BBB Accredited Business since

Amoroso Tree Service, Inc.

Phone: (201) 587-9560 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 1063, Paramus, NJ 07653

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers all types of tree cutting services and maintenance.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amoroso Tree Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amoroso Tree Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 13, 2004 Business started: 08/08/1988 Business started locally: 01/01/1985 Business incorporated 01/01/1985 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The number is 13VH05133500.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Amoroso, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Amoroso, President
Business Category

Tree Service Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 1063

    Paramus, NJ 07653 (201) 587-9560


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On July 1, 2014, Amoroso Tree Service was employed to grind a stump in my backyard. While they were grinding the stump, an object was discharged from the stump grinder and struck my rear ******** 400 Series Frenchwood door, shattering the glass panel. Immediately after the incident we informed the operator of the stump grinder and showed him the damage. I took a picture of the door as did the operator of the stump grinder. I also called Amoroso Tree Service and left a message with the answering service. ***, the owner, called me back and told me he would replace the door. *** indicated that he had a friend since childhood that was an ******** dealer and *** would contact him to come out and determine the correct replacement. I touched base with *** about a week or two later and he indicated that it was difficult to get a hold of his friend due to the holiday and that his friend was on vacation, but he reassured me his friend would come out and determine the correct part. In subsequent conversations, *** indicated that his friend had come by and ordered the replacement panel. He told me that it would take around 6 weeks for the door to come in. Toward the end of August/beginning of September, *** reassured me that the door would be installed in a week or two. Calls to Amoroso Tree Service have gone unanswered since September 3rd.

Desired Settlement: Originally, I wanted Amoroso Tree Service to replace the door at their cost (as suggested by ***). However, I now realize I was lied to and will need to have the door repaired myself. I would like Amoroso Tree service to reimburse me for my actual costs incurred in replacing the door.

Business Response:


At the time of the incident,  I informerd Mr. **** that day, that I would send over a representative from the ******** Window company to replace his glass panel. **** ******, from ******* **********, met with Mr. **** and got the order processed.  The estimated time for a panel to be sent from the manufacturer was 6 weeks.  After 6 weeks had passed, Mr. **** called me.  I then called the sales rep from ********** to check the status.  He assured me that he would contact Mr. **** with an arrival date.  I heard from Mr. **** again 2 weeks later.  He was becoming impatient, as I could understand.  I contacted supplier again.  The supplier assured me that he would handle it and I gave him Mr. ****s contact information.  He assured me that he would deal with Mr. **** directly and submit an invoice to me upon its installation.



In all good business practice, I have done everything I possibly could.  I assumed full responsibility and started the process to be resolved by ********* and The ******** Window company immediately.   In my last conservation with Mr. **** I questioned his complaint against my flawless business record, he said that he would not retract the complaint until his door was finished.  He has spoken to the ********** rep, and they will contact him with an installation date.   I have not recieved any payment from Mr. **** for the services already rendered by Amoroso Tree Service Inc.  I donot expect payment until the repair is completed.  Unfortunately, I am not in control of the replacement process and do not know any way to expedite it.  His original door is still intact, just with damaged glass.  In good faith, Mr. **** is getting a full replacement door at a cost of $900.00 to Amoroso Tree Service.



Please contact me directly with any questions.  My cell phone number is ************.


Thank you




Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   However, I'm still waiting for the replacement door to be be delivered and installed.  A crew showed up in the beginning of November but it turns out the wrong part was ordered.  I spoke to **** from ********** on Monday, Dec 1st and was told the new part had not arrived but was expected "any day".  I hope to have this issue closed very soon.


***** ****

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Amoroso Tree Service, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)