BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

This Business is not BBB accredited

Pearson Education

Additional Locations

Phone: (201) 236-7000 Fax: (201) 818-8749 View Additional Phone Numbers 1 Lake St, U Saddle Riv, NJ 07458 View Additional Email Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Pearson plc. (“Pearson”) is a publicly traded U.K. corporation. Pearson is an international media company with businesses in education, business information and consumer publishing. Markets outside the U.S. include Canada, the UK, Australia, Italy, Spain, South Africa, Hong Kong and the Middle East. The business is a provider of English Language Teaching materials for children and adults, published under the well-known Longman imprint.

From their roots as book publisher, they've grown to provide a range of related services: testing and learning software for students of all ages; data for financial institutions; public information systems for government departments

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Pearson Education include:

  • BBB does not have sufficient background information on this business

Factors that raised the rating for Pearson Education include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 38 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

38 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 27
Total Closed Complaints 38

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 18, 2003 Business incorporated: 02/11/1929 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Legal Department
Contact Information
Principal: Legal Department
Business Category

Scholastic Prep Courses, Books & Materials Computers Hardware, Software & Services Web Design

Alternate Business Names
Addison Wesley Allyn & Bacon Benjamin Cummins Dale Seymore Globe Fearon Longman Modern Curriculum Pearson Custom Publishing Pearson Early Learning Pearson ESL Pearson Technology Group Prentice Hall Scott Foresman Silver Burdett Ginn SkyLignt Professional Development

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1 Lake St

    U Saddle Riv, NJ 07458

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    258 Prospect Plains Rd

    Cranbury, NJ 08512

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    One Lake Street

    Upper Saddle River, NJ 07458 (201) 236-7000

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 695-6577(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pearson Education charged my credit card twice on January 23, 2014 for a purchase that was made on January 21, 2014. I have spoken with the company via live chat, telephone conversation and lastly email; 2 emails between the company and myself detailing the error. The company's response to the fraudulent charge is that it is a bank hold to verify that the funds are indeed there and that my bank will release the hold in 24 to 48 hours. My bank statement does not say hold or anything of the like, it reads "purchase." It is obviously not a hold, especially since the transaction happened 11 days ago as of today. I would like to note that the customer service person I chatted with on February 2, 2014 via live chat did indeed acknowledge that I was charged twice. However, the person who emailed me regarding my "refund" stated that it was "just a hold" and my bank should be releasing those funds. The emailed stated it was part of their process. This is not a hold, it is a charge. The funds have been removed from my account.

Desired Settlement: I do want my money back, I want it replaced immediately. However, how can a company compensate me for the loss of my funds for over 11 days and the countless hours I have had to work to retrieve my stolen money (that should never have been taken in the first place)?

Business Response: Pearson has refunded the customer.  The refund should post back to her credit card within 3-5 business days

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
However, please note that this situation due to Pearson Education's error took several hours of my own time to resolve. Only when the BBB became involved did I receive my due compensation. It is a shame that a company can take funds, unauthorized, from someone's account and not be held liable for their mistake. I was without those funds for more than 7 business days and used my own valuable time to research a solution; all due to no fault of my own.

Regards,

******** ******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company routinely publishes new editions to textbooks. For the sole purpose if charging more money while providing no additional material. In this case the company published the 8th edition to "starting out with C++". The company has charged much more than the 7th edition, but has not made the accompanying material available to be a complete text. The book makes many references to material available on the companion website, but the company has informed me after several months of complaints that they do not know when they will release this material. There is no difference between the 7th and 8th edition, but the company charges more for the 8th, and provides less material. Students are forced to acquire the new edition and are not provided with the necessary material for the course.

Desired Settlement: Please refund the price of the 8th edition, and make the accompanying material (which you already have from the 7th edition ) available to students.

Business Response:

We have processed a refund to this customer.   Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Pearson system claims to provide 24/7 online support. After two hours of waiting on two separate occasion I believe this claim to be false advertising. The service I paid for is not accessible.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for my book and any fees incurred from not being able to complete my course work.

Business Response: Pearson's customer service dept has advised that Ms. ******* purchased the incorrect product from Amazon.  As a courtesy for Ms. *******'s difficulty in contacting the 24/7 online support, we have provided her with the correct access code for her course.

We are also investigating the issue of long wait times for customer service.

thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I can't access a course that I bought from them and then when I tried contacting them via their online chat service, I always end up waiting an hour and they always say to wait two hours. My first contact with them was at 3:50 pm today so I waited. I contacted them again at around 9 and they still said to wait hours. I have an activity due tomorrow in class on that course and I'm not prepared since I can't access the site the course is in. Customer service was disgustingly poor. I am really annoyed right now.

Desired Settlement: I want access to the course that I was supposed to be in! I have all the proof and documentation in which it says that I rightfully purchased that product.

Business Response: This customer stated that he registered and the course was not showing up.  We had experienced registration services unavailable or slow on 9/12/13 between 1:23 PM and 7:19 PM Eastern time.  The first chat incident came in on 9/12/13 at 3:48 PM Eastern time, we notified the customer of this issue and asked him to try registering again at a later time.  The second chat incident came in on 9/12/13 at 9:58 PM and he was registered but his course was not appearing.  Our agent advised him to try accessing again after some time.  This made the customer quite upset and he asked to be transferred to a Supervisor.  The agent advised the customer that they would forward the information of the incident to someone with advanced expertise in supporting the product.  The customer said he was going to end the conversation because he was seriously annoyed and might say things and thanked the agent for their help, then disconnected.  As of this morning, the course has appeared in the customer's account.

We are using this information with the internal teams to make improvements for the future.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had purchased mymanagementlab access for my Human Resource Management course, like several other students and my instructor, my access did not work because Pearson had changed the edition from the 12th (which I have) to the 13th. When I spoke to them, after they had re-issued access codes to several of my classmates and the instructor, they said that since I did not purchase it from my school bookstore, or from them, that they would not provide me with access to the course.

Desired Settlement: Access to the 13th edition of the course, I have paid for it after all.

Business Response: Current policy is that if a student purchases from a third party retailer, they need to contact their point of purchase regarding the return/replacement. If they purchase directly from Pearson or the campus bookstore, Technical Support will replace the product.  It appears that the student purchased the wrong product for his course--the instructor moved into the new edition and he bought and older version.



BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/28/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/27/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/11/2012 Delivery Issues
12/21/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/24/2011 Problems with Product/Service