BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

Nilima Inc.

Phone: (800) 704-0692 Fax: (800) 704-0692 10 Cambridge Dr, Howell, NJ 07731 http://www.nilimarugs.com View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is an online retail store which provides a one-stop source for home furnishing products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nilima Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Nilima Inc. include:

  • 18 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Nilima Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 15 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 8
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 31, 2007 Business started: 10/28/2004 in NJ Business incorporated: 10/28/2004 in NJ
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Shashi Singh, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shashi Singh, CEO
Business Category

House Furnishings & Services Carpet & Rug Dealers - New All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)

Method(s) of Payment
Credit Cards
Visa, Amex, MasterCard, Discover
Refund and Exchange Policy
If the product you received is not as per your expectations and specifications, or perhaps it does not equip with your décor well, you will not be bound to keep it if you don’t want it or which may not be of right use for you

You are devoid of returning your purchase for any reason within 30 days of receipt for an exchange or a refund of the purchase price excluding our shipping and handling costs. 
Please Note - Any upgraded shipping costs will also not be refunded. Some products may be offered with free shipping, so please be aware that if you return one of these products the actual outbound shipping costs will be deducted from your return refund.
 In addition some items carry a restocking fee which will be deducted from your refund if you wish to make a return. Nilima Home Store Gift Certificates are nonreturnable. Please keep in mind that once an order has been processed for shipping, it cannot be cancelled. If you refuse an order, it will then fall under the standard return policy, where roundtrip shipping costs will be deducted from your refund. For exceptions and information specifically tailored to certain product categories, please refer to the links below:Flooring Return InformationRugs Return InformationClearance Items Return Information
All returned products must be in original condition and packaging; otherwise, additional charges may be applied. Unfortunately, business cannot accept returns of products that have been modified or re-assembled.
In addition to that, their would be certain items which may not be eligible for return as neither
the business nor the suppliers can take them back. Such items will be clearly marked on the product’s page for you best knowledge.

If you received a qualifying order as a gift that you don’t need or can’t use, you may return it for a refund in store credit without needing any help from the person who gave you the gift. Store credit will be applied to your account once the return is fully processed. If you don’t already have an account, you will need to set one up while entering your return request. To request a gift return, please visit the Self-Service Return Center. Note that gifts purchased from retail partners such as Amazon Marketplace are not eligible for refunds in store credit; in these cases the refund must be issued to the original payment method. If you have any questions about whether a product can be returned, please call the business. Note: If your item was damaged or defective, please see "What If My Order Arrives Damaged?" 

Returning An Item Or Order
Click on the "My Account" link on this page and click RMA and then select the order you want to return. Follow instructions, its self explanatory.
Alternate Business Names
NilimaHome.com NilimaRugs.com

Additional Locations

  • 10 Cambridge Dr

    Howell, NJ 07731 (800) 704-0692

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/25/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
7/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service
6/17/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a rug online at nilimahome.com on 5/1/2014. The product item said it would take 14 days. When I log into my account it simply says "processing." I received a reply from ***** **** on 5/15/14 stating that they were waiting on the tracking number. I have since emailed on 5/21, 5/29, and called on 5/29 and 5/30 during their normal business hours and have received zero response from them. I asked for my order to be cancelled, and this has not happened. I have also lodged a complaint with my credit card company to have the charges reversed.

Desired Settlement: I would like my credit card refunded, and an acknowledgement of their receipt of my numerous requests for information.

Business Response: This order is canceled and refunded.

Please find attached Credit Memo

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/9/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 25th, 2014 I ordered my toddlers bed, which money got removed out of my account right the next day. I was informed that I will get my tracking number within 24 to 48 hours. 24 to 48 hours passed and I didn't get my tracking number. I emailed customer service (*****) which she again informed me that she will get back to me in 24 to 48 hours with a tracking number. I let time pass, then reached out to her again on march 6th 2014 which she apologized for not getting back to me but yet informed me my item shipped previous Wednesday night, then again to allow her with 24 to 48 hours to give me a tracking number. I asked for a compensation since my item has been delayed and bad customer service. I had emailed ***** I was unhappy about the service and that my toddler has been sleeping elsewhere because of the delay of her bed, I had also said I want a compensation and she stated she can forward my request to higher management and will get back to me once she gets a response. Today I called in since I yet haven't heard back from her with any tracking information and was informed my item was picked up yesterday and put into a van and in transition to deliver, which once again no tracking number was available and my order was barely been sent out. I asked to speak to a supervisor which lady I spoke to on phone she was the supervisor (*****)I once again said I want a compensation and she stated she can forward my request to higher management and will get back to me once she gets a response. She stated I don't think it will get approved, there is no guarantee there will be an approval for your compensation. I ordered my item way ahead of time before we got our new house keys, expecting to get my toddlers bed by the time we got our new keys and had settled in to our new home, and yet has not been resolved with any tracking number nor have I gotten my item. I really need this resolved, thank you.

Desired Settlement: I want my item as soon as possible, as well as a compensation for the delay of my item not being shipped, and the bad service of not being able to get back to customer with needed information.

Business Response: Status:Shipped
Ship Speed:********* ******
Shipped Via:****************** ***********
Estimated Delivery:On or before 4/1/2014
Tracking:***************

We are willing to ofer another 5% off for inconvenience if customer agrees.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I ordered my item a month ahead of time before moving to new home. My daughter has been sleeping on the floor because of the item
not being sent out yet. I never got a tracking number, and always had late responses to my emails. I believe its fair enough to get $80 back of what I payed for my toddlers bed, since all I got back from emails and calls was bad customer service and late/ no responses.


Regards,

***** *******






















Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I just received my toddler bed yesterday, and not to mention they sent the wrong crowns for the bed.. its a princess bed and the crowns are not the ones I ordered. . I ordered the crowns like the first picture, open not closed like the second picture. Besides waiting a whole month, now they send the wrong item.. am supper unhappy,





Regards,

***** *******






















BBB's Final Determination: Business agreed to arbitrate the complaint but the consumer declined.

5/12/2014 Delivery Issues
5/12/2014 Delivery Issues
4/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on-line ( order #*********) on 7/25/13 for a rug. The price of the rug was 38.95. I received the confirmation of the order via email immediately after placing the order. Shortly after receiving the order confirmation I received another email that said the item was on back order until September and that once it was received my order would be shipped. It has now been over 6 months since I placed my order and I am being told the item will be in on 4/1/14 and I will now have to pay $75.36 for the item. I have waited a long time for this rug and I feel they should honor the price that is on my order confirmation. I am being told my their customer service department that if I still want the item I have to pay the new higher price. I have told them I am not interested in the item at that price and to cancel my order.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the price that is on my order confirmation.

Business Response: Hello

We do not increase the price of an order once the order is final. This is a misscommunication issue.
We will honor the price of the original order amount.

We apologize for any inconvenience.
We will update the customer with tracking number asap.

Regards



Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** *******




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/21/2014 Delivery Issues
2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 10' X 13' rug on Nov. 26. With lots of emails on my part, I finally received one that said that the rug had been shipped. On Dec. 16 I received a tracking number and the rug arrived on Dec. 17. But the large rug arrived in a box not rolled. It is full of creases and dents that still have not come out. I emailed asking how to return the rug for a full refund or instructions on how to get the creases to lay flat, but as of today Jan. 14, I have heard nothing from Nilima

Desired Settlement: The best outcome would be to send a ROLLED rug as a replacement.

Business Response: We haven't got any correspondence from customer regarding the return or exchange of the rug. We have checked our emails and call logs, we havn't got any emails or calls from customer regarding any issues with the rug or returning/exchanging the rug. We process returns very promptly but since the customer has not contacted us ever for returns, this is a false complaint to circumvent the 30 day return policy. As we do not take or process returns after 30 days of delivery.

As the customer stated herself that the rug was delivered on Dec 17th, 2013; customer had until Jan 18th, 2014 to initiate the return but she passed the 30 day period so she initiated this complaint.

We request the emails sent or any record of calls made to us after the delivery date (Dec 17th, 2013) to initiate the return process, if customer provide the proof of contact we will gladly process the return.

Regards

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

  Their response is not true.  I emailed several times to try to get another rolled rug but received no answer from them. 
  I received no response from them once I began to ask for a refund or replacement or just some help in getting the lumps out.

After I received the rug and wrote I did a more thorough search of the website and found others who were dissatisfied with the customer service after ordering a product.

I attached my email.

****** ***********









  








BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

1/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered two rugs from Nilima on November 10, 2013, on their internet site. That order number being *********. They immediately charge $538.31 to my credit card. I was emailed by them that the rugs were out of stock and that they would be available the first week in December. After not hearing from them, I called ******* of the sale dept. and asked the status of the rugs. She told me the rugs were not available and she would email me back to let me know their status. On December 13, after not hearing, I called her and was told the rugs would not be available until February 2014. I told her to "cancel" the order and refund my money. She said she would put it that the credit would have to be approved and then put through their credit department, credit should be received within a5-7 business days. I called her just before Christmas and she told me their credit dept. was closed due to Christmas. I again talked with her December 28 and at that time she told me she had submitted the credit and that it would be received after the 1st of the year. No credit came through. I called again January 5, 2014, talked to ***** and ask where my credit was. She said it would take 5-7 business days to receive my credit back. I told her that at this point I was going to contact the Attorney Generals office and the BB Bureau if they did not issued me a credit immediately. As of today, January 9, 2014, there has been o credit issued to my credit card. I have gotten the same excuse over and over again and am so very annoyed at this point. I have never had this problem with any company for orders placed over the internet and would like this issue resolved immediately. I have moved in the process and have a new address which is **** ***** ****** ****** ******** ** ***** and can be contacted at the above phone numbers.

Desired Settlement: Please have them issue me a refund ASAP on the credit card used to purchase these items. Credit card ends with 9785.

Business Response: Customer was issued a check on Jan 14th, 2014 for full refund and we informed the customer already that the refund check was sent. The check cleared on Jan 17th to customers bank account. Please find attached (cleared) check that was issued to customer. 

Even when customer knew that the check was issued, customer complained at BBB.

We have completed the refund already.

Regards

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *** **** **********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/24/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I feel this is both a delievery issue, as well as an customer service issues. I placed an order on my item (a musical clef-shaped clock) in mid December. Paid for it (item had free shipping), and was sent an email confirmation stating I'll be notified and given a ***, or **** tracking number by Nilima Inc regarding the status of my purchase. Not having recieved any such email(s) since I placed the order back in December I called [Nilima Inc] today (1/3/14) and spoke with a customer-service assistant named "****** (she refused to give her last name) multiple times about the issue. Upon speaking with her the first time I was put on speaker phone and could barely hear her, but in the back ground it sounded like "****** was in a busy rooms with two guys goofing off. Having a hard time trying to hear me (again I'm on speaker phone, not "******) I heard someone in the background communicate with her and was hung up on!!! Which lead me to suspect Nilima Inc was a scam, so being a little panicked, I called the number again to cancel my order and somehow got redirected to none other than "****** again, who again put me on speaker, and sounded like she was still in a room with two guys. Fed up I told her about my order (giving her all the details) and wanting to "cancel" it was put on hold for about 5 minutes or so when she returned (no longer having me on speaker) and said that my order had been shipped, and giving me all the procedures needed if and when it arrived and I still wanted to return the item. Upon hearing this I asked if that's so, why haven't I recieved an email stating it had been "shipped?" "****** told me "Nilima Inc has been having some computer glitches since November in their system and she apologized. I then asked her about my previous phone call, why I was on speaker phone, and now currently am not, as well as the background noise. "****** avoiding the question quickly tells me to have a good day and hangs up on me again!!! Talk about crappy service. I just want my item, or money.

Desired Settlement: I would either like the item I purchased, or my money back, and this to be brought to the attention of the BBB, or Nilima Inc themselves, because though the BBB gives Nilma good ratings, I feel their company is a scam, point blank. ******* as she's named has showed me that!!!

Business Response: Customer contacted us on January 7th, 2014 and informed us about broken clock. We promised customer that we will get back to her and update her about a replacement or a refund which ever she preferred. We were in the middle of the process and customer put the complain with BBB already not giving us enough time to investigate and resolve her issue. Regarding the customer service here is what our agent had to say about the situation and communication with the customer:

***** **** ***********************
Sat, Jan 11, 2014 at 2:09 AM
To: "Nlima Inc." <info@nilimainc.com>

Hello ******. I would like to share my part on this complaint. Yes I have assisted her twice only regarding on the broken clock. First and foremost, I was even polite to her when she mentioned about the broken clock, it's not easy when you buy something and when its delivered its broken and all. I even informed ******** on the spot to process the return. Well, I wanted to defend myself, I never ever hang up on calls no matter how stupid the customer is. Sorry for the term. And there is no way that I will have 2 men on the background coz in the first place, my husband is the only guy in the house and is always asleep during my work hours since its night time here in the *********** on my shift and he has work first thing in the morning... As far as I can remember I never had any issues with her, coz her case was a piece of cake, as simple as return and refund. I just don't get it why have such complain. Anyway, what ever my fault is which I internalize over and over again if I had one, I apologize for that..
Thank you. Have a great day!

***** ****
Service Specialist
Nilima Inc
Ph - **** *** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2013 Delivery Issues
9/4/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a carpet on 18 May 2013. The total amount to include "handling," is $849.40. This amount was paid via ******** ******* ****** ****. Confirmation No.: ***********; Invoice No. ***** As of today, 8 July 2013, the carpet has NOT been received and we have been informed, THREE times, that it is "on it's way." Nilima, Inc., has provided very limited information. Initially, the carpet was supposed to be delivered by 15 Jun 2013. On 10 Jun 2013, I received a response to my inquiry for status that the carpet was estimated to be available to be "shipped in the week of 6/26. We will ship it out promptly as it comes in stock and update you with the tracking information." This did NOT happen nor did I receive any further information. I followed up on 26 June 2013 and received a response on 27 June 2013 that "the rug is supposed to ship out within next 5 to 7 business days. 7 business days was 3 July 2013. So far, this has NOT happened. Another follow-up was sent out for status on 27 Jun 2013 and reply receive on 28 Jun 2013, stating, ""vessel carrying it is delayed and now is supposed to come in stock next week. Your rug will ship out by the end of the next week and we will send the tracking number very promptly the moment it ships." On 6 July 2013, another follow-up was sent to Nilima, Inc. and response was received 8 July 2013, stating, "I heard back from the manufacturer and they informed that the container is scheduled to arrive in this week. I have requested them to rush-ship the order as soon as they have received the rug in their warehouse." I have serious doubts about this whole situation and I have requested a full refund of our money and cancellation of the order immediately. This has gone past the "ridiculous."

Desired Settlement: As previously stated, I have requested a full refund ********* ******* ****** **** credit) and cancellation of the order.

Business Response: We apologize for the inconveniences to the customer but this rug supposed to ship from our supplier and we did everything possible to get the rug shipped on time as promised.
But when the customer requested cancellation because the rug could not ship out due to some unforseen difficulties we issued the refund immediately. The customer requested cancelation on July 9th and the refund was issued on July 10th. Below are the details of the refund.

Merchant : NILIMA INC (663921)
Date/Time : 9-Jul-2013 12:32:53 MDT

========= ORDER INFORMATION =========
Invoice : ********
Description :
Amount : 849.40 (USD)
Payment Method : ******** *******
Type : Credit
Transaction ID : **********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/28/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/26/2011 Problems with Product/Service