This business is not BBB accredited.

Rissy Roo's

Phone: (609) 926-9200 View Additional Phone Numbers 1201 New Rd Ste 108, Linwood, NJ 08221 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.rissyroos.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers woman's formal wear, shoes and accessories.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Rissy Roo's include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Rissy Roo's
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 16, 2009 Business started: 06/20/2001 in NJ Business started locally: 06/20/2001 Business incorporated 01/01/1975 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Michele DeLuca, President Mr. Mario DeLuca, Treasurer Ms. Marissa Sharp, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Michele DeLuca, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Marissa Sharp, Vice President
Business Category

Womens Apparel - Retail Women's Clothing Stores (NAICS: 448120)

Products & Services

Rissy Roo's sells the following brand(s): Alyce Paris, Panoply, Bari Jay, BG Haute, Blush Prom by Alexia, Cassandra Stone, Cassandra Stone II, Clarisse, Dave & Johnny, Disney Forever Enchanted, Evenings by Allure, Fabulouss by Mac Duggal, Faviana, Flirt by Maggie Sottero, Gigi, Hannah S, Jasz Couture, Jovani, La Femme, Love 16 by Enzoani, Mac Duggal, Montage by Mon Cheri, Mori Lee by Madeline Gardner, Night Moves by Allure, Nika , Precious Formals, Primavera, Scala, Shail K., Sherri Hill, Sparkle Prom, Studio 17, Sydney's Closet, Temptation, Terani, Tiffany Designs, Tony Bowls, Xcite, Xtreme

Rissy Roo's offers the following product(s): Ball Gowns, Bat Mitzvah Dresses, Bridal Dresses, Cocktail Dresses, Dresses, Evening Gowns, Graduation Dresses, Holiday Dresses, Homecoming Dresses, Pageant Dresses, Prom Dresses, Quinceanera Dresses

Method(s) of Payment
Visa, MasterCard, American Express, Discover, PayPal
Alternate Business Names
See Shell Model Agency Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1201 New Rd Ste 108

    Linwood, NJ 08221 (609) 926-9200

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i ordered a dress for $600.00. When I drove an hour to pick up the dress, it had a hole on the mesh sleeve. I asked for a refund and they said no. Store credit only. They suggested I take material from the train and patch the sleeve. They said they could recommend a seamstress all at my cost. They offered 10% off the dress in store credit only.

Desired Settlement: We ordered another dress (for prom) off of the credit leaving a $160. Credit balance. I'd rather have a full refund and not deal with this company. But will consider just receiving the $160 balance in cash not credit. As long as the newly ordered dress is in perfect condition.

Business Response: Our customer placed a special order in store for a red *** ****** evening gown.  The dress arrived brand new from the manufacturer. Upon initial inspection of the gown there was no damage.  Our customer came to pick up her gown and when tried on a small hole in the tulle at the back of the right shoulder was found.  We offered to repair the gown or to extend a discount for the dress to be repaired locally.  We contacted the manufacturer for a replacement; however, there was only a Size 6 available and not another Size 4.  Our customer did not want the gown repaired by our seamstress and did not want a discount to have it repaired at her expense.  Our customer also did not want to replace the gown with a size 6.  The customer instead chose to special order a different gown that was $160.00 less.  The remaining balance was applied as a merchandise credit.  After the customer left the store, her husband **** called the store and was extremely hostile with our store owner.  The owner, ******, asked if she could have a contact number to call the customer back.  When she spoke with ****, he was very hostile and made numerous threats and he demanded a full refund.  He insisted that his wife did not want the new dress that she special ordered and continued to make verbal threats.  At this point it was eminent that we end the call.  We have since canceled the special order for the new dress and prefer the customer not return to the store.  We have issued a check for a full refund to this customer in the amount of $598.00.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


I received the full refund although the reply from Rissy Roo about my ex-husband threatening her is not true.   ****** said she'd have her lawyer call him and he said that would be fine.   A full refund should have been initially offered instead of a store credit, repair or discount.   They wouldn't even give the balance back in cash...only store credit.   No need to worry about my returning to that store again...it'll never happen.    Thank you BBB


Regards,

****** ********

1/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a dress for my daughter from Rissy Roo's for her homecoming dance in October. I paid $340.00 for this dress - not exactly inexpensive. However, given that price, I assumed that the dress must be of superior quality and that my daughter would have it to wear for years to come. When we received the dress, my daughter tried it on and looked stunning in it. When she took it off, the lining of the dress split and ran (much like hosiery would). Since the lining is actually a part of the dress and attached to the outer part of the dress, there is no way to repair it. In addition, the dress has large sewn-on sequins and many of those fell off - ALL of this from just trying the dress on once; she hadn't even worn it yet! She ended up trying the dress on two more times before her dance in order to match shoes, etc. to it. Each time she did, another split happened in the lining and more sequins fell off (very loosely sewn on). She then wore the dress to her dance, and of course by this time, after the dance, the lining is quite torn up and many sequins missing. I emailed the store and was told that they do not issue refunds after three days of delivery of the dress. They did not care that the dress is in shambles and cannot really be worn again. I understand their return policy but this garment is severely damaged. Again, I paid $340.00 for this dress thinking that it must be of superior quality at such a price. This is NOT the case and I am extremely upset that they will not stand by their products. It is useless to my daughter now, and she truly loved this dress but can never wear it again.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the entire cost of the dress at $340.00. I MAY be willing to negotiate but will not accept an unreasonable amount.

Business Response: Attached you will find an email conversation between Rissy Roo's customer service and ********* ******.  ********* ****** contacted Rissy Roo's on October 26, 2014 in regards to RissyRoos.com order ********* placed by ******** ******.  The order for Sticks & Stones by Mori Lee Style 9249 was shipped on October 3, 2014 and delivered to the customer on October 7, 2014.  The customer waited until October 26, 2014 to contact Rissy Roo's.  The dress was purchased for an event on October 11, 2014.  Our return policy states that all requests for return/exchange must be made within 3 days of delivery and prior to the wear date.  The customer contacted us 19 days after delivery and 15 days after the event.  It is our position that if the dress had torn on the first try on that the customer should have contacted us immediately.  Had we been contacted immediately and notified of any issue with the dress we would have worked to resolve this issue right away.  We may have been able to send a replacement of the same dress or worked with the customer to find an alternative style.  We are not able to accept responsibility for a garment that was tried on several times and worn.  The dress was shipped in brand new condition.  As you can see from the attached email conversation, after receiving our response the customer replied in an aggressive manner.  As a result to chose not to respond to the customer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The business only stated their policy regarding returns; there is nothing stated, either from their response or in their policy, about damaged goods.  The actual date of the dance was October 18th, not October 11.   In any event, the dates are totally irrelevant in this case since the garment was/is damaged beyond repair. I do understand their return policy, given the fact that many people think they can "borrow" a garment for an event, and then return it, thus driving up costs.  However, I am NOT one of those consumers.  My stance is that the company is not standing by their product, and this is an irresponsible business practice.

And yes, I was "aggressive" in my response to the company since it was obvious they do not care about selling shoddy workmanship and at such an expense to the consumer!  I maintain that I want a refund of this product.


Regards,

********* ******

Business Response: Unfortunately, we are unable to offer a refund or compensation to this customer.  The dress was shipped to the customer in brand new condition.  If there was a problem with the dress upon delivery at the first try on, the customer could have and should have contacted us immediately so that we could have been given the opportunity to rectify the matter.  We are unable to take responsibility for worn items.  If the dress was tried on several times and ultimately worn to the specified occasion, we cannot be held responsibility for the current state of the garment.  The customer claims to have had a problem with the garment prior to the event and yet never contacted us to inquire about options for return or replacement.  We have had no other complaints about the quality or workmanship of this dress or any other dress from this designer/manufacturer. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am very glad that the company has an outstanding rating for
merchandise.  However, if I may do a comparison: Just as the best of auto
dealerships pride themselves on quality workmanship/autos, the industry does
have something called a Lemon Law.  As an example, Ford could turn out
10,001 Taurus cars; 10,000 of them are great and run for 250,000 miles (or
more).  But there is that one car out of 10,001 that just does not make
the grade, is constantly back in the shop, after several "try-ons"
right off the showroom floor, Ford pays for ALL of the repairs, but ultimately
that one Taurus is deemed a Lemon, and thus falls under the Lemon Law.  In
fact, the five-day return policy that some dealers offer, is just not an
issue.  Ford backs their product 100% by
admitting that, in fact, they turned out one lemon out of 10,001 autos.
 And the customer is not only allowed a new car or similar price
adjustment, but is also met with respect.



The business states that they have not had any
complaints about the other dresses produced, and that is great.  However,
this one dress just did not fit the bill and is a "lemon" of a
garment.  It does not matter how many times it was tried on or worn; a
garment that costs $340 should wear like it costs that much.  The
business' argument of time-frame is just not relevant whatsoever.  They are not owning up to a “lemon” product
sold, and that is just bad business practice.

Regards,

********* ******

6/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Rissy Roo's
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart