from the student on 2/8, Incident # *************, where he requested a refund.  We responded on 2/9 that we processed the refund for him.  The rep processed the refund this morning because it hadn't invoiced yesterday.  When we email students to advise a refund was processed we tell them the refund should appear on their card within 10 days to give us time for instances like this when the invoice may not have processed yet

2/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am taking a course online through my local college and after the completion of my course, would complete my requirements needed for graduation. I was able to access my course with Pearson (MathXL) for three days, then was locked out somehow the next time I logged in. After a week straight of listening to customer service tell me to "clear my internet history" or "clear my cookies" and telling the same story over and over, I was finally told that it was an issue on their end and they were "actively" working to fix the issue. It is now just days short of one month passing and I haven't been able to access my course. I have missed my graduation date AND a huge career opportunity because I missed my graduation date. Their lack of concern and the length of time that has passed is completely unacceptable. I paid my college for the course, I haven't been able to access it, and have spent many HOURS trying to resolve this issue by either being on the phone with Customer Service or sending e-mails that get a general "we're working on it" response. I am disappointed in Pearson for not having this fixed and would recommend to ANY college student that they not take an online course with Pearson. I don't know any business that leaves issues with customers unfixed for a month. Poor business practices and this needs to be addressed within the organization.

Desired Settlement: I want to be able to access my course. I want tech support to actually fix my issue in a timely manner.

Business Response:

Pearson's Solutions team is working on this issue.  They state that this issue was caused by school doing a Blackboard "update" (they use the old "Chalk" system for these courses) which broke the connection to XL - their folks are working with Blackboard and XL is seeing if there is anyway to "fix" on our side but although a patch is being planned - not confirmed this will fix the issue.  This issue is really with the school and Blackboard but we will reach out to the Rep for that school and see if there is anything they can do.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
it should not matter where the issue is. I need a solution as I have already paid the money for my course and haven't been able to access. If you cannot get the patch to work which I've heard from no one if it has or hasn't worked, then would starting the course over help? Blackboard updates all the time and I've never had this issue with your site in the past or other education sites. I need a solution. 



Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

On January 16, 2015, our customer service reached out to this student to inform her that the issue was fixed.   She responded that she had access to the course but all the work she had done has been erased. 


We responded asking her to check with her instructor to see if he had her previous grades in their Blackboard system.  She did not reply.  On 1/28/15, customer service replied to this customer with the grades we found and sent her an attachment with that information.  We have not received any reply and closed the incident.

2/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a textbook that came with an online access code. once logged into website and after entering access code I was informed that the access code goes to a different textbook than the one I purchased. I was told there was nothing they could do and that I would need to repurchase the item to get a new code.

Desired Settlement: I had to repurchase so that I could do my homework for my college class. I want a refund of $66.00 for the access code that I had to repurchase.

Business Response:

The student purchased her textbook package with the access code from ******.  She purchased the 11th edition but the instructor's course is using the 9th edition.  Our policy is to refer the student back to ****** to return the product and advise them to purchase the correct code online or at their campus bookstore.

2/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased one of this company's textbooks through ******. It was purchased brand new with the access code, delivered shrink wrapped and the access code affixed inside of the book. I have always done this through this company with no problem. This time, however, the code that came with the book did not work. I contacted Pearson chat and Pearson tech support by phone and was given 3 reasons why this code was not valid. First excuse: "The access code is not suited to your course." Second excuse "They are selling most of our defective product." Excuse 3 "Perhaps ****** put the wrong codes in the book." I requested a new code to be used, but I was told it was outside of their policy. They suggested I return the book . I CANNOT return the book because it is out of the shrink wrap and the code has been scratched (although unused). I find it HARD to believe this company cannot simply give me a new code. The customer service I have experienced was horrible. If I had another choice, I would not order any products through Pearson again! No excuse is valid and any company should stand behind their product! The school is **** *********** ********* ******* and the Instructor is ******** ******. The course is *** **** **** and I do not have the course ID. The email for the instructor is ******************

Desired Settlement: I either want a full refund of the 201.33 I spent on the book and access code or an access code provided so that I may continue my coursework. Of course the second outcome is preferred but it must be before I fall behind in my course. I also can purchase the book at school for over 260.00 and have Pearson reimburse me that cost. I am open to any resolution as long as it is resolved!

Business Response:

As per our policy, we do not replace access codes from packages that were purchased through a 3rd party such as ******.  


However, we will reach out to this student and provide her with a replacement code.  We will only do this one time and in the future she needs to purchase the textbook from her school's bookstore or directly from Pearson to avoid these issues

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The instructor has intervened and was able to obtain an access code.  Thank you for your prompt response and willingness to help!



Regards,

****** ******

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a textbook that was packaged with an online component and it's access code. I attempted to register for the online component but had to stop midway through due to restrictions on my Tablet. When I went to try and complete the registration the website said my access code was invalid. I called Pearson's customer service, which DOES NOT have a toll-free number. I spent over an hour and a half on the phone trying to explain my situation to them. They offered no help other than telling me to go to the campus bookstore where I purchased the book. I know the bookstore will tell me to contact customer service. They eventually told me they would call me back after talking with their supervisor. They called me back saying I would be transferred the supervisor, I was put on hold with an automated message saying "Please wait for the next available agent". I was on hold like that for ~20 minutes, at which point my phone battery died. I have paid for online content I cannot access and need for my final grade. I am not wiling to pay twice! which is what they want me to do. I have spent far too much time attempting to deal with this through their customer service. They must think it's acceptable to keep people on hold and bouncing around between customer service reps in order to frustrate them into pay a second time The Incident # is *************

Desired Settlement: I would like to get access to the online content I have paid for and need for my course

Business Response:

This student did contact us several times and yesterday evening we provided him with a replacement access code.  We checked the new code we gave him and he was able to successfully register and enroll in his course. 

We apologize for the inconvenience this has caused this student.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Billed us for 1045 dollars that we did not authorize

Desired Settlement: We have contacted our credit card company and disputed the charge. We are expecting them to take care of it. We wanted to see if others had the issue.

Business Response: We are investigating this issue and I have been in direct contact with the customer. We will update the BBB asap. 

Business Response:

Our Customer Servcie Dept. spoke to Mrs ***.  The bank stopped the charge before it went through.  We explained that we were a legitimate company and that it could be fraud. 

We had asked Mrs. *** for her card number to investigate, but she wasn't comfortable giving the cancelled card, so we were unable to turn anything more up.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
 

12/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pearson Education has committed fraud by not providing adequate product delivery. Their service is required by my university to meet the standards of my academic program but their lack of service is hindering my performance.

Desired Settlement: At this point in my competitive academic program I am demanding a full refund. I am still seeking other avenues to report this neglectful and abusive use of funds from college students. I intend to collaborate with my cohorts.

Business Response: Our client services team were able to ascertain that there were issues with the links in this cousrse.  The team emailed the student on 10/3/14 to make him aware of our findings and the work we were doing. Since then, we have completed fixing the links to the appropriate remediation resources in his course (and the other courses at*****).  We are still working on a way to link the remediation to the appropriate quiz, but the student can access these quizes in the left hand navigation of the course in the meantime.

9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been required to purchase a course through Pearson for a class and have had substantial difficulty in signing in to the course I paid for which is only available online. While they claim to offer 24/7 customer support, they apparently do not count email and so require everyone to call them. Having no other option to get my product to work, I called them and was put on hold for just shy of 2 hours which to me indicates a lack of concern for customer support on the part of Pearson. When I finally did get through, the person on the line continually ignored what I said (such as how I restarted my computer, cleared and switched browsers, etc) and told me step-by-step all the things I explained I already tried. He further ignored questions I asked and finally just stopped talking to me in the middle of my asking for clarification on what he said. Several hours later, there has been no attempt to contact me even though I gave all my contact information in the beginning of the call.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the time I wasted working through Pearson. My time is worth at least as much as the people paid to answer calls given that my phone costs money and I have better things to do than have someone tell me to do something I just explained having done. So multiply the wage given to whoever answered my call by 2 hours and I'll forgive not being treated like a customer who is over-charged for a terrible product.

Business Response: While we do understand the customer’s complaint about wait times, our agents did attempt to assist this customer with his settings, but it appeared that the customer ended the call while the agent was assisting him.  That being said, we have processed a refund for $30. The refund will be applied back to the customer's credit card within 3-5 business days.

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been required to purchase a course through Pearson for a class and have had substantial difficulty in signing in to the course I paid for which is only available online. While they claim to offer 24/7 customer support, they apparently do not count email and so require everyone to call them. Having no other option to get my product to work, I called them and was put on hold for just shy of 2 hours which to me indicates a lack of concern for customer support on the part of Pearson. When I finally did get through, the person on the line continually ignored what I said (such as how I restarted my computer, cleared and switched browsers, etc) and told me step-by-step all the things I explained I already tried. He further ignored questions I asked and finally just stopped talking to me in the middle of my asking for clarification on what he said. Several hours later, there has been no attempt to contact me even though I gave all my contact information in the beginning of the call.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the time I wasted working through Pearson. My time is worth at least as much as the people paid to answer calls given that my phone costs money and I have better things to do than have someone tell me to do something I just explained having done. So multiply the wage given to whoever answered my call by 2 hours and I'll forgive not being treated like a customer who is over-charged for a terrible product.

Business Response: While we do understand the customer’s complaint about wait times, our agents did attempt to assist this customer with his settings, but it appeared that the customer ended the call while the agent was assisting him.  That being said, we have processed a refund for $30. The refund will be applied back to the customer's credit card within 3-5 business days.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *********

6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased one of this company's textbooks through **********. It was purchased brand new with the access code. I have always done this through this company with no problem. This time, however, the code that came with the book did not work. I contacted the company (*******) to inquire why. Apparently the code had to have been purchased through my school. I was NEVER told this NOR has this been the case in the past. I requested a new code to be used, but I was told it was outside of their policy. They suggested I return the book . I CANNOT return the book because it is out of the shrink wrap and the code has been scratched (although unused). I find it HARD to believe this company cannot simply give me a new code. The customer service I have experienced was horrible. If I had another choice, I would not order any products through them again!

Desired Settlement: I just want a new access code so I can finish my course! I already paid $100+!!! It is through ********s for ******** ********* *******. The course is called ********** *********** *** ********** ** The textbook is********: informed decisions using data 4th edition. The course number is **** ***** *** *****.

Business Response: A replacement code was sent to the student this morning with a suggestion that he make future purchases from MyPearsonStore or his school's bookstore to avoid further issues.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********

3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pearson Education charged my credit card twice on January 23, 2014 for a purchase that was made on January 21, 2014. I have spoken with the company via live chat, telephone conversation and lastly email; 2 emails between the company and myself detailing the error. The company's response to the fraudulent charge is that it is a bank hold to verify that the funds are indeed there and that my bank will release the hold in 24 to 48 hours. My bank statement does not say hold or anything of the like, it reads "purchase." It is obviously not a hold, especially since the transaction happened 11 days ago as of today. I would like to note that the customer service person I chatted with on February 2, 2014 via live chat did indeed acknowledge that I was charged twice. However, the person who emailed me regarding my "refund" stated that it was "just a hold" and my bank should be releasing those funds. The emailed stated it was part of their process. This is not a hold, it is a charge. The funds have been removed from my account.

Desired Settlement: I do want my money back, I want it replaced immediately. However, how can a company compensate me for the loss of my funds for over 11 days and the countless hours I have had to work to retrieve my stolen money (that should never have been taken in the first place)?

Business Response: Pearson has refunded the customer.  The refund should post back to her credit card within 3-5 business days

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, please note that this situation due to Pearson Education's error took several hours of my own time to resolve. Only when the BBB became involved did I receive my due compensation. It is a shame that a company can take funds, unauthorized, from someone's account and not be held liable for their mistake. I was without those funds for more than 7 business days and used my own valuable time to research a solution; all due to no fault of my own.

Regards,

******** ******




















2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Pearson Education about 12 days ago or so, and I asked if the version of a book that I was contemplating purchasing would have an access code that I needed for my class (Biomechanics). I was told by a Pearson Education representative that the book would indeed have an access code, so I purchased it thinking that I would have all of the supplies I need for my class. Once I received the book, I looked for the access code but couldn't find it. I then called back and spoke to another representative who then told me that I was originally misinformed, and that the book that I purchased didn't come with an access code, but this was after I was already told that it DID and after I had already bought the book. I called back one more time a couple of days after that to file a complaint and to make known my feelings that since someone from the company told me in advance of my purchase that I would have an access code, an access code should be provided to me. When I called the third time, I was told that the division of the company I was speaking to didn't have the authority to do anything more than file a complaint, but that someone who did have that authority would be in contact with me within 24 hours. I waited for about 48 hours, and when I received no form of contact, I called once again and spoke to a customer service representative who didn't know anything of the situation and told me he would find out what he could and have someone call me. This someone called me the next morning, asking for the same information I had already given someone I had spoken with previously, and proceeded to get an attitude when I informed her of this fact. My issue has still not been resolved after what has probably been a couple of days more than a week, and the slowness of the company has caused me to miss the window for returning the version of the book I purchased so that I can have the available funds to purchase an access code.

Desired Settlement: Since I was misinformed by this company (see above), I think that they should refund me for the access code that I am now going to have to purchase. I think this is a valid request because the misinformation of the company along with their lack of communication and overall slowness to respond has caused me additional expense that could have been prevented with a truthful answer from the beginning. .

Business Response: Pearson's Customer Service Dept. has reached out to the customer to arrange for a refund.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *******




















1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased access to MyMathLab, an online access to educational materials. I was promised a year of access. But suddenly, only after two months, I lost access to it. I requested Pearson to please restore my access. Pearson refused. I explained to Pearson that I purchased a subscription that was supposed to last longer than just two months. Pearson refused. I asked Pearson for a refund or a new access code. Pearson refused. Furthermore, I requested many times to contact a manager. Pearson ignored my request. This went on for a week. Meanwhile, I never had access to MyMathLab.

Desired Settlement: I would like a new code for access to MyMathLab for full subscription time or a FULL refund so that I could purchase another MyMathLab code. I need to speak to a manager.

Business Response: Summary:
MyMathLab access requires:
1) access code
2) course ID
3) email address.  

This is confirmed on the access kit instructions and also on www.mymathlab.com.  
This student enrolled in course ID *************.  This instructor made the student 'inactive' in the course.  Therefore the student can no longer access the materials.  The instructor manages access into the course AND access into a course is required to be able to access content on MyMathLab.  There is no access without a course ID.  The student requested access as they are self study.  There is no self study available on mymathlab.  Support provided an explanation of the situation to the student and requested for the student to ask for instructor assistance.  The student continues to demand access into the content.  This is not possible without a course ID.  


This student then requested a refund for the used access code.  If this code was purchased at a bookstore or third party site such as Amazon, then they would be responsible for a refund.  

This student then requested access to a next semester Math course.  We can do this.  We will make the access code available to be used again for a course next semester using a course ID.  

thank you 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I had purchased a year access.  I need Pearson to fulfill their end to give me subscription access for the full duration of the time I had purchased.  Not just 2 months or a few weeks.  I paid a lot of money for subscription access and I want all that is entitled with my purchase.  I had requested a REPLACEMENT for Pearson's defective product.  I need a written agreement from Pearson promising either a FULL access for the entire duration for what I had paid for  or an immediate refund.  I need a guarantee that I will have access to MyMathMab.  It is absolutely despicable that Pearson continues to ignore responsibility and take consumers' money and not fulfill their own business end of the bargain. 

I need a name of a specific manager at Pearson who will make sure that Pearson fulfills this promise to give me the FULL subscription access.  Their customer service continues to IGNORE my request to contact a specific manager.  This entire company seems to have no clue who is the leader of customer service.  There is NO oversight on customer service at Pearson.  The lack of customer service quality often exasperates any issues a customer has with Pearson's products. 

Regards,

**** *****





























Business Response: Pearson has agreed to refund the customer $91.02 that he requested.  Pearson's Customer Service Dept. will reach out to the student directly to process this refund.

thank you.

12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company routinely publishes new editions to textbooks. For the sole purpose if charging more money while providing no additional material. In this case the company published the 8th edition to "starting out with C++". The company has charged much more than the 7th edition, but has not made the accompanying material available to be a complete text. The book makes many references to material available on the companion website, but the company has informed me after several months of complaints that they do not know when they will release this material. There is no difference between the 7th and 8th edition, but the company charges more for the 8th, and provides less material. Students are forced to acquire the new edition and are not provided with the necessary material for the course.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the price of the 8th edition, and make the accompanying material (which you already have from the 7th edition ) available to students.

Business Response:

We have processed a refund to this customer.   Thank you

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called Pearson Education in September to order a college book. It was very hard to communicate with the customer service representative due to his thick Indian accent. He informed me that my payment had been declined. I knew there was money in the account, but thought perhaps my bank had blocked the charges since they were from an unusual source. I was very frustrated since I had already spent a long time on the phone, spelling and re spelling my name etc. So I asked to get an order number in case I called back so I wouldn't have to re do everything. I checked with my bank, everything seemed fine. However, later that day I found my school was selling the same book for less, so I purchased it from them. Later I received two books (one from Pearson and one from my school) and two charges. I called and spent another forty plus minutes on the phone trying to understand how my declined transaction had mysteriously gone through and why I now had an extra textbook. I spoke with two representatives, both of which kept repeating 'We show that the book has been shipped to you, you should have received it.' It was infuriating just trying to get them to understand that I shouldn't have received the book at all! I stated that I was told my card was declined and the order wasn't going through and all I wanted was to return the book and get a refund. Finally they understood me and sent me a return shipping label. They said I would get my money back as soon as they got the book back. They charged me 9/19/13 for about $149. I sent the book back 9/24/13 and UPS tracking showed they received it 10/2/13. On 10/10/13 I called since I had gotten no refund. I was then informed it would take six to eight weeks from when they got the book back! I'm a low income college student that works two jobs to cover everything. It is ridiculous for them to tie up $150 of mine for three months that never should have left my account! Then my call was lost being transferred to the credit department....

Desired Settlement: First off I want my money! And not in two months! They have had it for twenty two days now, when it never should have been taken in the first place! I want a change in policy. If it is the companies error they should do a better job of fixing it. Once you tell someone they won't be charged you can't just change your mind. They are at fault and should not get six to eight weeks, beyond the twenty two days they have already had, to fix it. Secondly, I want better training for there employees. If you're going to ship out your jobs over seas then maybe make sure they understand English well enough to deal with your English speaking customers. This whole mess has been increasingly awful because of bad communication. Lastly, I want an apology. This has taken hours away from work and school and has caused me great amounts of stress.

Business Response: The refund will post back to Ms. *******'s credit card within 3-5 business days.  We have forwarded the order and the complaint to Customer Service management to review theirprocedures.    
 
Our apologies to Ms. ******* about the inconvenience this has caused.

If she needs anything further, she can contact me directly.

Thank you

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by Pearson to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******




















10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Pearson system claims to provide 24/7 online support. After two hours of waiting on two separate occasion I believe this claim to be false advertising. The service I paid for is not accessible.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my book and any fees incurred from not being able to complete my course work.

Business Response: Pearson's customer service dept has advised that Ms. ******* purchased the incorrect product from Amazon.  As a courtesy for Ms. *******'s difficulty in contacting the 24/7 online support, we have provided her with the correct access code for her course.

We are also investigating the issue of long wait times for customer service.

thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





















10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can't access a course that I bought from them and then when I tried contacting them via their online chat service, I always end up waiting an hour and they always say to wait two hours. My first contact with them was at 3:50 pm today so I waited. I contacted them again at around 9 and they still said to wait hours. I have an activity due tomorrow in class on that course and I'm not prepared since I can't access the site the course is in. Customer service was disgustingly poor. I am really annoyed right now.

Desired Settlement: I want access to the course that I was supposed to be in! I have all the proof and documentation in which it says that I rightfully purchased that product.

Business Response: This customer stated that he registered and the course was not showing up.  We had experienced registration services unavailable or slow on 9/12/13 between 1:23 PM and 7:19 PM Eastern time.  The first chat incident came in on 9/12/13 at 3:48 PM Eastern time, we notified the customer of this issue and asked him to try registering again at a later time.  The second chat incident came in on 9/12/13 at 9:58 PM and he was registered but his course was not appearing.  Our agent advised him to try accessing again after some time.  This made the customer quite upset and he asked to be transferred to a Supervisor.  The agent advised the customer that they would forward the information of the incident to someone with advanced expertise in supporting the product.  The customer said he was going to end the conversation because he was seriously annoyed and might say things and thanked the agent for their help, then disconnected.  As of this morning, the course has appeared in the customer's account.

We are using this information with the internal teams to make improvements for the future.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased mymanagementlab access for my Human Resource Management course, like several other students and my instructor, my access did not work because Pearson had changed the edition from the 12th (which I have) to the 13th. When I spoke to them, after they had re-issued access codes to several of my classmates and the instructor, they said that since I did not purchase it from my school bookstore, or from them, that they would not provide me with access to the course.

Desired Settlement: Access to the 13th edition of the course, I have paid for it after all.

Business Response: Current policy is that if a student purchases from a third party retailer, they need to contact their point of purchase regarding the return/replacement. If they purchase directly from Pearson or the campus bookstore, Technical Support will replace the product.  It appears that the student purchased the wrong product for his course--the instructor moved into the new edition and he bought and older version.



9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Pearson Education
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart