BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that buydig.com meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for buydig.com include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 62 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

62 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 12
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 16
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 8
Problems with Product/Service 23
Total Closed Complaints 62

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 31, 1992 Business started: 01/01/1983 Business started locally: 01/01/1991
Business Management
Mr. Louis Massry, Manager Mr. Maurice J.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Maurice J.
Principal: Mr. Louis Massry, Manager
Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail Video Equipment - Supplies & Parts Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Alternate Business Names
buy.dig

Additional Locations

  • 203 Route 22 East

    Dunellen, NJ 08812 (800) 617-4686

  • 80 Carter Drive

    Edison, NJ 08817

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (732) 968-6400(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/6/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/4/2014 Delivery Issues
5/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Sigma lens form BuyDig.com for $299 in early January. The lens was shipped to my billing address and not my mailing address. I had just moved from *****  to *********. It wasn't until a phone call I made to the company in Febuary that I found out the lens was shipped from ******* back to Buydig. I was told I'd get a full refund since the lens was no longer in stock. By that time in Febuary I had switched banks and canceled my previous credit card. A refund to the card I had purchased the lens with did me no good. I hadn't gotten my new bank card in the mail yet and I tried to convince Buydig to put the refund on my boyfriends card but they refused. They said they would mail me a check instead which I happily agreed too. Two weeks later I hadn't received any check and I noticed the lens I wanted was back in stock. I called BuyDig to see if I could get the lens instead of the refund and they told me that the check was already being processed. Now I still haven't received my refund and it is the end of March. When I call back now I ask to speak directly to the manager. 9 times out of ten he is in a "meeting". The first time I spoke to the manager I asked for his name and he said ***** *. He refused to give me his full name. I gave him my current bank card information but he wouldn't give me his name. He said he'd call me back after he made sure he could put the refund on my new card. That was last week. I have gotten no refund or returned call. Now when I call they wont even put me through to manager *****. They tell me that he is working on my case, and will call me back when he figures it out. There is nothing to figure out. I feel so scammed. I found out *****'s full name. ***** ****** is the manager at Buydig.

Desired Settlement: I was planning on using the refund to re-buy the same lens at BuyDig if it was in stock. Now I'd rather spend twice that amount somewhere else, just to avoid giving BuyDig any more of my business.

Business Response:

We refunded the customer in full 

5/9/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 24-70mm Canon lens on December 26, 2013. I contacted the seller about returning the item and they stated to simply refuse the shipment once it arrives, which I did. The item was sent back but a refund was never issued. I have never had possession of this item, and based upon the way they asked me to reject the package I am ineligible for protection from **** or the payment processor ******. I contacted the company which stated they would investigate and suddenly stopped responding to my inquiries.

Desired Settlement: I either want my product or a refund. I deserve one or the other. I have been out of my $1899 for almost 90 days and the company will not communicate with me.

Business Response:

In response to the customers complaint, we have refunded the customer in full

4/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 1/8/2014 I placed an online order with BuyDig for 3 items (digital camera, printer, photo paper) that together qualify for a rebate of $400. The items were shipped and arrived on 1/15/2014; however, one of the items (the printer) appeared to have been damaged. I worked with BuyDig customer service to initiate shipping the item back for an exchange. During my correspondence with BuyDig, I ask to confirm that the item, once received, will be processed as an exchange, not as a return. I specifically request for an exchange to processed since the terms/conditions of the rebate require that all the qualifying items be on the same purchase. I bring the large and heavy (50+lbs) box to the nearest Fedex location and have the item shipped back to BuyDig to be processed as an exchange. On 1/18/2014, I get a written confirmation from BuyDig that it would be an exchange. On 2/5/2014, I get a written confirmation that BuyDig will process the item as an exchange, not as a return. On 2/10/2014 (the day the item arrived back at BuyDig), I get another confirmation that the item would be processed as an exchange and that the replacement item would be shipped out to me in 24-48 hours. On 2/11/2014, I get an automated email from BuyDig indicating that the return/refund was processed. I asked BuyDig what the item was returned/refunded rather than exchanged/replaced as I had requested and as BuyDig had confirmed. BuyDig responded indicating that they do not process exchanges. As of now, I do not have the item (printer) I originally ordered, and I am no longer qualified for the $400 rebate since BuyDig processed the item as a return rather than as a exchange as I had requested and been promised. I would consider this as unethical and deceptive business practice.

Desired Settlement: I am providing BuyDig with two options here. 1) I am requesting for BuyDig to ship me an undamaged new replacement item (printer) that they wrongfully processed as a return at a discount for the hassle that I have had to go through. In addition, I am requesting for BuyDig to issue a refund check in the amount of $400 to cover the rebate that I would have qualified for had BuyDig processed the item as an exchange rather than a return. 2) Issue me an additional refund check for $200 without returning the remainder of the order so that I can purchase the printer elsewhere.

Business Response: We have spoke with the customer. We sent the customer an exchange via 3 day air as agreed. We apologize for the trouble, and have worked this out. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9924502

I am rejecting this response because:


BuyDig needs to admit to its unethical business practice.  They try to impose policies regarding purchases that are contrary to those posted on their website.  In this instance, customer service repeatedly indicated that they do not allow product exchanges, only return/re-purchase.  On the website they offer exchanges.

I will not consider this complaint as closed/resolved until I have received the rebate for the item purchased.

 





























4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased 2 ******* *** pot sets and have never received them. After calling and informing buydig.com they said that I should receive e-mail shortly and that my money will be refunded. I have called several times thereafter because I have not received any e-mail confirmation about the refund nor refund. When I called today, the phone service is not working even if on hours of operation it says it should be. I still do not have my refund.

Desired Settlement: I just want buydig.com to refund my money as promised.

Business Response: We apologize for the delay. We have refunded the customers account successfully

3/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have purchased a 2 TB passport HD on 12/13 from buydig. They ended up sending me a samsonite suitcase instead and it took more than a week to figure out that it is from them as it didn't have my invoice in it. I have contacted customer service on 12/26. The rep I spoke with asked me to send a pic of the box that I got along with shipping label. He told me that he will get back with me in couple of days and get the issue resolved. I have contacted the same rep through email couple of times, updating my contact information along with my ph # and asking for an update. I haven't received any response. I have been calling buydig every other day asking for ***** ( he is the customer rep I spoke initially ) for last 2 weeks and the reps I spoke with always told me that he is away from his desk and they will get him to respond/get with me by end of day which never happened and this has happened more than 6 times . It is more than 5 weeks since I ordered hard drive and my whole holidays went by without it where I had time to organize my stuff around. I finally got hold of supervisor and he has no understanding of a consumer and he doesn't have basic courtesy. All he says gemme the suitcase back and I will then address Hard Drive. they haven't responded on what they want me to do for 4 weeks. they didn't even care for the request I made in email requesting for speedy delivery of hard drive so that I can get some stuff done during holidays on 12/26 . I had the box in garrage and my maid ended up recycling the box. Now, they want the suitcase back in original box or they wont take it. I had tried more than I should requesting for what they want me to do which should've been other way as they are the ones who screwed up in first place. I was willing and being patient for more than 5 weeks. I have spent enough time on this and I don't think this is way to run consumer based business. They don't know how to treat customers and value their time.

Desired Settlement: order #*********. I want a full refund or hard drive shipped to me immediately. They can send me the box with return shipping label and get the suitcase picked up. I don't have time any more to shop around for boxes and getting the wrong item shipped back to them. I have spent too much time on this to find out a resolution or finding out the status. They didn't even care to get back to me and tell me the status or how to resolve it. I wish this never happens to any other person. It is very frustrating for lack of communication and no intention to resolve the issue on good terms.

3/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried to place an order online with Buydig.com Feb 1, 2014. The order was never processed yet a pending charge was placed on my credit card. The card company says it takes 30 days to remove pending charge. Buydig.com claims they cant help.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to contact credit card company to have pending charges removed so I can make purchase.

Business Response: We confirmed the customers funds were refunded. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *********




















1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I need an RMA to return a new defective DVD player. My order number ********** was placed on Nov 29, 2013 for a ******* ******** Blu Ray player. Customer ID*********. I have tried calling BuyDig but always got a recording saying it was closed, even under standard business hours looking for an RMA to return the defective unit. I have emailed a request for an RMA with no response, and have again emailed 12/27/2014.

Desired Settlement: Get an RMA to return the DVD player and credit my account for a full refund for the defective product.

Business Response: We authorized this return, and have since refunded the customer. 

1/20/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/10/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with BuyDig through **** with item#************ on Tuesday, Dec 3, 2013 and the package was supposed to arrive on Fri. Dec. 13. I have yet to receive this package. I first emailed their customer service and was told on Dec 11 that the item would guarantee to ship that night. I checked the tracking number and there is still no updates. I called their customer service on Dec 12 and the CSR informed me that they do not have any in stock but would have some by Friday and that they would overnight by package. They still failed to contact me about this inquiry and they still have not shipped my package. I checked with their website on Dec 17 and it appears they have product in stock but they won't give me my product. I already paid the seller in full but I have not received my product.

Desired Settlement: I expect to be contacted by the CSR informing me of any status updates of my product and its overnight shipping status. I also expect to receive the "Free Hoya NXT UV Multi Coated filter and 3pc. Lens Cleaning Kit $60 Value! with the purchase of this Lens! " that is quoted on their website. I expect discount voucher/compensation for a future purchase.

Business Response: We apologize for the trouble. We have since refunded the customers' account in full

12/24/2013 Delivery Issues
12/3/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased a professional audio player. the outside package was fine, the inside package looked fine, however when i opened the package the actual player was missing. i told buydig.com to respond and they opened a ***** inquiry. ***** said that since i signed for the package they won't compensate me. BUT, i couldn't have gotten the package without signing for it, and i don't think it is the problem with ***** as the package came nicely packed. the issue is with buydig.com. i've purchased from them multiple times before and the service has been great, i just want them to right this issue as well.

Desired Settlement: i have gone ahead and purchased this product from some other place, please refund the full amount to my debit card. thank you.

Business Response: Since we shipped the customer's product, and it was delivered and signed for, we cannot refund the customer. We suggest the customer contact their credit card bank, and dispute this, we appreciate our customers' concern, however, at this point, we cannot refund the customer for merchandise we shipped and scanned. 


Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: i could not have taken the package without signing for it, and without signing for it, I would not have been able to know if everything in there was fine. This is a case of catch-22 which I couldn't possibly be aware of.



Regards,

**** *****





























Business Response: Once again, please dispute this with your bank and we will be happy to arbitrate. We have done our job here, and would be happy to see this work out to your advantage. 

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a refund of $129.63 on Jul 31. The refund was granted to me but was never sent. I have been contacting BuyDig.com for over a month trying to resolve this issue. They have been giving me the same run-around each time I call. The following has typically happened during each phone call. A service rep will answer the phone and check with the refund manager. After a few minutes, they respond to me by saying that the refund has just posted and I will receive this in 3-5 days. This has happened on 3 separate occasions over the last six weeks and has become increasingly frustrating.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $129.63

Business Response: Apologize for such a delay. The customers' account was now refunded in full, as requested. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******. Although I did receive a refund for my purchase, I never had the refund issued by them. I had to go through Amazon after months of frustration with this business. So I would say I am satisfied with Amazon, but will never purchase from BuyDig.com.



















9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/17/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/13/2013 Delivery Issues
4/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/26/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/20/2013 Delivery Issues
2/19/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/19/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/13/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/4/2013 Delivery Issues
2/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/21/2013 Delivery Issues
10/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
5/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/29/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/9/2012 Delivery Issues
2/8/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/2/2012 Delivery Issues
12/29/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues