This Business is not BBB accredited

Charles Chips

Phone: 73623597272 Fax: (866) 346-9643 5005 Belmar Blvd, Wall Township, NJ 07727 http://www.charleschips.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers manufactured snack foods.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Charles Chips include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Charles Chips
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 24, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1942 in DE Business incorporated: 02/05/1997 in DE
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Cosmo Scardino Jr., Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cosmo Scardino Jr., Owner
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors Other Snack Food Manufacturing (NAICS: 311919)


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5005 Belmar Blvd

    Wall Township, NJ 07727 73623597272

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Guaranteed Christmas delivery if ordered by Dec 19th. Was not delivered until December 29th with half of order damaged because of improper packaging and handling by seller

Desired Settlement: Refund or Replace damaged products, 3 bags of Chips and refund Priority shipping charges

Consumer Response:

 Retailer replaced damaged chips. Would like to close complaint favorably. Tried online . it would not allow

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On October 25 I ordered six boxes of Charles Chips Hard Sour Dough Pretzels for $39.98 which I paid through ******* When they arrived there were very few whole pretzels, perhaps one or two per box, with the rest being broken. That, in itself, would not be so bad, but they were totally inedible and when I checked the expire date it is 12/14, probably year-old pretzels. After going on the website, I sent an email, including pictures, hoping for a rep response of some kind, but instead received an instant email explaining their complaint process, which I have now followed twice, my last email sent two weeks ago, without any other response. This is just not good business and I would hope that Charles Chips, a company whose product we have loved as kids, would honor their website statement to make things right. So far, nothing about this order is right. Thank you for your careful attention.

Desired Settlement: Either a replacement with fresh (and mostly unbroken) pretzels or a replacement of our choice or a refund. It would be nice to know why they have avoided me too.

Consumer Response:

 

 Charles Chips has remedied the situation and we are more than satisfied with the results.  Thanks so much BBB

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

8/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Product never delivered. Ordered product online. Credit card charged immediately. Disconnected phone number. Automated email response is useless.

Desired Settlement: Immediate refund.

Business Response: hi we will be contacting ** ***** to try and rectify the problem not sure what happened but this package seems to be lost. 

7/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order with Charles Chips website ********************** on May 10th. I paid through ******* the only option available. I never received a confirmation of my order through the company, only through ****** saying my order was processed. When I got tracking information for **** on May 15th in the Status of Item column it just said, "Electronic Shipping Info Received. The **** was electronically notified by the shipped on May 15, 2014 to expect your package for mailing. Delivery status information will be provided if/when available. No further information is available for this item." I then emailed the company (the only way to reach anyone according to the website) on 5/28/14 with my inquiry, and asking for shipping info. I got an automated response saying "We at Charles Chips strive for 100 % customer satisfaction and feel this is best served by keeping our Customer Service in house. Please let us know of any issues, questions or compliments you may have and someone from our office will get back to you within 36 hours." I got no response so I emailed again on June 2nd. I got no response. On June 2nd I then opened up a dispute with ****** to try and get my money back. I searched online and found the BBB had a phone number for them, ************* which I tried calling, but the number is disconnected. I then went onto the Charles Chips Facebook and Twitter pages, and much to my surprise there were others who had posted on their FB page about ordering product but never receiving it, no response to their emails either. Lastly, I called my ********** to open up a dispute for the charge there as well, and now I'm lodging an official complaint against them because it appears that I've been scammed. If needed, my transaction ID # is #*****************. I purchased a tin of the original chips ($25.99) and a box of the hard sour dough pretzels ($19.99). My total purchase was for $45.98. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for my purchase amount of $45.98, as well as an explanation of what kind of business operates this way!

Business Response: hi sorry for the delay getting to this, as far as i can see the order was delivered on June 24, 2014 via ******** tracking number ********************** 

as well as a refund processed to compensate for the delays and lack of customer service **** ********* please let me know if i can assist further

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *** *********

1/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order on December 9, 2013 and soon after I e-mailed customer service to make a schedule change for my shipment. There is no phone number on the website and the phone number listed on the BBB site is out of service.I finally searched and searched and found a phone number and called on December 10 and got an answering service (woman) that promised to pass to message to Charles Chips, it's been 8 hours since.I believe this is a scam. They charged my PayPal account already, PayPal transaction ID: 4****************.PLEASE HELP

Desired Settlement: I want the charges reversed.

Business Response: Hi to my knowledge this matter was rectified Mr ********* withdrew his Paypal dispute and was going to withdraw the BBB complaint also. i will contact him to see if all is well. Thanks

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *********