BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In New Jersey

BBB Accredited Business since

Anello Fence, LLC

Phone: (973) 839-4100 View Additional Phone Numbers 50 Route 23, Pequannock, NJ 07440 http://www.anellofence.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers supply and install fence products.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Anello Fence, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Anello Fence, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 11
Total Closed Complaints 12

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 12, 2007 Business started: 03/01/2007 in NJ Business incorporated: 03/01/2007 in NJ
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

NJ Division of Consumer Affairs
124 Halsey Street, 7th Floor, PO Box 45027, Newark NJ 07102
https://newjersey.mylicense.com/verification/
Phone Number: 973-504-6200
The license number is 13VH04275800.

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Anello, President Ms. Kathy Jierut, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Anello, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Anello Sons Fence

Additional Locations

  • 50 Route 23

    Pequannock, NJ 07440 (973) 839-4100 (973) 692-9201

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (973) 692-9201(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

7/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company emailed me saying the work was done and asking for the remainder of what was owed. They never cemented the fence back in place. The work order was placed in April and it is now the end of June.

Desired Settlement: Do the job this week.

Business Response: Ms. ******* is a repeat customer.  on April 22, 2014 we entered into a contract with Ms. ******* to repair her damaged fence that we initially installed a few years ago.  this quote and contract was prepared and signed over the phone and via email.  a crew was sent to Ms. ******'s home to make the repair on June 16, 2014.  Ms. *******'s was not present during the repair.  in addition, Ms. *******'s yard is very large and consist of several hundred feet of fence.  our crew did miss an area that needed to be repaired in error.  the following day our office contacted Ms. ******* to make sure the repair was done to her satisfaction and asked for payment of the balance.  it was brought to our attention that the entire repair was not complete.  we immediately schedule another date to complete the repair.  our crew was scheduled on friday, june 20,2014 to complete the repairs on monday june 23, 2014.  on the same date (june 23, 2014) prior to completing the repair, we received this complaint.  furthermore, i attempted to contact Ms. ******* several times over the following several days after the repair was complete to confirm that the repair was now complete to her satisfaction.  today, june 30, 2014 i was finally able to speak to her briefly as she was out of the country.  Ms. ****** informed me that she was now happy with the completion of the repair and reiterated that she was extremely happy with the initial installation of her fence that we performed a few years ago.  I would like to take this opportunity to apologize for our error and thank her for her repeat business.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Anello fence came yesterday (6/24/14) to put up the fence.

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 20, 2013 salesperson "****" came to my home and gave me an estimate for the installation of a fence on my property. I agreed on the spot ,immediately gave him a check in the amount of $700.00 (dated 08/20/13) which was the deposit required by ******. **** told me the job could take UP TO SIX weeks from that day to begin but most likely it would be sooner, as long as I purchased the required permit, which I did immediately (on 08/ 22/13 permit was obtained). That same day I called both **** and ****** (office) to inform them that I had the permit and was ready to get the fence installed. From that day on, I waited approximately 2 weeks with no word regarding installation. So I called again and again left a message with **** (on his cell phone) and ***** in the office. ***** said to call back "next week" to see if a "wood shipment had come in." I waited and called back . Due to limited space in this explanation bar, what ensued was weeks of my calling and leaving both voice messages at the office and on ****'s cell phone. I never received notice of installation date, despite my numerous calls requesting ONLY that. Six weeks came and went, with no date. Alarmed, I sent three subsequent emails outlining the events thus far and my (at first) request and then demand for a response / install date from ******. No response from ******. Emails sent were dated: 10/7, 10/11 and finally 10/14 which clearly stated that due to their non-response, I will not go through with the fence install and I expected my deposit refunded. Additionally, by the date of the final email, it was well past their "6-wk." mark, with not even a response!The day after the final email ***** ****** called me. He clearly had no intention of setting this matter professionally and he stated that they were 'ready to go with the fence.' Due to their total lack of communication and the ABSENCE OF THE WORK ORDERED WITHIN THEIR OWN 6-WEEK MAXIMUM TIME FRAME,' I am legally entitled to a full refund.

Desired Settlement: Full refund of my $700.00 deposit dated August 20, 2013 which was cashed immediately by ****** Fence. No lesser amount will be acceptable. If my deposit is returned in full, this matter will be resolved and no further action taken.

Business Response: entered into a contract with **** ****** on 8/20/13.  two days later mrs. ****** contacted our office and told us to put the contract on hold as she was having an issue with obtaining the permit to install the fence. several weeks went by until we heard back from mrs. ******.  on september 25, 2013 mrs. ****** contacted our office and text messaged **** directly to schedule an installation date.  **** returned her call on the same day and left a message. mrs. ****** did not return ****'s phone call until she text messaged him on oct. 1, 2013.  this text message was returned and a message was left once again.  we did not hear back from her.  on oct. 15, 2013 i (***** ******) contacted mrs. ****** myself to schedule an installation date.  once again, there was no answer so i left a message and left my cell phone number.  later the same evening mrs. ****** returned my call.  much to my surprise mrs. ****** was rude, nasty and verbally abusive.  she would not let me speak and kept interrupting me as i was attempting to schedule an installation date.  she then hung up on me. i waited until later in the evening to call her again thinking that maybe she would calm down act professionally.  mrs. ****** hung up the phone on me again.  i then followed up with an email.  noteworthy, during our conversations mrs ******* stated several times that she did not want to install the fence because she needed to pay for child's school books.  also, she stated that she would take legal action.  on oct 15, 2013 i received an email again stating the she filed a complaint in ***** ****** court.  we never heard back from mrs. ****** until this complaint.

our position remains as stated within my oct 15th email. mrs. ****** was informed that her materials were custom made for her and that anello fence remains ready, willing and able to install her fence.  if she chooses not to install the fence she will forfeit her deposited as per the terms of the contract that she signed. 

we have all calls, text messages and emails on file should anyone like to review them.


Consumer Response:
Complaint: *******
 I am rejecting this response because: The events Mr. ****** presents are incorrect.
  Firstly, I obtained a Permit TWO DAYS AFTER the first visit/estimate to my home at which time I gave ****, salesperson, my deposit check. WHY, therefore, would I ever call and "put the project on hold because I had issues about the permit!?" I HAD the permit!!      Secondly, his accounting of calls, emails, etc. is false and I will forward the 3 emails I sent-- in exasperation after many, many other attempts on my part, without a response REGARDING AN INSTALL DATE from ******. Furthermore, I did, without, explanation and warning, "hang up" on Mr. ******: I told him that the phone conversation was "not productive" and it was clear to me that he was not interested in "resolving"this complaint, but merely asserting why he was not going to return my deposit. Then I told him I was hanging up FOR THESE REASONS. I was not "abusive," but angry and outraged by the total lack of professionalism on ******'s part as well as the DENIAL OF ANY RESPONSIBILITY. I at no time ever said anything about money for "books" vs. the fence. That is absurd and a patent lie. What I DID say was : I am a single parent of 2 children and $700.00 is ALOT of money to me!" That IS what I stated to Mr. ******. Period.   The events were as follows:
 I paid them, I immediately got the permit, I communicated over and over my interest in proceeding asap, I reached out many many times: the only response I got was from Mr. ****** after the THIRD email stated that I had no other recourse but to take legal action a since ****** was non-responsive and never scheduled the installation, despite cashing my check on Aug.20th.  The six weeks that ****** asserts is THEIR TIME FRAME, came and went. Now Mr. ****** attempts to rewrite history and blame me. All I wanted and expected was the fence I paid for. 


  My check to ****** was written and cashed by them on Aug. 20. The VERY FIRST TIME MR. ****** EVER CALLED WAS  Oct, 15. This was after my emails stating all my attempts to reach them and get information and due to their negligence in communication and installation information, I was forced to demand my deposit back for lack of follow-through ON THEIR PART. 



Regards,

**** ******





























Business Response: we do not agree with the facts that mrs. ****** states in her rejection.  notwithstanding, mrs. ****** still has not give any reason(s) as to why she wanted to cancel her contract with anello fence, llc..  again, the contract was signed and a deposit was received on august 20, 2013.  on the contract it states that the fence would be installed in approximately 6 weeks.  even if she did not put the project on hold as she erroneously states, we still attempted to contact and install the fence within 7 weeks. just one week after the expected date.  it was not until after we attempted to contact mrs. ****** to schedule an installation date that she told us that she no longer wanted the fence installed.  she did not notify us in writing that she wanted to cancel the contract as per the terms of the contract until after we attempted to install the fence.  the contract clearly states that she has three days to cancel her contract.  mrs. ****** did not cancel her contract within the three day period. the materials were prepared to complete her contract.  anello fence, llc remains ready, willing and able to install her fence as per the contract.  should mrs ****** still wish to cancel her contract we will do so.  however, she will forfeit her deposit.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Signed a contract for Anello Fence to repair my current fence and also replace a gate on May 9, 2013. Contract indicates 2 to 5 weeks to complete. To date July 10, 2013 job still has not been completed. Was told by owner Steve Anello 3 times he was coming to do the job and now he tells me July 10, 2013 gate is still not available. This is 9 weeks that I have been waiting. Told Steve I want my $300 dollars back and he refused to return my money. This is an extremely poor business and I want other consumers to be aware! The owner lies to his customers!

Desired Settlement: I would like my $300 dollars back since I waited long enough and since I was lied too by the owner I no longer trust this company.

Business Response: this is a contractual dispute and anello fence has commenced litigation process.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]


I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.



















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

5/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/19/2012 Delivery Issues
10/11/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
8/9/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1