This business is not BBB accredited.

Breeders Association of America, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (732) 920-3200 588 Route 70 Ste 5, Brick, NJ 08723


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers puppies, training and boarding.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Breeders Association of America, Inc. include:

  • 9 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Breeders Association of America, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Breeders Association of America, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2007 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007 Business incorporated 01/01/2007 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Lorin Kislak, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lorin Kislak, President
Business Category

Pet Shops Pet Boarding & Kennels Dog Breeders

Alternate Business Names
Breeders Associations of America

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    588 Route 70 Ste 5

    Brick, NJ 08723

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 549

    Brick, NJ 08723

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/10/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/31/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/19/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues
3/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Well I purchased a dog at breeders association with my mother. First they start off giving you a price of 2599.00 for puppy when I said no to much she said let me see what I can do.. She comes back and says she can scan the puppies brother since he is cheaper witch was 1999.00. I told her no, she says I can give you the discount as if you already purchased a dog and gave me a price at 1300.00. My 74 year mom at this point was in love with the puppy. I said to much she said I cant go lower.. my mom wanted the dog so after said and done they charged me all kinds of fees include 99.00 pet warranty witch is already in contract and kennel boarding fee 60.00 and taxes. Also she told me I had to buy the viatmens and food dog was on now or I could not take the puppy home.. After all that now we are at 1632.55.. I question the info of breeder because when the employee was selling her speech to me about the dog she told me it was a sweet old woman who breed the puppy I got and would give me her information and records of vet shots.. when I asked after sighning everything they just gave me the name of breeder and dates and name of shots the puppy got. I asked her where all other stuff was she said because was a designer dog no other info is givin. I became very suspicious and went home and looked up all info on the breeder.. I could not find her as she did not exsist and began reading how all puppies sold here are sick or died. when I confronted them about all of this they told me I was wrong and breeder does exsis but could not give me her info...How do I know I got a poodle/bishon mix and no vet records as to truth. I told her I wanted half my money back and the dog is sick throwing up and not going to the bathroom. she says I can give you a credit of 200.00 after threating her to contact you and news channel. when I told her dog was sick and im taking her to vet. she than tells me bring back puppy but has to be today as if she new the dog was sick and not me to go to vet..

Desired Settlement: I want half my money back on my credit card and any vet bills occurring with sickness of the puppy

Business Response:

We are in receipt of the above referenced complaint. Please be advised that the client came into our place of business to purchase a puppy. She and her mother asked to see a puppy and asked the price of the puppy. We provided them with all of the information available to us and required by law, and answered any and all questions asked. After negotiating for a reduced purchase price, the client decided to make the purchase and signed all pertinent documentation. The client paid the purchase price of the puppy, N .J. sales tax, the “pet health warranty” for an additional cost of $99.00, the "freight/handling" charge of $60.00, and some puppy merchandise such as food /vitamins. At that time the client signed all documents and was provided with copies of all records, including Vaccinations and wormings, health warranty, sales contract, microchip registry information, vet examination dates, date of birth, breeder information, etc.

The following day the client contacted us, upset that she was unable to "find" the breeder on the Internet and therefore claimed that the breeder "does not exist". We assured her that the breeder is a nice Woman who certainly does exist and the sales contract states her name, city and state, and simply because her personal information such as a phone number or mailing address isn’t readily available on the Internet doesn’t mean she doesn’t exist. The client claimed that her brother is an attorney and that he "found out" that the breeder doesn't exist and no matter what we said, the client refused no believe us and called us liars. Further, the client claimed that the puppy Was sick so we advised her that she did have a health warranty and if a licensed vet found that the puppy was ill, she had the option to return the puppy or keep the puppy and have any vet bills reimbursed. The client demanded half of the purchase price be refunded to her, which we declined,

After over a week of more heated phone calls from the client making outlandish claims against our company, demanding reimbursement and threatening us, we offered to the client to bring the puppy back for a full refund if she was unhappy with the purchase. In addition, we offered to the client a reimbursement of $200.00 plus a $100.00 store credit as a gesture of goodwill if she provided us with the name of the person she claimed to be a neighbor that purchased a puppy for half the price that she paid, for the same hybrid. She rejected both offers. It should be noted for the record that all of our phone calls are recorded so we do have audio documentation of each plume call between our staff and the client to support our position.

When she repeatedly threatened us with an attorney we welcomed the opportunity to speak with one and asked for his name so that we could converse without anger and backlash. She refused to give us her attorney’ s name. We spent endless time on the phone with the client attempting to answer questions

none of which satisfied her and she accused us of lying each time. She repeatedly claimed the puppy was sick but was unable or unwilling to provide us with any written documentation to support her claims.

Finally, we came to the realization that our conversations with her were unproductive and futile and informed her that we couicl no longer engage in further discussions since she was in possession of all

written documentation available to us and as required bylaw. Her statement in her complaint: “I could not find her as she did not exist and began reading how all puppies sold her are sick or died” is just a testament to the outlandish and slanderous statements she has thrown at us during our attempts to appease her.

In closing, we denied the client’s demand for a 50% refund of the purchase price of the puppy since we have fulfilled all obligations to the client as per the sales contract and health warranty signed at the time of purchase. The client has not provided us or your company with any written documentation that the puppy is ill or has been treated for any illness by a licensed veterinarian entitling her to reimbursement of Vet fees incurred. The client was given the option to return the puppy for a full refund if she was unhappy with her purchase, which she rejected. The client also rejected our offer for a partial reimbursement of $200.00 plus $100.00 store credit, providing she gave us the name of her attorney and the person that she claims to know purchased a similar puppy for significantly less money. if we can be of any further assistance regarding this matter, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:



Regards,

******* ********


First of all they do lie saying that the puppies are giving the vitamins that they told me I had to buy if I wanted to take the dog home. Which was causing the puppy to be sick and theow up. She was seen at a vet and ***** the manager was told this information. As soon as we stopped giving her the vitamins she stopped throwing up. And yes I would not give the information on the woman who purchased the same dog I did for half the price. She does not want to be harassed by these people. They also would not give me the USDA license number if the breeder which by law is suppose to be giving. ***** told me she would not give me the information and would respond to bbb and have my attorney contact them. It's truly ashame that you purchase a dog and are not giving the information your supposed to have.. ***** only offered the refund of 200 and in store credit for 100 after I told her I was hiring a attorney and contacting the news. Than she told me I could return the dog. As I told her who in there right mind would return the dog after having it a few days and becoming attached to it. She would not know this because they do not care for the puppies as they say they do. She also told me I could return the dog after I told her she was throwing up and taking her to the vet the next day. She said u would have to bring her back today only. She new there was possibly something wrong with her. She was so persistent on having the name of woman who purchased puppy at cheaper price because she new I was right. They are rude , nasty and cold hearted. There are a handful of people I have been in touch with since this that had have similar complaints and we are taking it further. So they can deny what they want.


























Business Response:

We are in receipt of the client’s response. Below is our response to each of the allegations the client has put forth.

Please be advised that We do not force anyone to buy vitamins in order to take a puppy home. We do however highly recommend vitamins / food supplements for growing puppies to benefit from extra calcium, calories, etc. as they are growing and adjusting to their new home.

The client has repeatedly stated to us and to your office that the puppy was ill and has been to a veterinarian but to date has not provided any veterinarian statement of diagnosis to corroborate her claim.

The client claims that we did not provide her with the USDA license number of the breeder “which by law is suppose to be giving". That statement is totally false. N.J. Law and Regulations do NOT require us to provide the license number of breeders to our clients. In fact, not all breeders are required to be licensed by USDA. The client is misinformed regarding this matter.

Having the client provide us with the name of the person that she repeatedly mentioned would not have resulted in our "harassing" the person since we can simply refer to our own records to confirm the purchase. No contact on our part to this alleged person would be necessary.

The client repeatedly “threatened” us with "her attorney" but has refused to provide us with the name of her attorney, stating that he would be in contact with us. Our response has been that we would welcome contact from her attorney to discuss the matter calmly rather than having the client repeatedly call us, berate us, call us names such as “liars, rude, nasty, and coldhearted", refusing to provide us with the opportunity to respond to the allegations or educate her regarding her misinformation about regulations etc., and ultimately hanging up on us, over and over again.

In closing, we have come to the realization that the client is unhappy and we are unable to satisfy her unless we provide her with a 50% refund based upon her opinion of what the purchase price should be, which is unreasonable and unacceptable. The client came to us to purchase a puppy and had the opportunity to reject the purchase and go elsewhere to obtain a puppy. The client also was given the option to return the puppy and receive a full refund if she was unhappy, which she rejected. The client has not provided any documentation or substantiation to support her position that the puppy was ill or that a USDA license number is required by law to be provided to her. Both of these items seem to be the sticking point to her position that she is due reimbursement. For these reasons, we deny this clients demand for a refund. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us again.

Sincerely,

***** ******* ****.

9/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Breeders Association of America, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)