BBB Accredited Business since

Fences By Dente Inc.

Phone: (732) 775-3737 Fax: (732) 776-9389 108 Drummond Ave, Neptune, NJ 07753 http://www.fencesbydente.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers sales and installation of all types of fences and fence-related products.  This company also sells and installs dog kennels, flagpoles and electric gates.  This company also carries a full line of fence parts and flags and flagpoles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fences By Dente Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Fences By Dente Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fences By Dente Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 20, 1976 Business started: 03/19/1974 in NJ Business started locally: 03/19/1974 Business incorporated 02/01/1975 in NJ
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The number is 13VH00629700.

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Eugene Dente Jr., President Ms. Cecelia Denoia
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eugene Dente Jr., President
Business Category

Fence Contractors All Other Specialty Trade Contractors (NAICS: 238990)

Products & Services

Fences By Dente Inc. sells the following brand(s): Dynasty, Eastern Cedar, Eastern Illusions, On-Guard, SWP Cedar

Fences By Dente Inc. offers the following product(s): Aluminum Fence, Chain Link Fence, Dog Kennels, Electric Gates, Flagpoles, Flags, PVC Fence, Wood Fence (Spruce & Cedar)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, Check, Amex, Debit, Discover, MasterCard, Visa.  This company also offers financing for customers who would like to finance their fence installation.
Refund and Exchange Policy
Refund with receipt.  25% restocking fee on most material.

Additional Locations

  • 108 Drummond Ave

    Neptune, NJ 07753 (732) 775-3737

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Fences by Dente to repair an issue I had with my gate closing properly. After several attempts to resolve the issue I received a call informing me a representive would come to my home to fix the fence. The gentleman arrived and started the repair, unfortunately, he stated to me that I would likely need a new gate because when he was making an adjustment the fence cracked. I told him no worries please inform the office and I would follow-up also. After making several calls to Dente, I received an email with a bill stating I would be chared approximately $700.00 because due to "Hurrican Sandy" such claims were not Dente's responsibility. I politely submitted an additional email explaining that the damage was "NOT" a result of "Hurricane Sandy" but was a honest mistake/mishap by the employee. I then recieved a follow-up email stating that the employee did not agree that he had damaged the fence although he stated to me what he had done, and the fact is that the fence was not broken before he had arrived. The employee had admitted to me his guilt and said he would speak with his employer prior to leaving my residence. Please help, regarding this matter. Thanks

Desired Settlement: I would like my fence fixed.

Business Response:

In May 2012 we installed a 6ft high solid white PVC fence for this customer which included a 10ft wide double gate. Going against our advice, we installed the gate to meet his spacing requirements and customized the gate to follow the grade of the driveway. In August, this customer contacted our office stating that his gate was sagging and that he was having trouble closing the gate. We sent our foreman to the property, who promptly noticed the crack in the gate right above the top hinge. The hairline crack was already present and got worse as he tried fixing it. At no time did our installer say that he caused the damage to the gate. He did inform the customer that his gate will need to be replaced due to the crack which could not be fixed. The location of the crack is not a product defect and is not covered by the Manufacturer’s Product Warranty. We informed the customer that we have no way of knowing what caused the damage and that yes, it could have been due to the effects of Hurricane Sandy or by personal error. We also informed the customer that we would waive any labor fees associated with replacing the gate. We are only charging for a new custom gate leaf to fit the gate opening and the cost of the Solar Cap that was replaced outside of the warranty. The Customer fails to mention in his complaint that we have gone back to his property and made adjustments to his gate for no charge on previous occasions. We have attached both our estimate and emailed correspondences for your review. We responded to the customer about the gate issue and have offered a solution to fix the gate. Thank you******

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I was unaware that the email I submitted on 23Sep14 was not received until calling the office today, sorry. I wanted to follow-up and was told that I should contact you via email regarding this matter. I do not wish to close this matter.  I am greatly troubled that Fences by Dente has created this situation and prolonged correcting their mistake.

 

It is very troublesome to have a company you trust come onto your property, break something, admit they broke something, then lie. The proprietor did not even have the decency to come and evaluate the fence although I suggested that if he saw the fence he would likely have a different outlook. The gate is in good condition and has not suffered any aggressive storms, nor has the gate been hit by a vehicle.

 

I thought this incident was an innocent mistake, but it seems that the Foreman has told the owner a lie. I am not sure if the company policy is to hold the employees liable for damages as this is the only way I can understand why the Foreman would lie. Please help, I am thanking you in advance for your time and assistance.

 

Regards,  





Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Dear Ms. *******,

It seems that the customer and I are obviously going to disagree on what has transpired with his gate.  This customer has not stated anything new in his latest response and continues to repeat the same erroneous claims.   I take offense and do not appreciate this customer calling our installer and our company liars when that is not the case.  Contrary to what the customer has submitted, I have been by his property on my own time to inspect the damage to his gate.   We stand by our original response to this claim and feel our offer has been reasonable.   

Thank you,


Fences By Dente, Inc.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fences By Dente Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)