This business is not BBB accredited.

Big Value Inc.

Phone: (800) 319-8258 Fax: (732) 357-1852 245 Belmont Dr, Somerset, NJ 08873 View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers electronic business based off amazon.com


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Big Value Inc. include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Big Value Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Big Value Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 13, 2011 Business started: 03/01/2008 in NJ Business incorporated 03/01/2008 in NJ
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alan Osherwitz, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alan Osherwitz, Manager
Business Category

Discount Stores


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    245 Belmont Dr

    Somerset, NJ 08873

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/1/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On February 27th I purchased a ***** ** ** *** from Big Value Inc.'s **** store for $1,999.00 On the listing page it lists the handling time (time from payment received to shipping) as one day. On Friday afternoon I received a tracking number as being printed /prepared. As of Monday it hadn't changed status from that. The product hadn't been shipped to or picked up by the carrier ****). I called Big Value Inc and spoke to a female who did not give a name and wasn't very warm in her tone. She said that their was a brief hold up and that my camera was "guaranteed to ship today" and that she would "upgrade my shipping to overnight". She told me my tracking number was just a "temporary filler tracking number" and to "check it again in a little while for the updated one." This seemed suspicious (the filler tacking number part) but I agreed to check later. I checked that evening and it still hadn't been updated. I called Tuesday morning to get the tracking number and the same lady said she couldn't access my tracking number and that my device still hadn't shipped yet despite the guarantee of it. I asked when it would ship. She replied, "I honestly have no idea when your device will ship or where it's currently at. I can toss in a memory card for your delay. " which I agreed to accepting. At that point I was getting frustrated. I sent an email to Big Value Inc through **** trying to find out the status of my order and why they still hadn't shipped despite listed handling time of 1 day and the initial promise of shipping on Monday. As of today I have not received any reply from Big Value Inc to that email. I have made numerous attempts to call Big Value Inc today and their phone system says they are closed despite it being during their supposed normal business hours. This is quite unacceptable and a very poor business practice. You can't just take $2,000 from someone and then tell them you have no idea where their package is or when they will get it.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the overnight shipping, memory card and request a 10% refund via ****** for this unexplained week long delay as well as the poor customer service. If they are out of stock or some other issue then they shouldn't be still listing them for sale on **** and other websites.

2/6/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The basic issue is the missing USA 1-year full warranty card that should have been in an unopened (factory-sealed) manufacturer's box for a Canon EOS 60D 20.2 MP Digital SLR camera BODY (item #************) that BigValueInc advertised on **** and which I bought on 29 November 2013 through ****** (receipt ID *******************). The item was advertised by BigValueInc on **** as a camera "BODY" and was described as "New, Never Opened." Elsewhere in the listing, the seller made the following representation: "All products we sell are brand new and includes [sic] warranty coverage unless clearly specified on the listing.” Based on these representations by the seller, I expected to receive a Canon EOS 6D camera body in its unopened, factory-sealed box, with all the manufacturer-supplied contents, including the standard 1-year USA warranty card bearing the camera body serial number. What I received instead was a Canon kit box for a Canon EOS 6D camera body and a Canon EF 24-105 mm F4L IS USM lens. The lens had been removed (presumably to be sold separately at a higher total price than the "bundled" price), and the remaining contents of the box, including the camera body and accessories, had been repackaged and additional packing materials added to fill the space left by the missing lens. No warranty card was included in the box. The sticker on the outside of the manufacturer's box bearing the body # had also been removed. All attempts to obtain the missing warranty form the seller failed after I had received at least four different answers from seller's representatives concerning the warranty status of the camera body I bought: 1. We are sorry you did not received the warranty card. 2. It is covered by the Canon USA factory warranty. 3. It is eligible only for online registration with Canon- 4. It is covered only by a store warranty (90 days labor, 1 year parts). Seller specifically denied that the camera body I bought is a gray-market item

Desired Settlement: Since the seller is either unable or unwilling to produce the full one-year Canon USA warranty card that I had every right to expect to find in a "brand-new, unopened" factory-sealed box, I want the seller to obtain, at its expense, an equivalent full one-year warranty from Canon USA and provide it to me without delay. Based on the circumstances surrounding this case, the warranty status of this camera remains suspicious and the seller definitely is guilty of false/misleading advertising regarding both the condition (Brand-new, unopened) and warrant status (all items we sell come with a warranty unless otherwise clearly stated in the listing). Here is a link to the seller's listing on ***** ************************************. I will also gladly provide photos of the actual kit box in which this camera body was repackaged and shipped to me.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
We have been in contact with our customer on several occasions and have tried to resolve all the issues that the customer is having. Both the Camera and the lens were listed as new products with a 1 year warranty from our company. We also list that lens may come from a kit box which allows us to sell this new lens at such an aggressive price. Both these products are brand new with a 1 year warranty from our company as it was clearly advertised. We have spoken to the customer and due to the misunderstanding they had, we have offered a return for the full refund including shipping. The customer has refused to return the product and has even opened a dispute with *****l which was eventually closed in our favor because we have offered to take the product back for the full refund including shipping and the customer never returned the product. We have tried everything in our power to try and resolve the issue with the customer and we are even willing to pay for the return shipping even though this is how the product was sold as advertised. We apologize for any misunderstanding the customer had and we are trying to resolve everything by taking it back, waiving the restocking fee, and paying for the return shipping.







Thank You
Customer Service.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:The seller of this item is now trying the same evasive tactics on the BBB that it attempted on me and subsequently on ****** in an effort to obscure the issue. The sole issue here, as I pointed out is the missing full one-year Canon USA factory warranty card. Return of the Canon EOS 6D camera body for refund was never what I sought or requested. When it was offered as a remedy ... obviously in an effort by the seller to conceal the real issue, i.e., the absence of the USA factory warranty ... I rejected it as inappropriate. I had no reason to return the camera body because I detected no defect or malfunction.
All the seller's representations regarding this camera body (only) are contained in the seller's **** listing on which I relied when I bought it. Here is a Weblink to that very listing:
  
************************************

Please particularly note the following specific represnations by the seller in this very listing:

1. The item I bought was a Canon EOS 6D Camera Body (Only)
2. It was advertised as "Condition: New: A brand-new, unused, unopened, undamaged item in its original packaging ..."
3. The seller represented that "All products we sell are brand new and includes [sic]warranty coverage unless clearly
    specified on the listing."

The camera body I received had actually been repackaged and was shipped by the seller in a kit box originally containing a Canon EOS 6D camera body plus a Canon EF 24 - 105 mm F4L IS USM lens. The latter lens had been removed from the box and so had the sticker bearing the body serial number. Additional packing material had been added to fill the void created by the removal of the lens. Thus the seller misrepresented the condition of the camera body because, as the attached photos show incontrovertibly it was not shipped to in its "unopened" "original packaging." The seller further misrepresented the warranty status of the camera body "as included." In fact, seller's representatives provided conflicting and contradictory information concerning the warranty status of the camera body, as I pointed out in my original complaint. But the bottom line is that the seller has not provided the Canon USA warranty card that I had every right to expect to find in the "original packaging" of a "brand-new, unopened" item. Nor has the seller provided any other written proof of warranty coverage for this camera body.

I shall be happy to provide the complete record of my e-mail exchanges with the seller regarding the warranty, which was and remains the sole matter at issue in this case. I continue to expect seller to provide me a written full one-year Canon USA factory warranty, or equivalent if seller cannon produce the original warranty card.

Regards,

****** ******


























Business Response: .To Whom it may concern:

Please be advised that our product was advertised
to come with a 1 year warranty with our company. We clearly state that on our
listings exactly what we sell and it was clearly advertised that this was the
Body only and that’s what the customer received. If the customer is unsatisfied
with the condition of the item even though it is brand new, never used the only
thing we can do is take it back and offer the full refund which we did. We have
even offered to waive the restocking fee and pay for the return shipping which
the customer refused, because he wants to keep the item. Our customer service
has done everything we can do try and resolve the customers concerns however he
seems happy with the unit and does not want to return it.

We would be happy to take the product back as long
as the product is brand new and we will waive the restocking fee.

Please be advised that this product does have a 1
year warranty with our company which would be the same as the manufacturer
offers. 90 days labor 1 year parts.

We apologize about any inconvenience the customer
has had and we are doing everything we can to try to assist him to get this
issue resolved.





Thank You

Customer Service

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: The seller of this Canon EOS 6D camera body continues to evade and obscure the single matter at issue in this case, i.e., the missing Canon USA full factory warranty card covering both parts and labor for one full year, or written evidence of an equivalent one-year full factory warranty. He does so by continuing to offer me, even now, fully two months after I bought this camera body, a full refund of the purchase price, something I never sought or asked for and continue to reject because it is not an appropriate remedy for the above issue. The only issue is the warranty card or wtitten evidence of warranty.

Nor should the BBB allow itself be be fooled by the seller's most recent evasive, generic and vague non-response regarding its representations in its listing of this item on eBay. Rather, I urge a review of the seller's listing itself at the same Weblink I made available in my previous communications:

************************************

Please note in particular the following:

1. The item I bought (note also the photo in the listing of a camera body with a plastic cover over the lens opening, with no lens present) was a "Canon EOS 6D 20.2 MP Digital SLR Camera (Body)"
2. Its condition was advertised as follows: "Condition: New: A brand-new, unused, unopened, undamaged item in its original packaging (where packaging is
applicable)"
3. The representations the seller made in the listing regarding the warranty coverage (under"Shipping Information") were as follows: "All products we sell are brand new and includes warranty coverage unless clearly specified on the listing."

After my previous attempt to attach photos failed, presumably because the file size was too large, I am once again attaching three images of the actual box in which I received this camera body. The images will clearly show that rather than being in the "original, unopened" (factory-sealed) box for a camera body only, the camera body was repackaged and shipped to me in a box originally containing both a camera body and a lens, from which the lens as well as the sticker showing the body serial number had been removed, and to which additional packing material had been added to fill the void created by the removal of the lens.
Thus, the items was NOT as advertised by the seller "brand-new" and "unopened."

However, the principal issue remains the missing warranty card which I had every right to expect to find in a new, unopened, factory-sealed box for the camera body (ONLY). I repeat my demand on the seller either to produce the original Canon factory warranty card or provide me promptly with an equivalent written warranty covering one full year of both Canon factory parts and labor.

Thank you for your thoughtful review of the evidence I have presented. I am prepared also to furnish a complete record of all me e-mail exchanges with seller regarding this matter from within the eBay messaging system.



Regards,

****** ******





























Business Response: To Whom It may concern:
Please be advised that we offer a 1 year warranty on our product which includes 90 days labor 1 year parts on Manu Defects. We have the same warranty that canon offers. The customer purchased the camera from Big Value Inc and we explain the warranty in our terms and conditions before you complete your order. We will honor the warranty for 90 days labor and 1 year parts on Manu defects from the original date of purchase.



Thank You
Customer Service.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
Please be advised that we have spoken to the customer on several occasions and have tried to everything in our power to resolve the customers issue however it seems the customer is just not happy with the product which they received but refused to return. We clearly advertise our product to come with a 1 year warranty with big value inc in our terms and conditions. We have offered to take this package back for the full refund and waive all the restocking fees and even pay the return shipping to resolve all issues while the customer was within the return policy and the customer has refused. Unfortunately there is nothing else which we can do as we have tried everything in our power to resolve the customers concerns.

Please close this complaint as our customer service has done everything to try and resolve this but the customer refused to return within the return policy. This product was sold as as advertised in our terms and conditions and we have waived all fees for the customer to return and even offered a prepaid return shipping label just to help the situation however the customer has refused and does not want to return.

Please close this complaint.


Thank You
Customer Service

9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Thursday August 1 I purchased a ***** ****** camera lens from BigValueInc via **** for $709. On Wednesday August 7 I saw an advertisement for the exact same lens selling @ BigValueInc for $660. I immediately contacted customer service asking what could be done about this disparity and got a note back from **** later that night that nothing could be done. I responded that "Regardless of the circumstances you have the power as the selling company to offer me the price difference but are unwilling to do that. It is standard for store to offer price guarantees even after the sale and for a company that is as customer focused as yours I'm sure you understand my frustration at having paid $50 more for the same item with a week." I received an email from **** on Thursday August 8 reiterating that they cannot assist me in this. I'm surprised that as big a seller as they are, listed storefronts at ****** and ***** and one that touts their customer service so openly is unwilling to assist in this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like $50 and for BigValueInc to standardize their policy to include a price match guarantee for 15 days after purchase.

Business Response: To
Whom it may concern:

Please be advised that we have spoken to this customer and have offered a
return for the full refund.

This product was sold at the agreed upon advertized price. Prices fluctuate
daily on electronics as sometimes they go up and sometimes they go down
depending on the cost of the product. We do not offer a price match guarantee
however we are willing to waive the restocking fee on the return and give the
customer a full refund even though he bought this product as the advertized
agreed upon price. We are sometimes offered rebates from our vendors and when
those rebates expire prices go up and since the customer did not purchase the
product within the rebate time frame unfortunately we are not able to honor the
discounted rebate price as it is no longer available to us.


Again we apologize about any inconvenience the customer is having however
we are making a exception for the customer and are willing to take it back for
the full refund and waive all restocking fees.





Thank You

Customer Service.










Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

It is much more inconvenient than my proposed solution and does not address the long-term ramifications of not offering a price match guarantee. Instead of the business incurring the expense of the restocking fee and return shipping it would be easier on everyone to comp me $50. Apparently my second consideration of having a price match guarantee that is time limited is not being considered at this time, which is unfortunate. I'm willing to drop that matter and if I can get the $50 difference I originally asked for I will consider this matter closed.


Regards,

***** *****





























Business Response: Please be advsie that we have offerred to take this product back for the full refund.

This product was sold at the agreed upon advertized price. Prices fluctuate
daily on electronics as sometimes they go up and sometimes they go down
depending on the cost of the product. We do not offer a price match guarantee
however we are willing to waive the restocking fee on the return and give the
customer a full refund even though he bought this product as the advertized
agreed upon price. We are sometimes offered rebates from our vendors and when
those rebates expire prices go up and since the customer did not purchase the
product within the rebate time frame unfortunately we are not able to honor the
discounted rebate price as it is no longer available to us.


Again we apologize about any inconvenience the customer is having however
we are making a exception for the customer and are willing to take it back for
the full refund and waive all restocking fee eventhough this was purchased at the agreed
upon price.


Thank You
Customer Service





Thank You

Customer Service.

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9657727

I am rejecting this response because:

This response is almost verbatim of the previous rejected response. Hence, the reason for the rejection is the same.

Regards,

Brian Gross





























7/5/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought 2 ***** T4i cameras from BigValueInc on Nov. 24,2012, I paid them on the same day, I can tell from my bank account activities. But they only send me 1. In past 7 months, I had contacted them more than 10 times, every time they had different customer service representative, and just let me start over and over again repeating my issue. The last time(on May 7,2013), they told me they claim a lost package to *** and told me "we have responded to the fact that they(means ***) denied your claim and basically refiled so we can refund you for not receiving the product.", and they never contact me again let alone a refund.

Desired Settlement: just give me a refund.

Business Response: To whom it may concern:
We have tride to get in cntact with the customer a few times to discuss resolution and we have never received a response.
We will issue the refund for one camera as the customer is still claiming non receipt. We appoligize about any inconvenience this may have caused and the customer should expect to see the credit within the next week. We hope we have resolved all your issues and appoligize about the inconvenience.


Thank You
Customer Support.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I will wait till next week and make sure they refund my money!

Regards,

*** **





















Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Big Value Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)