This business is not BBB accredited.

LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell

Phone: (800) 526-4902 121 Chanlon Rd Ste 110, New Providnce, NJ 07974 http://www.martindale.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Martindale-Hubbell is resource for information on the legal profession. The Martindale-Hubbell Legal Network is powered by a database of over one million lawyers and law firms in over 160 countries.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell include:

  • 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1868 in NJ Business incorporated 01/01/1868 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Andre Franklin, Customer Service
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Andre Franklin, Customer Service
Business Category

Attorneys Referral Service Attorneys & Lawyers - Family Computers Hardware, Software & Services Internet Marketing Services Legal Information Services Publishers - Directory & Guide Other Individual and Family Services (NAICS: 624190)

Alternate Business Names
Martindale-Hubbell

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    121 Chanlon Rd Ste 110

    New Providnce, NJ 07974

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was listed in the directory Findlaw and Martindale.com for a while. After my contract term ended, I went on a month-to-month contract. In about September 2015, I expressed to the sales rep I wanted to cancel. She asked for two weeks. From then I could not get a return call from her. Starting in October of 2015, I was calling and emailing to cancel. From November on, I was sending letters in addition to the calls and emails. There was at least one email and letter correspondence through today per month in response to each invoice. Finally, in February 2016, they agree to honor my requests to cancel; however, they continue to bill me for the prior four months where I didn't want their services and requested them to stop.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor my original requests and have my balance (currently $1099.96) eliminated providing me with evidence that I have a zero balance to my account and owe them nothing.

Business Response:

Good Morning,

Per our terms and conditions the customer is to submit his cancellation in writing 30-60 days prior to the date he wants to cancel, Customer Support has never received this document.  After carefully reviewing this account I decided to honor the customers cancellation request and apply a credit for the outstanding balance and close out this account.

4/12/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Lawyers.com a division of Martingale-Hubbell to be listed in an online directory. Around August or September of 2015, I spoke with my sales representative due to my dissatisfaction and desire to cancel. She asked for two weeks to show an improvement. Since that date, I have been unable to cancel my service. I have written emails, left voicemails and written letters. It took until February 2016 for them to cancel my account; however, they continued to bill me. I believe this was intentionally done to create more bills. There is one woman named ****** P***** in the billing department who from early November has been trying to pass me onto other people. However, those people never respond. Recently, I received an email saying that they would give me a credit for all the months except September and October because they see how I have been trying to cancel since late October / early November. This morning after I paid for those two months, they are trying to back out of their prior statements.

Desired Settlement: I would like my bill cancelled as of when I last spoke with my sales rep in late August / early September. They had said they would cancel as of Nov 1, but now they are trying to bill me again for all of the months even though they know and acknowledged I they see how I was trying to cancel. Therefore, I want my account credited to a zero balance and them to refund me the payment I recently made for the months of September and October.

1/5/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few months ago, I received an email from Martindale-Hubbel asking me to participate in its Peer Review Rating Survey. It asked me to rate several attorneys practicing in and near Orlando, FL. I don't practice law, live about 3000 miles from there, and never heard of the attorneys they listed. Nevertheless, I attempted to fill out their survey form - but the form would not accept my answers that I had no knowledge of the individuals listed. I then emailed Martinale-Hubbel and asked them not to send me any such ratings surveys because they were only wasting my time and theirs. I received from them an email stating that I had been removed from their mailing list and would receive no further surveys. They lied. A couple of weeks ago, I received another such ratings survey request. I of course knew none of the attorneys listed, so I took advantage of M-H's option which said "unsubscribe here from email communications regard the Peer Review Program." According to the next sentence in M-H's email, I would "not receive invitations ... to rate any attorneys." I then received a message from M-H stating that I had been successfully unsubscribed. They lied again. Today, I received yet another request to rate a list of individuals under M-H's Peer Review Program. Twice, they told me that I would receive no further such requests. Twice they lied.

Desired Settlement: Martindale-Hubbel obviously doesn't care about keeping their promises to individuals. If BBB contacts them, perhaps they will follow through on their promise to stop sending Peer Review Rating requests. We're all inundated with unwanted spam emails, and when possible I contact the sender and request that they stop sending them. With most unscrupulous spammers, the effort is futile. But with a reputable business such as Martindale-Hubbel, a request to be removed from its mailing list should result in quick and final action. If that request comes from me, a substitute teacher in the ********* ** School District, they ignore it. If it comes from the BBB, hopefully it will be honored with a quick removal from their contact list.

Business Response:

Hello-

*** ****** contacted us in September of this year. Our database still had him listed as an actively practicing attorney in the state of Florida (as many other legal website still do). At the time, we removed him from our database which in the typical circumstance would have prevented him from receiving any future ratings emails.

We started up the review requests that we initiate in Florida again in December. However, these requests were based on data from earlier in the year prior to *** ******'s listing being removed from our website.

From my review of our records, *** ****** did not contact us when he was sent the additional emails on December 11th. We certainly apologize for the inconvenience. It is not at all that we don't care or don't respond to substitute teachers. We are taking the necessary steps to confirm *** ****** will not be included on any future requests to rate lawyers. I will follow up on this note once that is completed, which should be before 12/24.

10/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In July I received an email message from *********** about a legal plan I applied for through their website. I was assigned an account ID number (***** for this *********** legal plan, and a $14.99 fee was deducted from my credit card account in July, August, and September. On October 13th, I sent a request by email to cancel this *********** legal plan, I received a reply from Martindale-Hubbell law group that they had no record of my legal account or for a "***** ** *****. If I had no real legal plan with that law group, then they had no right to bill my credit card account for the $14.99 for at least three months.

Desired Settlement: I would like Martindale-Hubbell law group (************ *to refund all the legal plan fees deducted from my credit card account, because according to this law group, I had no real legal plan with them, but was charged $14.99 at least three times.

Business Response: Good Morning,

This individual does not have a subscription with ***********, we only sell marketing to attorneys and law firms.  She needs to contact ********** they are the ones that offer the plan she is referring to and paying monthly for. These are two totally separate companies and websites.   See the link *****************************************

Thank you,
Andr'e S. Fr******
Customer Support Manager
Martindale-Hubbell

7/20/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired this company to create and maintain a criminal website for my law firm to attract new clients. The local sales rep with 15 years of experience assured me that I would be able to receive 250 client hits or more a month to my site based on my market area. However, before the site went live, the local rep was let go to save money and I had a new rep in New Jersey. They created a website but did not optimize it as was required. My website never moved past page 5 of google. After 5 months I began to complain in August of 2014. They will not provide me with information regarding how many persons visited my site but for one month of August (about 94 visits). They likely know that the product produces nothing as I can tell because of the utter lack of phone calls each month. By October 2014, I complained again and told them the site did not work and it was time to cancel it. The Rep from this company assured me she would look into it and get to the bottom of it. By January 2015 she did nothing, but I did get a call from their billing department inquiring why I refused to continue paying on the account. I explained that the Rep has not done anything on the account and failed to even get back with me (I kept the emails) - she will not and has not told me what if any traffic I received to the site. The company wanted to know if after four months of doing nothing they could run a test or look into the issue. It was far too late given their lack of services. The final straw for this complaint was their promise to refer it over to their billing department to look into my complaints and offer to pay up until they stopped working on the account. Rather than do as promised, they sent it to an outside bill collector. The lack of service and bad product make this company and their websites useless to the average buyer. DO NOT use this company. If you want to have a website that is not optimized and a service department that does nothing then hire this company

Desired Settlement: I offered to pay them up until October 2014 when they promised to look into the problems with the website. They said they would look into why the site was not producing web traffic. They did not look into the problems and certainly did not fix them. I had told them that I would be canceling in October 2014 due to the lack of performance. My criminal business has suffered immensely from their bad product and bad service. I have emails to back up my complaints. I just received notice that an outside collection agency despite the fact they said their billing department would look into it. Again, just another lie - they do not care about the customer or how they treat the customer. The product does not work.

Business Response: When we received the original complaint, a representative was assigned to review *** ********** issue and follow up with him. Our representative researched his concerns and discussed in further detail with the relevant parties who handled his account. We followed up with *** ******** by phone on June 18th and June 24th and our representative spoke with him on June 25th. After that call, we discussed further internally and contacted *** ******** via email on July 1st to schedule a call to finalize a settlement. *** ******** responded on July 6th. We hope to have this issue resolved shortly.

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal customer of Martindale Hubbell for several years (at least as early as 2005). I engaged them to assist me in preparing a Website and conducting an advertising campaign for my law office. Pursuant to the contracts and agreements I entered into, I paid in excess of $150,000.00. I am highly dissatisfied with the services I received. Most recently I discovered that my website was down for a period of time. I tried to access my website unsuccessfully. This was a clear breach of the contracts by the firm. Unfortunately, this happened repeatedly. After numerous complaints I received a credit of $841.00. This was only part of the problem. I was double billed, my email address was mistakenly listed for several months, the Newsletters I was supposed to receive were never updated despite our contractual agreement, the company failed to insert my picture in my website despite repeated requests; the company presented me with overlapping contracts for the same Pay Per Click services in an attempt to extend my contractual terms despite my requests to terminate those services. My service rep said the second contract would not be voided unless I signed a 3rd contract. I sought to terminate the contract based on the loss of business resulting from the unreliable website, improper advertising, double billings and general inefficiency in the advertising campaign. I have requested that the company terminate the contract, not charge an early termination fee, and allow me to have access to the website which I paid for a long time ago. The rep wrote me that that the company retains the right to charge a fee to authorize the release of their work product.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to terminate the contract without an early termination fee charge, release the website to use the template wording to use the site elsewhere.

Business Response:

Please see the below information regarding the customers dispute

 

We issued credits  for the firm's double billing PPC in Dec. '12 and for the newsletters.

 

The firm listing had been brought down in error November 2012, but we had issued a credit for 1 week; since we were able to restore the listing back on-line.

 

We updated his e-mail as requested back in December of 2012 for the quick contact forms.

 

The account services have already been canceled and stopped billing.

 

However, the firm continued billing in error for the PPC Custom services, which we have recently submitted the appropriate credit approval to adjust the firm's billing accordingly.

 

We waived the early termination fees when the account was cancelled prior to the expiration of the term of their agreement in Oct. 2013

 

We have forwarded the attorney the necessary domain release requirements in e-mail as of 4/29/14.

 

 

Please let me know if there is anything further you need at this time

 

Thank you

*******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)