BBB Accredited Business since

Portugalia Sales Inc.

Phone: (973) 589-1416 Fax: (973) 589-1253 View Additional Phone Numbers 109 Ferry St, Newark, NJ 07105 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers: housewares, appliances, electronics and gifts. Portuguese Tradional Products They specialize in 220Volt 50HZ electronics and appliances. Also Licensed freight forwarders and NVOCC,  and offers Moving and Storage Services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Portugalia Sales Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Portugalia Sales Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 28, 2009 Business started: 05/01/1977 in NJ Business incorporated 05/20/1991 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Federal Maritime Commission
Phone Number: 202-523-5807
Fax Number: 202-275-0059
The number is 021460NF.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Carlos G. Fonseca, President Mr. Tino Mocreia, Sales Ms. Rosa Mocreia, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Carlos G. Fonseca, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Rosa Mocreia, Vice President
Principal: Mr. Tino Mocreia, Sales
Business Category

Freight Forwarding Housewares - Wholesale & Manufacturers Appliances - Major - Dealers Gift Shops Housewares - Retail Exporters Moving & Storage Company Home Electronics Freight Transportation Arrangement (NAICS: 488510)

Method(s) of Payment
all major credit cards and  Pay-pal
Refund and Exchange Policy
No cash refunds. Even Exchanges within 7 days. Original Box and inserts required. Special orders not cancelable.
Alternate Business Names
Portugalia Sales,Inc. Portugalia Shipping

Additional Locations

  • 109 Ferry St

    Newark, NJ 07105 (973) 589-2826 (973) 589-1416


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: on may 9th 2016 i purchased a power converter to be used overseas that inverts 220v to 110v. this product was used properly according to the instructions that came with. my wife's hair straightener was burnt and started smoking which that converter was specifically made for to be used for heating products such as hair dryers,curling irons, coffee makers etc. we did not think much of, we thought that our product has failed. so we tried a different device in the converter which also was rewind. total damages due to the bad product was about $150. when back in the states, i emailed the company back and forth to resolve the issue which they finally refunded my $8 that i paid for the product which was my least issue. this product damaged 2 of my devices. the sales person that i was dealing with informed me that he will escalate the issue but the person that can handle such a thing is on vacation and wont be back for another 2 weeks. so i waited and did not hear from anyone. so i emailed again wondering what is going on. i got a response back that they are only responsible for the product that they sell and back there product 100% but could not do anything about mine. they also mentioned that they wont guarantee how my product was used properly or not which according there product instruction was followed to the T. after emailing back and forth with no resolution he made a smart comment saying that if i new that the product was bad, why was something else plugged in it. they've sold thousands with no complains and there decision is final.

Desired Settlement: Stand behind your product. I'm not asking for both products to be replaced but at least the first one( $100 Chi Hair straightener) that there product caused the damage to, and I can understand the second product which I'll be responsible for.

Business Response:

Dear Mr. Marty ****** and BBB
As stated Mr. ****** purchased the travel transformer May 9th,2016. His first communication with our company was in July 20,2016. This is more than 10 weeks after the purchase was made! It is reasonable to exchange or refund something within 30 days, as it is with **** and our policy, but not after more than 2 months from the original purchase. We also understand that something could go wrong with an item, but it is unacceptable, that Mr. ****** used  the transformer for an electrical shaver. An electrical shaver requires a different transformer, and that information, is clearly stated in the description of our **** item.
We did went ahead and credit the purchase, as a good faith gesture. However we feel the transformer was improperly used.  We send you the links to the **** page where description is clear and detailed. Thank You.
**** item number:
IMPORTANT: This transformer is for short term use only, not intended for continuous use. Limit use per 20-30 minute intervals.
Suitable for hair dryers, hair strengthen pars. Should not be used with appliances that consume more than 1600W. Do not use with kitchen appliances, blenders, mixers, or any heavy machinery. Do not use with any appliance with a motor, cellphones, shavers, radios, computers.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


like i mentioned before, the device that was used first used according to the instructions which was a 1600w hair straightener(please see below) which the converter blew. and the second device was used to test the converter cause we thought our device failed but apparently was not the case. the converter took both out and i dont expect them to cover that second devise. when you are gone for over 2 months over seas on a mission, its hard to get a hold of the company and file a claim. we had to buy new devices that dont work in the states.  the company is blaming us for miss use of their product like they are a 100% sure and were with us overseas and cant admit that may have lemon on their hands.  

IMPORTANT: This transformer is for short term use only, not intended for continuous use. Limit use per 20-30 minute intervals.
Suitable for hair dryers, hair strengthen pars. Should not be used with appliances that consume more than 1600W. Do not use with kitchen appliances, blenders, mixers, or any heavy machinery. Do not use with any appliance with a motor, cellphones, shavers, radios, computers.


Marty ******

Business Response:

Dear Mr.***** and BBB

The statement from Mr.***** is proof that transformer was used improperly! On first complain he states that " we thought that our product has failed. so we tried a different device in the converter". The second product he used, is specifically singled out as a product " Not suitable for shavers", but Mr.***** proceeded, and against the instructions provided, used it incorrectly by connecting it to the shaver. It is very possible that once he connected to the shaver, he did did burn the transformer and by consequence the shaver! If indeed the hair curler was damaged first, he should have stopped using the transformer. If he contacted us at that time, we would immediately advise him to stop using it. Since the transformer was damaged once he tried to connect it to the shaver, there is no way Mr. ***** can guarantee that his hair curler was damaged because of transformer. We respectfully disagree with Mr. ***** regarding this claim.

9/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Portugalia Sales Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)