BBB Accredited Business since


Phone: (973) 887-1800 Fax: (973) 887-5162 View Additional Phone Numbers 2 Littell Rd, East Hanover, NJ 07936 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers plumbing services and Roto Rooter service for residential and commercial.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Roto-Rooter meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Roto-Rooter include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Roto-Rooter
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 09, 2003 Business started: 03/01/1963 in NJ Business incorporated 03/01/1963 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers
PO Box 45008, Newark NJ 07101
Phone Number: (973) 504-6420
The number is 36BIO1293700.

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The number is 13VH05477200.

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Steven Daniel, President Mr. Sean Daniel, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steven Daniel, President
Business Category

Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning Sewer Contractors Water Heaters - Repairing Water & Sewer Line Protection Drainage Contractors Plumbers

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check or credit cards
Alternate Business Names
Sewer Service Company

Additional Locations

  • 2 Littell Rd

    East Hanover, NJ 07936 (800) 438-7686 (973) 887-1800


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am filing this on behalf of plumbing services requested of Roto Rooter for my Girlfriend ****** *****. In the cold weather she had a sewer drain freeze and I recommended calling roto-rooter as we thought this issue was a clog. A roto-rooter plumber came in, lifted the toilet and snaked it - and found that he thought the pipe was frozen. In putting the toilet back he didn't replace the wax seal, and my girlfriend specifically mentioned this, I had asked her to ensure that. There was water leaking around the toilet when I visited the house next, and water in the toiler and water in the bathtub on the same drain. The water to the toiler was turned off. We called roto-rooter again about this and they sent someone to work on the toilet seal.....a new plumber came and fixed the seal, and all seemed fine. However shortly after this we looked into a room downstairs and the floor and drywall were imminently wet. It appears that in lifting the toilet or in the water that was leaking the night before the ceiling had gotten wet, or perhaps slow leaking from the bathtub or elsewhere. Again we called roto-rooter, their plumber came to check this - he took photos and cut a hole through the ceiling and was taking this back to show his manager. Now the overall manager is very tough to get ahold of, but he called my girlfriend even though I had given my number as well and said that roto-rooter will not cover this. It's very strange to me that it's acceptable to have a plumber lift a toilet and fail to replace the seal, and charge in excess of $300 for this work and then not own up to the leak. He is very pushy on this and trying to convince my girlfriend that this is her fault, and it gets tougher and tougher to reach him. Earlier the person on duty put me through to the managers voicemail, now I get put immediately on hold if i call and the manager is non-reachable. Jason who replaced the toilet flushed it after doing it, before turning water off.

Desired Settlement: Fixing the drywall and insulation properly in the room that was damaged below the tiolet....

Business Response: On February 19th, 2015 ****** ***** called the
Roto-Rooter office to schedule a service call for a blocked drain at *** ***** ***** ****
in ********* **. 
Our service technician Jason arrived on location and immediately
assessed the issue as a problem with the toilet line in the second floor
bathroom.  Jason proceeded to vacuum out
all the water from the toilet and the toilet tank before he unsealed and lifted
the toilet.  After doing so our service technician
attempted to use his drain cleaning machine to unclog the drain line. 

It was determined by our service technician Jason that the
drain line was frozen and unable get his drain cleaning cable past fifteen feet
of solid ice.


Jason explained to the homeowner Ms. ***** that the drain
line was completely frozen and that our drain cleaning equipment was unable to
break through the ice.  At this point our
service technician replaced the wax ring “toilet seal” under the toilet and
proceeded to reseal the toilet to the floor.  Jason then proceeded to tell Ms. ***** that he
was purposely leaving the water off to
the toilet because any flushing
would overflow the toilet due to the drain line being frozen below.  Ms. ***** agreed and understood what our
service technician Jason explained. 
Roto-Rooter and Ms. ***** then settled the payment and Ms. ***** signed
the receipt with a $50 discount given by Roto-Rooter.


On February 20th 2015 Ms. ***** called
Roto-Rooter to report that she had water leaking through her ceiling on the
first floor and asked Roto-Rooter to send a service technician over to evaluate.  Roto-Rooter proceeded to send our service technician
James to *** ***** ***** ****
in ********* **. 
Upon evaluation James immediately noticed that the water to the toilet
had been turned back on and the toilet was full.  Ms. ***** or an occupant of the home had
turned the water back on after our service technician Jason had purposely left
it off and proceeded to try and flush the toilet.  The toilet then overflowed and water seeped
through her ceiling to the first floor. 
All water damage on the first floor ceiling was caused by an overflowing
toilet from an occupant of the home after our service technician had left the