BBB Accredited Business since

Boulder Brands USA, Inc.

Phone: (201) 568-9300 Fax: (201) 568-6374 115 W Century Rd Ste 315, Paramus, NJ 07652

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Boulder Brands USA, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Boulder Brands USA, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Boulder Brands USA, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 23, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2005 Business started locally: 05/17/2007 Business incorporated 05/01/2005 in NJ
Type of Entity


Business Management
Ms. Connie McGinty, Director, Consumer Response Team Mr. Steve Hughes, CEO/Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Connie McGinty, Director, Consumer Response Team
Business Category

Food Products

Products & Services

Boulder Brands USA, Inc. sells the following brand(s): Earth Balance, Evol, Glutino, Smart Balance, Udi's, Udi's Gluten Free

Boulder Brands USA, Inc. offers the following product(s): Earth Balance, EVOL, Smart Balance, Udi's Gluten Free

Alternate Business Names
GFA Brands, Inc. Smart Balance, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 115 W Century Rd Ste 315

    Paramus, NJ 07652 (201) 568-9300


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I 'm a Stock Holder for this company, once before, and now again. The only reason I reinvested again is the fact that ******* H. is still the CEO. I know his back ground and the companys he has previous work for. By being a stock holder I watch the market daily. I'm very disapionted with the reviews from some companies that state the " Books" are not showing the true facts or that the company could possible be in financial trouble. Either way, this type of management should not or cannot be tolerated. On my previous investment Smart Balance advertise to some degree, and now the advertisement has completely STOP. Good management dictates that in order to sell any product is to advertise,advertise,advertise !!!. It only makes a invester believe that money is being used unwisely to advert money in a area that it doesn't belong. I've invested money in several companies, However, my thoughts on this is starting to make me wounder.

Desired Settlement: Advertise advertise advertise Period.

Business Response:  

Thank you for your comments.  We have shared your feedback with our management team.  In the future, we invite you to submit shareholder
feedback through our investor relations team.  You can learn more about invester topics and view our detailed financial reports at our corporate
website at 




Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service