This business is not BBB accredited.

Nuts.com, Inc.

Phone: (800) 558-6887 Fax: (908) 272-3585 View Additional Phone Numbers 125 Moen Street, Cranford, NJ 07016 http://nuts.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company sells nuts, dried fruits, candy and other food products online.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Nuts.com, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Nuts.com, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 02, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1929 in NJ Business incorporated 01/01/1929 in NJ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Sandy Braverman, President Mr. David Braverman
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. David Braverman
Principal: Mr. Sandy Braverman, President
Business Category

Nuts - Edible Fruits - Dried Candy & Confectionery - Retail Confectionery and Nut Stores (NAICS: 445292)

Alternate Business Names
Newark Nut Company Nutsonline.com

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    125 Moen Street

    Cranford, NJ 07016 (800) 558-6887

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nuts.com has sent my order to the wrong address, not taking responsibility and not providing me with a refund. I have ample proof that it did not get delivered, including a screen shot from their own tracking information. I also have confirmed that no one with the signor's name works at the delivery location, as it is a mail receiving business which I have been using for over 3 years. I have researched online and there have been several complaints about similar situations.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund. I would also like to leave this complaint in regards to nuts.com to stay posted, so other consumers do not have to deal with the sames issues. Once is a mistake, but a repeated complaint is a pattern. This company should not be business, as they are either incompetent or incapable of delivering their products to your door.

9/2/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These nuts were expensive. I bought them for my daughter's wedding. Opened them to fill the favor cups expecting very delicious nuts. NOT!! They were dry with very little salt. The company says 100% guarantee. WRONG. They will only refund for what is left. I had to use them I had no time to replace them. I was so embarrassed. They say We will make it right with you if not satisfied. No...because I had to use them, they would not refund even though I was very dissatisfied with them.

Desired Settlement: If I don't get a refund...at least let it b known through BBB that this is not a company to deal with.

Business Response: This customer contacted us stating they received their order and were not happy with some of the items they received.  We apologized and let them know we would be happy to send a prepaid return label so they could return the order or any part of the order they had left for a refund or an exchange of something else.  The customer stated even though they did not like anything in their order, they still consumed everything in it.  Unfortunately, we are not able to issue a refund without receiving the items back.  Should they still have the items, we would be happy to issue a prepaid return label so they can get a refund.

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I stated that I didn't have time to replace the nuts. What I am most upset with is the fact that you advertise 100% satisfaction guarantee. "We will do whatever it takes to make you happy." This is truly false advertising. The nuts were expensive, very dry, and had hardly no salt on them. Maybe I got a bad batch. But I do know this, you should change your advertising to say, if you're not happy with the nuts, mail them back. I don't see this anywhere on your webpage.


Regards,

***** ******

2/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: a) 4 FREE samples were instead charged to my credit card at $11, which should be refunded: 1 Dried Apricots samples $2.50 1 Goji Berries samples $3.00 1 Berry Mix samples $3.00 1 Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans samples $2.50 B) I ordered and paid for heat resistant packaging/shipping, yet all the chocolate items were melted into blobs and should be replaced at $45.50 under the company's advertised guarantee: 100%SATISFACTION GUARANTEED If you experience a problem with any of our products, customer service, shipping, or even if you just plain don't like what you bought, please let us know. We'll do whatever it takes to make it right. YOUR ORDER ========== Will ship on Monday, August 31, 2015 and should arrive on Thursday the 3rd. 1 Chocolate Raisins (Sugar Free) 1 pound bags $6.99 1 Dark Chocolate Covered Raisins 1 pound bags $6.99 1 Chocolate Raisins 1 pound bags $4.49 1 Dark Chocolate Sponge 1 pound bags $11.99 1 Dark Chocolate Covered Pretzels 1 pound bags $4.99 1 Dried Apricots samples $2.50 1 Goji Berries samples $3.00 1 Berry Mix samples $3.00 1 Dark Chocolate Covered Espresso Beans samples $2.50 2 Flax Seed 1 pound bags $5.98 1 Unsweetened Coconut Chips 1 pound bags $3.99 1 Dark Chocolate Covered Apricots 1 pound bags $9.99 1 Raw Pepitas (No Shell Pumpkin Seeds) 1 pound bags $5.99 2 Toasted Corn 1 pound bags $8.58 Shipping UPS Ground FREE Heat resistant packaging $2.95 Total $83.9 A refund of $56.50 plus heat resistant packaging 2.95 = $59.50 should have been issued, instead I was offered a store credit of $15.

Desired Settlement: A refund of the damaged goods and incorrectly billed charges totalling $59.50

Business Response: This email is in response to complaint * ********.  While the customer did not follow the instructions given at checkout to avoid melting, we as a courtesy have refunded her the requested amount.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********
I am rejecting this response because:

There was no courtesy refund as  stated.

I had to file a reversal with my credit card to get a partial credit as they simply did not respond to BBB when this was filed 9/15 until today, Feb 15 , 16.

Doing due diligence after the fact, I can see many similar complaints  online and same on the old company name as well.

They have lost a customer and I will tell 10 other people about their failures.


Regards,

******** *****

5/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Candy caused extreme food poisoning symptoms to a gift recipient. Nuts.Com REFUSED to stand behind their website’s 100% satisfaction guarantee. Customer service representatives were rude, refused to issue refund, or pick up defective product. Opened a disputed with ******* and was immediately issued a refund.

Business Response: Hi,

We are sorry your Grandmother did not enjoy the sugar free candy she ordered and experienced diarrhea.  We certainly hope she is feeling better.  Per the warning on our website, and on the packaging we do state *Warning: Excess consumption may have a laxative effect.*  As a courtesy, we refunded your entire order including the shipping.  Once again, we are sorry your Grandmother did not enjoy these.

 

5/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered and received 2 5pound bags of White Roasted Garbanzo beans and a 5pound bag of Licorice Drops and one 5lb bag of Green Apple Drops as part of order # ******* on Mar 19, 2015. 4 people who ate the White Roasted Garbanzo beans became very ill with intestinal problems and gas which over the counter medications did not help. 3 of these 4 people sought medical treatment and had to obtain a prescription medication for the diahrrea and severe intestinal pain. The bags of Green Apple Drops and Licorice drops had more than 1/2 of the candies broken. I notified Nuts.com customer service via email of these problems on 5-10-15. I corresponded with a Nuts.com representative, Marcia, who advised me that she could not provide a *** pick up for me to return the items. I'm disabled and housebound so I was unable to drop the return package off at a *** location. If I returned the items I would receive a refund. If I was unable to return the items, she would issue me a credit for $71.80 and provide me with free shipping on the replacement items as stated her in email to me on 5-11-15 at 322pm. I expected to receive the replacement items in the mail until I received an email yesterday claiming they wanted the items back which have since been thrown out based on the email converstaion with Marcia. They also claimed that I would now to have to pay for shipping on the replacement items when I clearly have emails from Marcia stating I would receive a credit of $71.80 and receive free shipping on the replacement items. They are now claiming I am to pay for shipping on the replacement items even though they caused health problems and arrived defective. I have the ENTIRE string of emails with Marcia and nuts.com to prove the course of events stated above.

Desired Settlement: I no longer want replacement items with free shipping. I want a refund for the cost of the original items 2@19.35 and 2 @ 16.95 = $72.60.

Business Response: Hi,

We are sorry you are not satisfied with your order. Per your email exchange with Marcia we have offered you 2 scenarios which we are happy to offer.  We can send you a prepaid return label so you can return the items for a full refund.  If you prefer to keep the items, we are happy to give you a store credit on the value of the items for $71.80.  You can use that credit towards the purchase of items or towards shipping a new order.  Unfortunately, we are not able to let you keep the merchandise, give you a store credit for $71.80, and send you the replacements at no charge.  I am sorry for any inconvenience.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Your representative Marcia clearly emailed me on 5-11-15 at 232pm stating she would replace the items without me returning them as I am homebound and disabled and unable to drop the package off at a *** location.  She then VERY CLEARLY stated in an email sent on 5-11-15 at 322pm that SHE/Nuts.com would pay for shipment of these replacement items.

2 days later I receive an email stating replacement items wouldn't be sent to me until the defective items that made 4 people sick were returned.  These items were thrown out after Marcia specifically stated they did not need to be returned for replacement items.  You also then told me, in complete contradiction to the Marcia's 5-11-15 322pm email that I now had to pay for shipping even though your products made 4 people sick, caused 3 of us to have to go to the Doctor and incur medical costs  due to comsuption of your white roasted garbanzo beans.  Your company has sent me conflicting emails repeatedly and have completely gone against what your representative Marcia advised in writing.  
I am again requesting a refund.

Marcia's emails to me are copied, once again, below:
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Marcia (Nuts.com)May 11, 3:22 PMHi Claire,We can take care of reshipping them back out to you. You will not be charged a shipping fee for the replacements. I just want to let you know that the garbanzo beans are going to be the same as what you recently received.MarciaHave a nutty good day! Nuts.com.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Marcia (Nuts.com)May 11, 2:32 PMHi Claire,I am so sorry, but as previously stated, we do not have the ability to arrange for *** to pick up the package from you. I am so sorry for this inconvenience. We have provided the able so that you can return the items back to us. If you prefer not to return the item for a refund. we can certainly issue you a store credit for the items that you can apply towards your next purchase with us. Please let me know what you would prefer to do.MarciaHave a nutty good day! Nuts.com.



Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Per my previous email you have been refunded for these items

4/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 25lbs of raw sunflower seeds from nuts.com. When I received the shipment, It was evident that someone had tempered with the box. It had been opened and closed very shabbily by someone. When I opened the box, lots of dirt fell off the inner flaps of the box and an unmistakable smell of potting soil (or fertilizer) emanated from the box. I closed it and wrote an e-mail to the company. I, then, followed it up with a phone call. I was told that another shipment would be sent to me. I was asked to place the defective box outside my door so that ***** could pick it up. I had called the company on 3/16/15 and set the box outside on 3/17/15 morning. When the box was not picked up for two days, I called the company again to remind them to pick up the box. I was told that the box will be picked up soon. The new shipment arrived on 3/19/15 and it was defective also. So I called nuts.com again. I requested for a refund and let them know that I will be returning this new shipment also because of defective product. I set this box also outside along with the previous box. When on 3/20/15, I saw that none of the two boxes had been picked up, I became upset and called the ***** office to find out the problem. I was told by ***** that nuts.com had never contacted them for return delivery. So, for four days, nuts.com had only lied to me about return of the product and a refund. I called nuts.com and told them that ***** had not received any notification from them and that they had lied to me. After that, within one hour, one of the two boxes was picked up by *****. I called after them to pick up both boxes but they said that nuts.com had asked them to pick up one box only. So I called nuts.com again. They asked me to throw away that box. I replied that I will not be able to do so due to health issues. The box has still not been picked up after 8 days. I also have not received a refund.

Desired Settlement: I want nuts.com to get the 25lb box picked up from my door and I want a refund. I do not wish to do any more business with this company.

Business Response: We are sorry that both packages arrived damaged.  The order has already been refunded and the packages have been picked up by *** ***

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Nuts.com is not telling the truth on two counts. One, I don't see a refund on my credit card account. Two, only one out of the two damaged packages was picked up. I called them repeatedly to pick up the second package but they kept giving me one lie after the other.  I, then, felt compelled to contact BBB.



Regards,

***** ******

Business Response: I would recommend contacting your credit card company as I show a refund was processed on our end.  *** ** has told us they have picked up both cases.  I will contact them today and let them know they never picked up the 2nd case.  They will come tomorrow to pick it up.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Nuts.com has told me too many lies. I will not accept any response until they actually keep their word. They talk very smoothly but do not actually do anything to address the complaint. I filed a complaint with my credit card company also. They have not received any response from nuts.com. This organization is proving to be a very unethical organization.



Regards,

***** ******

4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered dried organic papaya from Nuts.com in late February and all of the pieces of fruit in the bag contain lint, tiny neon green specks, as well as tiny black specks, all of which take a long time to remove. The tiny neon green specks do not look like they came from a natural source. It looks like it is plastic.

Desired Settlement: In addition to Nuts.com needing to improve the quality and hygiene/purity of their products, I also request a refund. They apparently have a 100% satisfaction guarantee but ********** the customer service representative I had contacted, only was willing to give me a refund for what remained minus shipping costs. It is not all about receiving a refund. I don't think a company should be able to sell food products that are not clean. It is the right of consumers to purchase food products that are clean of lint and other foreign material.

Business Response: This customers was already refunded $10.99 for the product.  We are sorry she did not like it.

3/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered 5 pounds of dry-roasted organic cashews from Nuts.com on March 16, 2014. When I received them, many of them are very brown and nearly burnt. Many are even worse--completely inedible and need to be thrown away. Such nuts comprise of at least half, if not more, of the total. I contacted the company to notify them about the problem. ********* replied back and told me to return what has remained for a refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the product, a shipping refund, and a free shipping label for return shipping. The cashews are defective and the company clearly also needs to improve their quality control standards!

Business Response: Per our conversation with the customer, they can certainly return the product to us if they like for a full refund.

Business Response: I am sorry you do not like the taste of the products.  If you would like to return them to us you would be responsible for sending them back.  Unfortunately, there is nothing else I can offer you at this time.

Consumer Response: T
Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This complaint is not about taste. The dried papaya I ordered had foreign material on it (green and black specks, as well as lint). Many of the cashews need to be thrown away as they are not fit for consumption. There clearly are other defects on the cashews besides color but I discovered these after doing a bit more research. What I was seeing was also  dark brown insect bites, mold, and orange marks of rancidity, in addition to over-roasted cashews. Instead of apologizing for selling items of such poor quality and trying to amend the situation, it seems like you are instead blaming me the customer by having me be responsible for paying return shipping.

Also, if you had taken the time to actually read my initial complaints, there was nothing about taste mentioned.


Regards,

********* *******





























2/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Nuts.com advertise its products as freshest on the planet. I had ordered organic mangoes, strawberries and pears. The strawberries had visible mold. Mangoes and pears very stale. This can be a health issue.

Desired Settlement: They need to be investigated regarding their food preparation process as their products can certainly pose a health issue.

Business Response: I am sorry you were not happy with your items.  Per your conversation with ******l, she has already issued you a credit for these items.  I have gone ahead and issued you a refund instead.

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a loyal customer from nuts.com for the past few years and have ordered over $600 worth of products. I ordered organic raw cashews in my last order which contained rodent droppings. I tried calling and emailing the company but they denied any responsibility.

Desired Settlement: Finding the rodent droppings was pretty traumatizing. I am unable to consume the rest of my order because I can only think of rodents being in contact/defecating on the product.

Business Response: This customer had sent us a picture of what he found.  It was not rat droppings.  We promptly refunded him for those cashews anyways.  That refund came to $14.84.  He can certainly return the rest of his entire order for a refund if he likes.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is consistent with the lack of quality service that is advertised and promised on the nuts.com website. There are multiple claims made for 100% satisfaction guaranteed and the company will do whatever it takes if a customer is dissatisfied with the order.
 
Attached there is pictures of the rodent droppings found in my order. Again there is no apology provided and it's shocking how one can deny this is rodent droppings.

My order cannot be returned because it was contaminated by rodent droppings and prompty thrown in the garbage.

Based on the 100% satisfaction guarantee that nuts.com boasts and the fact my order was contaminated by rodent droppings my complaint will not be removed until I receive a full refund for my recent order.

Regards,

***** ******





























Business Response: We have already given you a refund for the product you stated was contaminated.  Unfortunately, we can not issue you a refund on your entire order because you decided to throw it in the garbage.  Again, if you would like to return your order to us, we would be happy to refund you for anything you return.  I am sorry but there is nothing else we can do at this time.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

This is not acceptable and does not reflect the company guidelines and 100% satisfaction guarantee advertised on the front page of your website.

You have refunded 1 product out of my entire contaminated order.

There were no apologies or efforts to satisfy the customer.

Regards,

***** ******






























Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Nuts.com, Inc.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart