BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Homeclick, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Homeclick, LLC include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 45 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

45 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 22 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 11
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 25
Total Closed Complaints 45

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 07, 2010 Business started: 05/18/2009 in NJ Business incorporated: 04/01/2009 in NJ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chuck Gartenhaus, President Ms. Jennifer Breese, Customer Service Manager Mr. Rich Davis, VP of Operations Mr. John Swatek, CFO
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Breese, Customer Service Manager
Principal: Mr. Chuck Gartenhaus, President
Business Category

Home Accessories All Other Home Furnishings Stores (NAICS: 442299)


Additional Locations

  • 777 New Durham Rd Ste D

    Edison, NJ 08817 (732) 379-3481

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/20/2014 Delivery Issues
7/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had ordered a wall scone from HomeClick on June 25th. The order was processed on June 27th. The item arrived on July 1st in damaged state. I first contacted them on July 2nd, with all details of the purchase. On July 7th, early morning, I was asked to send a picture of the damaged scone, which I did immediately. After a reminder they acknowledged the receipt of all information on July 8th morning. Its been 30 hours since then, and I have still not received the return authorization number to get the refund process started. I have sent two emails, with no results.

Business Response: We actually called the customer yesterday 7/9 to apologize for the delay. We will process a full refund to her account within 48 hours. Thank you 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********. I will consider the matter resolved, once I receive a full refund of my damaged item.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service
4/4/2014 Delivery Issues
4/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a gas fireplace; parts found to be defective. Homeclick then provided replacement parts, but is refusing to pay for the service call to have the parts installed.

Desired Settlement: The service call cost me $410, of which Homeclick has issued a credit of $40; they still owe me $370.

Business Response: We apologize but the warranty of a product only covers replacement parts. It does not cover any expense that the customer will incur to install the parts. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The company sold us a product that was defective.  The company DIRECTED US to call a service provider in order to determine which parts were defective.  Yes, they replaced the parts; however, they did not tell us until AFTER we incurred the charge for the service call that they would not cover the service call.  Were we supposed to install the replacement parts in the gas fireplace by ourself?  The warranty should have included parts AND service.

Regards,

******** *******





























Business Response: The product was not installed by a Majestic certified tech. For this reason the installation of the replacement parts are not covered under warranty. The cost of installation will not be refunded by Homeclick.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

3/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a Snow Joe/2030 PSI 1.76 GPM 14.5 Amp Electric Pressure Washer on January 8, 2014. Was immediately charged for product even though they did not have it in stock. I was not told until January 29th via email that the product would not be coming until March. I have called repeatedly to get refunded and cancel the order. The company only has a machine and no one answers the phone for cancellations. Called again today on February 25, 2014 requesting a refund and cancelled order.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of $139.99 immediately and the order cancelled. Thank you,

Business Response: We apologize for the delay and have cancelled and refunded this item as requested. Thank you 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/28/2014 Delivery Issues
2/28/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/25/2014 Delivery Issues
2/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service
2/19/2014 Delivery Issues
2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service
1/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a kitchen sink and drain December 8, 2013 from online company Homeclick.com. Received no comfirmation email for the product order, only an email with a revised ship date for the products of January 3rd, 2014. Placed a phone call immediately to numbers listed on the company's website requesting an immediate cancelation of the order. Our current kitchen renovation requires the job to be completed before the revised ship date for the sink. I have already had to purchase and install a different sink. Phone calls to any of Homeclick's phone lines are unanswered. Multiple left phone messages and email requests receive no reply. I have ordered may items via the internet for our home remodel. Never have I delt with such shockingly poor customer service from an online company before. I am simply requesting the order and any charges to be canceled.

Desired Settlement: A complete cancelation of the order and no charges made to me.

Business Response: We apologize however ir looks as though this order was cancelled back on 12/30/13 and an email was sent. I have copied the cancellation confirmation email below . Thank you

UserID: **** *******
Date: 12/30/2013 12:06:23
Tran Type: Order
TranID: *******
Subject: HomeClick.com Cancellation Confirmation
__________________________________________________


 
 
 
 Dear ******** *******
 This is an automated message, please do not reply.
 We are contacting you in regards to ORDER # *******.
 The following item(s) were cancelled as we are not able to fulfill the order. You will be refunded.
 
  
 
 
 Quantity
  
 
 Description
  
 
 Reason
  
 
 
 
 
 1
 
 
 
 
 Blanco/Silgranit II Diamond Super Single Bowl Kitchen Sink in Cinder
 
 
 
 
 Does Not Want
 
 
 
 
 1
 
 
 
 
 Blanco/Decorative Basket Strainer in Cinder
 
 
 
 
 Does Not Want
 
 
 
 
 Thank you,
 
 
 HomeClick.com
 
 
 
 
 
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2013 Delivery Issues
12/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Seller is stating that the item i bought was composite leather that is not indicated on the website for this item that i purchased and she tried to convince me that composite leather was real leather. Composite leather is synthetic leather which is not real leather. I contacted the manufacturer and was told that the sectional i purchased was bonded leather and vinyl which is not indicated whats so ever on the advertised item. The manufacturer which is Tosh Furniture has stated that they do not have full leather for this item in there warehouse and if so was ever requested that it would take around 2-3 months for me to receive a full leather sectional. Again, I question the type of leather due to the description that was listed under the picture of the furniture on their website. I was informed by ***** ###-###-#### at homeclick verbally and by email that this item was a composite leather and bonded leather which results to a full leather sectional.I questioned composite leather as fake leather and again ***** from homeclick informed me that composite leather was real leather even though composite leather is not indicated on their website as a type of leather that you will receive. Upon arrival of the item, i still questioned the material of the sectional, so therefore i called the manufacturer of the furniture which is Tosh Furniture ###-###-#### and was informed by ***** that my order (****) was indeed half bonded leather and half vinyl(plastic), which was requested to by Homeclick to be shipped to me. Therefore since i was sold half of the cheapest leather (bonded leather) not near top grain leather and a half plastic couch , then i should have half my money back. Not to mention i received it almost 2 weeks after the purchase date because this unit had to be made with these specific instructions by homeclick which is also falsely advertised on their website for delivery times.

Desired Settlement: I am requiring either half my money back or either a furniture replacement of a full, real leather sectional that was advertised.

Business Response: The customer contacted us with questions regarding the leather on this couch. We gave the customer the contact information for the manufacturer directly. We did not hear back after that until the customer received the item. If she would now like to return the item there would be a 15% restocking fee and she would have to thip the item back at her cost. We have a 3 day return policy so the order would need to be given a return authorization number by 10/9.




BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/24/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a sofa from this company. The sofa has been reported because of failure to perform. The frame is broken. The sofa has a one year full warranty. The company states the sofa is no longer in production. I contacted the manufacture and found this to be a lie. The sofa is still in production. This company fails to honor their product warranty.

Desired Settlement: Replace defective product with new item

Business Response: That is not the information we have in the notes. It looks like we sent an email to the customer on 8/26. We offered the customer a full refund however she would need to donate the couch and send us the paperwork. The customer did not want to do that. We would be more than happy to refund the customer once we are sent the donation document. I have provided the emails of the request below. Thank you
UserID: *******
Date: 08/26/2013 13:16:10
Tran Type: Order
TranID: *******
Reason: Other Info Changes
Department: CS
Subject:
__________________________________________________
 
From: merchandise disposition
Sent: Monday, August 26, 2013 1:16 PM
To: 'Kim Bone'
Subject: RE: Homeclick.com Order Number: *******
Good Afternoon Kim,
Coaster has offered us two options.
You can donate the item for a refund and purchase a different item or you can keep for the
compensation.
Thank you,
Breanne
Homeclick.com LLC
From: Kim Bone [mailto:oneoldbyrd@yahoo.com]
Sent: Sunday, August 25, 2013 10:32 PM
To: merchandise disposition
Subject: Re: Homeclick.com Order Number: *******
I responded to this email, not happy with the compensation offered and never heard back.  I take it
that this is the best offer you have and I have no choice but to keep the defective couch, that is
only a few months old.  I will be contacting the BBB in your area and the manufactures area about
not following the warranty that came on the couch.  I will give you a few days to honor the
warranty, which states a full refund or another item in its place.  Nowhere on the warranty did it
say to donate, get a receipt in the the manufactures name, mail it in, wait for refund, and in the
mean time have nowhere to sit.  thanks,  Kim
Sent from my iPad

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Again this company fails to address the root cause of the problem.  Which is complete failure to honor the manufacture warranty.  The warranty states full replacement within one year of purchase for defective merchandise.  Well this is certainly defective merchandise reported within three weeks of purchase.  They expect me to return at my expense and inconvenience for their incompetence and second hand merchandise.  The warranty states full replacement.  I have contacted Coaster the original manufacture, they responded that they do indeed continue to manufacture this specific loveseat.  Also they state defective merchandise is to be replaced of equal or more value in full.  Not $300 as offered by this retailer.  I do not understand reluctance of a reputable business to fail and honor their warranty.  I do not want the defective coach only a replacement.  They can pick up the defective one upon delivery of a new loveseat in good condition.   
Regards,

*** ****

























Business Response: The item has been discontinued and there is no further stock available that we can get. We will go ahead and have the couch picked up and donated. A credit will be issued in full as soon as this is done. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a coffee table from Homeclick and they sent me a table with a broken. It took them weeks to send me another replacement and the replacement leg was also broken. Horrible company and customer service.

Desired Settlement: I want a refund for the damaged item i received

Business Response: We have gone ahead and refunded the customer in the amount of $183.02. Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/22/2013 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
12/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/17/2012 Delivery Issues
12/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/7/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/5/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
8/9/2012 Delivery Issues
7/3/2012 Delivery Issues
6/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
6/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/15/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/9/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/10/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
1/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/8/2011 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2011 Problems with Product/Service