BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

Y.E.S. Contractors

Phone: (732) 774-7873 6 Paragon Way Ste 102, Freehold, NJ 07728

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general contracting service: above ground pools, decks, fences and hardscape.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Y.E.S. Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Y.E.S. Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 29, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1985 in NJ Business incorporated: 01/01/2003 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The license number is 13VH06300400.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Christopher Risden, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christopher Risden, President
Business Category

Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design Swimming Pool Service & Repair Fence Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Hardscapes

Alternate Business Names
Risden Holdings LLC

Additional Locations

  • 6 Paragon Way Ste 102

    Freehold, NJ 07728 (732) 774-7873

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pool liner was improperly installed. An approximately 3” deep hole under the liner with an adjacent mounding of sand was evident after the installation. There was also an indentation; approximately 16” long; 3” wide; 2 ½ ” deep depression (relative to the sloped plane of the cove) at the perimeter of the pool in another area. The first mentioned area is where one of the crew jumped out of the pool just before placing the liner. This caused the indentation and mounding in that area. The sand was dry and simply raked into place prior to liner placement. It was not "wetted", tamped, or compacted in any way prior to installation of the liner. I inquired if this would be done since the installation manual calls for this step. I was told “this is not the way we do it - the weight of the water compresses the sand”. The liner has now started to leak and will need to be replaced. YES has refused to address the issue or to even come out and look at the problem.

Desired Settlement: I have purchased another liner and will have a competent contractor install it since YES has not agreed to correct it's defective Work. It is requested that YES refund the installation cost to mitigate the costs of buying a new liner and the installation cost. I cannot wait for the leak to get worst or the potential of a liner burst which would undermine the pool structure and most likely render the wall unrepairable. Also the existing conditioned pool water water will be lost leading to replacement water costs and chemical costs to recondition the water.

Business Response: Every year in business among thousands of clients you'll get at least one client that wants something for nothing, can never be satisfied, claims to know more about your trade than you do as a 30 year old company and goes out of their way to complain about anything and everything to every staff member they run into. This is one of those clients and the irony is they caused these issues themselves and did not pay us one red cent to do the work they are complaining about. They paid Namco LLC to install their pool and we were then sub contracted by Namco to install their pool as we install every pool installation they sell in NJ. The footprints they speak of were not made by our workers as the sand is smoothed out and the liner is set from outside the pool. The indentations around the perimeter of the pool are caused by erosion from rain as the pool was not backfilled after installation. The pool was installed 3 weeks prior to the first complaint in regards to indentations they made at the end of June. They claim no one was in the pool within those 3 weeks in June during the hottest weather we had all year. The client read and signed a contract with Namco and separately with us in which both warn and explain we do not guarantee the absence of divits or indentations in the pool floor because its just sand underneath and inevitably you will create impressions with normal use of your pool. As for compaction, between the weight of the bobcat and the 91,000 pounds of water in the pool once filled there is more than adequate compaction. These people expect the floor of their above ground pool to be as solid and flat as the troweled concrete floor of an in-ground pool and that is unrealistic. If we were to use a plate tamper to compact the sand, lay pavers on it then place a 91,000 pound above ground pool on it, it would still settle. In these contracts I previously mentioned it also states the backfill of the pool is not included due to each yard having a different grade therefore requiring a different amount of labor for each client which could not be pre-estimated into a flat rate without a site visit. This service is offered once an on site estimate is completed. This client declined the landscape package which includes the backfill and stated they would do it themselves as many of our clients do, but they did not. In our contract and in our email to them (both prior to installation) it states they must backfill their pool within 2 weeks or their warranty is void. The pictures they sent us 3 weeks after the installation date clearly illustrate the footprints made on top of the liner and the backfill still not completed. Our experience with this client has consisted of dozens of site visits, dozens of emails and hours of phone conversations in which I just spent the entire day reviewing. At no time was this client ignored, neglected or dismissed and the fact is their complaints should be directed to Namco as that is who they paid but I'm sure Namco has explained the same points to them. Nothing is good enough for these people, I just wish I new the phone# of the next contractor they hire so I could warn them about what they're about to get themselves into. As explained above we are not at fault for these claims but even in the interest to appease or to resolve this issue, the client did not pay us any money for the installation of their pool therefore we could not reimburse moneys they paid to someone else.   

Regards

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service