BBB Accredited Business since

K & J Fencing Inc.

Phone: (856) 875-6233 Fax: (856) 875-4415 3597 S Black Horse Pike, Williamstown, NJ 08094 http://www.kandjfence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that K & J Fencing Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for K & J Fencing Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on K & J Fencing Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 06, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1998 in NJ Business incorporated 03/01/2000 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The number is 13VH01296900.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Jennifer McConnell, President Mr. Keith McConnell
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jennifer McConnell, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors


Additional Locations

  • 3597 S Black Horse Pike

    Williamstown, NJ 08094 (856) 875-6233

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a contract on 6/17/14 with K & J Fencing to have them finish the rest of my fence they had completed in 2012. On the contract it states "The Company agrees to provide service without charge for one year from the date of installation." The first time they completed my fence in 2012 I had no problem with scheduling and having my fence adjusted. I have been contacting K & J Fencing this time since April 6, 2015. I called them early in the season to schedule the fence adjustment before the season would become busy. Since that date I have placed 6 phone calls and 2 emails to the company in an attempt to schedule an appointment for my fence to be adjusted. Each time I called I was told that someone would be there during the week, but that they couldn't tell me a specific time or day. No one ever called me back or came to my house for the adjustment. After waiting over three months for someone to contact me or show up to do the adjustment I now must file a formal complaint to receive the service that I was promised in my contract. It also states on the contract that "The Company has told me I will receive a manufacturer's product warranty specific to the products the Company installed for me, and I will receive this warranty after the job is completed and if there are no overdue payments." To date, I have never received a warranty specific to my fence that was installed. I would also like that information mailed to my residence.

Desired Settlement: I want K & J to fulfill their obligation of my contract, which is to provide an adjustment to the fence so that there are not gaps between the slots. I want to be contacted in a timely manner to have this completed as soon as possible. I also want the copy of my warranty specific to my fence mailed to my residence.

Business Response:

Response:

We received this bbb complaint on July 7, 2015, which on July 10th 2015 we went right out there and completed the service issue. Please close this complaint out Thank you

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

On July 10th, I heard two men talking in my backyard.  I went out to find two employees from K& J fixing a slat.  I was not aware that they were coming to address my complaint.  No one had contacted me in the office to see if I would be available to discuss my concerns with the employees sent to my residence.   I asked if they were going to be adjusting the fence.  They said Kevin sent them to my house to fix the slat.  I walked the length of the fence and they just moved the slats around to cover spaces.  When I showed one employee the back fence (4th post when looking in from the left or 6th post when looking in from the right) they told me they didn't have their work truck to fix it.  I asked them to have the office give me a call so that it could be fixed.  I never heard back from the office.  I do not agree that the work was completed, as there still is a notable gap in the slat next to this post.  I attached three different pictures of the same area for review.  I would also like to know when the warranty was mailed to my house, as I still have not received my warranty for the fence.

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response:

Here is the response to this complaint again. Customer is stated that she doesn't agree with the work that was completed on July 10, 2015, however her neighbor landscape company ****** ************ **** service, ********* there just called asking to come in our shop to pick up material for their customer neighbor that is complaining they caused damaged to their fence. She also stated to me that our customer ***** was happy with the work on july 10 and that we fixed the slats that were damaged for no cost, however ***** is now contacting ****** ************ **** service to replace the area that has gap and needs new slats. This complaint should now be closed due to the fact that it is no longer our service requirement if shes blaming a lawn service from next door house to complete this. The lawn service will come to our shop for the material.

  Thank you 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


The response that I received from the business does not make sense.  The damage that the lawn service did to one of the slats has nothing to do with the complaint that I filed with this company.  I referred the lawn service to K & J Fencing so that they could purchase the correct one to replace one that they damaged.  At no time have I discussed with the lawn service this complaint or the workmanship provided by K & J Fencing. Unfortunately, (as stated in my initial complaint) I was never mailed my warranty for my fence so I could not direct the lawn service to the manufacturer myself.

This statement that was submitted was also incorrect in stating that I am having the lawn service look at the gap that is in the back of the fence.  The lawn service had nothing
to do with the installation of the fence itself.  The gap (which I submitted pictures for in my previous rebuttal) has not been examined by the company nor has anyone come
with proper tools to do so.  The slat that the lawn service is referring to is located on the side of the fence-not the back of the fence where the gap is.

Please refer to the original complaint about not receiving my fence warranty and having the gap examined for repair.  In order for me to close this case I am asking that I receive the warranty by mail that I am entitled to and that someone from K & J examines the gap along the back of the fence and brings tools to determine how to adjust it.  Again, this gap has nothing to do with the slat that the lawn service is replacing.


Regards,

******** *****

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K & J built a fence for my wife and I back in April of 2013. Their plans called for the fence to enclose my backyard. I spefcially told the owner, ***** *********, that I wanted to keep the fence back from the next property lot to avoid any issues with my neighbors. His crew built the fence on April 24, 2013 and the one side of fence ran crooked. My neighbor bought the lot next to my house and hired a contractor to build him a fence. The fence compnay's survey indicated that my fence encrouched upon his property by five feet. I contacted K & J about this problem and received a call back from Mr. *********. I told him the situation. His reply was that that he knew my neighbor's fence company and would punch him in his ******* face the next time he saw him. I supplied Mr. ********* with both my property survey, his plans for my fence and my neighbor's property survey and plans for his fence. I have since tried to contact Mr. ********* about fixing the fence several times but have heard nothing in response.

Desired Settlement: $720 refund. This is the amount of money it will cost to remedy my fence. I can provide an estimate if necessary.

Business Response: We walked the job with the costumer in the am of the installation and at that time the costumer did not have the survey and we installed the fence as per costumers request. We are willing to move fence, but there will be a charge of $200

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: he was provided with a survey which clearly shows my property line on the left side of my house was set 27'4" away from the house.  See Exhbit A.  He knew where the property line was because his plan calls for the left side of the fence to be installed 26'8" away from the house.  His plan also calls for the fence to run toward the rear of the property in a straight line.  See Exhibit B.  If he built the fence in accordance with his plan, there would not be a problem.   Instead, he started the left side of the fence on my property but failed to keep it running on a straight line.  See photo attached.  This is why the rear portion of the left side of the fence encroaches upon my neighbor's property.  See Exhibit C. 

Bad craftsmanship is one thing, but lying about being provided documents is borderline fraud.  I am confident the BBB will do the right thing and retract its accreditation to this company.  Thank you for your time and attention to this matter.



Regards,

****** *********

Business Response:

I just read his response to our response. That is not true. We installed him April 24, 2013, if this was an issue and not on his property that why wait over a year to contact us and he signed off on the quality control sheet and paid in full after the installation. We were never given a survey and installed fence per customer. Please update this

 

Thank you 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we saw that the left side of the fence had a bend to it but were willing to overlook it so long as it was on our property.  My home was new construction and the lot to the left of my house was not yet purchased.  This issue laid dormant because we did not know that the fence was built on someone else's property until my neighbors purchased that property. 

Is K & J insinuating that we would have consented to a fence being built upon our neighbor's property? This is a real shame that they are fighting an obvious case of faulty worksmanship.  I will make sure of it that all of my neighbors are informed of my experience so that they cannot take advantage of anyone else.

Thanks to the BBB for any assistance you can give me.



Regards,

****** *********

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/13/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: K& J Fencing installed my white gothic fence on June 19, 2014. The total price was $4,047. After the fence was installed, my family and I noticed that there was at least an 8 to 10 inch space between the ground and the bottom part of the fence. My parents, ***** & ****, went down to the business, but the business was opened and no one was there. They went down a few days later and spoke to *****, who worked in the office, and showed her photos of the problems. She assured my father that she would show these pictures to her boss.. My father finally called K & J and spoke to *****. He said that he saw the pictures and didn't think the problems were that big of a deal. My father asked him to come down and look at the fence for himself, but he never did. When it became obvious that K & J had no intention of coming down, I started to call the business. I called several times: September 29th: I spoke to *****. She told me that she would informed ***** of our situation. October 1st: I spoke to ****. He told me we would be put on the service list and the first time the company was in the South Philadelphia area. October 2nd: I spoke to ***** she to see if I could get a more specific date.. She told me that she would put us on the service list. October 9th: I called ***** to get an up date. She told me that she thought the men had come to my house on October 7th. I told her no one had come to my house. Since, I was unable to get anywhere with telephone calls, I wrote a letter to ***** dated October 23, 2014 with a 10 day reply. To date, I have had no reply to my letter. On November 2, 2014: a found a section of my fence in my alley way! I telephoned K & J on Sunday, November 2, 2014 and left a message on their answering machine regarding the NEW problem with our brand new fence!

Desired Settlement: I want the problems that I have with my fence to be fixed.

Business Response:

We just received this complaint today and they are on the service schedule for tomorrow, Friday 11/7 for their service issues to be completed. Please follow up with customer and close this complaint out Thank you

Response:

I just sent respond for this complaint, but I wanted to add that after the installation was completed, the customers walked the job with the crew chief and was happy with everything. They signed the quality control sheet stated that and also paid the final payment. We will be there tom, Friday 11/7 to complete service Thank you

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.




PS-The company is at my house as we speak.  I do not want this complaint closed until I see the final result of their work. Along with the other problems that I had with my fence, just this Sunday a portion of the fence wound up in my alley way.  So please do not close out this complaint until I see the result of their workman ship.  Thank you.

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired K and J Fencing Inc. to install a 5 foot chain link fence on 3 side of my property. They were paid in FULL October, 2013! They could only install 2 sections at that time. At my request. I am now requesting them to continue on 1 side they previously installed. I have been told they will do it, over and over, to date Aug, 30, 2014, they have done NOTHING!! Of course they have not returned any of the monies I over paid them.

Desired Settlement: Have the little work finished on the side they did. Refund for balance over paid to them.

Business Response:

We completed her service issues as requested and file is closed out. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  To date they have NOT finished putting in the fence per our contract!!



Regards,

******* ****

Business Response:

In response to your letter regarding complaint id ********. On August 14, 2014 **** went there and installed barbed wire per customer request and as of that date the contract was completed and file was closed out. 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on K & J Fencing Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)