BBB Accredited Business since

Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp.

Phone: (732) 225-0100 Fax: (732) 225-0302 View Additional Phone Numbers 100 Nixon Ln, Edison, NJ 08837 http://www.drleonards.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mail order catalog.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 57 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 23 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 5
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 12
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 21
Total Closed Complaints 57

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 31, 1994 Business started: 01/01/1970 in NY Business started locally: 01/01/1994 Business incorporated 10/30/1999 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joseph Albanese, Vice President Finance & CFO Ms. Margaret Donahue, Senior Call Center Director Ms. Patricia NALEWAJKO, CALL CENTER DIRECTOR Ms. Leigh Tricamo
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Patricia NALEWAJKO, CALL CENTER DIRECTOR
Business Category

Mail Order & Catalog Shopping Product Sales - General

Alternate Business Names
Carol Wright Gifts Catalog Dr. Leonards Health Care Catalog
Additional Information

BBB has received several recent inquiries and complaints concerning the Passport to Health program. Dr. Leonard's confirms this is a free trial membership program that offers member discounts within a provider network on medical procedures, supplies, and prescription drugs. The program is generally offered to select consumers calling in to place an order or on follow-up calls after orders are placed for merchandise. Following a catalog purchase, consumers are offered $50 in coupons to review the Passport to Health program free of charge for 30 days. Consumers are advised that if they do not contact the company within the 30-day free trial period, they will be billed a $29.99 monthly membership fee. All the calls are recorded and monitored to make sure the company is compliant with the federal and state laws. By law, a company must tell consumers that their account will be charged monthly unless they call to cancel within the designated time frame. Consumers who feel they have been enrolled in these programs without their agreement or knowledge should contact the company at 1-888-363-5822 or file a complaint with the BBB.


Additional Locations

  • 100 Nixon Ln

    Edison, NJ 08837 (732) 225-0100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/19/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
7/9/2016 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/6/2016 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the worst Company I have ever dealt with.-Buyer beware! I ordered some products from this Company on the 05/09/2016. I was supposed to travel with these goods to a different Country as soon as I receive them. This is s time sensitive matter.I called this Company repeatedly and was told the goods will be received 6 days after the order was made. Having purchased my ticket for overseas, I had to change the date of my travel to accomodate for the receipt of the goods. I called again on 5/19/2016 and was given a tracking number. The agent could not even tell me which Company the tracking number belongs to but assured me that I will receive the items by Wednesday 5/25/2016. Today is Thursday 5/26/2016 and I still haven't received the items. I called again today. One agent told me they never shipped the items. A supervisor by the name ***** told me she doesn't know why their Company did not ship the items. When I continued to question her she lied to me saying that the products got lost in the mail. This Company charged me $90+ . I also incurred a $600. fee for changing my flights and greatly inconvenienced me. I will have to travel tomorrow without the items that I have waited so long for. This is definitely not the way to do business. I will make sure all of socilal media including yelp and other consumer service organization hear of this.

Desired Settlement: First to refund all the cash that I have lost and compensate me for my time that had been wasted

Business Response:

I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ***** and would like to apologize for the delay in shipping of her order.  Our normal shipping time is one day after receipt and I have no explanation as to why this order did not go out.  I have addressed the poor customer service with the agents involved.  The order should have been re-issued and shipped when Ms. ***** called us on May 16, 2016 for the status of her order.

She have been given full credit for the order which was delivered to her on June 7, 2016 at 3:11pm as per FedEx Tracking.  I am sorry but it is not our practice to refund more than the price of the order.

Sincerely,

*** *********

Director of Order Services

6/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/9/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues
4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service
4/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service
3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
3/21/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
2/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service
1/7/2016 Delivery Issues
1/7/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
1/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
1/4/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/30/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The magazine in question contains adult products not suitable for my home. I have neither requested or want this catalog. I contacted them about removing my name from their mailing list and this was several months ago. As of this date I still receive their catalog

Desired Settlement: I want them to remove me from their mailing list and stop sending their catalog. I have grandchildren living with me and it is very inappropriate material. I never requested their catalog and I have contacted them to stop and they have not.

Business Response:

 

I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused, and although our records show that *** ***** called us on December 2, 2015 and we have marked him as not wishing our catalogs, it was likely that one was already in the mail.

I have added him to our Hot List for immediate removal this morning.  He should not receive any further catalogs.

If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

*** *********

Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

12/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On November 30 and 2 days before this date I made an attempt to contact this company on the whereabouts of my credit of a returned item. I returned a Romantic Chenille Bedding, in which I mistaken and ordered 2 of the same item . When my order arrived I realized there were 2 Romantic Chenille Bedding, so I returned 1 of this item. More than 2 weeks passed before I sent an email to customer service to inquire of the whereabouts of my credit in my account. I received an automatic email from this company stating they received my complaint, but not officially an response to my complaint. And after waiting for a response, I sent another email 2 days after my first email and still have not received an official response to my complaint. It's now December 2, and I have not received any answer to my complaint. Please help me get my refund of $69.99. Thank You!

Desired Settlement: I would like my full refund of $69.99

Business Response:

Our records show that the order was placed November 6, and shipped on November 10th.  We did receive the bedspread back on December 02, 2015 and processed the return.  The original price of the bedspread was $69.99.  In returning the item* *** *******, used our "Smart Return Label" that was attached to her packing slip.  The use of this label has a cost of $7.99 which is deducted from the price of the article returned.  This information is clearly printed on the return form and on the label. 

A credit for $62.00 was applied to her Visa Card on 12/2/15.  If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

*** *********

Director of Order Services

*************************

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

10/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have grandchildren living with me and the fact that I never order this book to come to my house to begin with. It has sex toys in the middle of the book. Ofcourse children will look at catalog and they looked at the sex toys as they look thru the book. I have phone and phoned so have them stop sending me this book and yet I still get it. Please stop them for me. Thank You

Desired Settlement: Stop them sending to people who didn't order that catalog.

Business Response:

I have received and investigated the complaint regarding our catalog.  I am sorry that our adult comfort items offend you to the point that you do not wish to receive our catalog.

Please know these products are sold to many of our senior population in the United States.  These items are very sensitive and it allows our senior customers to make these purchases in the privacy of their homes, without having to go to the store. 

I will be happy to remove your name from our mailing list, but need your complete address in order to do this.  Please forward as soon as possible.

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

10/18/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
9/1/2015 Delivery Issues
8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service
8/15/2015 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/29/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/28/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service
4/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Items purchased: $43.28 Amount paid: $63.28 Amount owed: $74.90 as of 3-15-15 History of paying bill in two payments. Paid $25. approximately 12-14 My bank had a glitch which negated next payment. A letter was sent by my bank explaining this problem. I wrote an email explaing this problem. I sent the next payment to pay off the balance with the $20 late fee. None of my correspondence has been answered. I am now being harrassed for late fees on top of late fees. I have late night phone calls as well as early morning calls, computer generated, on a phone that does not have unlimited usage. if I were to pay all their accumulated fees, it would be well over $100. No human contact. No response to my correspondence. Bill was paid.

Desired Settlement: Although it was not my fault the second payment was late, I am not asking for a refund of the late fee. I want them to leave me alone. A change in the way they do their billing policy would avoid this problem in the future. Contact with a real person, not on a phone is impossible.

Business Response: I have researched Ms. ********** account and found that although she did pay the late fee when there was a problem with her bank, she did not make a payment of the principle of the account.  The late fee was paid on January 5, 2015, but no other payment was received until 2/23/15.  This cause the extra late fees to be added to her account on a monthly basis.

As a courtesy, I have written off the balance on the account, a total of $70.90.  This brings her balance to zero.  This write off will be processed in our next billing cycle, and all phone calls regarding the late balance will cease.

I apologize for any inconvenience that we have caused and for the inability to reach someone in our credit department.


Consumer Response:  I do not agree with their assessment, but I will accept the outcome, as long as it does not appear on my credit report.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


3/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter for ID Sentinel Alert which I never authorized. They tell me that they will charge me every month for this service. I never asked for it and it was never mentioned in any previous mailings. I tried contacting them several times and it was always disconnected.

Desired Settlement: I expect an apology for trying to force this on me.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ****** regarding our ID Sentinel Alert membership program.

Our record show that on January 26, 2015, Ms. ****** was offered and accepted a trial membership in this program.  This offer was made by one of our customer service representatives following an order she placed with our Dr. Leonards' catalog.

ID Sentinel Alert offers members identity theft protection that includes monitoring hundreds of financial institutions, insurance groups, cell phone details and property records.  The three credit bureaus are also monitored for suspicious activity.  In addition, this program provides 24-hour Roadside Assistance to its members.  The cost of this membership, which is billed monthly, is $6.99 for the first month, and then $19.99 until the customer chooses to cancel.  This information, along with specific information on how to cancel the membership is explained when the membership is offered and is also included in the membership materials mailed after acceptance.

We did review the call and Ms. ******'s verbal agreement to try the membership was "Ok yes".

Dr. Leonard's has a satisfaction guarantee policy on all products including ID Sentinel Alert.  Since this letter has put us on notice that Ms. ******'s is not satisfied, we have canceled the membership and issued a full refund in the amount of $6.99.

I am sorry for any inconvenience we have caused this customer.

2/14/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Keep getting billed for product already paid for. Also they opened and account in my name, I pay all thing I buy with cash, or check. I have no credit from these people. I pay first then I receive the products. I am an 86 year old man who lives on a fixed income. My credit is excellent and they are trying to ruin it. My daughter and I have tried to resolve this issue but they keep us on hold for over an hour till we lose our tempers. We have tried several times and every time I get a new bill from them. We haven't been able to speak to a manager because they won't connect us to one. My wife is 96 years old and dying of rectal cancer, I am her care giver in our senior apartment with the help of hospice. I do not need to be harassed by these people.

Desired Settlement: Please help me to resolve this issue. I have told them several times I will get in contact with you and a lawyer. I can't afford a lawyer but they don't know that. My daughter is helping me put in this complaint at her home with her computer because I don't own one. I just want them to stop and leave me alone. My wife is where all my priority should be right now. I have asked them several times to take me off their mailing list. I still receive mail from them. I don't know what else to do.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Mr. *****.  I had to go back to mail order, phone orders and phone calls from November.  I found that Mr. ***** placed a phone order which our agent placed on his house credit account.  We do not take check order over the phone.  Mr. ***** followed by sending a copy of this order along with payment, which was entered as a second order.
This order was returned and instead of crediting his account, a refund check was issued and cashed. 
I have found that our agents did not clearly explain our process to him.  I have credited his account and as of this afternoon, the account balance will be $. 00 and the account will be closed.  I apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused, and if I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been receiving catalogs from Dr. Leonard Catalog. I did not order this catalog. Normally I would not make such a big deal about it however, this catalog has adult toys. Example, vibrators, dildos and erection rings. I had laid my mail on the kitchen table and my kids were looking at the catalog. I had no idea these products were in this magazine. I called the company and have "supposedly" been removed from the list. However, i was informed that i may receive another one before the request of being removed from their mailing list. I was informed that some other company had sold my info to them. I am not happy what so ever. Especially with the inappropriate crap found in this catalog. Try explaining that to your kids.

Desired Settlement: My info should not be sold to anyone. And there is no warning on the front catalog of the catalog and was not even sealed in plastic to prevent children from seeing it. And the catalog is a "healthcare catalog). What does adult toys have to do with "healthcare"????

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ********. I have removed her name from our mailing list - due to the adult products in our catalog.  Many of our customers are in need of such items and prefer to order them through the mail. 

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services
?

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dear BBB, I'm writing you in regards to this company, Carol Wright Gifts, aka Dr Leonard's, aka Shop Now Pay Plan, in Monroe, WI. Months ago, I purchased these slippers from them and when I got them, they were too big. So I called them and asked what to do, if can send back for exchange and if they could send me a return postage label. Although they did say would have to charge me 7.50 for the label, so I assumed it would just be added to my bill. I got the return label, packaged the item up with the return slip inside saying I wanted an exchange to one size smaller on the slippers. I thought it was pretty clear. Put postage label on it and sent it After awhile without hearing anything, I called them and asked what was going on with my order. Aparrently all they where concerned with that it will cost me money to send back and thought I wanted a refund. I don't know how everything got messed up and even told him that I wanted an exchange, which is why I just sent in the full balance of my account 3 days earlier. But he said I would have to end up paying for postage again of 5.99 and I just thought paying 3 times for postage for 1 item that ended up costing more then the item which was only 9.99 was a little unfair. So I just told him to forget it and to just cancel my account then. So I ended up paying the original 5.99 postage and the 7.50 for the return label for a total of 13.49 for something I never got and just think it's a little messed up that you can't even get what you want anymore when all I wanted was the right size and had it worked out at first I thought and then everything changed. Guess the days of the customer is always right is a thing of the past with common sense at a close second. Most the time now it doesn't matter unless who you end up talking too and know what their doing as the rest are just putting in their time so most could care one way or another. It's really sad. acc***************

Desired Settlement: Just want what I ordered

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from Mr. ********  From the complaint I see that he called and asked for a return label and told that agent he wanted to return his slippers for a smaller size.  The return label was sent, but when the item was received by the returns department, there were no directions with the item requesting an exchange.

Unfortunately, customer service and the returns department are in two different locations.  The returns department automatically refunds money if no other instructions are received.  When Mr. ******* called the customer service department on January 16, 2015, they should have explained that to him.  I do not see any comments on our system to say that.  They did in fact issue credits for the label and the postage and handling on the original order.  His current credit balance on his shop now pay plan is ($15.14).

I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused and hope to be able to better serve him in the future.
?

Consumer Response:
I am rejecting this response because:

I do not agree with their findings and I can't say what I want in response to whoever

wrote it as their a liar. I know when I returned the slippers, I wrote on the return slip that

I wanted an exchange of the same item, just one size smaller. Usually I make copies of

everything I do, but didn't really think I had to on this as it should've been a no brainer,

but I guess I was wrong. Ask them to show you the return slip and you'll see what I

wrote. Although it's a mute point now anyways as I called them the day I got their

response and they told me that they no longer sell them. How convenient. I don't think it's

right or fair that companies can do business like this now, but I don't care anymore. It's

not gonna make any difference. Which is why I told them to just send my refund and

cancel my account. That's the other thing. I just paid off my balance a week before, so

why would I do that if I didn't want them?

Regards,

Dale *******

Business Response: I apologize for the delay in responding - the refund was processed and issued on 1/22/15.  I have instructed the returns department to send Mr ******* a copy of the paperwork used to process the return.

 

11/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They have a charge on my account for 56.24. The order I put in they cancelled.

Desired Settlement: Remove the charges. I did not purchase anything from them.

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from Ms. ********** and have found that the balance is from an order that was placed in April of 2014.  Our tracking information shows that the order was delivered on April 30, 2014.

We did not hear from this customer until August 8, 2014 telling us that the package had not been received. At that time she was told that we must be notified of a lost package within 60 days of shipping and since that had not been done, she would be responsible for payment of the order.  She placed another order on May 11, 2014 and this order was also not claimed as not received.  Since it was less than 60 days, credit was given immediately.

As a courtesy I have issued a credit today for the balance due which did include late fees and finance charges, when processed the balance on the account will be $0.00, but the account will remain closed.

I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

?

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

In reference to complaint ID********, the company sent me an email the complaint has been resolved.  Thank you for your assistance.

Regards,

******* **********

10/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a product from DR. Leonard's . IT was safety arm rails for my toilet . Know i receive a passport to health program . threw the mail that they have charged to my credit card . That they received when i made my original perches with out my perrmision

Desired Settlement: You should stop them from doing this . IT really upsets seniors . Thank you

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaintfrom Mr.******, our records show that on September 2, 2014 was offered and accepted a membership in our Passport to Health program.  The offer was made by one of our customer service representatives during a follow-up phone call.

Passport to Health offers savings and discounts on healthcare expenses which may not be covered by insurance.  The cost of this membership, which is billed montly is $3.99 for the first month and then $29.99 until the customer chooses to cancel.  This information, along with specific information on how to cancel the membership is explained when the membership is offered, and is also included in the membreship materials mailed after acceptance.

I did review the call and Mr. ******** verbal agreement to try the membership was "Ok". We are committed to customer satisfact and we work hard to ensure our customers are satisfied with their shopping experiences with our company.  We have procedures in place to ensure our customers are fully informed about the membership programs and that all appropriate disclosures are provided when they accept an offer to try the program.  The customer is provided with a number to call and cancel their membership if they do not wish to continue.

At this time, we did get an authorization to bill his credit card for $3.99 (first month's cost).  But as yet it has not been charged.  I have canceled the program today, and no charges will be posted to his credit card.

Customer satisfaction is a priority at Dr. Leonards.  If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services
Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp.
*************************



Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** ******

8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was sent 3 different packages of items that I did not order. Sent items back and now they want me to pay $107.00 and have added another $20.00 to the bill today. I have sent bills back on why I would not Pay and they said they only received 1 letter and I have photo copied what I said. Now they said today if I did not pay this bill by August 12, the will turn me into collection agency and being placed in collection would cause me the inability to rent denial of loans and even the refusal of a job. I can no longer work because I am disabled from a car accident where I was hit head on the person came into my lane. I am facing several more surgeries and am under several doctors care. I returned their items and have asked them to please leave me alone But I continue to receive these letters. I asked them not to send me any more of their booklet ad ppers and they still do

Desired Settlement: I owe them nothing Items were returned and they had postage papers returned in bags so I sent It back I dont want them to bother me any more and I feel I have done everything including calling them. I have kidney damage colon damage colostomy bag spinal damage foot damage and knee damage I do not thin they should threaten anyone and It does not cost $127.00 to ship or return the items they sent me. I do not want to ever hear from them again

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. *********.  I have listened to the phone calls of the customer that placed the orders and found that Ms. ********* is correct.  The customer that called has a very similar name and our agent choose the wrong number.  I have written off the entire balance and commented her account that the debt was not hers.  The credit to the account will be processed today.  I apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused Ms. *********.

If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.
s

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

ADDED:  The personal stress induced by their poor handling of the situation (threats to affect my credit rating) could have been avoided if they had investigated the problem correctly in the first place.   They should be monitored so that others are not intimidated in a similar manner.  Hopefully this will result in better business practices by them.   Thank you BBB for your excellent assistance with this matter.

8/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/7/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 28 June, 2014, I ordered 6 items from Dr. Leonard's. Check #*** was for $69.89. It cleared the bank. I have received only one item which did not come until the last of July. I've called the company twice about the other items. On the first call, about 1 1/2 to 2 weeks ago I was assured the other items would be shipped the next day. They never came. I called again on 6 August and was told the items were still in the warehouse - they had not been shipped; and that representative could tell me nothing about why they were still there or when they would be shipped. He could provide no helpful information.

Desired Settlement: I would rather receive the remainder of my order promptly.

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from Ms.*********, and have found her order was placed on July 3, 2014.  One of the items was on backorder - the gloves were received by us on 7/27/2014 and shipped to her the next day.  She has confirmed receipt of that item.

I have also found that for a totally different reason, the balance of her order was never shipped.  I have issued a new order, and will have that order shipped via ******* *******, 2nd day air.  The order should be delivered to her on Monday, August 11, 2014.

I apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused Ms.*********.  We do try very hard to process each and every order correctly, but  it certainly appears that this one slipped through the cracks.

If I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** *********

7/5/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A CUSTOMER SERVICE PERSON FROM DR. LEONARDS CALLED TO ASK IF I WAS SATISFIED WITH MY PURCHASE AND DELIVERY? I TOLD HIM THAT I WAS SATISFIED! HE ASK "COULD HE SEND ME A DIRECTORY OF SERVICES FOR SOMETHING CALLED "PASSPORT TO SAVINGS"? I TOLD HIM I HAD NO OBJECTIONS TO LOOK AT IT! I THEN RECEIVED THIS WEEKA DIRECTORY OF SERVICES THEY OFFER/ COUPONS FOR FIVE TEN DOLLAR COUPONS [ EACH GOOD WHEN USED WITH A $25 PURCHASE!] THERE WAS A MEMBERSHIP CARD INCLUDED ! IT HAS NAME "***** ****** GROUP#****MEMBER#************ INCLUDED IS A LETTER STATING I AM ENROLLED AND JUNE 26/2014 $2.99 WILL BE DEDUCTED FROM MY ACCOUNT# USED TO MAKE A PURCHASE FROM DR. LEONARDS CATALOGUE! AND STARTING JULY 26/2014 $14.99 WILL BE DEBITED FROM MY ACCOUNT EACH MONTH! IT STATES I CAN CANCELL BY CALLING / BUT SEVERAL NUMBERS ARE LISTED, AND A PHONE CALL IS NO PROOF I CALLED OR WHEN I CALLED! IT STATED I COULD E-MAIL CANCELLATION BUT GIVES NO E-MAIL ADDRESS! THE PARENT COMPANY OF THIS ORGANIZATION IS DR. LEONARDS HEALTHCARE, BUT THE NAME OF ORGINAZATION IS "PASSPORT TO SAVINGS"MS. ***** ******** [PROGRAM DIRECTOR] *** ***** **** /****** NJ. 08837? AN INTERNET SEARCH DOES NOT SHOW THIS ORGANIZATION OR THIS LADY?? I HAVE SENT CUSTOMER SERVICE AN E-MAIL SEVERAL TIMES , EXPLAINING SITUATION AND CANCELL SERICE AND DO NOT DEBIT MY ACCOUNT! I JUST KEEP GETTING REPLIES THAT I DID NOT FURNISH PROPER INFORMATION AND THEY CAN NOT FIND MY ORDER? I EXPLAINED SEVERAL TIMES ," I HAVE NO ORDER/ I HAVE NO ORDER NUMBER TO GIVE THEM/ I JUST WANT TO CANCELL THE SERVICE! THEY SEEM TO NOT EVEN BE READING THE E-MAILS! I NEVER ORDERED ANY SERVICE/ DO NOT WANT IT/SINCE DR LEONARD'S CUSTOMER SERVICE INIATED TH CALL / WHY CANT THEY UNDERSTAND TO CANCELL IT! I AM ON NATIONAL DO NOT CALL LIST, SO HE WAS ACTUALLY MAKING A SALES CALL IN DISGUISE OF "JUST SENDING ME A CATALOGUE!!! SINCE THIS IS A DEBIT CARD/ I CAN NOT BLOCK THEM FROM TAKING MY MONEY! AND I AM ASUMING THEY INTEND TO DEBIT IT! REGARDS, **** ****************

Desired Settlement: CANCELL THE SERVICE BEFORE THEY DEBIT MY MONEY FOR SOMETHING [A SERVICE] I DID NOT ORDER , AND SEND ME A CONFORMATION BY E-MAIL THAT IT IS CANCELLED [ BEFORE THE 30 DAY PERIOD THEY STATED!

Business Response: This is a duplicate complaint - please see response on Complaint #*********

Sincerely
Pat N********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

5/30/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** please view attached documents online**** Dear sirs, On March 29th 2014 I ordered merchandise from Dr. Leonard's Health Care Products for %9.93. They asked for an additional $3.09 which I sent on April 11th 2014. I have called this company about 3x and each time I got connected to someone else and have to wait + repeat my request several times. Please help me get my merchandise or my money back. Thank you, ** ***************

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from *** ***************.  We do show the original order and the check that was included with the order.  At that time, the check was $3.09 short of the amount due.  I have searched all of our records and cannot find that we ever received or cashed a check for the $3.09.  The problem should have been escalated when the customer called on April 25, 2014.

I have processed the order and it will be shipped tomorrow via priority mail.  It should be delivered within five to seven business days.   Our customers are very important to us.   I apologize for any inconvenience that we have caused her, and hope that she will consider buying from us in the future.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ***************

5/16/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/6/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm not sure if I picked the right primary nature of my complaint above, but it is the closest to what you had to choose from. I returned items that were too small and I had paid $20.85. They advertised that the shipping would be free , but they still charged $3.95 handling charge plus $1.95 replacement charge and then when I returned the itmes, they charged an additional $7.99 for me to return this and I had paid $20.85. They only gave me back $6.95 This to me is a rip off. I want the full $20.85 back or at least $14.95. I have been a long time customer of their's and I don't plan on being now. I lost a lot of money when most places don't charge to ship things back like this. Thanks, 

Desired Settlement: I want them to take off The $3.95 and $1.95 and also the $7.99 and give me back my full refund of $20.85 or at least $14.95.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. *****.  The original order was placed on Marc 29,14 and our tracking system shows it was delivered on April 4, 2014.  The order was for five white tank tops, items totaled $14.95, plus $5.90 for handling and replacement fees.  When Ms. ***** returned the items, she used our "Smart Label" which is a label attached to the packing slip clearling stating that their is a $7.99 charge for the use of the label.

Our procedure for return goods, is that if the item is damaged or defective, we refund all charges, otherwise the charges are deducted from the refund.  Ms. ***** was explained all of this when she contacted us on April 23, 2014.  

Our customers are important to us, so as a one time courtesy, I have issued a credit to her Master Card for the $7.99 label fee.

If I can be of any other assistance, please contact me directly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

















4/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been ordering from Dr. Leonards for over 10 years the same piece of equipment Callus Remover. Feb 22, 1014 I reordered this item two of them . On the order form, there is an additional charge of 1.95 for replacement orders lost in shipment. Account# **** **** *** Order# ******** Callus Remover batteries not included. White 4.99 each.It was my understanding that this charge was optional it had been since I had started ordering this product. This item has a 3 month shelf life if used regualarly, so when it stops I just reorder. This time I used a credit card to cover the full cost of 13.93total. I was not notified of this additional cost was no longer optional until it was too late. I called to cancel the order and was told it was to late. I contacted a representative, was passed on to George by phone 1*********0 and *********8 and was told that as a continued customer he could remit this charge this time due to my long standing. Then I received and email from Shakira telling me that I couldnt get the item at the 13.93 I had to pay 15.88 for the item. I did not authorized any additional charge. This is tantamount to if you want to buy a product you have to pay a fee for a waranty that you will never use and is not necessary due to the products proven shelf life. I immediately contacted my credit card company as of 3/5/14 they have not heard from this company. I received the items 3/6/14 in the mail and promptly "REFUSED" delivery and returned the items to *** ** ***** ******** ** ***** USPS service. To pay for an item is one thing but to pay an additional cost/fee is not right. I was told one thing and then another so with all the confusion I decided to return the items and have my credit card credited the whole cost.

Desired Settlement: Refund of the total they charged to Discover Card, the additional fee of 1.95 was not authorized. The total charge was 13.93 not 15.88. So the entire fee must be refunded. I have REFUSED shipment of item(s) returned directly to the post office, I have no product and they should not be able to keep money for returned merchandise.

Business Response:

I have received and investigated the complaint from Ms. ******.  The $1.95 charge is clearly stated on our order form.  We have received the refused order back and a credit for the item was issued to her Discover card on 3/24/14.  The credit was for the price of the item only.  Our policy in the returns department is to issue a refund of the Postage and Handling only if the items are returned for being damaged or defective.

As a courtesy I have issued another credit to her account today, for the $5.90 she was changed for Postage, Handling and the Replacement fee.

I apologize for any inconvenience that we have caused her.

Sincerely,

*** *********
Director of Order Services

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
 In the future, I hope this miscommunication does not happen again for other consumers or potential consumers.
Regards,

******* ******




















2/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: DR Leonard's allowed someone else order $402.10 worth of merchandise and charged it to ****** ******** and mailed it to a different address than mine now they are requesting that I owe the this money I have tried to talk to the about this bill and let them know that I did not purchase this merchandise. I have requested a fraud package. I have tried several a time to get this information i can't get any information from them. This leave me no choice but to believe that they are fraud also. I talked to mr ***** in the fraud department about 3 time and assured me that I would receive this package after three times .The address that they shipped merchandise to is * ****** **** **** I have never lived at this address.

Desired Settlement: Remove these charges off my credit report asap.

Business Response: I have received and investigated the complaint from Mr. ********.   Our records do indicate that the orders were placed and shipped from an address that is different from his, and have contacted our credit department of this.  It appears that the collection agency used to recover this debt sent the notices to him.   I see from the comments in our system, that we tried to send the "Fraud Packett" on January 13, 2014 and again on January 20, 2014.  We are not sure as to why he did not receive it.  On February 11, 2014 we actually faxed the package to him, and he promptly returned it.  On that day we contacted our credit department to stop all collection efforts and to contact the credit bureau to correct the information supplied.  This will be done within the next 7 days.  I will keep  a close eye on the account to make sure that this does happen.
I apologize for the inconvenience we have caused this customer, and if there is anything else that I can do, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,
*** *********
Director of Order Services
*************************
 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********




















2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After paying for expedited shipping on an item, the item was not delivered in a timely manner. There were two items I originally ordered and I only received one item while the shipping slip noted that my second item was "backordered". When I contacted Dr. Leonard's they said the item was actually NOT back ordered and they would send the item out right away. At this point, the expedited shipping was not actually expedited and I had no need for the item I thought would arrive on time. Since the product arrived late and I no longer needed the product, I returned the product via their self addressed mailing label on 1/2/14. As of 2/3/14 I still have not received a refund for my order. I have called the company number times to find out the status of my order only to have them confirm that they did indeed receive my returned product but due to warehouse closures, etc my return should be processed "soon." Weeks later the return is not processed and there is no update on my account profile for their website. I am tired of having to call customer service for my item that is sitting in a warehouse, not being processed.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for the full amount of the returned item as well as the expedited shipping charge I paid for.

Business Response: I received and investigated the complaint from Ms. *******, and want to apologize for the inconvenience that we have caused us.  I have been unable to locate the return, but do see that it was delivered to our return processing facility.  I have issued two credits to her credit card, one for $24.99 for the boots, and another for the $8.95 for the express shipping that was originally requested.

We do try very hard to process all orders and returns accurately, but in this case it is an oversite on our part.  Again, I am sorry, and if I can be of any further assistance, please contact me directly.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

*** *******




















11/13/2013 Delivery Issues
10/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 30th, a package was delivered by ups, tracking #1z*********0272815, accepted and signed by a Mr ******, at Dr Leonard's warehouse. This was a heating pad i was returning, value , $29.99, that i believed had been purchased there, but i no longer had any paperwork on it. I was simply requesting for an exchange. All this time has passed and i never heard from them, so i emailed customer service and the battle began. They insist they can't find an order for the item i am referring to ,BUT, i keep saying that, that now it doesn't even matter because they are in possession of my property, whether an order number shows up or not. Countless of emails go back and forth, and not one email refers to having my package, they keep saying they have no order number for such item, and keep ignoring the fact that there is a signature acknowledging receipt of my package. I don't care if it belongs to them or not, if i made a mistake, then, be it, but the fact remains they have my property, which is exactly what they sell, whether it shows an order form or not, i still believe i purchased it there, and they will not, in any of the emails even admit to such thing, even with me providing the ups tracking number, it's as if i am talking to the air. A Ms ******** *, was corresponding with me, and i just had enough of what i feel is disrespect and lack of professionalism

Desired Settlement: I would love, not only the amount for the item, but also for shipping it, because at this point, i truly feel they have done absolutely nothing, to resolve the matter, and i want nothing else to do with them. I want my name off their mailing list, and off their website list. I have no desire to do any business with them ever again. The sooner this matter is resolved, the better, because they are giving me the ultimate upset stomach. I am too old to be dealing with this disrespect over something so small. I want to move on. This company needs to learn what customer service truly is and a seminar on it would not hurt them. Thank you so much.

Business Response: I have investigated the complaint from Ms. *******, and have researched all of the e-mails that pertain to this complaint.  I found her to be rightfully justified in all her comments.  I wanto to sincerely apoogize, this should have been handled much better.    New training will be provided to our e-mail response team as a result.  They do indeed need to do a little investigative work, before responding.  It also appears that the team did not read each e-mail and response carefully.  I have issued a refund check for $29.99 which will be processed tonight and mailed tomorrow, September 27, 2013.

I want to sincerely apologize, this should have been handled much better. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.





Ps. I would have liked shipping costs included. but i also want my email and address removed from their list
















9/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Dr. Leonard's Healthcare Corp.
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart