BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

Beach Trading Co. Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 572-3224 Fax: (732) 968-2283 View Additional Phone Numbers 80 Carter Drive, Edison, NJ 08817 http://www.beachcamera.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers digital camera and video products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Beach Trading Co. Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Beach Trading Co. Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 47 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

47 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 6
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 9
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 26
Total Closed Complaints 47

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 06, 1996 Business started: 10/01/1991 Business started locally: 11/05/1991 Business incorporated: 11/05/1991 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Maurice J., Manager Mr. Albert R Mosseri, V.P.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Maurice J., Manager
Business Category

Photographic Equipment & Supplies - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Beach Camera and Electronics of NJ BuyDig.com

Additional Locations

  • 203 Route 22 East

    Green Brook, NJ 08812

  • 80 Carter Drive

    Edison, NJ 08817 7324241100acctg 8005723224orders

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • 7324241100acctg(Phone)
  • 7326234650orders(Phone)
  • 7329686400retail(Phone)
  • 8005723224orders(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They are advertising on a Canon EOS Rebel SL1 SLR for $649 and a special offer $300 instant rebate. They indicate if purchased separately the cost is $814.99. Therefore the price should be $519.99. When I called to order one at $519.99 I was told that the price of $649 included the $300 rebate. I told them that this is called "fuzzy math". The conversation was ended. The URL= http://www.beachcamera.com/shop/product.aspx?sku=E3CNDRSL11855

Desired Settlement: That they honor the advertised rebate price of $519.99

Business Response: We will be contacting the customer for an explanation. We suspect some confusion here, as such rebates never existed. We can and will be happy to provide an update here after correspondence with the customer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
They advertised the camera online at a certain price and refused to honor it.  If there is any confusion it's because they did not make the offer clear.

the question is now moot. I purchased the camera elsewhere at a lower price and my wife is very happy with it.


Regards,

****** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/28/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a ******* Series 9 ************ 11.6-Inch Laptop from ****** and sold by Beach Camera on August 7, 2012 (Order #*******************). On the ****** page, they clearly state that the warranty was valid for 3 years and it can still be seen at http://www.******.com. I has been over a year since I bought it and recently, my display stopped working. Hence I contacted *******, who told me that the warranty is only valid for 1 year. The 3 year warranty was one of the main reasons I bought this item and now I need to pay for ******* to even look at my issue. I feel that I was cheated into this purchase and I would like to get a refund for my order.

Desired Settlement: A refund would be my first preference but I would also willing to replace this with a brand new product so that I would get at least once more year of warranty.

Business Response: We can work this out. Please contact ***** at *** *** ***** ****. He can work this out, and resolve these issues. 

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because there is no clear indication of what will be the resolution to this. I have contacted the person mentioned in the response and have emailed him some details he requested but even he was not able to what Beach Camera would do for me and said that he would get back to me on that. I would like to keep this case open until I get a clear answer on how this issue will resolved. Hope that is okay. Thanks.



Regards,

**** ********





























Business Response: You're welcome to keep the case opened. Once again for closure, please contact ***** for a smooth and certain resolution. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

1/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
12/3/2013 Delivery Issues
9/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed my order on 7/19 for a nightowl security camera system. the credit card company declined the purchase because they believed it was a fraudulent charge. Resolving this issue was complicated due to lack of communication. I recieved an email with instructions to contact the billing department. Well i was on the phone for a half hour and when i finally talked to someone in billing, i was told i need to talk to customer service. This happened not once but twice. It took another hour to talk to someonein customer service. Once this was all resolved, fast forward to yesterday (7/24) i called to check on the status because i had not received an email of confirmation. Now i find out my item is on backorder after another hour waiting to talk to someone. They did upgrade my shipping because of this so i was somewhat satisfied with that. Today (7/25) i recieve a notice of cancellation because they will not be able to order my item anymore. After all that hassle and trying to contact them, the item i set out to purchase was never really in stock and they will no longer stock this item even though it was advertised as in stock and availible.

Desired Settlement: To refund me my money and to explain to me why this process has been so difficult. Upon being told that the item was on back order i was told that they would be able to order it next week for me and upgrade my shipping. I had no problem with that but then the whole order was canceled. I don't know if they were lying to me or what but that was un called for. The company should refund me my money and do what they think is right to resolve this problem.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/27/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/21/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/5/2012 Delivery Issues
10/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/14/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/4/2012 Delivery Issues
8/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/3/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/29/2012 Delivery Issues
4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/22/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2012 Delivery Issues
1/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/20/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/12/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/30/2011 Problems with Product/Service
11/21/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/27/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/19/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1