BBB Accredited Business since

Marlin Leasing Corp

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 479-9111 Fax: (856) 813-2708 300 Fellowship Rd, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.marlinleasing.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers leasing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marlin Leasing Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marlin Leasing Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 28 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

28 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 19
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 28

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Marlin Leasing Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 31, 2000 Business started: 06/16/1997 in DE Business started locally: 06/16/1997 Business incorporated 07/14/1997 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

State Department of Banking & Insurance
20 West State Street, CN-040, Trenton NJ 08625
http://www.state.nj.us/dobi/index.html
Phone Number: 609-292-7272
The number is 0088059.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Dietz, Assistant General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Dietz, Assistant General Counsel
Business Category

Leasing Service Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Marlin Leasing Marlin Leasing Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 300 Fellowship Rd

    Mount Laurel, NJ 08054 (888) 479-9111

  • P.O. Box 637

    Mount Laurel, NJ 08054

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Problems with Product/Service
5/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/4/2016 Billing/Collection Issues
12/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was issued gift cards from ****** ******* (through ********). These cards had very short expiration dates due to a family emergency I was unable to use them before the short expiration. I contacted Marlin for reimbursement and they claimed the funds were sent to ********. I contacted ******** and they indicated that the funds were returned to Marlin Leasing. I again contacted my representative at Marlin who, after research, claimed these funds were never returned to Marlin. These funds are in excess of $1200 which I paid taxes on.

Desired Settlement: I require a full refund of the funds that I am owed.

Business Response:


I recently received a letter from your office regarding the above referenced case.  Marlin’s response is set forth herein.  Mr. ***company was a recipient of gift cards from Marlin as a result of a prize Mr. ********* company won for a contest that Marlin held.

The gift cards clearly stated that they had a six month expiration date. It is very unfortunate that Mr. ******* had a family emergency which resulted in his inability to use the gift cards during the six months they were active. 

Please note, however, that despite what ******** may have told Mr. ******** Marlin does not receive money back for the balance of expired and unused gift cards. Once Marlin outlays the money to purchase the gift cards, Marlin has no further dealings with ********* 

To date, Marlin has not issued a W-9 to Mr. ********* company for the winnings (i.e. amount of the gift card); so, Marlin is unaware of the circumstances regarding any taxes Mr. ******* may or may not have paid for the winnings.

We are sympathetic to Mr. ********* plight and we are saddened to hear he was the recipient of wrong information from ********* However, Marlin will not be refunding Mr. ******* for his expired gift cards.

 

Thank you,

Marlin

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Somehow I do not think it would be wise to post my 1099 online.  The taxes were paid and the money owed.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response:

As a federally regulated bank holding company, Marlin is not in a position to send money to someone based on an unverified claim.  If the claim can be substantiated, we would be happy to do what we can. Please send documentation proving (I) that the gift card were never utilized, (2) that taxes on the amount of the gift cards were paid by you to the government, and (3) that the vendor on the transaction, ***** ****** Inc., authorized the initial payment and now authorizes re-payment of the gift cards to you.

Thank you,

******

10/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/25/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Beware! Beware! Just remember that everything that you see and read on the internet is not legit. Marlin Equipment was referred to me by a vendor company that I wanted to purchase some items. The guy ***** ****** got on the phone in his swift talking manner explained how the funding opportunities would go. Since he was a referral I felt confident to give him my information in order to see if I qualified. He said I was approved and to begin selecting my equipment and to get the invoices to him. Fast forward to 2 months later, I am here generating this BEWARE notice. After being approved, I submitted the proper invoices and WAITED. I would call and send emails and this is what I would get: no responses ever, a comment from ***** about it “being the end of the month and there is a lot of filing that has to happen”, “Ooooh, they haven’t sent you the forms”, “I will send the documents within the hour”, “I am still working on it”, “I thought I sent it”. I attempted to call their offices several times and left messages for the sales, customer service liaison to contact me and no one ever did. Here is the worse part: I submitted the invoice for one piece of equipment after being approved, ***** contacted the vendor and asked him for his information and told him I was approved. The vendor, thinking that the company is legit began manufacturing the product and submitted permits on my behalf because ***** contacted him. That has put me in a bind feeling obligated to work with the vendor because he has already invested his money. After ***** initially contacted the vendor a month went by, and I had been trying to contact him, I had not heard from Jacob..basically the run-around,… the vendor told me ***** called him again as if everything was OK….the irony…..I had not heard from ***** in a few weeks. It is a total scam and I feel they are trying to steal my information, meet some quota and lead people on etc.. and I am contacting all agencies to inform them of their dealings.

Desired Settlement: The vendor is the biggest victim. I would like them to compensate the vendor the monies that he has paid for the permits and making the product. He would have not began doing so if ***** would have reframed from calling him. to inform him that I was approved and that ***** himself would be the point of contact and that he would be dealing with him in order to finance my product. ***** made it seem like everything was good to go and that was far from the truth.

Business Response:

Please rest assured that Marlin Business Services Corp. and its affiliated companies (hereinafter “Marlin”) takes customer complaints very seriously.  Everyone at Marlin endeavors to give all of our customers the best experience possible.
 
Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******** submitted by ** ***** in connection with alleged service issues.
 
With respect to this application and file, the information Marlin originally received with respect to the equipment vendor and the equipment changed following the initial approval.  The application was initially for playground equipment to be procured from a playground equipment manufacturer and to be used at a day care center.  The application then changed to a request for a business sign and outdoor carpeting at a business at a strip mall.  The new vendors and equipment types were not approved by Marlin, and all of this was appropriately communicated to the applicant. 


Regards,

Customer Service

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
4/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our law firm leases 2 copiers from Marlin Leasing. Marlin Leasing refuses to declare their property to the *** ***** ****** ********* ****** to pay personal property tax on them despite numerous requests from me and the ******** ********** ** *******. Marlin Leasing mistakenly paid personal property to the **** ** ** ***** for our 2 copiers, then made us pay them back per our agreement, but we didn't know they paid the WRONG department of revenue. Our firm then had to pay *** ***** ****** *** for 2013 & 2014 personal property which Marlin Leasing refused to pay. Our firm is located in the ****** ** *** ***** and Marlin Leasing needs to seek a refund from the **** ** ** ***** and refund our duplicate 2013 & 2014 personal property payments. In 2013, our firm had to pay *** ***** ****** *** $396.69 since Marlin Leasing refused to. Then we also had to pay Marlin $327.97 (the amount they mistakenly paid the **** ** *** ***** ***). In 2014, our firm had to pay *** ***** ****** *** $265.70 since Marlin Leasing refused to. Then we also had to pay Marlin $230.63 (the amount they mistakenly paid the **** ** *** ***** ***). Now in 2015, Marlin Leasing is refusing to correct this situation and we will soon refuse payment of remainder of lease. *** *** ***** ****** *** has asked Marlin many times to declare copiers for 2015 without any response. So now our firm will have to pay Marlin's 2015 ** ***** ****** taxes again. Our copier saleman, whom we leased these copiers from stated they don't use Marlin any longer because they have done unscrupulouis acts to most of their clients. Our copier sales company, *** have contacted Marlin over and over and Marlin refuses to make this right. I have personally called Marlin and didn't get anywhere either. Marlin contact is ****** ******

Desired Settlement: Marlin Leasing will declare their property that we lease with *** ***** ****** *** and we will have proof by being cc'd on their letter. Marlin leasing will send us a check for $558.60 refunding our duplicate tax payment plus another $500 for wasting my time.

Business Response:



Please rest assured that I, along with the rest of
Marlin, take customer complaints very seriously. Everyone at Marlin endeavors
to give all of our customers the best experience possible.



Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint
#******** submitted by *** ******** on behalf of  ********
********* ****** (hereinafter “********* regarding the above referenced
commercial equipment Lease. In Ms. ********** letter, she questioned Marlin
Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “Marlin”) property tax invoicing practices.

 
With respect to the Complaint, we have thoroughly reviewed all of our records in connection
with the billing of property taxes on the leased equipment.  Marlin is the owner of the leased equipment
and Marlin reported the equipment that ******* leased from Marlin to *******’ property
tax jurisdiction based on the equipment address on file.  Under the terms of the lease, ******* is
required to reimburse Marlin for all sales, use, property, and other non-income
taxes. 

Since the equipment address on file was incorrect, Marlin paid the **** ** ** ***** and
not the ** ***** ******.

In order to rectify the situation, Marlin will reapply the property taxes paid by ******* towards
rental and waive the amounts billed for property taxes.  In addition, the account was updated to
“lessee files property taxes” status to ensure no future billing discrepancies
occur.

 
As noted above, Marlin takes customer complaints very seriously.  We want our customers to have positive
experiences with our company and with our employees who provide services to our
customers.  

Thank you for doing business with us.

3/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company keeps stating my loan is 60 days past due when it is not. The lease is paid 33 payments out of 36 and they are threatening our credit if we don't pay them by the end of the day today or they are going to harm our credit and take legal action against us. My payment was due January 1st. They are saying it is 2 months past due. It is February 20th, and they have been telling me ALL month that it's 2 months past due. I'm am struggling monthly with this loan and yet I am still paying it. I'm tired of being harassed and bullied into paying and tired of their scare tactics. The loan was on lease equipment that does not even work. They told me whether it worked or not I still had to pay the lease because I signed for it, which I have been doing for almost 3 years. I'm just tired of being bullied for $400+ a month! The company has harassed my wife via email, as I let her take care of this. Since she has asked them to cease and desist harassing her, they have now taken to making threatening phone calls and leaving voice mail threatening if I do not contact them today, there will be legal action. Yet. I am still not 60 days past due as they say I am.

Desired Settlement: I'd like the last 3 payments absorbed by Marlin, as well as any taxes, late fees, etc. I'd also like the return of the equipment to be paid in full by Marlin Leasing.

Business Response:

Please rest assured that I, along with the rest of
Marlin, take customer complaints very seriously.  Everyone at Marlin endeavors to give all of
our customers the best experience possible.

Please accept this
letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******** submitted by
**** ******* shall on behalf of *** **** ********** (hereinafter “****)
regarding the above referenced commercial equipment Lease.  In Mr. ********* letter, he questioned Marlin
Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “Marlin”) collection practices.

***** Lease payment due date is the first day of
each month. As of today, Marlin received twenty-one late payments on the ***
lease. Out of the twenty-one late payments received eighteen of the late payments
were received more than twelve days after the due date. One of those, the
December 1, 2014 payment, was actually sixty days delinquent before payment was
received. Mr. ******* states that the loan is not sixty days past due. Mr.
******* is correct that as of today the account is not sixty days past due. ***
made a payment (paying the January 1, 2015 past due payment) four days after
writing this complaint on February 25, 2014. As a result, the account is now are
only behind on the February 1, 2015 payment by twenty-six days.

Mr. ******* states that
***** sole issue with Marlin is Marlin’s collection tactics on ***** commercial
lease account with Marlin. Under the law, Marlin as a commercial financing
institution lending only to businesses is permitted to make collection calls/emails/contact
to Marlin’s delinquent commercial customers to collect on monies owed to
Marlin. No one at Marlin is threatening Mr. *******. Marlin’s collectors are
simply trying to collect on the non-cancellable commercial equipment lease
obligation that *** committed to paying when the lease was signed. When
delinquent accounts reach a certain delinquency date, the account goes to
Marlin’s legal department for litigation. This is not a bullying tactic but a
statement of fact.

***** request that Marlin “absorb” the “last
three payments as well as any taxes, late fees and the return of the equipment
to be paid in full by Marlin” is groundless. *** is contractually obligated
per the terms of the Lease to pay to Marlin (1) all payments under the lease
term, (2) all taxes under the Lease, (3) all fees under the Lease, AND (4)
either (a) the residual value of the equipment or (b) pay to return the equipment
and refurbish it if it is not returned in good working order. While it is unfortunate that Mr. ******* is now
dissatisfied with the terms he explicitly agreed to in the Lease, Marlin is
under no obligation to accommodate ***** non-contractual and unusual
resolution proposal.



Thank you for your business,



Marlin

2/10/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marlin Leasing financed a copier leased by ****** *******. ******* procured this lease by means of fraud, using the corporate name of ******* ** ******** **** ******* ** ******* is owned by ***** *****, from whom ******* had bought the gym where the equipment was delivered. ******* currently faces criminal charges in Maryland for the same fraud at a different business (Case **********). The gym was repossessed from ******* by ******* ** *******; by this time ******* had removed the leased equipment. Upon receiving numerous phone calls and letters regarding the delinquent account fraudulently listing ******* ** ******* as the holder of the lease, numerous phone calls were made to Marlin Leasing explaining that they possessed an invalid, illegal contract, and that ******* ** ******* was not liable. Marlin Leasing has repeatedly refused to correct their records and continues to harass ******* ** ******* (d.b.a. G*** ***** ***) with collection letters and threats of reporting "negative information" to credit bureaus. It is simply untenable that Marlin Leasing is just this incompetent and that these actions are not being carried out with full knowledge that they are fraudulent and illegal. As stated, Mr. ******* now faces criminal charges for this same fraud, and such charges will be pursued against all other accessories, including Marlin Leasing, if this matter is not swiftly resolved to the satisfaction of ******* ** ******** ****

Desired Settlement: The only acceptable outcome is a letter from Marlin Leasing explicitly stating that, at no point in time, was ******* ** ******* a party to this or any contract held by Marlin, and an apology for the amount of time spent in vain trying to rectify this with them directly.

Business Response:

Please rest assured that I, along with the rest of Marlin, take customer complaints very seriously. Everyone at Marlin endeavors to give all of our customers the best experience possible.

Marlin has thoroughly reviewed all of our records in connection with ******* ** ********* lease contract. It appears that on September 15, 2014, a Mr. ***
***** the alleged new GM of the gym, called into Marlin first alerting Marlin to some of the of the allegations in this Complaint. At that time it was noted
by Mr. ***** that he would be heading to the police station on that same day (9/15/14) to file a police report which he would fax to Marlin once completed.
To date (almost two months later), Marlin has not received a copy of the police report as promised.


Unfortunately, without the police report or the notarized affidavit of facts
outlining his position, Marlin is unable to investigate the situation.

In addition, Marlin, as a financial institution, does not have access to criminal investigation records; so, unfortunately Marlin is unable to review the case cited in this complaint by Mr. **** or verify any of the allegations made in the complaint.


If Mr. **** wishes to submit the police report and affidavit required to Marlin, then, Marlin would be happy to investigate this issue further. We can accept those documents via mail to: ****** ******** ****, c/o ***** *********** *** ********** ****, Mount Laurel, NJ 08054 or via fax to ###-###-####.

Thank you.



Regards,

Marlin Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The course of action the owners choose to take regarding Mr. ******* in this matter is a secondary issue as the owner, ***** *****, explained in a fax to Marlin Leasing.  The fact remains that the contract held be Marlin Leasing is fraudulent, at least to the extent that it lists ******* ** ******* ***.  In my phone exchanges with employees of Marlin Leasing I have given the current contact information for ****** ******* who actually signed the lease.  The simple fact remains that ******* ** ******* *** is not a party to this contract.  I would have to assume that, since their response made no reference to this, Marlin Bank accepts this fact.  Marlin's response should either A) acknowledge that ******* ** ******* is not a party to this contract or, B) state that  they do, in fact, maintain that ****** ******* is an agent or representative of ******* ** *******, along with an explanation as to why they believe this to be the case.



Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:

Despite the fact that no one has submitted proof or the requested documentation concerning this alleged
fraud or identity theft to Marlin, Marlin has suppressed the collection calls
and letters to ******* ******* ****

Unfortunately, Mr. ******* ****, is requesting that Marlin
make a determination of law and a representation of that determination of law
to him (i.e. that a fraud was committed by a Mr. *******).  

Marlin is a bank not a court of law or a law enforcement
agency. Thus, Marlin will be leaving the courts and law enforcement to make
that determination since Marlin cannot do so.

However, the crux of Mr. ****** complaint appeared to be
that Marlin “continued to harass ******* *******” to pay the lease account.
Therefore, now that all collection efforts against ******* ******* have been
suppressed, Marlin feels that it has resolved the underlying complaint.

We apologize if this is unsatisfactory to Mr. ****; but due
to the nature of the issue, Marlin will not be making any determinations of law
or further representations to Mr. ****.

Warmest regards,

Marlin’s legal team

12/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am leasing software license. This is strictly ip and was told that I would not be required insurance. I am currently being billed for insurance with no recourse. I was quoted around $8k for the total lease payoff but was charged almost $10k. This was explained that "applicable taxes were added". I was not informed that there would be any additional charges. I talked this over with a company representative and was told that there was nothing they were willing to do for me. I feel that deceptive practices were used to close this deal, as I never would have agreed to this had I fully understood.

Desired Settlement: I want to exit this lease. I will accept loss of money paid so far and will return the software.

Business Response:
Please rest assured that I, along with the rest of Marlin, take customer complaints very
seriously. Everyone at Marlin endeavors to give all of our customers the best
experience possible.



Marlin has thoroughly reviewed the complaint submitted in connection with ***
***** lease contract.  It appears this issue is a contract dispute over the terms clearly stated in the one page
contract between the parties.

However, as resolution to ***** complaint and in order to provide the best possible
customer satisfaction, Marlin has cease billing the insurance fees, has waived
any outstanding insurance fees due on the account, and has credited *****
account with any amounts previously paid toward insurance fees.

In addition, Marlin has provided Mr. **** with a revised lease payoff balance, based on the
above credits and inclusive of a discount provided in good faith by Marlin, so
that Mr. **** may exit the lease should he still wish to do so.



Thank you.



Regards,

Marlin Customer Service

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have not yet received the promised revised payoff letter.

It is also worth noting that the contract is not the issue. The issue is what I was told was in the contract.

The above said, I do not fault the company for the actions, or miscommunication, of a single sales person. They seem to be taking this seriously and handling it well.

Once I receive the revised payoff letter that I was promised, the balance will be paid and this will be resolved.

Regards,

****** ****

Business Response: ****** believes the customer's additional complaint has been resolved.

In response to this rebuttal, Marlin resent the buyout letter to Mr. **** and Marlin staff just received confirmation that Mr. **** acknowledges receipt of the buyout letter.

Thank you for your business.

Regards,

Customer Service

11/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased equipment and utilized Marlin leasing to finance. The equipment cost $18,281 and I was to pay marlin leasing 6% over 5 years. This payment was established at $353. We began these payments and paid on time. The equipment we purchased had to be returned to ******* ********* due to a malfunction. They provided a more expensive version in return. the more expensive version cost $6,971 more than the original $18,281 for a total of $25,353 at a rate of 6%. A payment of $466 was established as we had already paid 7 months on the original lease. ~ 12 months ****** contacted Marlin as they were never paid for the $6,971 or adjusted amount after our lease was adjusted. The Lady handling our account left Merlin. No record of the adjustment could be located so Marlin for some unknown reason established another lease for $8,852 to account for the payment they needed to be made to ******* so in effect we started getting double billed for the $8,971 portion at that time. We have now paid $2,800 erroneously against the lease mistakenly established. I have the invoices and have provided them to Marlin. I have been contacting them for over a month now and have not gotten any real response that they can understand this very basic arithmetic and will adjust things accordingly. I will cease future payments until this can be addressed. the Bills Marlin sends do not depict what you are paying against or a balance so there is no way to see this. My wife is running this business by her self on a 7 days a week basis and was just paying what she thought she owed but as we audited our records we found this error. *** *****

Desired Settlement: The second lease of $8,971 needs to be terminated and the amount we paid $2,500 in ignorance should be applied/credited to the initial lease. the Bills Marlin sends do not depict what you are paying against or a balance so there is no way to see this.

Business Response:

I recently received a letter from your office regarding the above referenced case. Marlin’s response is set forth herein.

The date of the Complaint filed by ****** ** ***** (hereinafter “******”) is October 31, 2014.


****** requested as resolution to the complaint the termination of the 2nd Lease Contract and a credit for the amount applied to such Contract.

Because of the complexity of this transaction and the customer’s dissatisfaction, Marlin has agreed, in the spirit of customer satisfaction, to reduce the customer’s monthly payments for the remainder of the lease term.  This was communicated to and accepted by the customer on November 11, 2014.”


In view of the aforementioned and the fact that there are no other remaining issues between the parties, I believe that this issue has been resolved.

Thank you for your business!

10/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** ******** has repeatedly requested to receive detailed billing invoices from Marlin Leasing over the last four years, but has not had any success. Instead, we receive late notices with unreasonable and ridiculous late fees. Over the course of four years, ******** ******** has overpaid Marlin Leasing $2,732.23 in late fees! I am a successful business owner who is adamant about paying my bills on time and have worked hard to keep outstanding credit. I believe this is unethical and a scam.

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit for all of the unnecessary late fees.

Business Response: Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******** submitted
****** ******** on behalf of ******** ******** (hereinafter “*********)
regarding the above referenced Lease.  In
Ms. ********** letter, ******** questioned Marlin Leasing Corporation’s
(hereinafter “Marlin”) billing for late fees.

Section 1 of the Lease states, “If we do not receive your payment by its due date,
there will be a late fee equal to the greater of $20.00 or 15% of the late
amount (or, if less, the maximum amount allowable under applicable law) which
you agree is a reasonable estimate of the costs we incur with respect to late
payments and is not a penalty. Upon your request, we will waive the first
assessed late charge.”

********** Lease payment due date is the 10th of each month. As of today, Marlin received
19 late payments on the ******** lease and assessed 17 late fees. Marlin waived
two of those late fees (which is one more than Marlin was contractually
obligated to waive under the terms of the Lease) since two of the payments were
only two days late.

However, please note that of the late payments received ten of the payments were received
more than 28 days late. One of those, the March 10, 2014 payment, was actually
133 days delinquent before payment was received.

As a result of the above, Marlin does not feel that the late fees were “unnecessary”
as the customer alleges but rather they are contractually permitted under the
terms of the lease that ******** agreed to upon signing it.  Therefore, Marlin regrets to inform ********
that Marlin will not be crediting any additional billed and/or paid late fees.

Please know that ******** can register with "My Marlin" at any time to
review their account, review invoices, and make payments online. In fact, if
******** were to register with My Marlin, ******** could receive email
notifications when the invoices are ready to be viewed and be able to view the
invoices online and not wait for the snail mail invoice. The link for My Marlin
is *******************************************



I believe signing up for My Marlin resolves the invoicing issue and perhaps
could aid ******** with the delinquent payment issue presented in this complaint.
If you have additional comments or questions, please contact Marlin’s customer
service department.



Thank you for your business,



Marlin

 

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marlin leasing do not send an actual monthly billing statement. They send only a delinquent statement stating that past payment is due with $50 collection fees. I called them many time to resolve the issue...but I was denied. At sometimes I paid the fees and charges on a leased equipment...waited for the next bill to come by mail....none was sent except another delinquent statement..this is been going on every month. They waive the charges in the first 3 months...but they still adding others/. I do not see why would I be at default when I do not received a timely invoice by mail as stated per contract. It is not fair practice to send a delinquent letter but not a timely bill. My believe is that they deliberately did not send an actual invoice so they can send a delinquent letter charging $50 on top of the $112.35 therefor generate more money from customers.

Desired Settlement: refund the fees I paid/waived past current fees and I request an actual monthly billing statement with the actual amount of $112.25 as stated per lease.

Business Response: A Marlin representative researched the issue and all current invoices, past due notices and other correspondence have all been mailed to the same address for Mr. *** ******** business. Thus, Marlin is unclear why Mr. ****** is only receiving certain pieces of mail. Unfortunately, Marlin has no control over the ** ****** ********* delivery efficiency. 

It has been suggested to Mr. ****** to enroll in "MYMARLIN" so that he may view his invoices online rather than rely on the ** ****** *******.

Marlin has waived 8 late fees to date. As per the terms of the contract, Marlin is only required to waive one late fee. Therefore, Marlin has waived seven more than contractually required in order to accommodate Mr. ******.

In light of the 8 late fee waiver and in light of the suggestion to Mr. ****** to enroll in MyMarlin to view invoices online, Marlin believes the issues stated in the complaint have been resolved.



Should you have any questions or concerns regarding the foregoing, please contact Customer Service at ###-###-#### Thank you for your attention to this matter.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Although the matter has been resolved after I complained to BBB., the truth remained that I should not have suffered with their collection dept.    I was told that a third party is responsible for sending out bills to customers. Marlin should have checked with them and see why I am not getting my bills . As of today July 3rd 2014 I got a true bill with the right fees to pay due on  July 15. True they asked me to use the online services,but they refused my complains at the time.Nevertheless, I am glad this matter is resolved.



Regards,

*** ******

6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a list of vendors and dollar amounts that Marlin has paid out in regards to two leases that i have with them. All I need is the actual amount (without finance amounts) and to whom paid for each lease. I need this information in order for my CPA to file my **** tax return. So far Marlin has not been willing to provide this information. The leases are in the name of ********** **** ** ** ********** *** ******* ** ***** ******* ******** **** ***************** *** ***************

Desired Settlement: I just need the required information.

Business Response:

I recently received a letter from your office regarding the above referenced case.  Marlin’s response is set forth herein. 

The date of the Complaint filed by ****** ** ***** (hereinafter “******”) is June 19, 2014.  I believe that this issue has since been
resolved.  

****** requested as resolution to the complaint a list of the vendors and dollar amounts Marlin paid out regarding the ***** ***. leases.

 
As requested, on June 24, 2014, a representative of Marlin emailed ****** a breakdown of all of the equipment under each of ***** Inc.’s leases.

In view of the aforementioned and the fact that there are no other remaining issues between the parties, I believe that this issue has been resolved.  

Thank you for your business!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marlin Leasing is constantly giving ******* *********** ******* problems. They refuse to correct the billing issues on there end and tell us everything is our fault. There constantly misapplying our payments to other vendors accounts and then send multiple faxes and emails on a daily basis. We tried to work with them and even set them up for direct deposit payment instead of check but have declined multiple times. There customer service is horrendous. The harassment is ridiculous. We can never get a straight answer or a response. When invoice is received is it processed the same day. Vendor receives the check the following week but has held on to it multiple months in a row and then cash it after the due to hit us with late fee charges. When asked due to there negligence with our account they said they would correct it but refuse to do so just by the monthly bills received. I told one of there employees ******* *******) that late fee charges will not be paid and she responded by telling **** ***** to advise ******* that late charges are in the terms and conditions of the lease which is a legal and binding contract which requires us to pay those charges. When asking Marlin for help they refuse to and then throw a legal contract in our faces. They have not lived up to the business we have given them. There company should really be looked into because there ripping off companies and it's just not *******. They need to correct the multiple mistakes they have made to our account since we want to have nothing to do with them anymore. Marlin Leasing should not be recommended to any business because holding on to a check so you can charge your vendors for late fees charges which is more than the actual unit you are renting is assinine. There a scam and shouldn't be allowed to get away with treating vendors/companies like this.

Desired Settlement: We want our bill adjusted for the bogus charges due to there mishandling of our account. We also no longer want to do business with them and want the harassing phone calls and email to stop at once. They are the worst company we have ever dealt with. Marlin Leasing needs to take responsibility for there actions and be held accountant. This is not the way you treat your vendors and company should be put out of business at once. This is the second complaint that ******* has filed.

Business Response: Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******* submitted by ******* ************* on
behalf of ******* *********** ******** ************ *********) regarding the above referenced Leases.  In Ms. ***************
letter, ******* questioned Marlin Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “*******) payment application process and late fees.

 

It seems that sometimes customers believe that Marlin’s internal staff is processing payments.  The inference
alluded to by Ms. ************* is that Marlin’s staff is intentionally delaying and/or misapplying the posting of payments so that “late fees can be charged
all the time”.   However, that is not the case.  When a payment is mailed by a Marlin lessee, it is mailed to an unrelated third party **** ******* (hereinafter
“******* *****). Upon receipt of the payment, the ******* Bank processes the physical check and posts it to Marlin’s account.  The assessment of late fees is triggered by
the information provided by the ******* Bank who does its best to process every payment received at the lock box the same day received. The ******* Bank does
its best to apply the payments to the correct accounts and apply them in the correct manner. However, there are occasionally instances when the ******* Bank
misapplies payments made by a customer with multiple lease accounts.  

Marlin has waived all late fees on the impacted accounts and applied any monies previously paid toward late fees toward some of the delinquent payments which
are outstanding on the various accounts.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration ******* has experienced over this issue.  However,
please note that the Samsung accounts still have late (outstanding) rental balances that are due to Marlin.

Once again, Marlin extends the offer to ******* to enroll in an automatic recurring debit program.  Marlin has offered this
solution as a resolution to ********* complaints in the past to no avail. Marlin sincerely hopes that ******* will reconsider this program this
time.  Under this program, monthly payments would automatically be debited from ********* account.  In the event that ******* wishes to enroll in
the program, Ms. ************* may contact Mr. J*** ***** via Marlin’s toll free number at ************ *********  

 
As another alternative, ******* can contact Marlin’s customer service team and request buyouts for all remaining accounts in the event that ******* desires to
pay off and terminate the contracts before their stated termination dates.

Marlin values ********* business and sincerely hopes the aforementioned resolution is satisfactory to ********

Thank you,
Marlin Legal Department

 

 

Business Response: Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******* submitted by ******* ************* on
behalf of ******* *********** ******** ************ *********) regarding the above referenced Leases.  In Ms. ***************
letter, ******* questioned Marlin Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “*******) payment application process and late fees.

 

It seems that sometimes customers believe that Marlin’s internal staff is processing payments.  The inference
alluded to by Ms. ************* is that Marlin’s staff is intentionally delaying and/or misapplying the posting of payments so that “late fees can be charged
all the time”.   However, that is not the case.  When a payment is mailed by a Marlin lessee, it is mailed to an unrelated third party **** ******* (hereinafter
“******* *****). Upon receipt of the payment, the ******* Bank processes the physical check and posts it to Marlin’s account.  The assessment of late fees is triggered by
the information provided by the ******* Bank who does its best to process every payment received at the lock box the same day received. The ******* Bank does
its best to apply the payments to the correct accounts and apply them in the correct manner. However, there are occasionally instances when the ******* Bank
misapplies payments made by a customer with multiple lease accounts.  

Marlin has waived all late fees on the impacted accounts and applied any monies previously paid toward late fees toward some of the delinquent payments which
are outstanding on the various accounts.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration ******* has experienced over this issue.  However,
please note that the Samsung accounts still have late (outstanding) rental balances that are due to Marlin.

Once again, Marlin extends the offer to ******* to enroll in an automatic recurring debit program.  Marlin has offered this
solution as a resolution to ********* complaints in the past to no avail. Marlin sincerely hopes that ******* will reconsider this program this
time.  Under this program, monthly payments would automatically be debited from ********* account.  In the event that ******* wishes to enroll in
the program, Ms. ************* may contact Mr. J*** ***** via Marlin’s toll free number at ************ *********  

 
As another alternative, ******* can contact Marlin’s customer service team and request buyouts for all remaining accounts in the event that ******* desires to
pay off and terminate the contracts before their stated termination dates.

Marlin values ********* business and sincerely hopes the aforementioned resolution is satisfactory to ********

Thank you,
Marlin Legal Department

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I tried signing up for ******** and even had to contact customer service.  Still have not heard back from anyone and we still cannot register through there website.  They wanted ******* to register but won't help us or return emails/phone calls to get the process rolling.

Regards,

******* *************





























Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I tried signing up for ******** and even had to contact customer service.  Still have not heard back from anyone and we still cannot register through there website.  They wanted ******* to register but won't help us or return emails/phone calls to get the process rolling.

Regards,

******* *************





























Business Response:

The account is now registered for My Marlin.  The login information was emailed to *************************  Once logged in, the password and secret question can be updated.  A voicemail with contact information was also left on # *************



Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thank you. We appreciate your business.

 

******

Business Response:

The account is now registered for My Marlin.  The login information was emailed to *************************  Once logged in, the password and secret question can be updated.  A voicemail with contact information was also left on # *************



Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thank you. We appreciate your business.

 

******

4/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The problem is that the Terms of the Lease Agreement are confusing and were not fully explained. Also, the terms of the contract with regards to the return of the equipment to Marlin at the end of the contract are unreasonable and cannot be met without extraordinary and undue cost to us or for that matter anyone. The $1 dollar buyout option was not presented to the owner of the company and explained fully. It is our contention that Marlin represented the option at the end of the contract and never explained the full liability of cost to our company. In a recent call the representative stuck to her guns and expressed that at the time the contract was sign we would have been given a “much higher amount” that what the lease payment is on the contract. When asked what the “higher amount” would have been she was not able to tell us. Furthermore there is a requirement in the equipment lease agreement that the equipment be returned in “good working order” and that they will have them machine “refurbished” and bill the us for the cost. This machine will be obsolete by the end of our contract in May of 2016 (on a 5 year lease). This is extraordinarily beyond reasonable expectations for the return of a piece of equipment that have been in service (with documented problems) for five years to be refurbished. There is no possible way this contract can be fulfilled. I calculate an estimate of over $10,000.00 for the total contract including costs for cleaning and refurbishing a machine that if bought outright would have costs less than $3000.00.

Desired Settlement: We expect to be given the option of the $1 buyout or Marlin can take the machine back “as is” due to unreasonable expectations of refurbishing the equipment. We stand that it is impossible to meet the terms of their contract without an undue burden logistically and financially.

Business Response:

Marlin Leasing Corporation (“Marlin”) is in
receipt of a complaint by **** ***** on behalf of ****** ** ******** Attorney
at Law. Marlin’s response is set forth herein. 


 

In the complaint, it is stated that a $1
buyout option was not presented to the owner of the company. It is contended by
*** ***** that the lack of explanation placed the law firm in some sort of
liability as a result.

 

The terms of the Lease were, and still are,
clear. The terms are standard in the industry. As per the attached, it should
be noted that *** ****** ** ********* Esquire signed the lease directly under
language that stated “READ IT {the lease} CAREFULLY BEFORE SIGNING AND CALL US
{Marlin} IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS.”  ***
******** was welcome to contact Marlin or Marlin’s internal legal staff at any
time prior to signing the Lease to clarify and/or negotiate the terms therein.
However, instead of negotiating before the execution the Lease, the law firm
now approaches Marlin via the BBB after making 33 payments over the past 33
months and alleges that their lack of understanding as to the transaction they
entered into is Marlin’s fault.

 

In addition, *** ***** alleges that the cost
of refurbishment for the machine is “extraordinary beyond reasonable
expectations.”  However, the machine
would need to be returned only in good working order (i.e. resaleable)
condition. The expectation is not that the machine has to be returned in a
pristine unused state like the day it was manufactured since ordinary wear and
tear is expected. Thus, I am unclear how returning a machine that still
functions albeit with 5 years of wear and tear could be deemed “extraordinary”
or “beyond reasonable expectations.”

 

Despite the seemingly incredulous claims,
Marlin is willing to accommodate the law firm. It involves restructuring the
Lease which will entail a higher payment for the remaining Lease term. However,
in order to restructure the Lease, the firm will have to (i) make a lump sum
payment to accommodate for the 33 months of making lower payments and (ii)
execute a Lease addendum agreeing to the higher payment for the remaining term
of the Lease. This can be accomplished by contacting J**** *****, Director of
Customer Satisfaction at ***** ******** * ***** 
It is my understanding that the higher payment would increase the
current payment by roughly $5.00-6.00 a month (plus taxes) and the lump sum
payment would be estimated around $195.00 (plus taxes); however that can be
confirmed with *** ***** when the call is placed.

11/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: THIS COMPANY TOLD ME I WOULD HAVE A MONTHLY PAYMENT OF 212 DOLLARS AND THE STATEMENT CAME AND IT IS 229 DOLLARS. THEY CHARGED ME A INTERIM FEE OF 180 DOLLARS FOR A PIECE OF EQUIPMENT I STILL HAVE NOT TAKEN DELIVERY OF YET. THEY ALSO CHARGED ME TAXES ON THESE FEES I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF. THEY ALSO CHARGED ME A 95 DOLLAR DOCUMENTATION FEE THAT I WAS NEVER INFORMED OF. COME TO FIND OUT BY REEDING THE FINE PRINT, THEY WILL RENEW YOUR LEASE FOR ANOTHER 12 MONTHS IF YOU DONT NOTIFY THEM BETWEEN 2 AND 6 MONTHS OF LEASE ENDING THAT YOU WANT TO BUY THIS PRODUCT FOR 1 DOLLAR.

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS LEASE VOIDED. I WILL PAY THE EQUIPMENT DEALER IN FULL FOR THIS PRODUCT WITHOUT DEALING WITH THIS DISHONORABLE COMPANY. I DONT NEED TO BE MISLEAD, IT IS UNFAIR TO MYSELF AND THE REST OF THE PEOPLE IN THIS WORLD BARELY GETTING BY.

Business Response:

Marlin Business Bank is in receipt of your complaint dated 10/28/13 submitted to Marlin via the BBB on 11/01/13. Please find Marlin's response to complaint # 9781931 herein. Mr. *********'s complaint to Marlin is based on terms found in the lease contract. Mr. ********* is disputing taxes on the lease payment, interim rent and the documentation fee. All of these items are disclosed in the commercial equipment lease contract that Mr. ********* signed.

Mr. *********'s attorney called Marlin on or around October 28th and requested a waiver of the interim rent and reduction of the doc fee. He also requested a buyout figure. Unfortunately, he requested the buyout figure before the waiver and reduction of fees could be processed.

The interim rent fees were waived and the doc fee was reduced; however, the waiver and reduction occurred subsequent to the request for the buyout amount. Thus, attached please find a revised buyout letter dated November 8, 2013. The attached letter reflects the waiver of the interim rent and the reduction of the doc fee.

Marlin is sympathetic to the fact that Mr. ********* appears not to have read the terms of the commercial equipment lease prior to signing it; however, Marlin is under no obligation to cancel the contract as a result. Marlin has accommodated Mr. ********* with the interim rent waiver and documentation fee reduction. Furthermore, Marlin has provided the attached reduced buyout letter. As a result, Marlin believes this issue is resolved.

Thank you for your business.

Regards,

Legal Department

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marlin Leasing renewed a contract on equipment without approval from our organization; the lease was supposed to terminate in September of 2013 and instead they automatically renewed it. They are stating that now we, a Homeless Shelter non profit organization, are obligated to continue paying close to $200/month plus various fees for a copy machine that we do not use. I have left messages for the manager that I was told I'd need to speak with, *** ******, and not received any calls back to discuss the matter.

Desired Settlement: I want the lease terminated, as it was supposed to be according to the original contract, effective September 2013.

Business Response: I recently received a letter from your office regarding the attached lease.  Marlin's response is set forth herein.  

 
The date of the Complaint filed is October 8, 2013.  I believe that this issue has since been resolved.  The customer's desired resolution was to have Marlin close the account. However, the customer still owed a balance on the account. So, on October 8th, a representative of Marlin reached out to the executive director and advised her that there was an outstanding balance. The customer agreed to pay the outstanding balance and Marlin agreed to email the executive director a form to be completed so that the equipment return could be processed.

Marlin received the check representing the balance owed from the customer today. In view of the aforementioned and the fact that there are no other remaining issues between the parties, I believe that this issue has been resolved.  

 
Thank you.

Marlin Management

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This copier finance company was brought to me by ******** ************ in connection with two copiers I wanted to lease. First I was NEVER told about contract fees associated with the account. Second the copiers were set up on 2 different contracts instead of 1 each with their own fees. Marlin has repeatedly stalked me by phone telling me that I have been late on every bill. The first several months I never received a bill. I have paid either late fees or credit card billing fees to keep my accounts up to date =ing hundreds of dollars. My last bill I received on Tuesday Sept. 24th The invoice was dated the 18th and it already included a late fee. I have spent countless hours fighting with this company.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of all credit card fees, late payments and I would like both contracts terminated so I am not forced to deal with this company for the next 5 years.

Business Response:
I recently received a letter from your office regarding the above referenced case.  Marlin’s response is set forth herein.  

 
The date of the Complaint filed by Mr. ******** on behalf o* ******** Financial (hereinafter “*********) is September 26, 2013.  I believe that this issue has since been resolved.  

 
Mr. ******** requested in his complaint that he sought the waiving of all assessed fees as resolution to the complaint.  As requested, Marlin has waived all fees and reapplied the monies paid toward
these fees to the outstanding balance on each lease account. As a result of the credits, the *************** lease account now has an outstanding balance of $46.64 due on October 10, 2013 and the *************** lease account now has an outstanding balance of $9.68 due on October 10, 2013. 

In view of the aforementioned and the fact that there are no other remaining issues between the parties, I believe that this issue has been resolved.  

 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********




















9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on Marlin Leasing Corp
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart