This business is not BBB accredited.

Maxwell Gates Enterprises

Additional Locations

View Additional Phone Numbers 88 E Main St Ste H # 433, Mendham, NJ 07945


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers business opportunities.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Maxwell Gates Enterprises include:

  • 65 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 64 complaint(s) filed against business
  • BBB concerns with the industry in which this business operates

Factors that raised the rating for Maxwell Gates Enterprises include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

65 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 32
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 65

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maxwell Gates Enterprises
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 24, 2011 Business started: 04/01/2008 in NJ Business incorporated 04/01/2008 in
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Gates, President
Business Category

Work-At-Home Companies Business Opportunity Companies

Alternate Business Names
Capital Enterprises, Inc. David Gates Inc. Gordon James Enterprises Maxwell Scott Enterprises Preston Lord Enterprises Warner Daniel Enterprises
Additional Information

Starting December 2012 the BBB received several calls alleging non delivery of materials by Preston Lord Enterprises  after the initial payments were sent to the company. The BBB asked the consumers to provide a written copy of their disputes.

Preston Lord Enterprises responded to complaints filed with the BBB stating that the materials were sent to the consumers. Those complaints were closed as resolved.  Additional complaints alleged that after the initial package was received a new letter disclosed that one had to continue paying for more leads at half of the initial start-up fee.  The company responded by referring to the terms set out in the company letters and advises customers to read carefully what was provided.

The BBB advises consumers seeking any work at home jobs to ask the program sponsor to list every step of the job and to ask if the pay is based on client response (commission).  Additional information about the expenses incurred, including supplies, additional fees should also obtained.


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    100 Campus Dr.

    Florham Park, NJ 07932

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    275 Route 10 E Ste 220 # 124

    Succasunna, NJ 07876

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    275 Route 10 E. Suite 220, #50

    Succasunna, NJ 07876

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5 Lyons Mall, Suite 777

    Basking Ridge, NJ 07920

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    88 E Main St Ste H

    Mendham, NJ 07945

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    88 E Main St Ste H # 433

    Mendham, NJ 07945

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    95 W Main St Ste 5 # 221

    Chester, NJ 07930

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Delivery Issues
11/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my payment to this company only after reading what a scam they are. I have tried to call, same stupid recording even at 1am saying that they were extremely busy with other customers. They sent me a threatening letter about my cancelled check, threatening to put me in jail, again, I'm not using their material, I can't send it back. And they are know scam artists.

Desired Settlement: I just want my name erased from their data base and my "debt" to be written off.

9/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Preston Lord Enterprise misrepresented in their advertising letter by not disclosing all details of the program. I was under the impression of the letter I would be stuffing letters only but the letters that are place in the envelopes and mailed to individuals they have to reply back in order to make money. You have to continue to mail hundreds and hundreds of letter to make money. When I receive my package a letter stated for additional supplies you can pay $98.50 or photocopy them yourself which is still another cost. Again this was not stated in the advertisement letter. I mailed the 100 letters but apparently no one replied back. If people reply back the letters are addressed to Preston Lord Enterprises and they suppose to send checks to the mailers. I sent a letter dated 6/25/14 requesting a refund of $199.00 for this program because they purposely misrepresented and did not state all details of this program. I also stated to get people to respond back would require enormous mailing of letters 300, 500, 1000 to make money, that would be a substantial cost. I also stated these details should be laid out in the letter but if you do that how many people would reply. If I had known I wouldn't have replied. I requested them to refund the amount I paid $199.00 but to this date they have not responded.

8/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I CONTACTED PRESTON LORD ENTERPRISES REGARDING A WORK FROM HOME OFFER THEY ADVERTISED. I SENT IN MY MONEY, RECEIVED THE MAILING INFORMATION, AND FOLLOWED THEIR INSTRUCTIONS TO THE LETTER IN DOING THE MAILINGS. IN THEIR COVER LETTER THEY STATED THAT MONEY WOULD BE REFUNDED IN 60 DAYS IF I DID NOT MAKE ANY MONEY. I HAVE SENT TWO REQUESTS FOR PAYMENT RE-IMBURSEMENT AS THEY REQUESTED IN THEIR ORIGINAL COVER LETTER. I ORIGINALLY SENT MY PAYMENT OF $399.00 ON APRIL 30, 2014. I RECEIVED THE MAILING SUPPLIES ON OR ABOUT MAY 10, 2014. I SPENT AN ADDITIONAL $245.00 IN POSTAGE TO MAIL OUT THEIR ADVERTISING. I ALSO SENT THEM $99.00 TO PARTICIPATE IN THEIR BOOKLET MAILING PROGRAM. THEIR OFFER WAS THEY WOULD PAY ME $5.00 FOR EVERY ENVELOPE THEY RECEIVED BACK WITH MY "CODE" ON IT. I MAILED ALL LETTERS OUT ON OR BEFORE MAY 18, 2014. TO DATE I HAVE NOT RECEIVED ANY MONEY FROM THEM. AS I STATED I HAVE SENT THEM TWO LETTERS APPROXIMATELY 3 WEEKS APART REQUESTING THE REFUND ME THE SUM OF $743.00. TO DATE I HAVE RECEIVED NO CORRESPONDENCE FROM THEM WHATSOEVER.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE PRESTON LORD ENTERPRISES TO REFUND MY $743.00 IN ACCORDANCE TO THEIR TERMS. IT HAS BEEN WELL OVER 60 DAYS.

8/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i got a letter in the mail from preston lord ent. to stuff envelopes so i sent in for my package..3 weeks latter i got my package.. so i sent in for my name lables . its been 2 months since i sent out the 2 money orders for my name lables. this company took my money an i dont know what to do about it. an now i caint even get ahold of the compny. they were supose to provide me with a number an never did please help me

Desired Settlement: i would like all my money back which includes ... $150 for stamps.. $199 for the package $40 for the envelopes $300 for the copys i had to make.. $100 for name lables i never got.i have requested they send me the refund that they promused me if i was not happy but i never got a responce.

7/3/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order this product from Mr.******* on the assumption that I will be making money hone stuffing envelopes and mailed $139.00 and he cashed my money order on April 3 2014 I would just like to know how to go about getting my money back as soon as possible

Desired Settlement: I was supposedly making $690.00 a week n that would have help me to take care of me and my 6 children my car insurance my credit repair and help me to live comfortable if there is anything you can do about this concerns please contact me @ ********** or @ *******************

5/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined this mail order processing letters SCAM in Jan 31 2014, after realizing that I was SCAMMED I requested my full refund of $198.00, I have NOT received ANY MONIES from this company and they refuse to give a phone number in which to call. I cancelled my order March 27 2014 requesting my full refund of $198.00. I had NOT received any monies from the envelops I sent out in Feburary. So I know this is a scam, I want the BBB to warn other people that they are not a honest company and becuase everything is mail...time becomes the issue. They do NOT have a website to visit, I know should have been my first clue that it was a scam. They NEVER have responded to my 7 letters I have sent demanding to cancel and receive my $198.00. I want to go on record that this company should be invesitgated, they are scamming good honest Americans that are looking to find some extra income.Tks *****

Desired Settlement: I want my full refund of $198.00.

5/22/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up , paying $99. When I received the booklets that I was supposed to sell, they were so cheaply made and it was not what his letter said I would be doing. I wasn't about to rip others off with these cheap booklets. I sent in my refund request because he never gives an address or email to contact, well within the 60 Day Money back guarantee and have never heard from him. I actually mailed 2 letters to him and never heard back nor did I ever receive my money back.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back, $99.00

5/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is a fraud. They sent a letter to my home requesting a check for a REFUNDABLE FEE of $399.00 to get my started in their work at home business. A check was sent 4/7/14 and was cashed 4/14/14. I sent a letter to get my full refund on my check on 4/17/14 and have not heard a thing back from them. I have mailed another letter of complaint to get my money back 4/24/14. I have tried to call the number provided and it provided the same automated system saying there is a high volume of callers at that time. This never changes with each call to them. I have filed with the FTC about this company and they recommended filing with the BBB in New Jersey to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: A refund for the $399 check as promised is my desired outcome.

5/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: WORK FROM HOME JOB FILLING ENVELOPES I mailed 100.00 4/4/14. I paided 20.00 for next day priorty mail and i still havent received anything back. i called but the number is only for paying customers. The nature of my coplaint SCAM THE COMPANY TALKS ABOUT MAKING MONEY WORKING FROM HOME. THE COMPANY ADVERTISED EMPLOYMENT AND JUST TOOK MY MONEY.

Desired Settlement: REFUND

5/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recieved a letter offering a Money earning "Opportunity" stuffing envelope for 10$ per envelope. enterance fee 399$ for 99 letters to be stuffed. in the info it stated payment for every letter returned to Preston Lord. When the materials came the instructions made it clear that it ment every letter returned to them that included a registration and fee of 99$. This is not what the original papers said or I would never have bitten on the "Opportunity." I am returning the materials and a letter requesting refund of my 399$. but I want others to be aware I feel this is a scam. I checked them out with the BBB before proceeding but did not find any complaints.

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ***** * *********, received a letter in the mail around Feb 13th, 2014 from Preston Lord Enterprises. They gave us hope that we could earn money from home putting pages in order, stapling and then mailing their booklets. The letter said that they would prepay us before any booklets were to be mailed. We read that if we weren't making the kind of money they told us we would make after 60 days we could get a refund of $99.00 + $35.00 for giving them a try. We felt safe with that. Watched the video and was impressed. Responded on Feb 27, 2014 to mail received to earn money at home stapling and mailing booklets for Preston Lord Enterprise I registered in my husband’s name, ***** * *********. Didn't hear or read anything about having to spend extra money for list of names, booklets, envelopes, stamps, pay to have more flyers made etc. until we received our package in the mail. We received a list of names, envelopes, flyers, and a sample of each booklet. Along with instructions on how much the list of names, booklets would cost to get more. We were told to pay to make copies of the flyers and then pay the postage to mail out the flyers after buying more lists of names and booklets to have on hand. There was no phone number to contact a real person like the video said. If we had known that we would have to spend more money in order to get our refund of $99.00 after 60 days plus an extra $35.00 we wouldn't have sent the $99.00 + $5.00 + .49 in the first place since we are on a tight budget. We decided to not mail anything out and decided to contact the company by certified mail spending another $3.79 and asked for a refund of our $99.00. We gave them a time frame but have heard nothing. According to USPS it was delivered on March 21, 2014. We told Preston Lord Enterprises that we are willing to return the list of names, envelopes, booklets and flyers that they originally sent to us if we heard from them and they give us a refund of the $99.00. We have heard nothing.

Desired Settlement: We feel we were deceived with the original letter soliciting us to work from home for Preston Lord Enterprises. We would like our initial payment of $99.00 + $35.00 (for all of the inconvenience, additional money we spent to contact Preston Lord Enterprises) to register with this company. I have the original paper work we received in the mail making what we feel to be false statements. Nothing was said about having to buy list of names, envelopes, booklets and paying postage. Instead they said, "You'll receive ADVANCE PAYMENT for each booklet that you staple...As soon as you register to work with our company, we'll get you placed in our data base and rush your initial supplies immediately. The supplies you'll work on a regular basis consist mainly of numbered booklets pages. Your job will be putting the pages in numerical order, putting the booklet cover on top of each set of pages, and then stapling the whole thing together to form a complete booklet." This was not the case.

5/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received communication via mail from this company advertising substantial earnings by simply mailing pre-printed letters to a pre-printed mailing list. I chose to opt for the most inexpensive option and mailed them a check for $99 in January 2013. I did receive the letters and mailing list as expected and followed the instruction very carefully so I would earn as much as possible. I mailed out over 500 letters for this company in about a 3 week period. I received 3 checks for $10 each as payment. In addition (per another advertisement) I requested additional pre-printed mailing labels for which I sent them another check for $50 on 02-14-13. I then received another communication via mail from this company advertising an even larger earning potential for mailing out advertisement booklets. I opted to take advantage of this opportunity as well and sent them a check for $104 on 02-14-13. I received the materials and again followed the instructions very carefully and completed the work. I mailed out 500 more letters for this company with the hopes of receiving money directly from consumers who were interested in the same opportunity. I did not receive and=y further communication or payments from this company. In addition the company promised to refund the initial investment as well as any postage that I paid for. I have not received any money back as of today. I tried to call the # listed and only get a recording every time. I did write the company twice (10-16-13 and today) and included documentation of all monies paid and requested a full refund. I have not gotten a response as of today.

Desired Settlement: The company did not deliver the promised results so I am requesting a full refund as well as compensation for the money that I spent on postage mailing their letters out. In total the company owes me $372.60. I would like this sent in the form of a check payable to me at my home address as soon as possible.

5/4/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Was sent a job offer in the mail to make up to 1500 a week mailing out advertisements. They poste a fake video on you tubeshowing an amount that was suposedly made by the user of the job.I laid out 635 dollars for their supplies and postage.I did not receive any money for my work and I would like a refund from this company.

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: sent money order Western Union number # ***********sent on 3/10/2014 amount of $99.00 to the forementioned company with no results or further correnspondence.

Desired Settlement: return of monies sent

4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/23/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/12/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Again this cam up for Preston Lord Enterprises but I and others sighrnrd up to mail letters and got a kit and mailed out a 100 at MY postage expense promising 109.00 for each answered one and in over a mth we have seen NOTHING. and when we looked it up it said it was a scam!! These companies should NOT get away with this crap.. Please for once DO something!

Desired Settlement: Get my 99.0plus 48.00 postage0 back AND STOP THE CREEPS!!!!!

4/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I followed all the directions to the tee, mailed in a check for the specified amount on January 6, 2014, and we have not heard one word from the Preston Lord Enterprises. We want our money refunded immediately!!!! Also, no one will talk to me via the telephone service either. You are the only means of contact with this company I have found. Thank you for your help with this matter. ****** ** ******

Desired Settlement: The initial investment of $ 199.00 plus the postage for the stamps of $100.00-----a total of $245.00. Thank you,****** ** ******

4/1/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a letter from Preston Lord Enterprises stating that I could stuff envelopes for a profit, I sent my money to preston lord enterprises and did not hear from them or receive the product that should have been sent to me, I sent them $100.00 dollars on 02/06/2014 I never heard from them. I would like for you to investigate my complaint to see if you can get them to respond.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get my $100.00 dollars back and a letter of apology.

3/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/22/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i sent them $99 for stuffing envolopes at home job i sent them that money witch i do not have alot of money i have not recieved any envolopes to stuff i want my money back

Desired Settlement: i would like my $99 back

2/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not get into what was advertised I paid for a service in which I am not getting and therefore I feel for the lack of service that I should be entitled to a refund.

Desired Settlement: a refund of the amount in which I paid for which was $99.00

Consumer Response: what they offer is not true its misleading information

2/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i recive a letter from preston lord enterprises to work from home stuffing envelops for a one time fee of 99.00 witch will be refund back to me on my first check but i havent recive any of the product that i was suppose to get and the phone no just ring and ring i would like to get the product and do the work or get my money back but i can not get in touch with any one so can you help me with this matter please if i cant get the product to do the work i would love to get my 100.00 back i sent them a money order for 100.00 and i still have the resept to my money order and i had the letter register so they had to sign for it Thank You ****** ********

Desired Settlement: or i will do the work

2/20/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Home Workers Wanted Mailing out their booklets for $20.00 per booklet. All booklets and materials will ship to your home promptly. These booklets are (Get Credit Now). Stupid me sent them a money order for $104.00. $99.00 + $5.00 for RUSH. I also included questions they never answered. I waited and waited and waited. I had to write to them to send my package or refund. They guaranteed a refund plus an additional $35.00. They finally sent the package, some rush. The package was a listing of charges for how many booklets, charges for labels, I have to pay for copies of this letter or flyer and I have to pay for postage. I had no phone# except this: ###-###-####. I had no contact person or phone #. I returned everything and request for a refund since 12/04/13. I can't do business like this.Ordered on 11/07/13, wrote to them regarding my package on 12/02/13 and returned everything they mailed to me on 12/04/13. I haven't heard from them at all regarding a refund. Call this # they left: ###-###-####.

Desired Settlement: Refund 0f $104.00 and the $35.00 guaranteed additional fee. What was the purpose of sending them the $104.00. I don't even know. There is no communication with them, no contact person or #.

1/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/28/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on may 3rd 2013 I paid a one time application fee/deposit of $99.00 to join their team of independent home mailers I was sent envelopes letters and circulars to mail out but the problem that I am having is that when I call their phone number for customer support at 1-800-446-7419 all I keep getting is an automatic recording that never leads to nothing the recording just keeps repeating itself what can I do about this how do I get in touch with them or even to get a refund of my money because I haven't earned any money through their company for which they claimed at the time I could if I followed the instructions which were to insert a circular into an envelope put a label on it seal the envelope then mail out the letters and wait to hear back from them I did this and nothing happens today is Saturday November 23rd 2013 and I've still haven't heard anything.

Desired Settlement: $99.00

12/14/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 09-29-2013 I sent this company a money order for $99.00 that they requested and then they sent me a start up kit and then I sent them $50.00 for a list of 200 mailing list 9-2-2013 which they sent me and I have mailed there fliers to all of the mailing list names. Now I have wrote I think 3 letters to them, asking them why I have not received a check as they have promised to do each week. { even called there ###-###-#### and it said that it was not for me to call and it would not let me talk to anyone?] I WOULD LIKE FOR YOU TO FIND OUT WHY I CAN NOT GET AN ANSWER FROM THEM AS THEY HAVE NOT ANSWERED ANY OF MY THREE LETTERS? HERE IS MY CODE# WITH THEM ****** AS I HAVE USED THIS CODE # IN MY LETTERS THAT I HAVE SENT.

Desired Settlement: That they are not going to live up to there agreement with me and send my checks for the letters that they have received from my mailings then I want them to send my $99.00 back to me because they are not living up to there agreement. THANK YOU ******* **** ***** IS *****************

12/3/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about August 16, 2013 I paid $299 by money order for a business opportunity from Preston Lord Enterprises that came with a money-back guarantee in writing if unsatisfied for any reason. The program was grossly and deceptively misrepresented and I sent it back on or about September, 18, 2013.

Desired Settlement: The desired outcome is a refund.

11/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 49 envelope program for $99.00 & received only 10 envelopes for which to start my "in home" business. I tried calling Preston Lord Enterprises aka Maxwell, however I got only a recording. I sent them a letter on August 2, 2013 & got no response from them. I would like to have my $99.00 returned to me as soon as possible. Preston Lord Enterprises is a scam!

Desired Settlement: Total amount due to be refunded, $104.00 including shipping & handling....I want my money back from these scammers.

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I entered a business agreement with this business back in July. I fulfilled all duties assigned to me. They do not guarantee that money will be made with this system. However they do promise to respond to inquiries sent by mail in a timely manner. They also state that the employee will be satisfied with the results IF they follow the instructions perfectly as I did. I have sent four separate letters since becoming their employee simply requesting answers to my questions. The last letter was sent certified mail. They have refused to respond in any manner to my inquiries. I have invested $430 in this business since July for the original start-up fee, postage, and other business related expenses. I expect to at least be treated with simple honest respect. This company has taken all of my money and seemingly fallen off the face of the earth. One of my questions to them was how do they prove to me if any of my material is returned, which is how I would earn my paycheck. I believe they have taken my original sign up cost using false advertising and enticed me to spend the additional amount through empty promises. I believe this company is fraudulent in its business dealings of all kinds.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $456. This amount covers my original sign up cost and the amount of money spent on postage. I feel the original start up cost should be refunded because the business is misleading in its advertising and dishonest in its communication. I feel the postage cost should be reimbursed because the company states in its information that the postage will be reimbursed, they have the receipts for all of the postage, so they have the proof of what I spent.

11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from Preston Lord Enterprises, offering me it's services, of stuffing their envelopes with their inserts. In return I would receive $10.00 for every envelope I stuffed with their inserts.they offered 5 groups for which one can get started; each group pays a higher amount because they are a larger amount, of envelopes and inserts. I chose the least amount. which were 49 inserts and envelopes, at $10,00 each. It cost me $99.00, and was mailed out on July /07/2013.I have not received any thing. I wrote to them 3 to 4 times asking for a refund and still nothing. I used a USA postal money order and asked that my money order be tracked. Please help me if possible get a refund for $99.00. Thank You:***** *****

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my $99.00. How ever if they are a real business, doing what they claim, and pay how they claim. If they sent me the material I would still work with them.

11/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: job offered to pay $10.00 per envelope stuffing and that we'd receive reimbursement for our stamps; we were asked to send check of $299.00 for 290 letters,290 envelopes and 290 customer mailing labels. When we received the package the letter inside stated we would have to send another check for half that amount ($299.00) and we would only be paid for the returned letters and no postage payment would be made until we received 9 checks. Every month we were expected to send in more money and receive letters, envelopes and mailing labels if we wanted to continue this work. We feel we should have been told what the total cost to us. We feel this is total misrepresentation.

Desired Settlement: We would like the return of our initial investment of $299.00; that seems fair and no more contacting us about anything.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to a letter about stuffing envelopes with the impression that I would be working as an outsource type of job where I would stuff them, send them, and the company would pay for each envelope I sent. When I received the materials, I found out I would only be paid according to the people who responded and I was told I would have to pay more for more materials or pay to photocopy the letter and obtain leads from another source if I wished or pay for them also, which would still mean more money & time out on my part without a assurance of repayment of my expense or for the work performed unless someone else responds to this.

Desired Settlement: They required me to send earnest money, so I would like to be reimbursed it and postage paid to return the materials because the details were different than in the original letter requiring additional cost on my part.

11/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently received a letter from Preston Lord Enterprises stating that if i sent them $99 i could work at home assembling "Get Credit Now" booklets. So i called the 1-800 number that they provided (1-800-446-7419) and when i finally got someone on the phone i gave them the information to take the $99 off of my pre-paid debit card. The lady then informed me that for an extra $5 i could get priority shipping and have the product in two or three days. so i approved it and she took $105 off of my card. Well it has now been a week and a half and now when i call i can never get anyone on the phone and i have still not received my booklet. I feel like I have been scammed and hope that by letting the BBB know what happened you can stop them before anyone else gets scammed. Thank You

Desired Settlement: I feel like I deserve a refund due to the fact that i was promised a product in a verbal agreement and never received anything and can not get any help from the company. Thank You

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Aug.30,2013 I sent a money order to ******* **** ***. for a work at home business in the amt. of $104.00. I do no longer want to do business with this company as I have not received any materials or calls since sending them my money. The phone number is ALWAYS BUSY due to a high volume of calls so I can't let them know I want a refund ...

Desired Settlement: I want my money back... I am not interested in scams...

10/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am following up on a previous complaint. I sent Preston Lord enterprises the whole folder of paperwork and didn't put it to use. I requested $135 per the agreement to be paid back to me in refund. I have proof of delivery of the package I sent back to them. It was sent out 8/29/13

Desired Settlement: I would like them to pay me back.

9/26/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received their work at home information and paid $99 refundable deposit by check.I received stapling booklet package from them on 8/12/2013.But I found the package did not match in the letter they previously described.I think it is an advertisement misrepresenting a product.So I returned their package on 8/13/2013 and wish to get full refund of my payment.But I haven't received response from them.

Desired Settlement: They promise if returned their materials can get full refund.I already returned the package to them and wish to get full refund of my check.

9/20/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid for materials from this company and never received the packages promised. This is considered robbery because every attempt I have made they rerouted me to another questionable course. For instance, I kept sending letters to ask for my refund and called them multiple times but no response. They later sent a response to tell me to resend the materials back in order to receive a refund but how can I send anything back if they never gave me any package from the beginning. I told them that I never received the package and they are still giving me the run-around about returning the money that I paid for those materials that I never received.

Desired Settlement: They have a responsibility to advertise their materials effectively and they should keep their word about it. They should send me my refund or I will sue them stealing and illegal soliciting and false advertisement.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maxwell Gates Enterprises
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)