BBB Accredited Business since

LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell

Phone: (800) 526-4902 121 Chanlon Rd, New Providnce, NJ 07974 http://www.martindale.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Martindale-Hubbell is resource for information on the legal profession. The Martindale-Hubbell Legal Network is powered by a database of over one million lawyers and law firms in over 160 countries.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell include:

  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s)

Factors that raised the rating for LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 15, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1868 in NJ Business incorporated: 01/01/1868 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Category

Attorneys Referral Service Attorneys & Lawyers - Family Computers Hardware, Software & Services Internet Marketing Services Legal Information Services Publishers - Directory & Guide Other Individual and Family Services (NAICS: 624190)

Alternate Business Names
Martindale-Hubbell

Additional Locations

  • 121 Chanlon Rd

    New Providnce, NJ 07974

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal customer of Martindale Hubbell for several years (at least as early as 2005). I engaged them to assist me in preparing a Website and conducting an advertising campaign for my law office. Pursuant to the contracts and agreements I entered into, I paid in excess of $150,000.00. I am highly dissatisfied with the services I received. Most recently I discovered that my website was down for a period of time. I tried to access my website unsuccessfully. This was a clear breach of the contracts by the firm. Unfortunately, this happened repeatedly. After numerous complaints I received a credit of $841.00. This was only part of the problem. I was double billed, my email address was mistakenly listed for several months, the Newsletters I was supposed to receive were never updated despite our contractual agreement, the company failed to insert my picture in my website despite repeated requests; the company presented me with overlapping contracts for the same Pay Per Click services in an attempt to extend my contractual terms despite my requests to terminate those services. My service rep said the second contract would not be voided unless I signed a 3rd contract. I sought to terminate the contract based on the loss of business resulting from the unreliable website, improper advertising, double billings and general inefficiency in the advertising campaign. I have requested that the company terminate the contract, not charge an early termination fee, and allow me to have access to the website which I paid for a long time ago. The rep wrote me that that the company retains the right to charge a fee to authorize the release of their work product.

Desired Settlement: Allow me to terminate the contract without an early termination fee charge, release the website to use the template wording to use the site elsewhere.

Business Response:

Please see the below information regarding the customers dispute

 

We issued credits  for the firm's double billing PPC in Dec. '12 and for the newsletters.

 

The firm listing had been brought down in error November 2012, but we had issued a credit for 1 week; since we were able to restore the listing back on-line.

 

We updated his e-mail as requested back in December of 2012 for the quick contact forms.

 

The account services have already been canceled and stopped billing.

 

However, the firm continued billing in error for the PPC Custom services, which we have recently submitted the appropriate credit approval to adjust the firm's billing accordingly.

 

We waived the early termination fees when the account was cancelled prior to the expiration of the term of their agreement in Oct. 2013

 

We have forwarded the attorney the necessary domain release requirements in e-mail as of 4/29/14.

 

 

Please let me know if there is anything further you need at this time

 

Thank you

*******

9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service