BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Chamonix meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Chamonix include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Chamonix include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 21

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 13, 2004 Business started: 04/01/2000 in NJ Business started locally: 04/01/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. George Faltaous, CEO/Owner Ms. Christine Pileggi, Operations Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. George Faltaous, CEO/Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Christine Pileggi, Operations Manager
Business Category

Skin Care Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Cosmetics, Beauty Supplies, and Perfume Stores (NAICS: 446120)

Alternate Business Names
Unimed International, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 105 Newfield Ave Ste F

    Edison, NJ 08837 (800) 754-6211

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (732) 593-5200(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Around May 1, 2014 my husband, ****** ******, ordered a Chamonix product for the first time. After about 50 days he was not happy with the results and stop taking it. He did not know that he needed to call and cancel future shipments. Around July 24, 2014 a woman called and said she was from Chamonix and asked my husband how he liked the product. He told her it did not work for him (in fact his blood was going up not down)and that he did not want to re-order anymore and would like to return what was left, claiming his "Money back Guarantee". She said she was sorry to hear that and hung up. On August 1,2014 our credit card was charged $128.85 for another 3 month supply. I have called them (###-###-####) and have called my credit card to dispute the charge and I am now waiting for the Customer Service Manager to call me back. Thank You. ***** **************@verizon.net ###-###-####

Desired Settlement: I want a credit issued to my credit card for $128.85.

Business Response: This issue was already resolved and we gave the customer a RMA number to send the product back for a refund.
On August 4, 2014, we issued the customer RMA #***** so once the package comes back we will refund the card on file minus the shipping cost.

Thank you!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, since I have not even received the merchandise (which took 3 weeks last time after charge was posted to our account) I can not return it at this time.  I assume that they will do what they say and credit back our account, but I will consider this issued closed when I see the credit on my account.  Hopefully, all will be resolved soon.
Thank you for your efforts on our behalf.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered product from the company and it arrived. It was an eye product that irritated my eyes due to LASIK surgery that I had. It also had a face product, that caused my face to have a rash, that came as part of the kit. I called and canceled all further shipments - I did not ask for my money back as they advertised they were willing to do when I bought it as I figured I would try it again when my eyes healed from the surgery. A few hours after I was told that my order was canceled I received a phone call from the company that told me they saw I had canceled my order and that they would like to offer me a 6 month program so that my eyes could heal and I could keep the special price I had from when I ordered. I agreed. During that time I received phone call after phone call trying to sell me more product. I kept asking to be removed from the calling list as my eyes still were not healed. After about 10 phone calls I finally got off the sales list. Six months go by and I get another order of product. I do not open it as my eyes are still irritated from my surgery and I figure I'll call before another six months go by and cancel it again. 60 days later I get another box of product, I am surprised as I am on a 6 month program as far as I know. I call and ask to return product. They say they will only offer me credit for their product, not my money back. This is a useless solution for me as I cannot use their product because it causes my face to get a rash after one week of use and irritates my eyes.

Desired Settlement: I would like to give them their unopened packages of whatever is in there and get a refund of my money for the two orders I got in the past 2 months, not credit.

Business Response:

We will accept both packages back for a refund of $248, minus the shipping cost as long as the products come back unused.

I will have someone contact the customer directly to explain the resolution.

Thank you,




?

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/7/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I AM VERY DISPLEASED WITH THEIR PRODUCT THAT IS SUPPOSE TO GROW NEW HAIR. I BOUGHT THIS FOR MY SON AND HE SAYS THAT HE HAS NOT GROWN ANY NEW HAIR AT ALL. I WANT THE $48.00 I PAID FOR YOUR PRODUCT. THIS DOES NOT WORK ON THE HAIR.

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE MY $48.00 BACK.$48.00

Business Response:

This order had a 90 day money back guarantee. We will honor the extension. Please send back the 1 bottle and we will refund the account $43.68 (minus a 9% processing fee).

Thank you,

********* *******
Operations Manager
Chamonix Skin Care

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product did not perform as advertised. Money-back guarantee was misleading.

Desired Settlement: Refund for two unused orders in the amount of $132.95 x 2 = $265.90 - I offered to return unused, unopened items for a refund, but Chamonix refused.

Business Response:

The first order was placed on 1/14/2014 and it was scheduled on a 60 day auto ship cycle. The next shipment then went out on 3/14/2014. The customer did not call until the 3rd shipment went out which was 5/14/2014 and the customer called on 5/20/2014 now asking to return both packages. We can accept the most recent package which was 5/14/2014. Since the customer didn't call us to tell us he didn't want the March package we can honor the return and accept a refund for both orders if all products are returned unopened/unused. I will have someone contact the customer.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

When I spoke with a business representative by telephone, I offered to return-ship both unused orders at my expense for a refund and was denied the opportunity to do so. I was offered a "store credit" instead, which I declined.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Thank you BBB for being there and apparently causing this business to take another look at the situation.
 
Best regards,

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased a product from this Co. when ordering it by phone I made sure that this was a one time purchase and if I wanted to going forward I would call to reorder it. I noticed on my account statement a charge called the phone# associated with (Chamonix) and the # was disconnected ###-###-#### nj. I went on line and searched the name and noticed it was the product that I had ordered months back. I spoke with a live chat person and they said I may not get a refund because I had to cxl within 30 days? That was not the case. These people used my account without my permission to go ahead and send me something I did not reorder all I want is my account to be credited $148 that they charged. I have saved the live chat that went back and forth with the person who I spoke with.

Desired Settlement: My account to be credited $148 asap.

Consumer Response: I wanted to let the BBB know that my account has been credited and this matter has been resolved. Thank you for all your help and speedy response on this matter

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2014 Delivery Issues
2/10/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
11/13/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased products from this company back in May 2013. I have not ordered any further products nor have I received any products and noticed this month they are charging my credit card for 169.00. When I call I just keep being told they will call me back and I have not received a return all concerning this problem.

Desired Settlement: I would like the company to return my money and remove me from their system.

Business Response: Since we pride ourselves in customer service, we will honor the customer and contact her to send the order back for a full refund. Once we receive the package back we will refund the customer the full charge of $169.45.

If you should have any further questions, please contact us at **************.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/6/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/6/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/20/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2011 Billing/Collection Issues