BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers leasing services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Marlin Leasing Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Marlin Leasing Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 35 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

35 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 13 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 18
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 35

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 31, 2000 Business started: 06/16/1997 in DE Business started locally: 06/16/1997 Business incorporated: 07/14/1997 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Edward Dietz, Assistant General Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Dietz, Assistant General Counsel
Business Category

Leasing Service Financial Services

Alternate Business Names
Marlin Leasing Marlin Leasing Corporation

Additional Locations

  • 300 Fellowship Rd

    Mount Laurel, NJ 08054 (888) 479-9111

  • P.O. Box 637

    Mount Laurel, NJ 08054

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a list of vendors and dollar amounts that Marlin has paid out in regards to two leases that i have with them. All I need is the actual amount (without finance amounts) and to whom paid for each lease. I need this information in order for my CPA to file my **** tax return. So far Marlin has not been willing to provide this information. The leases are in the name of ********** **** ** ** ********** *** ******* ** ***** ******* ******** **** ***************** *** ***************

Desired Settlement: I just need the required information.

Business Response:

I recently received a letter from your office regarding the above referenced case.  Marlin’s response is set forth herein. 

The date of the Complaint filed by ****** ** ***** (hereinafter “******”) is June 19, 2014.  I believe that this issue has since been
resolved.  

****** requested as resolution to the complaint a list of the vendors and dollar amounts Marlin paid out regarding the ***** ***. leases.

 
As requested, on June 24, 2014, a representative of Marlin emailed ****** a breakdown of all of the equipment under each of ***** Inc.’s leases.

In view of the aforementioned and the fact that there are no other remaining issues between the parties, I believe that this issue has been resolved.  

Thank you for your business!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
6/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Marlin Leasing is constantly giving ******* *********** ******* problems. They refuse to correct the billing issues on there end and tell us everything is our fault. There constantly misapplying our payments to other vendors accounts and then send multiple faxes and emails on a daily basis. We tried to work with them and even set them up for direct deposit payment instead of check but have declined multiple times. There customer service is horrendous. The harassment is ridiculous. We can never get a straight answer or a response. When invoice is received is it processed the same day. Vendor receives the check the following week but has held on to it multiple months in a row and then cash it after the due to hit us with late fee charges. When asked due to there negligence with our account they said they would correct it but refuse to do so just by the monthly bills received. I told one of there employees ******* *******) that late fee charges will not be paid and she responded by telling **** ***** to advise ******* that late charges are in the terms and conditions of the lease which is a legal and binding contract which requires us to pay those charges. When asking Marlin for help they refuse to and then throw a legal contract in our faces. They have not lived up to the business we have given them. There company should really be looked into because there ripping off companies and it's just not *******. They need to correct the multiple mistakes they have made to our account since we want to have nothing to do with them anymore. Marlin Leasing should not be recommended to any business because holding on to a check so you can charge your vendors for late fees charges which is more than the actual unit you are renting is assinine. There a scam and shouldn't be allowed to get away with treating vendors/companies like this.

Desired Settlement: We want our bill adjusted for the bogus charges due to there mishandling of our account. We also no longer want to do business with them and want the harassing phone calls and email to stop at once. They are the worst company we have ever dealt with. Marlin Leasing needs to take responsibility for there actions and be held accountant. This is not the way you treat your vendors and company should be put out of business at once. This is the second complaint that ******* has filed.

Business Response: Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******* submitted by ******* ************* on
behalf of ******* *********** ******** ************ *********) regarding the above referenced Leases.  In Ms. ***************
letter, ******* questioned Marlin Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “*******) payment application process and late fees.

 

It seems that sometimes customers believe that Marlin’s internal staff is processing payments.  The inference
alluded to by Ms. ************* is that Marlin’s staff is intentionally delaying and/or misapplying the posting of payments so that “late fees can be charged
all the time”.   However, that is not the case.  When a payment is mailed by a Marlin lessee, it is mailed to an unrelated third party **** ******* (hereinafter
“******* *****). Upon receipt of the payment, the ******* Bank processes the physical check and posts it to Marlin’s account.  The assessment of late fees is triggered by
the information provided by the ******* Bank who does its best to process every payment received at the lock box the same day received. The ******* Bank does
its best to apply the payments to the correct accounts and apply them in the correct manner. However, there are occasionally instances when the ******* Bank
misapplies payments made by a customer with multiple lease accounts.  

Marlin has waived all late fees on the impacted accounts and applied any monies previously paid toward late fees toward some of the delinquent payments which
are outstanding on the various accounts.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration ******* has experienced over this issue.  However,
please note that the Samsung accounts still have late (outstanding) rental balances that are due to Marlin.

Once again, Marlin extends the offer to ******* to enroll in an automatic recurring debit program.  Marlin has offered this
solution as a resolution to ********* complaints in the past to no avail. Marlin sincerely hopes that ******* will reconsider this program this
time.  Under this program, monthly payments would automatically be debited from ********* account.  In the event that ******* wishes to enroll in
the program, Ms. ************* may contact Mr. J*** ***** via Marlin’s toll free number at ************ *********  

 
As another alternative, ******* can contact Marlin’s customer service team and request buyouts for all remaining accounts in the event that ******* desires to
pay off and terminate the contracts before their stated termination dates.

Marlin values ********* business and sincerely hopes the aforementioned resolution is satisfactory to ********

Thank you,
Marlin Legal Department

 

 

Business Response: Please accept this letter in response to Better Business Bureau Complaint #******* submitted by ******* ************* on
behalf of ******* *********** ******** ************ *********) regarding the above referenced Leases.  In Ms. ***************
letter, ******* questioned Marlin Leasing Corporation’s (hereinafter “*******) payment application process and late fees.

 

It seems that sometimes customers believe that Marlin’s internal staff is processing payments.  The inference
alluded to by Ms. ************* is that Marlin’s staff is intentionally delaying and/or misapplying the posting of payments so that “late fees can be charged
all the time”.   However, that is not the case.  When a payment is mailed by a Marlin lessee, it is mailed to an unrelated third party **** ******* (hereinafter
“******* *****). Upon receipt of the payment, the ******* Bank processes the physical check and posts it to Marlin’s account.  The assessment of late fees is triggered by
the information provided by the ******* Bank who does its best to process every payment received at the lock box the same day received. The ******* Bank does
its best to apply the payments to the correct accounts and apply them in the correct manner. However, there are occasionally instances when the ******* Bank
misapplies payments made by a customer with multiple lease accounts.  

Marlin has waived all late fees on the impacted accounts and applied any monies previously paid toward late fees toward some of the delinquent payments which
are outstanding on the various accounts.  We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience or frustration ******* has experienced over this issue.  However,
please note that the Samsung accounts still have late (outstanding) rental balances that are due to Marlin.

Once again, Marlin extends the offer to ******* to enroll in an automatic recurring debit program.  Marlin has offered this
solution as a resolution to ********* complaints in the past to no avail. Marlin sincerely hopes that ******* will reconsider this program this
time.  Under this program, monthly payments would automatically be debited from ********* account.  In the event that ******* wishes to enroll in
the program, Ms. ************* may contact Mr. J*** ***** via Marlin’s toll free number at ************ *********  

 
As another alternative, ******* can contact Marlin’s customer service team and request buyouts for all remaining accounts in the event that ******* desires to
pay off and terminate the contracts before their stated termination dates.

Marlin values ********* business and sincerely hopes the aforementioned resolution is satisfactory to ********

Thank you,
Marlin Legal Department

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I tried signing up for ******** and even had to contact customer service.  Still have not heard back from anyone and we still cannot register through there website.  They wanted ******* to register but won't help us or return emails/phone calls to get the process rolling.

Regards,

******* *************





























Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I tried signing up for ******** and even had to contact customer service.  Still have not heard back from anyone and we still cannot register through there website.  They wanted ******* to register but won't help us or return emails/phone calls to get the process rolling.

Regards,

******* *************





























Business Response:

The account is now registered for My Marlin.  The login information was emailed to *************************  Once logged in, the password and secret question can be updated.  A voicemail with contact information was also left on # *************



Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thank you. We appreciate your business.

 

******

Business Response:

The account is now registered for My Marlin.  The login information was emailed to *************************  Once logged in, the password and secret question can be updated.  A voicemail with contact information was also left on # *************



Please let me know if you need anything else.

Thank you. We appreciate your business.

 

******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
3/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
6/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/29/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/27/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
3/23/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
2/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/9/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/8/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/29/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/14/2011 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
10/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1